M Hotel Singapore

man_tou_bear

honeybaby, i think all colours of flowers will do well cos i like flowers. more imptly is wat type of flowers u like and wat colour scheme u like.. for eg, some ppl would like those white and green theme, but i dun find it outstanding.. others like bold red but i find it a bit too drama-mama.. so choose a mixture of red and white.. got contrast yet, not too bold.. heehee..

But hor, i looks like the National Day flag!

stacy

Bear - did u top up for the deco then? Yes...what theme are you going for? The gold theme or red theme...meaning the cover seats wat colour?

Honeybaby - I saw the deco at fxn room..gold theme with maroon roses...nice combi..I tot.

man_tou_bear

Erm Stacy, gd qn, i didn't ask abt the cover seats!! he didn't ask me either.. will drop him a note...

No didn't top up but i will be buying my own lanterns lor.. so that will be gd enough for me.. heehee.... since my flowers are a bit reddish i think the gold theme will look gd with it...

anastasia

My wedding dinner will be held at the banquet suite. I think for the seat covers, the ones at the function room are white, while those in the banquet suite are cream. The gold or red theme is only for the vip tables. I've seen the set ups before. i think unless ur flowers are light toned, red theme will be better. Else if choose very rich coloured flowers,gold should look better i guess, so that the flowers can stand out.

Bear, did i hear/see it wrongly?? rose petals are free?? was thinking of sourcing for more rose petals. but does it apply to roses of all colours or just red?

man_tou_bear

Anastasia, Zul told me the rose petals were free leh.. dunno wat colours they are though.. were u charged for it???

I haven't settle the seat covers.. will do so now...

lu_meihua

hello m-hotel brides!!
Bear, as promised, my DIY-ed AB box! = )

407479.jpg

Btw, when ur wedding ah? i forgot. Lanterns! Idea leh!! Give for who?? Got Mooncakes boh?? Need mooncakes, LOOK FOR ME!!

stacy

Hi Mei...

Wow...ur DIY AB box is beautiful!! How did u do that? Wrap over the box and print the bride n groom to cover it?

misslavenderz

Hi ladies!

Rather interested in the M Hotel's function room. Is the ceiling very low compared to the ballroom?

Also, I'm concerned about the accessibility of the place. Anybody face problems with that? =)

man_tou_bear

Anatasia, Zul just said he will give me a big bag of rose petals. he said there is enough for my flowers to throw, AND for my guests that sit along the aisle to throw. so i guess it would be enough lor...

Mei, ur AB box very unique leh.. how did u do it? where is the slot for the AB?? heehee.. i m using lanterns as part of the deco.
cos mine is on midautumn.

Yi Yi, Well, the ceiling is def lower. Have u been to Pan Pac's function rm? its the same height. If u want it taller, go for the banquet suite. Abt accessibility, i always think we are living on an island hence we shdn't be complaining abt that. but if u have older folks, then it can be a 10 mins walk from the MRT.. other than that, its in the city, there are many buses and taxis available. This prob is common to many hotels. i can think of only 2 hotels that is situated just next to the MRT, the Swissotel and Hotel Intercontinental. All other hotels are situated 5-15 mins away from the nearest MRT.

stacy

Anatesia - Tat day I just pop by M hotel...not attended by Aaron on Zul...the gal (rather the captain) waiting for the couple to come for food tasting attended to me...was asking her abt the seats cover...she said all seats cover either gold or red..depends on the theme..n VIP seat covers come with a sash...I was like "that's good"!...

Bear - how...u managed to 'catch' Zul to ask abt the seats cover?

Yi Yi - The fxn room ceiling room is low..but my PG said low ceiling is good, in terms of photo, cos' low ceiling brightens the room.

ashlady

honeybaby,
I got white envelopes for my red cards....it looks fine to me...my inserts are pale pink & i tie with gold strings.

hey bear,
do I have to request from zul for the rose petals for guests to throw during the march-in or he'll definitely give?

Anastasia,
If u look good in red wine EG..i think u shld go for it. I'm also taking the banquet suite..i think it'll match...dont worry.

Oh, as for the soon hock in teochew style, i think the chef mentioned to me that garoupa is better for teochew style. I tried that but i didnt really like the salty taste...so i'm changing to the superior soya sauce.

lu_meihua

hi Stacy and Bear, thanks!!

Heheee...I get a box (happened to have a singpost box that time). Then use this pic (same pic as I used for my red packets and inserts from T-Dragon), print on big red paper to wrap around the whole box. That's why you see I got small small same patters from side of the box.

Then I print 2 BIG ones to paste on both sides of the box (front and back). The slot of the AB is on top of the box.

After the wedding, I recycle this AB box to keep all my wedding-related stuff eg. invites, cards, corsages, sabo-props, red packets etc etc...

Now the AB box is standing nicely in my display cupboard!! = ))

lu_meihua

hmm...talking abt accessibility, hmm...i feel after banquet wait for taxi may take quite some time cos' the place is in CBD. at nite, taxi is not many. just a thot.

man_tou_bear

Stacy, Zul recommended me to take the red covers. but i will see it myself when i go down to do the testing of the AV equipment.

Ashlady, best u ask Zul abt it. I think if u don't ask they won't give. I asked becos i have flower gals and also i want my guests to throw.. heh... but i might just get a bag petals cos i really not sure if its enough. see how. might double confirm it...

Mei, its a gd idea man.. very nice... heehee.. u got artistic flair eh?

anastasia

Is it true that ALL seat covers are gold or red?? It it's really the case, that's good!
brighten up the tables cos the table cloth, napkins and cutlery are white.

ashlady

Hi Anastasia,
Seat covers are not gold or red..they are light sand/cream color i think. Each table will have a centrepiece so that will help to enhance a bit. I dont think the chairs for VIP tables will be gold or red also...only the table cloth.

anastasia

Ok. light sand and cream was the colour of the seats shown on the brochure..the last time i went to see set ups months ago just after i signed show white for function room, cream for banquet suite. Thot this time they have changed. Anyway, hope the centrepiece they offer now can really brighten up the tables!

zenusorion

I m looking into holding my dinner at M hotal n realised that they have a Banquet suite and a function room to hold the dinner.. can i know what's the difference??

thank a lot...

hope all ur preparations goes well..

lu_meihua

hi piglet, thanks. i think cute is the word. = )

hi zenusorion, banquet suite is on 10th floor, with high ceiling, with personal changing room, with whole floor to the wedding couples, like a ballroom. while function room is on 2nd floor (a restaurant is on same level), with lower ceilings. if wedding on function room, then they will open up a few functions rooms to become 1. though not whole floor to urself but it has a big reception area and a staircase leading to the 2nd floor which makes the dinner a little romantic with deco done up.

jhoo

yup, and just to add, banquet suite is more expensive and march-in is shorter which may need to make a U turn march-in. For function room, will be a long aisle of march-in but the room is a P-Shape where some people might not be able to see the screen. there pros and cons and we got to weight which is more impt. for me is price so i choose function room.. but the bridal suite is really really really very nice.

summerice

Ya i agree the banquet suite really look nice...like a personal place. The function rm is not bad either, the alley b4 the doors can be a good place for guests to mingles, althought there is a restaurant on the same level but its at the main area and i dont think you will c ppl queeing for the restaurant. So should not be a problem.

anastasia

Just to add on to the list. Banquet suite allows u to choose from different dishes for each type of dish for your menu. There is also a changing room with full length mirror and safebox beside the banquet suite.

man_tou_bear

Yups the banquet suite has also the latest state of the art AV equipment and some lighting functions if i dun rem wrongly. However, me too poor to afford that. so stick to function rm, which to me is brighter than the banquet suite and is def much cosier.. heehee....

Anastasia, actually u can change the dishes on the menu for function rm. But u need to top up if u upgrade them like adding an abalone dish. If u are changing from ee foo noodles to black pepper udon, there is no extra charge.

bridewannabe

Hi all bride to be, how are your preparations?
I am now busy sending invitation cards and planning my guest lists. Need to ask those taking banquet suite brides something. Do you intend to do your make up and preparation in the dressing room at level 10 before the dinner start? I am worried that people will intrude in and I will have no privacy. Anyone thought of this yet? Need some comment. hehe.

qiqi09

Hi starstar,

I will do the makeup at the bridal suite.. but for gown changing for the second march in, i will probably change it at the dressing room..

bridewannabe

Hi Huan and piglet,
Thanks for your feedback. I was thinking of doing my make up at bridal suite and changing of gown in the dressing room at L10. Dun like the idea of unknown relatives and kids poping in. Dun mean to be unfriendly, think you know what I mean.

huan

hi starstar,
yup. understand wat u meant. i will change my gown for 2nd march in in the dressing room as well. otherwise it defeats the purpose of havin dat just outside the ballroom!! :p

qiqi09

Hi starstar,

hehe.. ya i understand.. it is also important to let the MUA concentrate on getting u pretty for the dinner!!

ashlady

For those changing in the dressing room, is it u'll leave ur WG in the room? Then when will u bringing it up to the bridal suite?

minniemouse7780

hi gals, saw that rose petals are given when requested. Is that true? i'm meeting zul this week, so i must ask from him?

What are the themes available for choosing? Also, will there be bubbleguns?

For the spinach with pacific clam, am thinking of changing clam to baby abalone. Will the baby abalone taste soggy? Because i think those can ones sold in supermarket taste soggy when cooked.

man_tou_bear

Er honeybaby, just ask lah.. u nv know unless u ask cos i doubt he will know wat u are gg to do with the rose petals! for me i wanted them to be scattered by my flower gals and frens so i specifically asked if their florist got sell or not.. he said he will give it to me free!

No bubbleguns!

I changed the pacific clams to baby abalone.. dunno wat u mean by soggy cos the one i had for food tasting was yummy.. very 'crunchy' if u know wat i mean...

minniemouse7780

ok, i will ask for the rose petals...
hope he will give.

no bubbleguns ah? thought i saw someone mention there is bubblesguns? It's alright then if rose petals are provided..

soggy means the moment u put into the mouth, the abalone will like melt already.. u get what i mean? hee.. But since u mention it's crunchy and yummy, i guess it's ok then. So i will probably change to baby abalone. hahaha

ashlady

hi bear!
Yes...it's getting exciting but lots of last min stuff to settle! :p

hi honeybaby,
Their baby abalone is very delicious! Not soggy at all...taste very tender.

man_tou_bear

Honeybaby, yups the abalone was gd! heehee.. i like it.. i haven't tasted melted abalone before! heehee.. got bubbleguns meh? i didn't ask.. can u ask liao then tell me? heehee..

Ashlady! ya i also realised i left a lot of things haven't settle yet!! are u on leave yet? i m taking the whole of next wk off!

minniemouse7780

hi bear and ashlady, since both of you give thumbs up for the abalone, i shall change it then.

By the way, did u all add more flowers urself? or M hotel's flowers enough?

stacy

I might be popping by this Sat..cos' aaron told me there's a wed at the fxn room...will pop by to see set up if I m ard the area..I suppose its neither Huan or Ashlady ya...cos u gals taking banquet room rite?

man_tou_bear

Honeybaby, dun think u will regret it... i didn't add more flowers cos i tot the tables were rather cluttered liao... but that's me.. heehee...

Stacy, ya its not either of them.. u can always pop into the Banquet Suite to see wat Huan did for her room! heehee...

minniemouse7780

i'm worried whether the flowers enough or not. But some of my friends told me that the guest wouldn't be so bothered about the deco. What they are more concern with is the food! haha

ashlady

hi bear,
I'm on leave tomolo! hee...need to clear some work before i go :p

hi honeybaby,
If you have budgetted for more flowers to enhance the deco, why not? If not, I feel that the hotel atmo is good enough & no need too elaborate deco. hee...maybe coz i already spent on my church deco! But I feel what they have is sufficient & i'm not willing to spend extra on it. Yeah, guests will not be too bothered abt the flowers coz the main attraction is u & ur FH!

jhoo

bear, my contract stated with bubble effect for my wedding in Jan leh..

So flower petals is for throwing? then i will request for my flower girl.

minniemouse7780

hi bear and ashlady, me again. can i ask u both? the baby abalone is 1 whole piece like the big abalone except that the size is smaller?

or is it slices of abalone? sorry for the many questions about abalone. :p