M Hotel Singapore

man_tou_bear

Hey Stacy and Mei, thanks for ur well wishes..

Stacy, still sick... initially my doc tot was dengue cos i had high fever and joint pains. but till now (its been a wk) i have yet to recover... trying to get better...

Abt the decrease, wat i meant this. I initially increase my table to 26, when my min was 25. However, some of my guests can't make it so we had to go back to 25 (which is written in the contract). U can't do this 4 days before ur wedding even though the contract stated the min table.. get it?

minniemouse7780

anyone who had their wedding at the function room? will the tables at the back be blocked by the pillars at the side?

also, heard that the LCD projector will be at the stage. wouldn't the flower arrangement block the photo montage then?

uberrimae

hi honeybaby, no worries abt the pillars in the function room... the guests shd be able to see ur video played at the stage area. As for the flowers, they are low enuff not to block whatever that is screened, enjoy

everafter

i'm jus wondering hw come no one choose the Pipa duck for poultry huh? The cripsy chicken was so-so leh when i attended my fren wediing in June

man_tou_bear

Anne, i think u should stick to 24+1. cos u will be liable to pay for 25 tables. on that day there are bound to be missing ppl.. so can squeeze lor... if ur 254 is 100% confirm then i would suggest 24 + 1 still. still got one reserve table mah.. for me, i already confirm i have to open my reserve table liao. 26 tables all full.. no reserve table for me.

Honeybaby, dun think the screen will be blocked. dun worry ya?

tunagirl

Hi Everafter.. not sure leh.. but i'm choosing Pipa duck for my wedding.. my fren's gonna attend a wedding at M tonite.. she'l feedbk me on e dishes ... hehe..

tunagirl

Hi Kittyrain, thanks thanks.. ya, like i said he's cordial lor.. nothing to complain so far.. but wld b nice to hv someone who's more personal and go e extra mile.. i had a great experience with my gown designer who's v willing to compromise and v personable

lavajava

Hi, I am new here. Will be holding my wedding on Mar07. So now busy sourcing for venue. M Hotel is one of my target. Anyone kind enough to share some of the photos of the function room & bridal suite?

hapict

i just came back from a weddin dinner at M hotel.

some honest comments:

although the service is good (too efficient such tat they removed the sharks' fin soup dish b4 we have finished), the decor is nice, it's a classy hotel etc, the food with the exception of the 1st cold dish, was bad.

- sharks' fin soup too watery
- sis commented spinach tasted weird. cousin complained his portion of pacific clams gone bad and he is in the fish/seafood business
- steamed garoupa is v hard n chewy!
- steamed fragant rice with lotus leaf - sis & mom said too salty but i feel it's oni too oily
- the red bean paste dessert too sweet

i filled up the comments card, let's hope they can improve...

hapict

i thought thru for a while b4 posting my comments on the food here cos i understand u all M hotel BTBs and i din wana spoil your expectations but i feel obliged to tell u all.

but there was another weddin goin on at the same time same hotel i m not sure how the food at the other rm is. mayb too many ppl chefs overloaded?

must clarify the sharks' fin quite thick with broth but cant eat the sharks' fin loh.

btw, it was so qiao the waitress passed the comments card for me to fill in. i was quite impressed as this indicates the hotel wans to improve, and i din know there's such a thing one. my cousin on the other hand, gave them v bad rating for everything which i think not fair lah. i always like M hotel for its classiness, and decor, and indicated accordingly in the comments card. oni gave v poor rating for the food loh. a pity. FH was surprised when i msged him the food is gd after the first dish. later he told me tat he heard M hotel's food bad n he was surprised i said it was gd.

btw i noticed the LCD projector was hidden in ceilin n it came down automatically. i was wowed cos attended dinner at carlton b4 where the banquet manager manually pushed the projector in on a trolley table ok...

uberrimae

hi fellow m-hotel brides, to put things in perspective, just go for the food tasting and provide ur comments on the food... mine was nice and my guests love them
but i acknowledge that the standard will differ slightly day-to-day, that is expected from any hotel since food are hand-prepared and not factory produced :p

jhoo

uberrimae, i'm going for food tasting soon. Yah, i hope the chef will do a good job for my AD

everywhere will have good and bad points. i went to a wedding and during cocktail session, the waitresses were standing at one side and din get another glass of drink when i finished mine for quite a long time. They were more like waiting for guests to approach them for the drink

qiqi09

i agree with uberrimae, normally food will not be so good during wedding dinner as it is mass produce.. but frm my own experience, i find their food not bad during one of the wedding dinner i attended. i think some time it really depends on luck...

since we hv booked with M hotel, we can only hope that it is good... if really worry, commumicate with the hotel then probably they can put in more effort to improve

uberrimae

hi honeybaby, dun worry abt such things since there is nothing you can do abt it, the food will surely be to the liking to some pple and just so-so to others -- just concentrate on being a happy bride!

qiqi09

hi anne,

urs is one day after mine... mine will be at the banquet suite.. wat abt urs?

honeybb, dun worry, things will turn out fine...

uberrimae, yup me also m hotel bride.. hehe..

anastasia

Honeybaby, congrats to u! Please update us after your wedding. Mi also quite nervous about how things/food will turn out during my AD. :p

lu_meihua

Hello ladies, how all doing?
Is Bear back from her wedding? Or is she flying off to Honeymoon straight after wedding?

About the sharks fin hor, during my wedding, we also afraid of the same issue thus before the menu was confirmed, we opt for the 8-treasures soup instead. = )

kittyrain

I am also m-hotel BTB. Any1 there whose wedding is at the level 2 function room? Cos some1 told me that the problem with hving at the function room is that guests siting at the back will not b able to see the stage...... is it true?

stacy

Kittyrain - it depends on the no. of tables you will be having at the fxn room. Its basically a P-shape room. So if you have >28 tables...i think one or two tables will not be able to see the stage.. how many tables will u be having?

man_tou_bear

Hello hello, i m back!

Sorry lah, busy moving house and also no internet access.. Have to say something honest here, the food standard is bound to drop BUT surprisingly a lot of ppl complimented us on the food. Even my PILs said that the dinner tasted much nicer than the food tasting. Not sure if they were trying to make us happy. My mum also received a lot of positive comments on the food too. My sis on the other hand just had one complaint. She said the prawns were a bit mushy and the black pepper udon wasn't hot enough. when i met the coordinator 2 days before the wedding, i made it clear to them that the food is the most impt and they had to make sure it was gd. all other things are secondary.

Tunagirl, ur fren attended a wedding at M Hotel on 6th Oct? That will be mine as there was only one wedding that nite. How was her comments?

Kittyrain, yes, ppl sitting at the back won't be able to see the stage clearly.

Mei, HM is next thurs.. its back to work tmr.. actually i m clearing my emails now.

junior22

Hi Bear

once again congrat to you!

feeling betta after hearing your words,glad that you have all postive comments.
so i bet everything was almost very perfect for you on that day.

man_tou_bear

Thanks... honestly i wasn't hoping much on the food cos my mum's fren went to M Hotel for a dinner on the 1st (hope its not Ashlady's) and said the food sucked. I told Zul abt it and emphasized that the deco etc etc isn't as impt as the food. the banquet mgr, David, also noted my comments lor.. But hor i m sure my guests didn't dare to comment that the food sucks, so i m asking a few close ones for their honest comments. will update again.

Nopes, things didn't go well that day. My mum is pissed at me for the way the wedding went. i am not able to please everyone hence i m just gonna keep quiet and forget abt it...

junior22

Oh,did something happened,u mean the coordinations didnt went well huh.
Well,it true,we cant please every single one at the same time so we just had to do and enjoy what we tink is right lor.

lu_meihua

Bear - welcome back!! I wanna see the photos leh...share share share...where u gg for HM?

Sure to have some mishappens on wedding day one. not everything will went smoothly. the key thing is minimise those neg stuff and try to resolve them asap. thus it's impt to have a good helper who knows how to act on behalf of couple for such issues.

dun worrie too much. u can't please all. most impt thing is u and ur HB enjoyed urself. ITS UR BIG DAY!!