M Hotel Singapore

man_tou_bear

Jen, ya there are sure to have hiccups one.. Murphy is always lurking around...

I just spoke to my parents and here is the honest feedback. Most said the food was ok, some even said was very gd. However, one comment was that the veggie with the abalone had a smell (some said dun have smell). Another said the service at their table was bad. had to chase aft the waiter to fill up their drinks. And the yam paste truly suck... they used the wrong yam to make the paste (there are apparently more than one type of yam) and so it was too starchy..

here's the brutal honest truth!

man_tou_bear

Mei, photos ah? i didn't take many leh.. Have to say that the suite was done up very nicely. there was a bottle of champagne or rather sparkling wine, strawberry dipped in choc sauce, rose petals on the table and the jaccuzi AND a pair of bears for me to take home!!! heehee.. very nice.. once i chased everyone out of the suite, we took a soak in the jaccuzi, took a nap before the MUA came for the evening make up. so fast!!! i did enjoy myself save the probs with my mum.

junior22

Bear

Does your M hotel packages include the $500 Haach
hamper??If yes,can share what isit in it huh.I was thinking duno can change into massage for 2 of us instead of hamper anot.
Anyone else noe what is in the hamper,pls share too.

desperatehw

Hi Mei,
I'll be having mine at M in Mar next year. Have always wanted to have a cruelty-free (aka no sharks' fin) banquet. How was the 8-treasures soup?? (Was anyone disappointed when they found out no sharks' fin?) I already have friends jokingly saying they're gonna reduce my angbao $$ by $20 liao, when i tell them there's no sharks' fin.... Haha....

Hi, mine is at the level 2 we have 241 guests in total and 5 are veg/muslim therefore we have having 24 + 1 tables.

I hope all is fine, in fact I only took this hotel as all hotels are fully booked. I studied the fuction rm and I had to keep the tables below 25 to have a cosy affair.

I will update you once everything is over cos I am not working until next month. I hve two days to update the you b4 we fly off.

Anne

anastasia

Hi Bear,

Congrats to you again. Well, I guess what's over is already over. At least you have done wat you can do. At least there are positive comments about the food. Anyway, you can't please everyone's tastebuds. Some like the food more spicy, tastier, while some don't. Is it possible to upload some of your wedding photos? Would really like to see them!

qiqi09

Bear congrats again! glad that u enjoy urself and wow enjoy the jacuzzi before the MUA arrive.. that is something that i hope i can do too...

i think food wise everyone hv their own taste and cant pleased everyone but at least most of them are happy. i think i will be like u stress to M hotel that good food is important. coz my hubby really picky on that..

man_tou_bear

Gd morning!

Jen, no my pkg doesn't have the $500 hamper. heehee...

Babydoll, one of the positive comments i received was on the 8 treasure soup. many ppl liked it very much. I dun think there is any disappointment when my frens & relatives realised that i wasn't serving sharks fin. in fact many of them said it was gd that no sharks fin was served. i think most of us learnt the lesson on conservation.

Anastasia and piglet, thanks for ur well wishes. Ya i can't please everyone. i think no matter how perfect the food is, there are bound to be negative comments.. heh.. the most imptly thing is just enjoy urself.

Piglet, ya u will have time one.. my MUA came super early to make up my MIL and mum, i still had 1.5 hrs to soak in the tub and take a nap.

megg

any recommendations for caters ? has anyone tried YLS or Liang Food ?

wher to get the roast pig require for AD beside tiong bahru?

pls advise coz my wedding is end of mth, thks

megg

hi jhoo

do u know if the portion is more than enuff?
coz alot of guests cant confirm attendance yet, afraid last min too many pple, nt enuff food.

me also worried abt Mhotel food standard after reading the comments here, reali pray hard nw

jhoo

ar..megg, i'm not sure abt the portion, but there are good comments on this caterer
the other caterer is neogardens. Good comments too

Don't worry abt the food, as what discuss earlier on, we are unable to please everybody taste so what we can do is to stress to the coordinator that we expect food standard..i will also stress on the service standard, hehe...coz i believe both are important. Good food, no service standard is also useless
i also heard people still agree that restaurant still serve the best food

stacy

Megg - I tried liang caterer before...quantity and cost is reasonable. But I find their food presentation not so nice..just my tots.

Jhoo - Yes, I do recommend neo garden, tried it on several occassions. Nice food n food presentation. I love their lemon slice fish best

jhoo

Stacy, any other dishes are recommended?

I may organise a mini buffet for my jiemei and xiongdi at my new home, i may take YLS. then AD will try neogarden

man_tou_bear

Hello guys, bad news for u all. i finally met up with my close cols and frens. all gave bad review for the food and service.

U know the function rm is a P shape and at the tail of the 'P' only ONE waiter was serving 4 tables. My cols who were sitting there had to self serve themselves for drinks. When they asked for 4 glasses of wine, only 3 glasses were served and the waiter said there isn't enough wine. That was totally untrue as I had 20 bottles left aft dinner! initially we were very shocked at the no. of bottles left over cos we ordered 36 bottles and only 16 of them were consumed. however, my 3 bottles of hard liquor were all consumed. now then i know its becos the waiters/ waitresses didn't serve it! thinking abt it only made me piss. My cols weren't the only one complaining abt the service. my mum's cols also said the same thing. Even the soft drinks they also reluctant to fill. filled the glass to the brim with ice and only a little bit of soft drink. my cols had to top up themselves. However those sitting near the stage had no probs. My cols observed the waitresses/ waiters clustering together talking instead of serving them. they were more annoyed by the service than the food.

Abt the food, my mum's cols and my cols said that the veggies with abalone has a smell. others said there isn't a smell. Some said the fish wasn't fresh but other tables had no probs. I personally felt that the 8 Treasure soup wasn't salty enough but some ppl said it was gd. The roast chicken was gd too. most like the prawns but some said it was mushy. the worst was the yam paste lor.. but as we discussed we can't please everyone.

I know M Hotel reads this forum daily and they shd know that there is a prob with their serving staff, yet the service standard is still so lousy. wished they pay attention more to that. anyway, i prob won't recommend my frens to have their wedding there unless they have budget constraints. the only 2 gd things abt M Hotel is the suite and the coordinators, who are frenly.

junior22

Hi Bear

it soooo sad to hear such feedback ley,aiyo,how can so high class hotel have such service man.
I have ever talked to the banaquet manager at a show and he told me they will have a staff to 3 or 4 table only ley,as to keep their service to the best to all guest,but how it seem not true lor.

Wow,how do you noe they also reading the forum everyday ar,if reali so,hope they would do something abt it lor,if not dun tink anyone of us would dare to recommend friends to hold banquet there liao.
Hmm,maybe you can give Zul a call to feedback him about had happened,so that he can do something to improve lor.

stacy

jhoo - I onli had the impression the lemon fish was good. According to my colleague, they mentioned wat are the chef recommend dish on the brochure..u might want to refer there.

Bear - tt's definately a bad news! I signed up with M hotel basically got the +ve feedback fm the gals here after the food tasting...apparently food tasting and AD food is different.. *disappointed*
Also when I signed up, I did checked with Aaron how many guest to a table..he was telling me 1 waiter to 1 or 2 tables...alamak..now 4 har!!! Think before u sign up..anything under the sky u want also can
Think I muz highlight this to coordinator nearer to AD..

Seriously hope M hotel staff reads it seriously and feedback to the top top mgmt.Its important abt food and service especially during wedding banquets!

man_tou_bear

Hello gals, ya just had lunch with my cols (another set) and basically it was the same complaints. they were shocked when i told them the amt of wine i left. u know i can only return 30% of the 36 bottles i bought so now at home i have 6 bottles of wine to drink!! when i told my hb abt it last nite, he was shocked too.. he asked me if i clarified that we had more than enough wine to drink to my cols! he is the bo chup fella, but was very disturbed when i told him abt this.

Tell Zul also no use, cos its already over liao... there isn't anything he can do. if the staff of M Hotel is reading this, they can jolly well call me if they wanna do anything abt it. How i know they read the forum? cos there was once i shared wat i had in my pkg and Zul printed it out and showed me when i met him. That's why i keep emphasizing to u guys not to share ur pkg. BTW, don't PM me abt my pkg either cos aft that i dun share my pkg anymore liao. hope u understand.

Honestly, i think no matter how much u emphasize on service and food, there is bound to have probs one.. cos the staff they hired could be part time therefore no reason to do their best. i saw the asst banquet mgr briefing the crew before dinner and he seemed very competent. It just take one black sheep to ruin everything. Plus most of them are teenagers hence they like to congregate to chat... haizzz...

may be i m the unlucky one and u guys will have a better wedding compared to me.

junior22

Bear

Can understand how u feeling now.It reali terrible lor,when it my turn if my friends also complain so much to me i think i wont no how to face them lor.Haiz...

M hotel staffs,if you guys are reading this,pls pls do something to it,dun disappoint anyone of us again ley.

jhoo

If it's me, i will fight all the way coz they shouldn't be so Chin Cai on other's BIG DAY. hope they see this and stop all the nonsense from their service staff and buck up on the service standard. if food and service are equally bad, no use having renovate the hotel until so nice.

They shouldn't have ruin other people once in a lifetime matter! Imagine, one dinner with 250 people get to know such hotels bad, and each of them tell 10 people and cycle go on and on.... Words of mouth is always the most effective advertising mode and hope from now on, the couple will be have comments on the food or standard.

man_tou_bear

Jen, over liao then i won't talk of it again.. nothing they do can change the fact that it happened... i just hope the table that my big bosses were sitting didn't have the same prob. but my cols knew that i might be upset so told me in a joking manner lor.. actually if i didn't ask, they also won't say. but when i pressed the first thing they said was, 'the service was damn bad'... nonetheless the damage is done.. i did tell them not to expect too much aft reading the comments here so they were quite prepared. that doesn't mean i m happy abt the whole matter... haizzzz....

yongee86

it's been a while since i check this thread. bear, congrats on your wedding.

i'm quite shocked to hear about the bad stuff about M hotel for your wedding! poor thingy. you must be damn pissed. maybe M hotel's standard has dropped coz mine was a smooth affair when I had it in june. some of my close frens even complimented on the good service of the waitresses. during my time, it was 1 waitress to 2 tables and of course the banquet manager attend to us personally. i had the bubble gun for 1st and 2nd march in which had very nice effects when captured on video.

i guess sometimes it depends on your luck since the servers are temp staff. food quality is oso dependent on chef's mood i guess.

bear, dun think so much. look forward to your HM instead.. where are you going?

stacy

Bear..understand how u are feeling right now..ya, since the event is over, no point bothering it again. But prob u should really surface all the negative comments u've received to M hotel, see if they do service recovery (eg: hotel stay), so u can give it to ur friends so they feel their $$ more worth..just a tot.

I do agree that hotels usually hire temp staff during banquets..but these staff should be properly 'trained' on the dos & don'ts...I don't see so much of these prob in the other hotels.

megg

does anyone know if Mhotel has changed their chef recently?

mebe that is the reason why the standard dropped?
i think the quality & freshness of food is important... nt to forget the gd svc & attitude from the staff

jhoo

yah, bear don't be so sad anymore. but i agree with stacy. maybe u will get some compensate after telling them all the -ve feedback?

man_tou_bear

Erm i did feedback to them lah... aft reading the past brides' comments and also my mum's col went to another wedding at M Hotel the wk before mine... i told Zul and David abt the feedback before the wedding. i dunno if this is a gd thing but that same col said the food served at my dinner was better than that served at the previous dinner.. heh.. can't imagine how bad the previous dinner was. heehee...

i dun wanna pursue it liao.. i half expect them to call me to scold me for posting this on the forum... heehee.... forget it.. the more i think the more pissed i m... i dun want to ask them for compensation cos it won't change anything... no point...

jhoo

Bear Don't worry so much...if they are good, they don't have to worry people putting up the -ve remarks. and they don't have the right to scold u. I think it's the other way round, u have the right to scold them

stacy

Bear - I agree with jhoo..they've got no right to scold u manz! They should seriously sit down n reflect what they have done! So many negative feedback!!

uberrimae

Bear - dun be overly upset liao, a new exciting chapter of ur life has started and look forward to it and enjoy it... there are always ups and downs and I suppose M Hotel will have taken this opportunity to do a serious review... cheer up okie?

man_tou_bear

Hey gals, don't worry abt me.. as i said wat's done is done.. i m not gg to pursue it cos there is no pt in do so.. heehee.. thanks for cheering me up

Just a reminder not to post ur pkgs on the forum.. if u guys wanna know each other pkgs, just PM each other hor... heehee...

tunagirl

Hi Bear, sorry to hear abt wat happened to the service at your wedding. My fren who attended ur wedding is ur mum's colleague. Din hv any terribly bad comments, juz some inconsistencies in the service.

Btw, who's ur coordinator/mgr? Mine's Aaron.

man_tou_bear

hello Tunagirl... erm i know all my mum's cols.. in fact some of them were my cols once. heh... used to part time with them. are u the one getting married in Dec?

My coordinator is Zul.

kittyrain

Hi tunagirl,

my wedding is next jun and is @ level 2 function room. I see the comments from others they say some tables can't see the stage clearly.

kittyrain

Hi Stacy,

Most likely i will b hving 32 tables which i hv to open up the whole function room. I think there is nothing i can do rite. No choice lor i think the guests at the back hv 2 bear with this.

tunagirl

Hi Kittyrain, i can't rem exactly how the function rm is like but i rem it being a odd-shaped. Think there'l b tables at one particular corner which will be quite isolated, perhaps those will b e tables tat will not b able to see clearly? If can dun place tables there? Y not go down and take a look again?

kittyrain

Hi Bear,
Congrats to you!! It is sad to hear there were such bad feedback from your guests. It is really bad for the waiter/waitress to say there is no more wine when in fact there is still alot left. This dun reflect good on the host lor. For me, i can't tolerate this type of service too. I think i will bring this up 2 my coordinator(Aaron).
But watever is it nw, the the dinner is over, nw most impt is 2 enjoy ur most exciting chapter in life- married life, hehehe

kittyrain

Hi tunagirl,

the function rm is actually a 'P' shape. The capacity is 34max. But i will contrl to hv 32 max cos i dun wan it 2 be back-back lor. There is oni 1 corner where oni 1 table can't see the stage at all. Then Aaron did tell me that if is 32 table then they will nt place table at that area lor. But nw the worry is the guest at tail of the P can't see the stage clearly (like wat stacy & bear has said) and i think that problem is unavoidable lor.

kittyrain

Hi Anne,
Congrats to u!!! I will be going 2 M hotel for dinner tonite oso but is at the Cafe lah, hehehe
Hope your wedding goes well 2nite. Btw ur wedding is at which level?