Maldives

zhuzhu

Haru
dun worry..u will get used to it..its a maternal instinct...

Fri was a very dramatic day for me..Markus had high fever n ulcer in his throat..wah dat poor boy cried everytime he swallow his saliva..refused to eat or drink anything..in the end I had to use syringe to force feed him some water..

bvbride

Hi mummies

T and P : have a great time during your trip yeah..its truly couple time when u are there! are u gog to pump and drink your own BM while away? got the idea while watching America's Next Top Model recently..that was what one of the contestant did!@

Starstar: no idea how to start toilet training cos they are not really speaking yet and hence cannot let u know they want to pee or poop...so i guess qt difficult to start now?? I really have no idea man..imagine the cleaning up u have to do!!! btw now its sooo difficult to diaper kieran now! kept crawling away! i still insist on using normal diapers and i force him to stand and distract him whille i put on the diaper..really cannot then i whip out the pull ups :p very "tang poon" man

Haru: my poor friend still has baby sleeping on her boobs during BF..any tips ? the same happened to me and kieran kept sleepg at my boobs the other time so i pumped more than latch..but its such a great feeling to nurse directly right??

Have a great day everyone !!

haru

bvbride,
really?? drink own BM?? smells a lil too funky leh..=P

i try to keep her awake for at least one side. i just let her sleep if she really knocked out. then either pump other side or let her latch other side when she wakes up again (which i normally anticipate soon since she only fed on one side)..thats why now i give her EBM at night so that she can have a fuller feed for the night.

u are right, the bonding during BF is great. makes all the soreness worth it!

oh mummies,
can i ask do you normally let baby latch on or give EBM when you go out? It seems to be a better idea to let baby latch on when going out if not breasts wil get engorged too rite? =P

Haru,

definitly latch. Saves a lot of trouble too. Imagine wat u have to bring with u if u want to give EBM - hot water, cooler bag with EMB, container to warm the milk. My diaper bag's already very big n heavy, dunno abt urs, so i'll try to bring less when out if possible. it does save the issue of engorgment too. Just bring along a manual pump in case baby doesn't want to drink and u r engorged. At least can pump out some to relieve the pain. That's what i do, I leave my manual pump in the car, so whenever we r out and Jarrett doesn't need to drink so much cos he's on solid now, I'll pump n throw to relieve the pain. There r some mummies who prefer to give EBM cos they may b shy bfing in public, if there's no nursing room. Jus use a nursing shawl. I can nurse jarrett in cafes n everywhere but usually I'll try to find a nursing room, if not in the car. cos i'm sure not everyone wants a glimpse of my boobs....Ahahahaa..

Bvbride,
no lah. i dun drink my own BM, but i use it to bake bread! hahaa...so when i am away, i'll jus pump n throw. my problem now is to fig out how to pump when i join day trips to snorkle. U noe those boats r usually small and filled with other tourists..so die..dunno how.

Re dozing babies at boobs, they will usually outgrow it as they grow bigger. It's quite natural for them to snooze at the boobs cos the milk's warm, tummies filled with warm milk very comfy, feels very safe and secure in mummies arms, boobs as cushions...very nice to sleep. When they grow bigger and gets more alert, they'll be able to stay awake. Jarrett still nurse to sleep right before bed. That's the easiest way to put him to sleep. but in the day time, he's always so alert.

Fanfan,
pics yes. I'll definitly share but no..there wun be any surprise news 4 weeks later. LOL

haru

T&P,
thanks for your advice! just need to get a nursing shawl now so that can BF when we go out. wil take some practice BF outside..coz normally i just strip when BF at home, too hot for me and also easier!heehe..

mummies,
up to how old do we have to use cooled boiled water to clean baby's face?

bvbride

hihi TGIF
nursing bad cough at home now..very worried abt spreading it to Kieran but thank god im not coughing that much but its bad enough to make me weak and lethargic

Haru and T and P: thanks for the tips wil let my friend know
T and P: BM Bread!! Thats the first time ive heard of that. does Hubby like it?

Haru: i thnk i only use tap water to clean kieran's face :p his face is really sensitve even till today but i dun think its the water i use..its just his skin condition la..i got real sensitive skin myself!

haru

T&P,
which nursing shawl do you use? saw one on this site, a lil ex tho..http://www.chubbybubby.com.sg/

bvbride,
u used tap water also when he was newborn? hubby and i have been using cooled boiled water to clean her face after attending e parentcraft class.=P

zhuzhu

haru
i oso used to bf markus when outside..so much easier then...no milk bottles..no water flask..I got the nursing warp from a BP..it just like a poncho with hole...

hey bvbride,

hope u r feeling better.
use a mask if u r worried. I do tat when i cough, min. the risk of spreading to Jarrett.
My poor jarrett's on food/milk strike recently. I have been cracking my brains on how to get him to eat more. Now no more meat ball..he's so skinny now..=(
The bread's actually quite good leh..LOL..i dunno it's bcos the receipe's good or my BM makes it so..ahahaha...but i think it's the former lah cos i tried with fresh cow's milk b4, and it tasted the same.

Haru,
Mine's similar but it's the hooter hiders. Got it from a BP too, by small small world. Can't rem how much i paid, but i think around 40+ but guess what. Taka was selling a similar product at half the price! I dunno if they still have it, but if u r in town, u can pop by to take a look, it's displayed on a gondola next to the pigeon counter, near to the playpen.
I like this design cos u can have eye contact with baby, so i reckon she'll feel more secure and more airy. But now I dun really use it anymore, cos Jarrett will jus yank it away..and stuff it into my face. So i've been flashing my boobs in the car..argh.........
The one zhuzhu has is also quite popular with some mummies. U can check it out. It's available in Kiddy Palace, but maybe different brands.

and pple, i may have to change my travel plans. Everyone at home keeps telling us not to go Koh Samui thou it's not Bangkok..so now dunno how and if resort/airline allow refund. Sianz....

hey bros.. read up bout maldives. had nt done ani research(no idea dis place exist.. hehe)bout dis place thou bt its kinda interesting place to go for our honeymoon.. n i gez we haf an ambassador. for maldives here..? hehe so cn i get a few tips.? for aug 09

1. how much do i need 4 2 person incl taxes & surcharge if i wanna stay for 5d-6d stay.?
2. there r soo many places to choose from.. wat e best value for money.? I wish to haf a quite undisturbed stay wif my WTB.
3. Im nt a sea person so wat other kind of activity is dere.?
i gez tts bout all for nw..

lavendar_lover

haru
if u can latch on..it'll be easier n better to latch the bb for bf. For me, I can't latch him on..got inverted nip..so rather diffcult to latch..ended up bottle feed him thru EBM. When I go out..I only bring a hot water bottle...cos u can easily asked for a bowl or soup bowl at makan places to warm up the EBM. U can even ask for hot water too for quite a few places surprisingly. ;p

I use cool boiled water to clean Jayden's face... also learnt that in the classes...but now, I just use tap water. THink I started using tap water when he's about 6mths. The time when he can start crawling around n putting all kinds of things in his mouth...Only when he started to walk...I'll mix wif a little of Dettol...cos now, he's always so dirty n touch all over the places...must disinfect him everytime he comes back from outside.

T&P
Think your family are anxious for u guys. Actually it's quite bad, the situation... just to be on the safe side... cos u'll never know when the demonstration would spread out.Worst situation to be in is stuck there and can't return. Dun understand how come the Thai govt work. Fancy allow people to take over a vital instillations like an airport! I'm currently planning for my babymoon. Wanted to go krabi but after thinking alot..n monitoring the situation..think I better not risk it. I'm now currently looking at HK n Macau. ;p Hee... not a beach resort..something different. Shop, eat, sleep. :p

Why is Jarrett on food/milk strike? U tried something different or new? Maybe for milk, u can try putting some multi vit in it to make him drink? U can try the Seven Seas multi vit wif real orange juice available at pharmacy.=)

zhuzhu
think I'll leave toilet training to the teachers too...keke..totally clueless on how to go about it. :p

sigh...getting tired easily these days....
Always run out of cell life by mid afternoon. cos the little one is sapping it away! haha...

oh ya i used cool boiled water too, but use tap water now.

Starstar,
I read that the lost of appetite is due to a major development stage. It can last anything from 3 to 9 weeks. I just hope he wun lose more weight.

so anyway, i cancelled my trip today. forfeit $225 for cancellation. "heart pain" and we are now looking at MALDIVES!
But then it's a budget trip, as in we dun want to spend too much, so we r checking out the newly opened Kandooma resort. We r there for the beach this time, so not that particular abt the accomodation.
Anatara's fully booked. So...keeping our fingers crossed and hope something works out.

lavendar_lover

t&p
oh...major development stage..hmm...think Jayden may have gone thru w/o me knowing.. :p keke.. for him, he haven lost any weight just maybe slow in putting on the weight... he eats alot n dun grow fat... he can finish up his bid bolw of porridge n still can eat a small plate of rice!! sometime I wonder where all the stuffs go to... but his godma was saying he's very active maybe he burn it all liao..so no chance to become fat.

Maldives!! Haha.. it was one of my choice too for my babymoon BUT ah lao dun wan to go back.. VERY RELUCTANT... he kept lecturing me... wait 10 years down the road, u can only tell people u been to Maldives n only maldives...
I dun mind leh... told him got so many diff resorts mah... still he already state his stand...dun feel like going back to Maldives till we've been to US or SA.
ARGGHHH!!! that's gonna be a LONG wait for me!!

btw Angsana Vel is having 1 year anni promo.. think cost about $294 per pax per nite for a beach villa... inclusive of board. saw in the LIFE section today!! SO SO TEMPTING!!!

Kandooma seems GOOD!!! ARGGHH!! Pack me in your luggage leh...dun care about hubby liao...keke... :p

haru

hi mummies,
thanks for all ur advice! finally ordered a nursing shawl from Bebe Au Lait, very ex but nice design. lookin forward to get it so i can go out with baby to places w/o nursing rooms without worrying about how to feed!=P

am planning to start pumping from next week when she is about 3.5 weeks..want to start to store some frozen EBM. also wana know my supply..hee..

haru,
yeap. i used it for nursing, blanket for jarrett, cover for stroller/carseat, etc..very multi-functional =)
but not so much these days, Jarrett seems to hate it now. haiz...

haru

T&P and zhuzhu,
i am currently doin single sided BF, but my baby tends to drink for only bout 20-30mins..wondering if its sufficient? do you also burp baby midway thru a feed?

haru,

it's ok so long as baby is putting on weight n ok. When he was fast, Jarrett could finish in 10mins in 1st 2 mths (aga aga by feeling the boobs). so it's not about the length of time.
i didn't really burp him half way, only at the end of feeding cos for him, cannot break momentum, he wld and still will fuss if mid way no milk.

haru

T&P,
thanks for your advice! my boob def feels softer and "emptier" after she feeds and she poops regularly (mustard yellow) so i think should be ok then.

by e way, hows ur maldives trip coming along??? =P

zhuzhu

haru
me oso never burp bb halfway..usually after i feed 1 side..n i see he not enuff..then i will feed another side...

if u wan to increase ur supply..u can pump watever bal. after feeding

T&P
A few days back, Straits Times lift was talking abt Hilton Maldives..I was showing HB..remember this n that.. haiz...

Starstar
Markus oso ate a lot..just today..he had his porridge at around 7pm..then 8pm+ he asked for milk..and I put in rice cereal as well..and he finished almost the whole bot..that is abt 240ml of milk+cereal...scary

haru

zhuzhu,
thanks for the tip! my hubby always scared if i pump then might not have enough for next feed. =P i reckon if i pump aft feeding her, by e time i finish pumping, almost time for next feed already..hahah..

wow, Markus appetite so good!!

lavendar_lover

zhuzhu
how har? seems like our sons got same problem..eat alot n hardly put on the desired weight fast...
keep telling myself he's healthy can liao... self consolation. :p

haha..me too! I was telling hubby got promo...blah blah...that's when I kena a long lecture from him....sigh.

t&p
WOW!! pack me in leh... I wish to go too.

For me, most likely or infact 99.9% sure going HK n macau liao..dun think got any chance to go Maldives in near future.

enjoy your trip gal!!

btw I think I can feel my baby's movement these days. Usually second pregancy onwards u can sense the movement much earlier than first... =) So happy!

haru

starstar,
wow!!! thats soooo exciting! must bring back alot of sweet memories when you were preggie with Jayden.=>

mummies,
this morning i let baby latch on one side for feed and then i pump e other side aft that. is that ok? coz i estimate her next feed won't be till e next 2hours. is it ok? coz i am tryin to slowly start storing some EBM (only managed to pump 60ml from one side tis morn)..coz if i pump e side i feed, like no leftover milk liao..=P

bvbride

Yoyo its the long weekend!!!

>>>Mummies i guess my Kieran is not putting on much weight too cos he is getting longer and not any meatier but im fine as long as he doesnt look too skinny la...i miss his meatball stage too but i guess our boys are getting older so theirs looks have to change too

hi T and P
Am better thanks...kieran got abit of my phlegmy cough haizz but i just let it ran its course cos its not that serious thank god
Kieran also on food and milk strike cos i think this time he is teething lots and maybe the molar is coming out too..he simply refused to open his mouth to show me whats happening in his mouth though..hmmm

so booked Banyan Tree Velavaru already??

Haru: i think i get what u mean...scared pump out already then when bb latch for next feed boobs empty ...i think what u did is ok since bb is full from one breast. try using hands to express whatever leftover milk when the pump doesnt yield??

haru

bvbride,
wow, hand express? i have not tried that..hee..will give it a go if the pump does not seem to have any "results"! even thinkin of taking fenugreek supplements to boost milk supply..anyone tried that??

hello pple, my trip has been been confirmed n i'm flying off tomorrow! Fanfan has chopped a place in my luggage liao, anyone else? starstar caanot pack u in lah, wait hurt the little one how? lol
will b staying at kandooma. Anatara water villas r fully booked, so decided might as well save the bucks n stay in a beach villa since we don't really like kandooma's water villa (look like container no?) plus times r hard, best not to overspend. must save for Jarrett's education fund.
will give field report if i am able to.

bvbride,
hand pump?!? very tough leh..

Haru,
eat more fish and try see if oatmeal works for u.
wat u r doing (pump one side, latch one side) seems good. Over time, ur boobs will increase production, so dun worry abt not enuff milk for baby. When I first started, my supply also not darn impressive, a few ozs only, u have to slowly build up. Just have to work hard! =)

haru

T&P,
so good!!! enjoy ur trip ya! and thanks for e encouragement.=>

hey mummies,
i am havin a hard time tryin to put my baby to sleep most of the day. she cries when i put her in her cot. and when i finally manage to pat her to sleep, she cries again within 5 mins of putting her in her cot..sigh...very tiring..dunno why she wakes up so easily too. >.< hopes its a phase she will grow out of soon.

zhuzhu

t&amp;P
ME ME ME!! pack me in oso...

haru
dun worry abt running out of supply...remember demand=supply..in fact I think if u pump after feeding..it will stimulated more supply..or else if u can..try tandem pumping..dat means u feed 1 side...and at the same time u pump..but its kind of difficult lar..

sometimes bb are quite demanding..if u find dat bb cried after putting in the cot..u let her cry longer alittle bit each time..see if it improves o not..otherwise if everytime she cries n u carry her..it will not stop..must train even though its quite heartpain..but its good for u n bb in future..

haru

morning!!

T&amp;P,
its a wet and cold day here in Spore so I am sure you are looking forward to the sunny skies in Maldives!=D

zhuzhu,
haha, ya..think tandem pumping kinda challenging. =P but what do i do if aft feed i pump nothing comes out?? still pump? and shld i only pump e side i fed or the other side as well?

ya lor, we are normally not so gan jiong to pick her up. told my mum not to get all excited to pick up too. coz sometimes she just needs to change her sleeping position or pat pat and after awhile she can go back to sleep. tryin to tell myself that things will get better as she grows up.

kazataza

Hi Biskut,

Hope i'm able to help a bit here

personally, i went to Anantara 2 years back. Stayed 4N water villa and 1N beach villa.
Excluding air tickets, we spent less than S$6k for 2 in total.

This include the accomodation + meals + 1 day island hopping for 2 + 1 night fishing for 2 + 1 spa session for 2.

as for how to choose, it really depends on what you want and your budget. If you don't mind spluring, there're many resorts that will WOW you and let you have an enjoyable stay (e.g. W Resort, Conrad, One Resort, etc).

For mid range one, you might want to try resorts like Anatara, Mirihi, Kandooma.

you can try http://www.mal-dives.com/
this website has a number of resorts and will give u a feel of how much they will cost. Wu did all the bookings with them.

If you want to check with local agency, can try Holiday Tours. Many of us booked with them as well http://www.holidaytours-sin.com/

For activities, apart from the usual snorkelling, diving, you can go fishing, sunset cruise, dolphin cruise and have some good spa sessions.
Resorts also organise various activites/tours. So you can check with the resorts what ar the activities available.
Some resorts have water sports facilities FOC or at a fee. You can kayak, swim or just chill out at your nice villas with a good book/magazine.

The view alone is enough to let u stone for 1 whole day...haha

Reporting from Maldives pple!

The day's been great! Reached the resort late on Mon. First impression, looks more like a club than a resort.
Very impressed with the beach villa, very nice with good amenities. Very thoughtful with fresh oranges and juicer, toaster even, essential oil, and a nice outdoor bath. But being a relatively new resort, think they still have lots of polishing work to do. Was given an opportunity to upgrade to the water villa but decided to stick to the beach villa. The view's better over here.
The water's great, being Maldives, but the beach here is not as fantastic as the other 2 resorts I've been to. Still like Taj very much compared to this. Out of the resorts I have been to, this is the least I like. Also disappointed tat the mgt didn't arrange anything nice for our anniversary celebration.
Ok, will share more when I am back. Time's up, old man's calling. We r off for a drink.

Fanfan,
u didn't turn up at the airport how to pack u in? lol

lavendar_lover

t&amp;p
can't fit me in too...sigh.

did u mention it's your anni to them?

haru
zhuzhu's right..pump the side u haven feed...

regarding the crying thing..it's not very good to let a baby cry for too long... must set a limit ..cos I read in a parenting book before if a baby it's left to cry for too long period, it'll affect his mood &amp; character when he grows up. There's even studies done to show the ill effects of being left to cry to sleep on babies... babies that are just left alone to cry themselves to sleep when they grow up, studies found them to be easily irritatable... unable to handle stressful situations... bad tempered... n even got higher risk of cardio problem when they grow up. Also a high risk of having mental problems when they grow up... this is becos when baby cries, there's an imbalance in the brain...

The stress hormone cortisol is released by adrenalin glands n if the child is smoothed, the level of cortisol goes down. If the child is left crying prolong periods, this level of cortisol remains high n can reach toxic level that may damage key structures n systems in a developing brain. Cortisol is a slow acting chemical that can stay in brain at hgih levels for hours... n in clinically depressed people, this chemical remin there for days n weeks.

Early stress can cause cell death in very impt tructure in brain... how it affects each kid it differs...but it's always having a negative impact on the kids... some will show low concentration n unable to focus... some show in violent behaviour....For me, when Jayden was crying... I usually go n pick him up within a min... the max I allow is 5 min... cause the book I read, says it's only for the 1st three months... it's a pasing stage..just think of the caliming time as an investment for the future, regulating his emotional n physical systems so he can deal with stress better later in life.

Somehow it's true... Jayden's not so a cry baby by the time he turn a month old... by end of 3 mths, he's not crying when put to sleep on his own...

This read really opens up my sight n view on parenting... it's a book called,"The Science of parenting". a good read i feel. Just sharing something i read...

pple...i'm missing my boy so much..sobz...
whenever i see babies, i'll think of jarrett...wail...i'm a bad mummy to leave him at home.

today's weather look great, but rained in the morning...gg to tan in a while and spa in the evening...

ttyl.

zhuzhu

t&amp;p
u forgot abt me oso..

starstar
now Markus everytime he doesn't get wat he wans..he cries...i will just tell him to stand 1 side n cry..until he finished then come n find me..but usually he will come running to me..crying n kicking...haiz..how to teach like dat..

lavendar_lover

t&amp;p
dun feel guilty... :0 u deserves a break. u not a bad mommy...

zhuzhu
I can't really explain to you how... based on the book I have, tantrums there are 2 types... one is a genuine show of emotions n required attention n care. The other one is what they call "Little Nero Tantrums". Kids throw tantrums for several reasons.... one way to detect a true distress tantrum from the Little Nero tantrum... is the presence of tears. Distress tantrums needs our sensitve care. Kids have distress tantrum becos their brain are still too young to control their emotions... thus they tend to show their emotions whether sad, disappointed whatever..thru tantrums. Usually you can see that they are really in pain... upset... one way recommended is distraction. Other ways are through simple calm actions n voice, holding him tenderly.. by being next to him. Such actions should calm him down. We also should remind ourselves that a child's distress is geniune.

ONe exmaple quoted inthe book is a 2year old scremed n cried when a younger sibling snatch his fave toy away. He is not making a fuss here. Research shows that a sense of loss activates the pain centres in the brain causing an agonising opoid withdrawal. Becos small kids only being ard this world for few years..they still dun have the exp n backdrop of events that can help them to know that a loss of the toy is just a minor disappointment. For them, this loss = everything. Thus if a kid is always punished for grief fuelled tantrums(grief often includes rage), the lesson he learns is "MUMMY CANNOT MANAGE OR UNDERSTAND MY GRIEF." As a result he is likely to cut off from feelings of hurt becos they are no longer safe to have. This will affect the way the child deals with his feelings when he reaches adulthood.

The main thing is not about giving the kid what he wants...it's about calming him n smoothing him..helping the kid to regain his balance... so for Markus, just give him your best attention n distract him with something else... it'll work.
Tested n proven....;p I've done with Jayden a few times liao...

"Do not use time out techniques with distress tantrum as distress tantrum are triggered by the kids' genuine emotions...only use it on Little Nero Tantrum."

Little Nero Tanrum is something the kids used to gain control over parents by bullying... this tantrum is accom by the absence of tears, able to demand what he wants n even argue when u say no. This kind of tantrum...you can just simply IGNORE/TIME OUT...so the kid will learn that by bullying..you will not get what u want...even attention. If u keep giving in, u are raising a future school bully.

parenting is all about understanding the science behind it...this book is a good buy... =) it really opens up by understanding on kids... even though I took psychology... but brain functions are so complex...kids brain works diff from adults....
Hope u gals gain some useful insight here.

haru

starstar,
thanks for sharing!! i try not to let my baby cry too long too, wil normally pick her up if she doesnt calm down aft patting or helping her change her sleepin position. then will put her down again when she has calmed down or drifted off too sleep. the book sounds interesting, do you know the author? maybe i should go check it out.

I must say that parenting is the toughest job EVER. =P

lavendar_lover

haru
=) I chanced upon this book in Popular when I was preggie wif Jayden. It really opens up my understanding on kids once u understand how their little brain works... u'll know why they behave in certain ways. Think we as parents we tend to look into their behaviour more than anything else, actually it's wrong. As kids, they dun know how to voice out their emotions... so they'll behave bad when they feel lousy or tired... thus we should address their emotions. ONce we address their emotions...they'll behave better.

This book is written by Margot Sunderland. It's called 'The Science of Parenting'. Great read n I'm sure you'll understand your kid so much better...n it gives u an idea how to deal with them. =) Yup..agree wif you..cos parenting also DOES include understanding how the little mind works... the scientific part of parenting..which is greatly missed out.
It also gives u guidance on how to discipline your kids with love. ;p

haru

hi mummies,
do you have any recommendation for washable breastpads? i have some Avent ones for home use, but sometimes it gets soaked right thru! am using Pigeon disposables for going out use.=>

oh, also looking around for milk bags for when i use up the avent cups to store my frozen EBM..any recommendation too? thanks!!

lavendar_lover

haru
think going out it's easier to use disposable ones... I used the avent ones washable at home too...but go out use disposable.

milk bags..maybe can ask zhuzhu , bvbride or t&amp;p..cos for me, I've so many avent mugs that I can't run out...

haru

starstar,
i am using e pigeon ones for going out already. but i am planning to get some more washable ones for home use. wondering what brand is good. i already hv e Avent ones.

Hello Pple,
I am back from Maldives. Been crazy bz the moment I got back on Sat cos we had a small party for Jarrett's birthday that nite for families. Thank God it was only a small party, was so beat out by the end of the nite.
This time round didn't take as many pics as Taj, somehow the urge to take many many pics was not there.
Kandooma's not a bad resort, but honestly i will not go back again, nor recommend it to any of my friends. There r so much better resorts out there. And I tell u, i felt so cheated! Dec's supposed to be a good time to go, cos it's peak and off monsoon, weather's supposed to b great BUT.........it rained 3 days!!! Esp the last day, OMG it rained the whole day. Lucky the room, thou small, was nice, so we stayed in and lazed around.
I think pple who gave +ve comments for the resort are those who have never been to maldvies before. I felt so stupid not topping up with another 2-3k, I cld have gone to a better resort.
NVM, we have earmarked Maldives for 2 yrs later, this time round with Jarrett. If economy's good by then, see if we can afford better, nicer resort.

haru,
i never used washable ones, too lazy. have always been using pigeon from day one.
Also using the stick on (forgot the brand, think it's Lily something) when I need to go braless. Quite useful, but only when I noe I don't need to nurse jarrett. Milk bags I used Lasinoh, and also tried blue egg from Korea, but definitly prefer the former. Takes up less storage space cos it can be placed flat, instead of standing. I was also very KS, i will place it inside a ziplock bag before freezing it. So it was like 6 milk bags in 1 big ziplock. Oh ya, if u decide to use Lasinoh, u can store up to 10oz, no prob. I tried it and it's ok.
U can join some of the sprees on sgmotherhood, it's cheaper to buy from us and ship back rather than buying from mothercare. Think mothercare's selling it at around $18/box, if buying from US, abt $12/box+, depending on exchange rate &amp; shipping.
One word of advise, dun over store. I stored like close to 200 packs, in the end, Jarrett only used abt 10packs! I tot i needed to stock up when i went italy, but in the end, overstocked and i had to either threw away the milk or use it for foot soak. Tats a lot of $ thrown away, time &amp; effort to freeze and lots of fridge space. I went without any ice cream and frozen food for more than 6 months. I cldn't even freeze fresh meat or my fav. garlic bread.
So take some time to plan how to store the milk. I nearly wanted to buy another freezer, thank God I didn't.