Maldives

starmed

LPH
Yo lady..where r ya? still waiting for your Hawaii pics....
keke... guess she's very busy... :p

I side track abit...Just wondering who went to Hawaii before besides LPH. Cos I'm planning a trip there in April/May... Need advise... thanks.

haru

hey bvbride,
oh!!i tot u meant like leather boots! hahahah...i got the booties (for sea use!) frm concourse.

MISH,
i still can't believe u got to see so many of them....drool!!!!!

adi99

HELLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO PPLE!

Yours truly finally went through my customary wedding and banquets! AND NOW IS MY FIRST DAY IN MALDIVES!!! Arrived at midnight last night stayed in the beach villa and JUST SHIFTED TO THE OVERWATER VILLA like 1 hr ago.

Hahaha....my wife was soooo overwhelmed by the NICE water villa that she cried!
hehehe guys, its really worth every penny!

Its huge and really resorty. The best resort I had been in all my life! my god the view and the seaset side is fantastic. Stayed in 108. Almost got put into an odd number villa facing the islands... made a request again and got changed...phew!

Its nice and sunny today! GREAT weather but we are hiding in the room to enjoy the nice nice rm first! Now going to go check out the snorkeling. Hopefully as lucky as Mish!

Hey mish, you took which snorkeling package? The USD49 one or the USD 25 one to see the mantas? I can't wait!

K. will check in again later. Brought my laptop and will update as much as possible!

Cheers! MANTAs...here I come!!!!!!

mish

Haru,

Yeah! load of mantas! I didnt know mantas so hard to find. hee.

Adi,

Great! Have fun! Sigh... wish that i am still there.... I didnt have sun for 2 days. Poor me.

Enjoy ur room. Its nice! Got load of water rite? 4 litre a day. surely enuff. If nt just ask them for it when they come to do the rm up.

I find the usd25 one not gd. maybe that day got too many ppl or something. they are meant for beginners. So they very worried that some go missing or something. so didnt snorkel much.

as for the USD45 excursion. Errm. they dont seem to know what is it about. wanted to book that one. But they say that they dont have the excursion. Strange. Anyway. We took the USD150 for 2 hrs - speed boat. GREAT! They bring u to wat u wanna see. U just tell them that u wanna see manta ray. They will bring u there. Its quite far away. about 15mins speed boat ride. The speed boat can be shared. So if u happen to know any couple there.. then u can go in a group of 4... can spilt up... so it will be 75 per couple. good deal if able to go in 2 pairs! we went twice out. 4 of us. so save some money! hee.

kazataza

starstar,
nope..he's a 100% singaporean wor..how come u think he's a Jap??

Adi,
wow! sounds so dramatic..your wife even cried??

Mish Mish..
ping me when you're not so bz

ryo

Yo Adi,

Wah say........ I thot u're still in Singapore or in Europe. No sound no sign, you're already in Maldives ah! Looks like you're really enjoying urself there eh!
If can hor, try island-hop 2 another resort to recce for us to see if there's another value resort or not leh! Kekekek..... Anantara too ex for me now... :p

Yo Mish,

Manta is not difficult to find, just that it's not season when we go loh. Even Malaysia water like those near Pulau Aur or Tioman can also see them during Manta season. I think Whale shark more difficult to see........ But must agree you're very lucky to see a school of them! That might be rare though, must be a big family. Anyway, they travel in a group also lah, and seldom solo! :p
So you miss your doggie when u in Maldives?? Kekekek.....

lph

starstar...i juz came back from krabi n was busy with work last week.
will post some of the hawaii photos by this week.

zeny

Yes, heard that mantas are quite a norm in maldives..... but not in Aur or Tioman. for those interested in manta they can head to bali too....they do have resident manta there.....
as for whale shark, really got to depend on luck......

Mist... you spent so much there :eek: my goodness, what exactly did you spend on since resort + air-tix are already paid for prior arrival. dun tell me it is those snorkelling /kayahing ? or you went diving ??

ryo

Yo Zeny,

I got dive shop kept telling me Manta can be seen around Aur? Hmmmm...... are they bluffing me or what?? I love to go bali do some diving in future....not to see Manta but Mola mola. You dive also? Any chance to dive there in Bali?
anw now I rather spent money and dive in Bali? Maldives to see Manta!!!Hahaha...

Yo Joy!

I think Mish spent majority on spa!!! Hmmmm..... and maybe cold icy coke!!! hahahahah.....:p

mish

Hey Wu,

Is it? So many mantas ar? Hmm icic. So now is the right season. If i am not wrong, the place that we saw the mantas is at... manta point. hmmm.

I didnt spend so much la!

10k is including accomodation, air tix, food, excursions.

The accommodation for us is already 3700usd for 7nights. so we spend about 900usd on food and excursions and spa.

Joystream... dont say until i so greedy leh!

And Wu... u as well! Spoil my reputation!

ryo

Yo Mish,

yeah, almost all the resort in Maldives got a so call Manta point dive spots. So I think if go the right season, most part of Maldives should be able to see.
If I'm not wrong, the biggest Manta migration is in Mexico, probably can see hundreds and thousand of them? Hmmm.....or maybe hammer-sharks? not sure...long time ago watch discovery channel! :p

Hey...not spoiling ur reputation lah...I think in a place like Maldives, coke is a must in the hot afternoon!!

bvbride

hi y'all~

thanks mish for sharing your beautiful memories in Anantara.
the Mantas look really majestic hor. was on the tripadvisor forum and someone said that the snorkelling points are just a few mins away via kayaks. true? like that can save on taking dohni/speedboat there mah..just paddle there will do! do u think it is too far to paddle there ourselves??

kazataza

Mish,
Thanks for the pics =) got X-rated one somemore (wrapped in towel only + your n your hubby soaking in tub)...heeheee

counting down to mine...1 more week+ to go...abit of nervous....

mish

WU,

OooOo.. so u are the coke addict. We didnt drink alot of soft drinks when we were there. So ex! 4usd each! Eeeeks.

Didnt know that every resort nearby got manta point dive spot. Hmmm. Nw i know.

BV,

Ya.. the mantas are even nicer in real life! Hee. Can snorkel to snorkel point but they are not as WOW as the trips out. the corals not as many. The manta point has ALOT of fishes.. like Thousands. Very nice. But its very far out. About 15mins speed boat ride.

Fan fan,

Wat x-rated?? No wor!!!! Heee.

U wedding day not nervous... go maldives nervous..thats strange... hee.

starmed

mish
thanks for the great pics!! gosh...it's so nice!!

fanfan
keke...tot he's jap cos your title of your pics lah... :p anyway why u so nervous?keke... should be excited...

adi W
enjoy yourself man!!

starmed

LPH
how's your Krabi trip? Heard from my fren who's been to Krabi recently said it's nicer than phuket in terms not so commercialised.
she told me the water there also crystal clear...
seem slike a lovely place to go...

thanks in advance for your hawaii pics.

haru

hey MISH,
thanks for sharing ur pix!!! can imagine how it is for u now. coz when i just came back from my trip, kept looking at e photos day in day out to relive the sweet memories..hahah...

Fanfan,
u must really be counting down every minute now!!hahaha...

zhuzhu

yoz mish

my blood test turns out ok..guess maybe cos i ate some sweet things dat day, thats why got sugar in urine..

now I going to view ur pics

Guys,
today I went for a down syndrome scan at the hospital..the lady who did the scan was so funny..she sounded more excited than me..keep showing me where is the hands, the feets..she even count the fingers for me...now she really gets me all excited

ryo

Yo Mish,

I'm not coke addict lah...just that everytime after sun-tanning or canoe, and it's so hot, and have to pass by the bar counter, sees the coke there....really cannot Tahan lah!!! Kekekek... DOn't care USD4 or not liao loh wo! :p
Errr....ur pics got X-rated meh?? ...hmm... must see ur pics again! :p

Yo Zhuzhu,

Huh......... so sweet..... you making me excited about have kids!
little hands and feets of the baby!!

zhuzhu

yoz mish

wah I like ur pics man..esp ur in villa dining...food looks alot also..really makes me think back of my times in Hilton..

lph

this is some of my krabi photos...
http://new.photos.yahoo.com/lengph/album/576460762332863843#page1
krabi is not as commercialised as phuket. there is no dept store, not even a watson. n theres only 1 macdonald in the whole of krabi. the highest building is only abt 4 to 5 storeys high which are the resort. n they are still building resorts. better go before it becomes another phuket.
starstar, im still trying to find my hawaii pictures cd. wat i hav on the online album is very limited. i'll try to send some to you 1st.

adi99

Hellos again folks,

Here's Adi reporting live from Maldives again. Didn't do much yesterday except for kayaking and exploring the resorts and of cos admiring the pretty sunset in our nice villa

Went on the USD25 snorkeling trip today. Nice and relaxing on the Dhoni with a nice sundeck. It was a double strike! First my wife spotted a huge school of dolphins! About 30-40 of them and alerted the captain to slow down and move closer! Fantastic fishes really nice to watch. One of the young dolphin keeps showing us some nice tricks by flippin into the air!

Strike TWO: YESSSSSS! Never got to see any mantas diving in Malaysia waters and OMG.... we got to get a close up with the mantas JUST BY SNORKELING today!!!!! So much for spending loads on diving....:p It made a turn and swam straight at my wife and me before making a turn away 2 meters away. Million dollar view to die for.

The snorkeling point was rather boring though. But the dolphins and mantas made up for it. Hehehe....wanted to go for dolphin excursion initially, so now saved a few bucks! haahaha....

Wu,

Sorry for not writing until now....been buried with work and traveling and wedding preps for the last 2 weeks with time to even sleep.... No sleep for 2 nites straight before my big day! Concussed... Finally getting to relax only now.

Fanfan,
Yup...she really cry...cos she very touched for what I did for her for the honeymoon. She did not know what to expect.

Moreover she had a very traumatic experience b4 that, which could had really spoilt our wedding. LOST ALL HER JEWELLERY AND SHOES ON THE EVE OF OUR WEDDING! I tell you....I freaked out and almost died hearing her tell me over the phone. That bag contained over 7K worth of stuff...and lost during her transfer to the hotel.

I was amazed at her strength at not losing a bit of sanity and able to hold her composure in such a situation. Worse part, she does not want me to come over as tradition has it that couples should not meet the day before.

For many gals, I guess the wedding is ruined entirely at such a situation. But she was able to improvise stand-in replacements and go through it with a smile.....

Deep inside, I know she is feeling horrible about it. So on getting a total reversal of situation of having a perfect honeymoon venue, she can't help but burst into tears....

Sorry for my grandfather story....I just wanna take this chance to tell u all this "horror incident" during my wedding.

K, she is ready for dinner. Going to try the Thai restaurant tonite.

Take care and talk again soon!

Will enjoy ourselves!

zeny

Wu, dun believe what the DC tell you. Manta just like whaleshark are all on luck for Malaysia water there is no gurantee :p When i 1st started diving, they have been telling me that and i have neber once saw manta in malaysia but i did saw whaleshark at Aur on my 4th diving trip though:p

As for bali, i went twice and the DC bought us to manta hideout and we saw them on both trips as for Mola mola we didnt see any cos not season when we went there. IMHO Bali is more worth diving but beware of the current :p

Now hopping to see some manta when i go maldives for honeymoon :p

MISH you are so lucky. we have to pay alot just to see it and all you did was snorkelling and they appear for you to see...envy......

btw Wu, hammerhead shark can head to layang layang in mar... higher chance of seeing :p

imagesxela

waaaah..so long never come in..i totally lost already.

This Mish really no good. Post photos and never inform me. lucky today free to pop by look see look see....

really got some RA pics wor.. Mish very daring hor...kekekeke...

ryo

Yo Zhuzhu,

HAhahaha...... :p

Yo Adi,

No prob...jus enjoy ur trip over there in MAldives.
You deserve this after a lot of hard work!
Lets talk after u've settle down again! So did u get urself any DSLR?

Sorry to hear about what happened to ur wife.. any chance in finding those items?
I can imagine that kind of stress, and heart-broken kind of feeling....imagine i lost a CF card contain 1st 2 days pics back in Sydney aleady very sad adi.
Hope that miracle would happen on ur side!! Bless u!

Ah Zeny,

Hehe...another diver over here!! I see....DC cannot trust 100%. Whoa!!! You've see a whale shark! Hmmm.... I think it's time for me to get back to dive, after stopping for almost 2 years liao!
Is Bali's water cold? I heard like less then 20degC?
Whoa.....layang layang...not cheap as well leh! after calculation I would rather spent the money on Maldives.period!

So when u going for ur HM? NExt Year I guess? Hows ur planning going?

Yo Bro Alex....

So busy until never come here and say hi ah? LAter ppl here forget about u liao Wo!! Kekekek....
Busy recently? Hows business? When we going out shot doggie together? kekekek...

zeny

yes..me and FH are divers :p
you better go for a refresher before heading back to the water :p bali water is seasonal certain months they are quite cold esp in aug/sept. err...my calculation tell me Layang layang is much cheaper than maldives :p

yap..next year...but yet to research cos busy with renovation of nest now :p

kazataza

Mish
me always excited and nervous when going on a trip..cos usually when i'm super duper excited, something will go wrong for my trip..so kinda nervous for Maldvies as well..

Aid,
Your wife is really a strong woman =)
any luck in recovering the bag? maybe some kind soul will help to return?
for me, i got my mum to bring my jewelleries over to me @ hotel only in the evening..cos i was worried the same thing will happen to me oso

But, am glad you n your wife r so lucky @ Maldives..

Starstar,
the jap name in my album is my colleague n her hubby's surname..cos those pics are from their digi cam =)

All,
I need help from you guys here...cos i'm really blur abt all these sea creatures u guys are talking abt...the only spieces of fish i know are only guppies, goldfish, clown fish, dolphins and sharks (in general)...hahaha...loser right..
so what kinda of spieces should i look out for @ Maldives?
I was thinking of renting the speedboat like Mish..but don't dare to..cos duno what to see oso..hahaha

starmed

fanfan
so des nah...
keke..tot your hubby's a jap...

u dun worry so much lah...

Adi W
enjoy your trip!!
have a great time wif your wife!

zhuzhu
good to hear all's well for ya...
take care.

LPH
thanks for your pics... I'll view them later.
need to ask u some questions too....

kazataza

starstar
thanks a lot
will try to...now busy doing closing...so think weekend will get real excited when i start to pack

zhuzhu
u must take care of yourself and your BB okay

ryo

yO Zeny,

How much cheaper can Layang layang be, as compare to Maldives? Maldives can go as low as S$800~900 per pax for 5D3N stay(excluding taxes lah), in most 3star resort. I reckon equivalent layang layang would cost around the same, or for me, I would rather choose maldives even if I'm paying like 200-300 dollars more than Layang layang.

Anyway, those dive operator in Maldives will go thru with u, and refresher/orientation dive first, free of charge. That's for Hilton lah, as for my Mirihi trip, too lazy to dive. Cheers!

Yo Fanfan,

Once you're there, most resort, I believe Anatanra shld have a picture list of all the fishes there.
During my dive trip there, I saw black tip reef sharks, Giant tuna, varies species of turtles, snappers, lot of Moray eels and tons of lion fishes, goat fishes, blue spotted stingrays, Giant grouper, various Trigger fish, parrot fish, BAtfish etc.. etc...u name it!

When u snorkel and see them , describe it to your boat man and they'll know!

haru

Hey Fanfan,
ya, u'll get to see all sorts of cute fish and sea animals..i'm also nt great with their names, i just noe them as stingrays, sharks and fish!hahahhaa....

hey zhuzhu,
u must be really lookin forward to your baby's arrival. my hubby said he is soooo amazed after looking at his colleague's baby scan. he's amazed at how a human can be form in the body...a true miracle frm God.

zeny

Hi Wu

I'm not sure how you do maldives for as low as $800-900. My research can easily bring me to at least $2K per pax and that is Excluding tax and diving. For layang layang...at the price of $2.5K you get everything :p but i have yet to go..cos i always miss the season for hammyhead by heading to some other places :p

Both of us dun need refresher since we dive quite often :p

was actually thinking of doing 5/7day LOB at maldives follow by a few days offgasing and idling at resort..... :p will see how it goes :p

and 1 qn...you saw all those creatures when you are SNORKELLING or diving ??

ryo

Yo Zeny,

Possible with that amount around s$800-$900 per pax! Why not? Kekek... but low end room,low season in Maldives lah.i.e Embudu resort(shoulder season cost only $1000 per rm incl tax, FB for 3N!). low season room rates slashes by up to half. Sri lankan airline might also save u some money.
Good rates for the Maldivian sand, sea and sun!
If 2K per pax, low season there's lots of choices loh! 5D3N lah.
Actually good for hard core divers, if u don't mind the accom.

Layang layang in fact a great place to dive, got high end resort also right? Heard that the former MAlaysia PM's son owns it! However, if no spare cash, I wld rather save up and go maldives.
I used to go Redang(laguna or equivalent) dive yearly but stop because after I calculate, room rates even more ex than some 4* maldives resort room rate(Per room), as Redang always go by per pax. The killer is SQ flight to Maldives lah! Thats my theory lah! kekeke...

How often u dive? Very on leh you! good stuff! anw for Hilton, orientation is a must, unless u're a dive master.
Hmmm..... I think for ur HM should dive less and relax more lah! However,since u're a hard core diver, then Maldives diving shld not be tough 4 u at all, cos u'll be treated like kings and queens! No more fixing(Fix it for the 1st time only) and dismantling. Everything done by their staff! After dive still got fruits to eat! but it's 3X per dive of Malaysia lah!

Saw most of those when diving. Deep impression on the school of giant tunas, really huge!!
Too many lion fishes and moral there in Maldives(Hilton dive site)
Others like white tip sharks, nurse shark, dolphin rays/eagle rays(love it!!), giant trigger fish(forgot what spieces liao) and Batfish when snorkelling or just swam pass our villa or along the jetty.

ryo

Yo Folks... those who got Hilton points, HARU, Mira!!

Do u know that the points can be transfer to another person, or u can buy points to exchange for room stays? Hilton Maldives is a Cat 6 resort, and cost 40000 points.

If me/or someone want back Hilton, can sell the points? Kekekek.... Maybe I might wanna to experience the deluxe beach villa(Else next time price hike until too ex), then transfer back to Mirihi water villa or other cheaper water villa at another resort!

zhuzhu

yoz Wu,
Ur hahahahah = ?????

Haru
I wasn't that excited until that lady started to point out all the body parts to me..that is when I started to get excited..

ryo

Yo Haru,

You got how many points har?.....anyway just keep it first... Me not going anywhere any sooner. kkekekekk....who knows you might need it from me!
kekekek

Yo zhuzhu,

Hahahhaha....because u ask me to "Do" tat night but....my wife already long asleep, and this week almost reach home around 10pm from work, where to find energy! So Hahahah.... "bitter" laughter ah!

Yah hor... zhuzhu, I forgotten u go Hilton also.....got points? Kekekek....

haru

hi zhuzhu,
hahah...am sure the excitement will grow as each day passes and the baby inside keeps growing!! really excited for you. make me sooo gian to have a baby too..=P told hubby i'm thinkin of giving up plans for our winter japan trip so that we can start our family plan.hahahah..

Wu,
if i not wrong, prob only about 25,000+ pts? i think nt enuf to get any rooms for free lah..it seems complicated leh. coz some hotels cannot use the pts, etc...

zhuzhu

hey Wu
Nevermind lar..dat nite never...find another more romantic nite lor..

I never exchange for hilton points leh...duno how to do also..how?

Haru
so how is ur jap trip coming up? I was also quite tempted to go Jap again..but then..now no need liao..

ryo

Yo Haru,

25K points enough for some Category only leh... Hilton Maldives is Cat 6, 40K points for the beach villa. I think most Hilton hotel can use, even the conrad brand!

Yo Zeny,

Went there twice, 2005 and 2006, all during low season. Some AngMo went there like 10 times or 30 times also have! :p
My concept is simple loh, just compare room rates with between resort in other places n those in Maldives. If same price, might as well choose Maldives.(I omit the flight charges lah...kekekek..) Then as Malaysia resorts getting crowded, I sian liao... crowded, rushing for buffet, kiasu symdrone puts me off....maybe I old liao lah. cannot take stress. :p
If Malaysia is still like 15yrs back...i.e. like Pulau Dayang and Pulau Aur or even Tioman at that time, it's a heaven!!! beautiful sea, reefs and beaches just like Maldives!! Haiz.....
I still remember back in Tioman, used to have a large school of Napolean Wrasse...resident ones at one of the snorkel site, with healthy reefs. Now I think all gone liao. Dayang seaside used to be covered with millions of Sea Urchin....now all gone!... sad!
So conclusion....I don'w spent unneccessary money in Malaysia resort, but save up for Maldives.

Yo Zhuzhu,

Do u have Hilton HHonours card no.? Did u apply for one? anw, I think now still not too late, write to Hilton and apply for the card(free), and ask them to credit the points to your card. It's an asset oki...then can sell or buy more points for free night stay!

zhuzhu

yoz Wu
dat time i got apply the hilton card online leh..think they got give me some no.

So I just write to them and ask for the points?

ryo

Yo Zhuzhu,

Yes, correct, tell them the date you're in Maldives, and they're able to check back on your spending and covert to Hilton points!

OR, you might already have the points credited liao loh!

haru

hey zhuzhu,
i am slowing down with e prep and planning for the japan trip. my gf living in japan is also helping me to gather more details about hokkaido(sapporo) which I am planning to visit. i'm still not 100% about the trip coz of all the high costs of accomodation,flights, etc (nt forgetting all the winter wear we have to buy!!) and the snowboarding and activities. figured the trip could be at least 6K. but hubby is pretty switched on leh..dun really wana "pour cold water"..i'm just in a baby in 2007 (perhaps?) vs ultimate winter in japan trip dilemma..

hey zhuzhu,
if you quoted ur hilton card no to them when u were in maldives they shld have credited it to ur account. if not just email them e details i think they can still do it for you.

haru

hi LPH,
yup, there was a promo if u booked by end oct for booking of 5 nites. Club Med is also not cheap and really commercial. I was looking more at staying at a B&B or a pension inn where we can really interact and enjoy e lifestyle of e natives. but Club Med is good as its all inclusive!

i guess if i dun go japan in feb/mar, i may consider joining my family when they go to NZ in jul/aug next year for snowboarding as well.

m1rr0r

hey people, been missing but always read now and then. saw mish' pics. soooo niceeee
i miss maldivesssssss

my fren just went to laguna, she said service not good...

after i went hilton maldives, plus some stay at Hilton PJ msia, i was upgraded to silver membership ler!