Maldives

zhuzhu

haru

congrats on having a princess..

lavendar_lover

Wu
wah!12k it's alot! But I'm sure it's worth spending it there. Somemore it's W leh. :p Anyway, the O&O got dress code one...
Guys r not suppose to be surf shorts at pool/beach, restaurant must be in long pants or jeans. basically smart casual. Ladies would be island chic... we'll be having a room to ourselves each..this is confirmed. Also travelling wif us is a crew of 6 include a model for the cover shoot. They will leave earlier than us..on the 15th..while we leave on 17th. :p Gosh! it's like next week!! OMG!

u enjoy your trip...tomolo is it?

NZ n Bora Bora..it's a place I wish to go too!! maybe next time lah...

haru
congras!! I would love to have a princess too!!! hopefully my 2nd one is a gal. :p

Ya..will take more pics back. =)

bvbride
thanks gal.
I'll try to upload the pics asap when back.

ryo

Yo starstar,..... still calling u starstar becos ur lavendar nick is longer to type...wahaha....

ya.. 12k is alot to us also... but I think it's worth it, n history shows that we earn back this 12k faster than if we dun go... hahaha.
I really need a break, n so does my wife... after non stop work for the pass 1 yr, with 2 jobs, 16-18 hours, 7 days work. I needed a rest... haaaa..... eh.. really, me n my wife use to watch like 60-80 movies a year. Last year it's ZERO. She work 7 days I also work 7 days...Orchard is wat I also dunno liao....

Yaya... dress code is important in these high end resort., but to dress well is a good thing isn't it? kekeke......

Good, very good... I think yours should be the twin/duplex villa la... I think each of you got 1 villa, not room hor!!! kekeke....

I leaving on Saturday nite.
Eh... you enjoy your trip also ah! Take more photo of the cruiser....kekeke. Anyway Reethi Rah is a very big island, I think you shld make use of their free bike. Heee....
Yours shld be a very interesting trip indeed.... cover shoot somemore!! eh... find out for me who is the photographer hor... can't wait to see you n our friend being featured in the magazine!! Remind us to buy hor!

Yaya... Bora Bora is another must go place. More hilly like Mauritius but the sand n water is better though, just like Maldives.

Group trip??? want??kekekeke....

Take care ok..and have a out of the world experience there in O&O!!!.

haru

Wu,
my aunt lives in auckland. but i love queenstown too. esp milford sound. but nz is a place you can really just drive around e whole trip. very relaxing and roads are easy and pple there dun horn anyhow like singaporeans,hahaha...

zhuzhu and starstar,

ryo

Hi Haru,

Hmmm... okok... will ask you more about if we wanna go to NZ.
Oh ya... I think just like Australia...no horn at all!! The Drivers there more tolerant la!

Hello pple! I am back and italy was hot hot and hot! Felt like I was in Maldives except I couldn't walk around in bikini so U can imagine how hot it was when sightseeing.It was gelato everyday, sometimes twice a day, each time 2 scopes! So fat now.

Wu & Starstar,
Wah..envy sia..esp Starstar, free trip! So what do you do when you get there? Go on a detox programme? MUST take lots of pics and share! U too Wu, W resort should be oh so nice.

Starstar,
cannot bring ur family with u? as in they buy their own air tics and then bunk in with u?

If there's gg to be a group trip for Bora Bora, count me in!

Haru,
Aw....little princess!!! So nice and blessed! I hope I'll have a girl IF i decide to have a no. 2. I wan a little mummy's girl.

haru

T&P,
welcome back!!! ur gelato is making me drool....=P do share some pix with us!!

hahah, u can imagine all the shopping for little princess. everything looks so irresitable and tempting. my hubby goes "aw.." at all the little girls outfits and stuff. hahahah....

lavendar_lover

t&p
cannot lah..meant to be a wellness program. so should not have any distractions.. :p but then, even can, dun think my hubby can go...gonna keep his leave... =)

not sure if got detox program...everything still unknown just only know all expenses paid for..air tics, accom, meals, etc. the program there not sure yet but I did complete a wellenss form from the resort...suppose they'll tailor a prog to suit me i guess.

ya..will take lots of pics... 2 more days!! gosh!

haru
dun kow why the guys like to have daughters... my hubby also wan to have a daughter too...so she can be daddy's girl...*roll eyes*

haru

starstar,
are you all packed???? so excited for you! so is hubby going to take care of baby while u are away?

haha, i guess they know that daddy's girl will always manja to them. my hubby admits that he prob wont be able to resist her whining..hahah...

ryo

Yo Folks! Greetings from Maldives.

Lovely weather so far.... using their free internet service in the room....Some preview for all to see.

http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos/album/53/W-resort_Spa_Maldives_2008

Yo starstar,

Heard that you've already meet up with your Maldives "Partner" liao issit? kekeke.... Enjoy your trip together ok! She was asking whether can find 1 day we can all meet....keke... but I told her too far liao lah...anw... enjoy ur trip at the wonderful..superb O&O!!

Yo T&P,

Yes yes.... Bora Bora group trip next year!!! I need to save up again 1st.... Most likely I'll wanna continent hoppp to NZ 1st....then follow by Bora bora... dun wanna waste the Airtix.

So... T&P is in.... anyone else?? Where's Fanfan!!! Paging!!

Cheers! Wu& Karen

haru

hi Wu,
oh gosh, am reading ur post from maldives and here in Singapore its wet and a lil gloomy. loove ur private sun deck....oooooh....enjoy e rest of the 6 days!!!

bvbride

Hey all TGIF!!! last day of the work week

Haru: Congrats on your little princess yeah...

Yep u are the first w a little girl! we will soon have pictures of a baby wearing a different colour scheme - sweet pastel baby pink and all...
Saw some really really sweet baby rompers at Petite Bateau Taka...overpriced but sooo sweet~
Bet daddy cant wait to shop for his darling princess!

Starstar: whoa u come back sure extra slim and glowing one
envy sia.. Enjoy ok!

Wu: Saw your gorgeous W pix liao - kept gog Whoa Whoa WHoa!!!

T and P: Welcome back girl
what have u got planned for bb this weekend? find myself cracking my brains when it comes to where to bring Kieran to over the wkend ..hmm.. guess will let him try swimming again - gues he will wail again but the little one loves his bath time le...hmmm...

Zhuzhu: u bot the Ergo! but Markus can walk more on his own now hor so no need to carry so much??
I just bot brown rice bee hoon and alphabet pasta to let Kieran try...will start w the pasta first
think he is sick of porridge too :p

CHeers!!

lavendar_lover

hi everyone!!=)
greetings from Maldives!!! Had a long night due to some hiccups at the Maldives' custom... cos of teh 2 photographer's equipments... think they had abt 2 big bags of equipment..n needed some permit..lucky got the O&O staff to help..so got stuck at the Male airport waiting for teh GM of teh resort to fax the permit over...else all was ok.

best part is both of us got to stay in the over water villa!! tot beach but was surprise when they brought us on buggy to our villa n it's overwater!!! was a nice surprise... kinda of tired now cos there's an iternary to follow..need to go for breakfast n some briefing later..need coffee... I'll tok more in teh afternoon... see ya all!

haru

bvbride,
thanks!i know, my family is excited about hving a girl as my sister already has a son. my sis and BIL can't wait to shop for her already.my hubby already has 4 nieces so i think they wil enjoy "grooming" her.hahah..

I love Petite Bateau too, but not cheap like u said. but oh so soft.. my hubby has already bot 2 pieces of ManU rompers from the UK.hahaha...

how bout bringing Kieran to botanic gdns for a picnic? can bring some bread to feed e turtles and swans too!!very fun, used to do that w hubby. =>

if you are bringin Kieran to the pool, maybe try to bring along some water toys and just let me slowly play on the steps area first. just remember to ALWAYS keep ur eyes on him. have seen too many parents leaving their child unattended just becoz they have floaties on.

starstar,
am sure you will have a good time! so ur pix will be in the upcoming issue of Shape? hope you'll have a fantastic time!!! soak up the sun for us ya??

Bvbride,

sama sama. Sometimes also dunno where to bring Jarrett. Last weekend brought him shopping. Brought him to botanic garden once but he didn't seem to like it cos quite warm n humid. the min we got into the car n on the aircon then he started smiling.
btw, i dunno if i mentioned tis but i finally fig out how to use the hotsling. haha

haru,
i love peitie bateau too, but ex sia. babies outgrow their clothes so.......fast. Jarrett has many clothes only wore once. wasted.

starstar,
ow....how i wish i can b there with u!

Wu,
no more updates?

lavendar_lover

greetings from O&O Maldives!!

The crew from SPH just left a few hours ago...yup...our photoshoot sessions are finished finally. keke.. felt like some models....haha... just that kinda of 'big' size for a model. :p

Very choppy seas...esp for the seas just outside my water villa.... super duper windy past 2 days... think the strong wonds caused the choppy waters. The current is very bad... can't swim in the waters ard the villa...have to go to the other side of island to swim where the water is calmer. Guess it's the wind direction.... Took alot of pics... but not as much as my the other fren... wah..barely got time to myself..cos all day, either I"m busy wif the iternary planned out for me, I'll be doing photoshoot.

Saw a lovely rainbow yesterday!! yup..rained awhile n stop n rained again... so we having intermittent rain past 2 days. Kinda of gloomy...but least spa treatments are planned for me everyday!!! something to look forward to everyday. =) Wah!! checked the price for spa in O&O...cheapest is like 1hr 50 min massage for is like USD$200. Very ex leh....think I won;t have that kind of $$ to spend if I come here myself... unless tio toto..haha... =)

ok..gonna go..early day for me tomolo... will be back in abt 2 days time!! =) miss my hubby n my boy...

haru
ya..we'll be featured in the sep issue. =)

ryo

Yo bvbride,t&P,Haru...

Back liao.... back to reality....sianzxx....haa. Too lazy to do the rest of the photo.. just enjoying our last few days there. hee.

Yo Starstar,

Still enjoying eh...coming back tonite liao issit?
anw... USD200 for almost 2hrs is ok liao. W-hotel one even worse...USD190+ for 80mins....
I miss my Mirihi Spa session... cheaper but better...

ok... back to work... sianzz... maybe review W-hotel later ba.. maybe wait for Starstar to review 1st.

Haa...

pcw

We are back from our honeymoon! We had a wonderful time and Kuredu island resort is really fantastic.

Hi Wu, now i know why you are so addicted to Maldives cos me and my wife already started to plan for next year haha....

Will post my review when we have settled down and clear some work first.

Thanks for all the advices, it really come in handy especially we did not panic when we can't find our agent Impex but there are alot of other agents very helpful, they actually help us find our agent or help our agent find us haha...

Anyway, a quick one for those who needs to book airport hotel, Kam is not bad but i think Relax Inn looks better. Both Kam hotel and Relax Inn are side by side but Kam fail in comparison in terms of look :) but Kam's room is generally clean except it's really small. Will post pix soon.

pcw

Kam hotel - Clean room but small. Good enough for one night stay as we woke up early at 5am and left the hotel at 6am, so it's fine with us. But the rate is higher than Relax inn, so i will definitely go for Relax inn since it's just one short night and it can't be worst haha... Oh also, don't bother to book with breakfast, not worth paying so much for toast and some sausages and tea/coffee, just bring your own bread or endure till lunch. The short building in the middle is Kam Hotel. The green one on the right is Relax Inn.
717332.jpg
717333.jpg

kazataza

starstar,

wow!!! you gals get to stay @ over water villa and spa treatments thrown in as welll?
making me drool leh....

Wu, where's your pics?? only 20+ pics in facebook leh..not enuff leh...

ryo

Yo PCW bro..... see wat I mean by addiction... hahaha...
yaya... same here... on our last nite there, already started to "plan" for our next trip.

ya.. relax inn is ok, same small room, probably same quality - nothing to talk about also...just to sleep for that 4hrs or so.

anw.. forgot to tell u about breakfast, anw.. u already booked also. everywhere breakfast seems to be same, I never try but saw other eat lah.hee.

anw... by 7am, we reach the resort, n check in liao.. so take the breakfast over there, anw.. they charge us USD25+ per pax for breakfast. Dun really care... so hungry.

So... started to miss Maldives liao? haha...

ryo

Chey....I very sianx liao lah.. lucky weekend coming.
.... no mood to do photo....I wanna to go back to Maldives.... My motherland...opss... siao liao.. I getting mad. :p

pcw

Haha... we were just discussing whether to still go back to Kuredu or other resort. Actually it started off with the Krisflyer points we have, whether where to use it, so we decided to go back to Maldives. Actually to be honest, we kind of bored on the last two days of the stay, not sure whether it's because of the rain or we really don't know what else to do except eat and sleep haha... But we are thankful we have four days of fantastic weather (1st four days), then the rain came but good for us as we needed to rest our burnt body haha...

We actually brought a portable DVD player and eight movies there to kill time in the night but unfortunately the movies i bought sucks haha...

Kuredu is flooded with caucasians, we only see one other chinese (singaporean) in the Sangu resort (know she's a singaporean cos saw her on TV before) but the food is great, we really put on some weight in that short period of time.

Anyway, we pay around US$20 too for the crappy breakfast, think your US$25 has better spread than mine.

ryo

Actually both of us also quite bored for the last few days.... really need to do something to kill time, but need to spent la. On the other hand, to kill time, time flies... fly to fast also sianx...haaa...

1 thing I found is that Male Atoll tends to rain more frequent during this season... that's why I tell u it's un-predicatable.
1st 2 trip we were at South Ari Atoll.... 95% of the time is sunshine. This time round in North Ari Atoll, we got 8 days of continuous sunshine, only 5 mins passing shower during 1 of the day, and the last day during seaplane take off, storm n gloomy weather. Really weird. One of the staff even told us... last Dec(suppose to be good weather), it rain continously for 15 days.!!! faint.

Yaya.. Kuredu is famous to the british especially, just like Veligandu as well. I think Kuredu sister island, meeru also flooded by british.
In W-Hotel, it's mix, many Koreans, Japanese, Hker, and chinese. Most came for 4D3N. Most of the staff thot we are Korean also... haaa...

Aiya... we also ganna "cheated" during our 1st time there, 10USD per pax.... same breakfast as yours loh, at one of the central accom in MAle, In w- hotel, our breakfast everyday same thing also...we ate scramble egg, fry rice, soup noodle, dim sum, steak n egg, bread, orange juice, tea almost everyday.... really sianx. We skip lunch becos we're so full....
then when afternoon came, we go hunt for the free ice cream, Magnum n free coke... ate some biscuit in the room, watch TV n just wait for dinner.

Do u find time really slows to a crawl back in Maldives, especially the 1st few days? Really miss the time there.
we kill time by watching cable tv, play pool, table soccer, sleep, snorkel, suntan....something tat I cannot find time to do in Singapore... unbelievable....

Yo Yo... time to target other resort, there are about 6 new resorts coming up this year end... wat I know is Alila n Shangrila at the extreme south of Maldives, near Gan Airport.

Really too many choices to choose from.... Haizzzz.....
Maybe next year I might go Maldives, then dun fly back to SGP... fly to Europe for a few days. I really hated the last day in Maldives, waiting for the SQ flight... really drain me dry...

Island hopping is on my mind....to avoid the same kind of breakfast everyday..hahaha....

zhuzhu

Bvbride
Yup..got a 2nd hand ergo carrier..now i seldom use it lar..but i might need to use it again when i am going out alone with Markus..

I think kieran will love the brown rice bee hoon..

Starstar
I will make sure I go n grab a sept cope of Shape..

Wu
Considering migrating to Maldives??

T&P
I think when Jarrett started walking..he will enjoy botanic garden more..Last wkend bought Markus to East Coast... Wah he enjoy running abt on the patch of grass..and even venture onto the sand..

lavendar_lover

yo everyone
I'm back a few days back... :p super tired due to not enough sleep on flight back. So took a while for me to recuperate. keke... pics wise I'll upload them in facebook. I'll do it soon but got a few things need to settle first...so guess it'll take a while.

fanfan
yes..everyday got a spa treatment thrown in n of course, a personal fitness training prog too. morning n afternoon exercise. =) Also, can only eat wellness dishes.... ie. no steak etc... think i almost become a rabbit during the week. The 'worst' thing is the crew esp the 2 photographers ate steaks in front of us n trying to 'spike' us...haha... should see our faces...:p Over all enjoyable and I made ALOT of new frens!! Even the villa host is now in my facebook. haha...

ok..for the review of O&O... I can say the service there is superb!!! Guess for that range of resort..u pay so much...the service has to be up there lor. If I rem correctly, the beach villa cost abt USD$1100 per night... so think the water villa would cost more than that. Very few asians... think u can use 2 hands to count them!

Saw a black tip reef shark at the beach... we were up in a pavillion over the water when we saw it. =) it's big! Abt 2m.

For me, I dun think I'll go back again if I've to pay such a price...I'll most prob go for Shangrila. =) But if I strike Toto, I dun mind going back n keke.. can even get some discounts from the PR n sales manager there....;p since both of them has become our frens....haha... =)

btw, it's so weird... I was in Taj Coral for honeymoon 3 years back n rem looking at this island with some construction on going..was thinking what resort is this...n now, I'm here n looking back at Taj Coral!! YES!! they are neighbours!! Can see each other one... haha...

haru

welcome back starstar!!
hope you had a nice relaxing break. am sure it was a good experience even with the "rabbit" food! haha...so funny leh...

we will patiently wait for ur pix, no worries.=D

Wah...everyone's back! Now we r waiting for the PICTURES!!!

zhuzhu,
I guess have to wait for him to grow up more. Meanwhile, he still loves to stay indoor with air con. Brought him swimming last week, twice! first time he seem abit overwhelmed, 2nd time he seem to enjoy it more and was abit more "talkative".

Yeah...will grab a copy of Shape, Sep as well. So starstar, r u back with a hot hot figure!! =)

pcw

Hey Wu, yah time really crawl down there, alot of time we will ask each other the time and the response is likely "huh, only less than an hour passed", seems eternity when you are not doing anything. Even when we dozed off while sun tanning, it seems like hours past but only less than 10mins haha....

You got cable TV ah... sigh... we borrow some quiz card games from our niece and dvd player from a friend, else really don't know what else to do. Like you said, everything is $$$, so we only spend on SPA (one day and that's like 1.5hours only), then the rest like fishing, diving, sunset cruise, local island visit, we not that interested and it's ex too.

We did rent snorkel set on our 2nd day (US$14 a day for both of us) but we are so blessed as on 3rd day morning of our trip while we were sun tanning at our veranda, we saw our next door villa neighbour (i think they are British) coming out to their veranda so we just smile and say hi to them. Then the husband ask if we have snorkel set or keen on snorkelling, so we just told them we rented from the dive shop and he asked if we would like to have theirs, they just bought it for the trip and decided not to bring them back home (they are leaving that day), of course we want lah, so we save more than US$50.00 and use it to buy mineral water haha...

So it pays to be nice, a good tip to all going, be nice to your neighbour, you never know what they will bless you, so the next few days, we just smile and say hi to everyone that make eye contact, most are very nice and stop to chat.

Another thing i notice during meal time and told my wife, alot of couples first few days will be dining and keeping to themselves but after several days, you see them dining with another couple or two, think most of them after a few days will be bored with each other and needed to find kakis to do things together haha...

Now for the water issue, you are right, it’s very very expensive. We bought four 500ml bottles in Singapore to be used for our first and last day as most likely our resort will give two complimentary bottles everyday right, WRONG! They did not give a single bottle and we need to buy at per litre bottle at about SGP$6.00. Initially we wanted to bring empty bottle to the restaurant and fill up but later decided against it lah, how can we let our country and our fellow countrymen down by doing so “pai seh†thing right haha…. So we decided every meal we go, we drink like there’s no tomorrow and endure till the next meal but that didn’t last long, we started buying a bottle a day on the 4th day haha…

Another funny thing is drinks and the blue wristband. On our first day and first meal (lunch) at Kuredu, initially we did not order any drink, told them we just want water, then saw a few tables order soft drinks and orange juice and other stuff and they were not billed, so we thought maybe it’s complimentary, ok lah since free, ordered two glasses of orange juice and guess what, after we finished our dessert, our waiter brought us a bill to sign US$9.00 for the two orange juice haha…. Thereafter next few meals, we only order when we really have the urge for soft drinks or juice and it’s one glass two-person share haha… Oh yah for the blue wristband, we were wondering how come everyone in the island is wearing the blue wristband except us, so I told my wife jokingly they are racist since we are the only Chinese in the island so they are trying to set us apart from the rest of the Caucasians haha… but after asking the waiter, oh it’s to identify the all inclusive guests and we are the only one that’s not haha… We were offered the all inclusive package when we first check into the resort and was told we just need to top up US$60 per day for two of us but we decided not taking it as we don’t drink (I mean alcohol beverages), thus it’s not worth it. The all inclusive package includes drinks at any of the restaurants and bar or café in the island and you can order, soft drinks, juices, beer, wine or house pour as and when so I guess if you can drink type, then it’s worth it to pay for the all inclusive. I think they also include some games in the package.

Oh yah, the tipping you mentioned, well we tip the housekeeping chap almost daily and the fellow come twice a day to help us clean up and really service us. We tip him US$1 or US$2 each time (I think overall we tip him around US$10) but we really like him, very honest and humble fellow and we chat with him quite a fair bit to know him. We tip our waiter on the last day too (also US$10), he served us from the very first meal and after 3rd day, he knows our pattern already, keep refilling our water haha… the concept is something new to us where the same waiter will serve us from the very first day. It’s good and bad as sometime we see one waiter standing around not serving as his guests are probably not coming for makan or have not wake up yet when my server could be serving 3 to 4 tables at the same time… anyway, we really only care about the food and water haha… the spread is really good, lunch and dinner are always different stuff thank GOD as the breakfast is the same everyday! Oh yes we went on full board but may go for half board for future trip because when you are not doing much, you don’t get that hungry so most of the time, we eat for the sake of eating and we have already paid for it. Next round can go for late heavy breakfast, skip lunch and eat early for dinner :)

Yes you are right, maybe should move on to another resort, no need to be so sentimental hor… Next round I may want to choose resort that is near airport and has night transfer, really don’t like the checking in and out, taking ferry to and fro, just want to go to one resort straight from the airport and late checkout on last day before going to airport, hated the last day wait too. At least we booked the day use hotel at Central with HBO to watch and wash up before going to airport, saw a lot of drained and moody people who did not book day use hotel and slept and wait in the airport, not a pretty sight, are you one of them haha….

Ok, got to get back to work now, catch up with you again Wu and thanks for your tips and help bro!

ryo

Yo Haru, Fanfan.... will do the pics soon... let me nua abit more... about 800 pics to sort. haha..Lazy lah. :p

Yo Zhuzhu,
Migrate? nah... go there tour then fun. Will still make it a yearly trip if possible.

Yo Starstar,
So got cut any weight when u r there?? after the rabbit meal? Yaya... those bad photographer.... must be fat fat one...hee.
Shangrila will open end of this year.... hee... look out for another call Alila(saw the adver at the departure hall... u must have seen it as well! )... it's near Shangrila... maybe can island hop!!
So how do you get along with Sheena??
Hope u folks have fun together

:pic Pics Pics!!!! hee

Yo T&P,

Wah lao.... dun let my wife see ur pics....shiii..... she wants to go... I want to go but lazy to walk...hee..
Nice pics!!! Wonderful weather there as well!

ryo

Yo PCW bro...

Wahahaha.... it's like Deja vu... wahaha.... those things that happen to you, happen to us also.. Minutes is like hour... same same... hahahah...

Hmmm.... this is the 1st resort I heard without providing complimentary water. At that price you're paying, there should at least include them as well.

Anw, ya lah... if you dun drink alcoholic stuff, no point upgrading. We eat more during the breakfast, n skip the lunch. Becos just outside our villa we got free ice-cream n various can drinks like milo, coke, coffee... so afternoon, just grab something to eat in the villa. Everyday 5pm, someone will bring some treats, like chocolate cake or something to our villa for free, so we dun get hungry easily. We can tanhan till 8pm for the dinner... haa..

Ohh... u hate the transfer thingy ah. but nite transfer hor..the 1st nite will be wasted loh. It's consider 1 nite leh.
this time round I reach the resort at about 7am.. long way to go till nite, but offcourse the seaplane transfer is more ex la.

yayaya.... we're one of those moody people there. kekeke....but we eat ice cream at Movenpick then rush in to checkin at about 8.15pm, found a sit at DOME cafe, ate something.. at least this time round not too bad. But again, the flight back, we both knock out... so bloody tired. Back for a week liao still gong gong.

Yo bro, you got facebook? add me also... he... find me Wu Shi Xin in Facebook

haru

T&P,
e pix looks wonderful and the scenery is awesome!!! look forward to going one day oh...

Wu,
haha, no problem lah. can imagine it must be difficult to get back into the rythym after the nice nua-ing break in maldives. =D

pcw

I don’t have facebook but just added you in at multiply J

Exactly, even central hotel where we stay for the day use provided us with a one litre bottled mineral water, Kuredu don’t even give us a 500ml bottle. I read they only provide one bottle to all inclusive guest per day. The perks in your resort so much better, got free ice cream and drinks and chocolate cake some more… we have to pay for everything.

I guess there are less free stuff at kuredu because it’s a big lsland with a lot of guests, so can’t afford to give too much free stuff, that’s the only reason I can think of to console myself :p

I met a guy on the seaplane while leaving for the airport. He’s a fire instructor and he goes around resorts to teach the staff about fire drills and stuff. So he told me he has stayed more than 40 resorts in Maldives (he’s a Maldivian by the way) and the best is still Conrad, he showed me some pictures he took of the room and the under water restaurant, I really drool man! But I am too stingy to spend US1K a night on the hotel lah.

We checked in about 8.30pm and ate Jap food at the foodcourt, expensive but pretty decent. Oh I also realize something throughout the trip, I don’t think I have ate any prawns except for the tempura at the airport foodcourt. Weird when there are plenty of fresh fishes served during lunch and dinner but no other seafood. Some comments on the food at Kuredu too, they are quite saltish and the desserts are extremely sweet (a lot of candies Indian style), maybe salt and sugar cheap there :p

I know it’s quite wasteful to pay for one night at the resort when we reach like 10+pm, but considering the night hotel and day use hotel and seaplane cost in it, I think maybe it’s still alright. I mean I have been on the seaplane already and also tour the Male city for three hours already, so just want to cut short the waiting time or make full use of the last day. Oh about touring the Male city, did anyone volunteer his service to bring you around? Impex sent someone to pick us up at the airport on the last day when we came from Kuredu, young man around early 20s and he volunteer to bring us around Male and I asked him how much is the service and he told me up to me, so he brought us around the tourist attractions (not much of attraction though) and to souvenirs’ shop (we didn’t buy anything cos it’s not worth the price) and also to a restaurant to eat, we bought him lunch too, very ex lunch for all three of us. Anyway total hour spent around 3 hours and we gave him US$5.

So now that I have the map (took from the seaplane inflight magazine) and one time experience, I think I just want to cut short the traveling, maybe if there’s a 3rd trip to Maldives, then will try resort hopping but the constraint is some resorts require a minimum six nights booking, so got to find those that do not have this criteria.

ryo

Yo Bro,

Added you as contact liao
Facebook is a must! hee... but careful... very addictive.
I'm paying USD800++ per nite for the room, off course must give me free water lah.. 4x 500ml a day. But I dun think it's regarding to rates, it might just be the all inclusive thingy. Mirihi gave me at least 2 bottles a day as well, so does Conrad Maldives, we received 2 bottles a day too.

Ya Conrad is one of the best resort there, newly re-furbished in 2005. When I was there at 2005, believed me or not... the beach villa is only USD150+ per nite!! now is at least USD600 per nite. We ate at the undersea restaurant as well... n really unforgettable. But really, you must try it someday.... I know it's ex but we only live once...
Dun be stingy lah....kekeke..

U are right about prawns. I think most of the prawns are imported. We ate a prawn dish, tempura it calls in 1 of the restaurant in W. It cost us USD22+, and best part is only 3 small tempura prawn. I look at my wife, n she look at me....really dun know wat to say.
Fishes are plentiful though.... most are hand line caught, fresh!!!

Have u try grilled lobster there in Kuredu? it's a must eat dish in Maldives! I wanna eat but too ex in W. It cost me only USD8 per 100gm in Mirihi... cheaper than in SGP, but W is asking for USD30 per 100gm... crazy.!!

It'll be worth while if the resort you are visting costing alot more, then I think the 1 nite stay is worth it. Next time if u wanna to go and ready to SPENT!! look at Soneva Gili, 4 season, huvafenfushi and O&O reethi rah.... These are the 4 top notch resorts transfer by boat.... 1 nite stay in Male is worth it!

Even at the W, I was offer to a tour around Male.. but I told him I'll stay in movenpick... haha.. then reach airport, impex staff come fetch me... I just gave him USD5, say thank you and went off to movenpick ... haaa...

yup... low season, lots of resort is asking for at least 5 nites. For higher end resort, there's package for buy 3 nites get 4 nites, like soneva gili n O&O. every year same.... from Impex... monitor closely bro! heee...

joystream

hi all!!

it's been quite awhile since i last login...

almost forgotten my ID and password... wahaha

and i saw T&P's maldives unrelated pics link!!!
it's beautiful............

pcw

You said it bro, facebook is addictive, that’s why I am restraining myself from joining haha…

Yes I saw from your multiply you been to Conrad, formerly Hilton, and stayed in the sunset water villa, how much did you pay for it per night then? It’s a whopping US$4200+ now and in low peak some more!! I showed my wife last night your multiply site and the photos of W and Hilton, her jaw drop and she also suddenly feel Kuredu is not as beautiful after all. When we were in our honeymoon, we agreed our money was well spent especially the memories we are bringing back but you crush our memories bro, now every picture we took looks grey and colorless haha… but thanks for sharing your pics, just remember next time display more sub-standard photos lah, every single one you took looks fantastic, you caused us alot of emotional stress you know haha... just kidding.

We know we can’t afford the Conrad Sunset water villa now, have to save up for our home. Maybe cheapskate abit, borrow some of your pictures, blow it up and made into wallpaper for our bedroom, then every morning wake up can see the clear blue sky and sea of Maldives, then maybe also buy some CD with ocean and wave sound, play every night and imagine haha….

Aiyah, we didn’t try the grilled lobster, you never tell me or I missed out one of your message but it’s ok lah, we will try next time. Oh and my wife grown to love grilled fish now after Maldives.

Thanks for more hotel recommendation, I am starting to do some research now, hope to celebrate our one year anniversary in Maldives.

ryo

Yo bro,

kekeke... ya.. FB is addictive but it's somewhat like Multiply with extension of more stuff. Share photo, finding friends, playing with virtual pets... ok la...kekeke

The sunset water villa came as a surprise... we were there at hilton staying 7nites at the BV. I know about the sunset water villa b4 the trip..n I just simply ask to visit the villa. So 2 staff brought us around touring the Sunset water villa. Just as we're about to leave.... they asked cheekily.... u guys wanna to stay here?? we show interest n they called their manager... from USD1K per nite, we push to USD750++ per nite(becos no one booked at the full rates USD2700++ during that time, they can be flexible). We immediately took it. We went with another couple friend, so... divide by half it's only USD375++ per couple per nite. We book for 2 nites... then best part is...our 2nd last day at the BV, they call us up... telling us they will give us 1 more nite free at the Sunset Water villa... thus 3nites stay at the SWV.
Thats' the story loh. Just lucky also la...hee.

Yo bro... Maldives is a wonderful places, whichever island u stay in...Kuredu is a famous island as well you know. The sand bank where the hold the ROM looks fantastic. Different is only the building/design etc...You not bad liao hor.. my honeymoon I went perth with tour group consist of auntie and kids.... less romantic than yours loh..

I uses filter n photoshop my photos la...kekeke... but lightings does play a big part though. if cloudy hor.. will make photos dull.
Did u wear sunglasses there? does it make the sky more blue? .... it's the same concept. I uses filter on my camera.

Eh... yaya.. we once think of bringing memories back by doing the same thing you are thinking... photo-paper the whole house, spa music... sand flooring... but I got 2 dogs at home, they sure pee on the sandy floor... kekekek...

Yes bro!! Bring ur beautiful wife there again for a romantic anniversary!!

Tell u liao... Maldives is as addictive as facebook.

pcw

Yah bro, you guys are really lucky. I always believe it's important to treat people nicely and also bold to ask lah. I am sure your humble and nice nature towards the staff and when you ask and express interest, they will surely go that extra mile to help you and some more throw in another free night, damn envy now haha....

I am just kidding, we still treasure our memories in this trip especially we spend a lot of quality time together and we would not have been able to do so if we decided on US or Australia or any place that has shopping or travelling from places to places. We are still reminiscing the time in Maldives even though we are back almost a week and back to reality and our work haha...

We saw from your site and somewhat guess you are a professional photographer, so we know can't compare lah, some more i use a crappy nokia camera phone and my wife using normal digital camera haha...

Oh yes, saw your two dogs, they are adorable. Only after that then we realise why the nick ryonpepper (Ryo and Pepper) and my wife was insisting your name is Ryon haha...

Yes we now have a strange relationship with Maldives, miss it when we are back in Singapore, excited when we are there, but get bored of it after more than 5 days. But i still think we are bored because there are no TV and internet :p haha...

ryo

Hee... I think we are just plain lucky, at the right place right time.
This time round when we are W, we did visit their 492sqm Ocean Haven water villa... kekeke.... doesnt' work this time round.

You are absolutely right... quality time with your wife is priceless... especially in Maldives! Honeymoon somemore!

Nah... I'm not a pro in photography.. still got a long long way loh. One of my hobby lah.... beside stars gazing... kekeke.

kekeke... yaya... you are very observant!
My golden retriever named Ryo, n Pepper the Cocker spaniel.

Haizz... same here loh. My wife dreamt about Maldives last nite, suddenly woke up, n back to reality...
Based on our pass experience, need about 1~2 mths to get over it.! Still need to get my engine to start... my boss eyeing on me liao.. Haaa.

ryo

Yo Haru.... Shiii..... please.... I dun want to walk. Haaa... Driving still ok, like Aust or NZ.

haru

Wu,
hahah..think you will like NZ, very chill and scenery is awesome. only thing is the rather long flight.

Ya...the weather was good for photo-taking but can die when sightseeing. Not much shades to hide and walk so much. But worth it lah. The mounments were majestic and scenery fantastic. But unlike the last time i went europe, this time round I didn't have the "Don't want to come back" feeling. Think being a mother changes everything.

Wu,
gg to email u re some work stuff. pls check hor.

haru

Wu,
*hint hint*!!

hey mummies,
sorry can side track a bit and ask those of u who are BF, which breastpumps u used or are currently using?

T&P,
i think u missed ur darling from the moment you at airport rite? i think if i ever go to Europe, would like to visit Greece. looks so gorgeous!!

haru...

wrong, i miss him already when i was at the airport. hahaha..

i am using ameda, also have avent manual. I swear by Ameda...love it to bits. will never travel without it again and i'll kill anyone who dare to steal it from me! Avent manual is ok lor..can pump until handache but it's convenient when u r on the go. light. but i feel it cannot empty the breasts as well as ameda.
I have gfs using Medela PIS and swear its good too. another gf has both PIS and Ameda and said both are comparable but Amdea is half the price of PIS. happy shopping for pump!

As for Greece, i wanted to go there for my HM. but maldives won in the end. hhaa..but it's definitly one of the places i want to go..esp the islands..