M Hotel Singapore

hi galnextdoor,
no prob

Hi gals, where will u be getting your wines from?

Ashlady, me should be gg to settle it tmr or this wkend ba.. M Hotel recommended Bottles & Bottles. don't have the add with me but there is one at Parkway parade's basement 1. Think there is another shop at Tudor Court at Tanglin. they have promotions all the time so best is u go there directly... last time i went there in May, there were 2 promos, one was $14.50 per bottle and the other was $100 for 6 bottles of wine i think.. can't rem liao...

Hey wanna ask u gals, how big shd the angbao box be? i haven't got the chance to buy it.

hi bear! Oh ok...how long in advance must we settle the wine?

I also havent got down to doing the ang bao box. I guess must be big enough to put a few hundred ang baos? hee..

Hahaha.. i really wish i can get a FEW hundred angbaos man! heehee...

I think u can settle the wine up to 2 wks before ur AD ba... but u shd get one that allows u to buy the wine on consignment basis, that is they allow u to return any leftover bottles. Bottles & Bottles only allows u to return unopened bottles if u purchase more than 3 dozens bottles of wine.

hi bear, hee...I also hope! *cross fingers*
How do u gauge how many bottles u'll be having? 1 bottle per table or more than that? Are u getting urs from B&B?

Ashlady, the guy at B&B recommended 1.5 bottles per table. I have read a couple of threads here also recommending 1.5 bottle per table so i guess its about right. U have to decide how many tables u want then multiply by 1.5 lor.. so e.g for me it is 25 x 1.5 = 37.5 bottles, so 3 dozen will be just nice...

Ya most prob i will just get from B&B.. i m not the one drinking the wine anyway.. heehee.. oh ya, another tip.. dun buy too nice tasting wine becos ur guests would tend to finish ur cache fast and dun eat their dinner... just buy those normal tasting one will do.. the prob is all wines taste the same to me leh.. how?

someone gave me the wine contact but i left it at home. Its at toa payoh. no min of order and return those bottles that are unused. i try to search and post it here

Bear, hee..didnt hear that piece of advice abt not buying too nice tasting wine before! hee
Thanks! Perhaps can ask the sales assistant to recommend? hee..to me, as long as the wine is not hard to swollow & within budget(more important)! keke ;P

Thanks, jhoo!

i got my wine from a wine corner in a medical hall in bukit timah plaza.
had been looking ard n trying different wines but none of the wine with a lower price can let me feel they r nice to drink :P
for the wine, i bought shiraz cabernet and each carton cost $200. i tink it's quite a good price to pay for dat quality of wine

and yes! it's on consignment basis. we can return up to 30% back to the shop. but normally red wine will b consumed totally no matter how many cartons u bought :P

btw, my colleague's sis uses 1 of the wines which was in my consideration list too. cant rem the name. tink it's Angrove or someting. i still have the contact with me. it cost $18 excluding gst and it comes with a bottle of white wine with ur wedding pic on it. those interested can email me for the contact

personally i feel dat dat wine taste good n can go along with chinese food.

Thanks Jhoo! will check it out tmr.. Honestly i dun really care abt the wine.. may be cos i m not a drinker.. heehee... i m lousy at such things..

Ashlady, i also nv heard of such things before until my fren told me lor... are u guys gg to serve wine during the cocktail? B&B said it is not necessary cos got free flow of beer enough liao...

my friend actually recommend mi to open the wine only during dinner. This is because the guests at his wedding dinner actually finished up the wine so fast, cartons even before the wedding dinner. Of course that depends on ur relatives and your friends as to how capable they can drink. However, My uncle gave mi another opinion, saying that i should open beer and not wine at cocktail session, cos he said people who are pro alcoholic drinkers will drink beer first as starters then later wine during dinner. Personally, i think it really depends on your budget. If your budget allows for wine to be taken throughout the night, then i dun see any reason for having any reservations for that. Otherwise, it would be really wise to open wine for dinner only.

Hi Bear,
I'm most prob going for B&B...they've got a good deal currently for one of the wine. Though it's not the most fantastic wine..but it's cheap! hee... Oh no, def will not serve wine during cocktail. Not too good for the guests to drink on empty stomach? hee.. :P

Ashlady, u went to B&B over the wkend? how cheap is cheap? heehee... let me know leh.. they still got the 3 dozen bottles of wine then can buy on consignment basis pkg?

Anatasia, ya that's wat i will do.. save the wine for dinner.. heehee... thanks!

Bear, i went to B&B yesterday..hee. They having offer on one of the wine..like $12plus per bottle i think. We bought a $12plus one & a $15 one for comparison sake, but feel that the $12plus is easier to drink. hee...but then again, wine is very subjective!
Apparently, u dont have to buy in cartons...the person just told us we can return 30% of the bottles.

Oh u actually bought the wine to try? wah.. i dun drink so i won't know the diff leh... heehee.. actually all the wine taste the same to me.. i mountain tortoise.. heehee..

Thanks for the update.. i last went to B&B in May so might not have the latest news...

Hi galnextdoor,

My wed in on 24 Mar 07. Taking the fxn room. Which rm are you taking?

Regarding the flower deco, does it apply to fxn room or onli the banquet suite?

Hi Stacy,

My banquet date veri close to yours. It's on 19-Mar-07 at the Banquet suite.
The flower deco applies to both func room and banquet suite. You can check with your coordinator when the next wedding coming up and go down to have a better feel how it looks like

For those who like Jacob's creek wine. I have a wine contact from previous wedding show. Let me know if you are keen to get the contact.

i read in another thread dat a bride bought an ang bao box for $3.90. the only ting is dat it has cartoon prints or photo prints on it. i just bought 1 with doggie photos on it today. size is just nice i feel. i guess shd b ok as an ang bao box hor? not those kinda elegant ones...

Ashlady, i decided to just go and buy the blardy wine and settle it once and for all. The $12 per bottle one no more liao.. so i chose the $15 one.. heeehee.. dun wanna think abt it liao...

Huan, the bottom line is that u like the angbao box can liao.. how many of u rem wat angbao boxes ur frens had for their weddings? cannot rem right? heehee...

Ashlady, u might wanna try Tudor Court first cos i went to Parkway's B&B. They said that for Parkway, they have already ran out of stock, but there is a slim possibility that Tudor Court has it. May be u give them a call to check?

I think i bought the Wombat Hill's carbernet. can't rem liao.. heehee.. as i said i m not too concern abt the wine..

hi Bear,
will do
Will probably be getting the Lyrup Crossing's Cabernet Sauvignon..heh.

hi jhoo,
I think about 1-2 mths in advance is more than sufficient. They dont need too early..but not too late also la.

I just took up a promotional package in the function room for my wedding dinner this Dec.

Anyone here took up M hotel's promotional package? How much was it and how's the service?

Please advice, thanks.

Can I check with u wat's the colour of the carpet for the function room?

Cos i'm planning the colour for my EG...don't want to lose the limelight...hehhe

I'm thinking of signing up with M Hotel. As I quite like the ballroom and it has a convenient changing room. The suite is quite cool too. With its jaccuzi.

However, one thing is stopping me. I heard some bad reviews about the food. What's your take on it? Is it really that bad?

table - i had my wedding dinner at M last dec.. not sure if e qlty of e food will be e same.. i had e same thots as u too.. was worried abt e food.. but on my AD, e reviews from my guests on e food were all very good.. in fact, my parents were sayig e food on AD actually tasted better than at e food tasting.. hope this helps!

I guess the issue of worrying about the food quality is the same for all places unless you choose to hold ur wedding in restaurants. The chefs for hotel catering can change every now and then. So there is no definite confirmation as to whether the chef will still be the same person one year later, and thus the possibility of variation in food quality. The most that we can do at the most I think is to provide constructive feedback during the food tasting and ask if the chef-in-charge will still be the same for your coming wedding. Thereafter, the best will really depends your luck.

Thanks. At least there are good reviews abt the food. Cos all the ppl whom I asked told me the food at M hotel is bad. A fren told me quite a lot of his frens commented the food is bad. But that was about 1 or 2 yrs ago. Hopefully they've up the standard.

What bout the services? I heard its not good too.

Is that true that services are not good at M hotel?? If that's the case, then it would be really unacceptable, since one's top reason for choosing to celebrate his/her wedding at a hotel is to ensure that all guests can enjoy good service.

Hi Ana

I hear from one wedding planner that the service at M hotel is not good. But I only hear from that one person thou. Any comments on their service?

hi table,
i've attended my colleague's wedding dinner last nov. i tink overall still ok leh. as for my own experience, i can only tell u after end of next mth!
but so far the coordinators r very nice to work with

hi all, guess we shouldn't condemn m-hotel with just one person's words. everyone has different expectation. and also it depend on the waiters & waiteress at the point of wedding, overall comments on m-hotel service are good, so im not so worry

Hi ladies, been quite some time since I last pop by. How's all preps? Bear urself? Huan leh?

Wanna update that I'm a Tupperware Dealer now, thus if you wish to enquire any Tupperware products and interested to get any, pm me!

And Tupperware recently launched a Tupperware Mooncake Gift Set! It comes with a box of green tea (10 sachets), 1 lotus paste mooncake, 1 single yolk lotus paste mooncake, 3 tupperware round containers packed in a gift box. Let me know if u're interested.

PM or email [email protected]

hi mei,
just received the inserts last fri. only tied half of the cards with gold strings... too bz with work recently dat i'm feeling tired most of the time... i guess my stuff more or less completed. only the AD logistics not yet done. banquet theme not yet done too... hmm... wat else? :P

Thanks for the advice on M-Hotel. A friend had also recently commented that the food at M Hotel is good. He attended a wedding there last year. So I guess I will stick with M Hotel still.

Is any1 attending the upcoming wedding show on 24th Sep? I've some questions.
1) Is it better to sign up now or during the show?
2) What will they normally give as perks?
3) Will the perks they offer at the show be better than what they offer now?

Hi Table,
I feel that it's better to sign up during show. Definitely got more perks...like discount off whole package etc which u wont get if u sign up at other times. hee...the thing is u'll never know what else comes along. So if u like the hotel & the date is available & got perks, shld grab! Just my 2cents worth..hee

Hi Table: if you are booking dinner, then it's definitely better to sign up during the show. Heard from my coordinator that there will be discount off total bill and other perks. =)

can i check? if im going for food tasting in mid oct and to collect my invite that day, when do i need to inform m-hotel so that there's sufficient time for them to prepare?

jhoo, u can just let them know 2-3 days before ur food tasting that u wanna collect ur cards.. they are quite efficient.

Mei, i finally finished doing my ang bao box.. heehee... starting to send my invites out liao... 5 more wks to the big day liao...

Table, u can always ask the coordinator abt the diff perks before and during the wedding show.. they are ver frenly so dun worry... heehee...