M Hotel Singapore

Hi ashlady,

Haven't really sort out my guest list yet but probably will be taking 30 tables.

Hi Bear,

heehee...no la, i have it before I sign is becos my parents + PILs are particular about the food. So negotiate with them to have our food tasting first before signing loh.

But hor, to make you sign the contract, Im sure they will do their utmost to cook a sumptuous meail to please you loh..so hope that the standard will stay for my banquet.
My wedding will be on 29Sep.

hi DarBebe,
heh..i shld be taking abt 30 too..they'll give 2 reserved right?
My dinner is 2 days after urs! hee.. since ur parents & in-law are particular abt food, then the food must be not bad!

hi bear,
i also forgot when's ur dinner...when is it?

Darbebe, if ur ILs and parents are picky abt food yet find M Hotel ok, then we shouldn't worry much liao.. heehee... the food must be very gd for them to accept right?

Ashlady, mine is 5 days aft urs.. 6th Oct rem?? heehee... we all getting old liao!

Hi Ashlady & Bear,

yeshh, 30 tables with 2 reserve table.

The food were fresh and fine during the food tasting. Portion was huge. But as I say, food tasting ma...they sure will cook nice nice for us. whaha..

really hope it will maintain cos read some unhappy posting previously so feeling abit anxious that things may not go smoothly.

hi bear,
heh...too many things on our minds already! stress is getting into me & i'm trying to monitor my stress level...keeping it cool. hee

hi DarBebe,
i think usually food tasting will be little nicer than the AD..coz the quantity is huge for AD. But as long as there's no major boo-boos like flies, unfresh/uncooked stuff or waiters spilling things...shld be ok *crossing fingers* Where are u getting your wines?

hi jen,

i also having problem with finding mc zul told me they used to provide but that guy became the sound techincan,so if really really i cant find he will ask that guy if hes free to be my mc,cause he has experience in hosting but of course theres a charge.So Zul told me to search first if really bo bian then he will ask that guy

hi ashlady,

still have not decide on the wines. Looking for some consignment lobang.

Have you decide on yours?
Btw, when will you be getting the wedding cards from M hotel?

Hi gals, wanna ask u all how many persons u get for food tasting? The std package is for 6 persons only...wondering whether any of u managed to bargain for 10 pax?

Hi Darbebe, ya i agree with u... and honestly u won't be eating much during the dinner hence u won't know if ur guests complaints are valid or not if the food wasn't as gd as the food tasting. Zul did mention to me that they have this wine co that they work with. can buy directly from them at abt $14 per bottle (again my memory might not be accurate). if can't finish still can return them the extra bottles.. have u asked him abt that?

Ashlady, why are u stressed? heehee.. stress what?? everything more or less settled liao right?? me just finally decided on my EG and hope that it will turn out the way i like.. but i very scared that the colour is not wat i want!!

Rachael, i rem the first time i went to M Hotel to look at the deco, Aaron was the emcee for another couple! so who knows, can rope Aaron in for ur AD... none of ur frens can be ur emcee meh?

Hi bear,

my coordinator is Aaron. He did not mention anything about the wine. I wonder if a $14 wine is good enough for the guests hor..if average, not too bad what, can help save abit of $$$. heehee!
I reckon alot of guests will drink wine.

Is it the coordinator won't be the 1 incharge for the banquet on the night itself?

hi DarBebe,
nope..havent look into wine yet. Shld be getting consignment ones too. Cards ah, prob in June or July? heh..not sure lei.

hi galnextdoor,
I managed to bargain only for 8. anyway, that is sufficient for me & my BF's immediate family members.

hi bear,
heh...i guess it's all those minute details to be ironed out. Must tell your designer exactly what u want,k? if not there can be mis-communication!

Hrmmm Darbebe, may be u can ask him lor.. just give them a buzz... my guests won't be wine drinkers.. i think the gd old beer will be the best seller still heehee... what u mean the coordinator won't be the one in charge? they will wat, right?

Ashlady, the prob is it is next to possible to find the color of the fabric i want lor... cos the colour i wanted only available in satin.. i wanted it in organza.. other than that i m not really bothered.... wat minute details are u refering to? our ADs still so far away leh...

hi bear,
oh..i see..wow, what color is that? sounds unique! hee...minute details ah? like guests lists, my church recep/deco/invites, VG..for now la. Still thinking if i shld DIYed my church invites..havent started on anything. :P

Hi ashlady,
I think i will get the cards from them in June too. In case of any cork-ups.

Hi galnextdoor,
I bargained 10 pax for food tasting.

hi bear,
im not sure. during my food tasting, there is the event manager around. So i thought the event manager will the one incharge of the banquet since Aaron & Zul are just doing sales.
I might be wrong. hehe

Ashlady, i m referring to this blue lor.. the satin hugs every single curve... even u got the tiniest tummy also can see the yucky curves. haizzz....
359137.jpg

DIY church invites? will that be tough? i also haven't started on the guest list either... heehee...

Darbebe, hrrmm the event manager could be incharge of the crew.. but i Zul explained to me that he would meet the couple at abt 5pm before the banquet.. i think once the banquet start, there might not be a need for him to hang around since there will be someone handling liao... i also got 10 pax aft much bargaining.

Bear,Aaron was the MC ??? Whoa like that must ask him liao hee hee

wah '' whistle whistle '' bear yr gown very nice leh mermaid gown take the front and c lah no shy

hmmm.. i didn't have to bargain for 10pax for food tasting. When i signed the contract with aaron, he automatically 'upgrade' to 10 pax for me..

if i don't remb wrongly, i believed it would be the banquet manager in charge for the AD rather than our coordinator.

bear, that blue is very nice and striking. for mermaid cut, regardless of material, it will cling on to every curve in your body i think.

WOW! The blue is so outstanding! Very nice on a mermaid cut. I think the cut is very body-hugging one..need to have curves to look nice
It needs quite a structure material..but i guess organza will be more flowy.
Nice nice.

Ha! i think i look fat in it though my designer kept telling me i was too skinny so no boobs... anyway here's the front... I agree the cutting is very tight but hor look at gown 1, it is also mermaid cut, but made out of organza, so doesn't seem as clingy lor..

Front of blue gown, can see my tummy right?
359156.jpg

Gown 1 (also mermiad cut)
359157.jpg

Have decided to do it like Gown 1 but in that striking blue.. but since organza dun have tat colour so the outcome might be different lor.. see how...

Ya Rachael, this one i def rem cos i was supposed to have Aaron as my coordinator, but becos he had to be the emcee, he passed us over to Zul.. no regrets though, Zul is a great guy.

Hi Bear

So u tink Aaron still being emcee for us ma?I tok most hotel do provide their own MC but of cos they only do simple talking which i dun mind,as i really dun wanna to add more cost to our budget already.haiz...

hey bear,
is that you wearing the 2 gowns? Yes, i think gown 1 with the v neck looks very nice on you!
You are very slim & tall!

Hiya, i think u just need to give Aaron a small token of appreciation.. dun think u need to pay him a big amt! hehee.. but all the same double check with him to see if he still does this... why dun u ask ur frens to do it? cos they know u personally thus might add some really nice ancedotes to liven up the whole evening.

Ashlady ya, i m wearing both gowns...

I also hope to but my frez all scare piah say lor.Anyway,i think i only need someone to welcum us in for the 1st and 2nd march in,and do some talking when toasting to the guest.

Well,i think i really need to check it out with Aaron soon.

Ashlady, Darbebe & bear, thanks for the info of no. of pax for food tasting. Have an idea what to bargain for now.

Bear, u look great in both gowns! Gown 1 with v-neck does hide the tummy

Jen, i think u should ask ur frens first... cos who knows, they might be garang enough to do it.. i think most of the times, ur frens are more than happy to help... i know i would! heehee.. give them a chance...

Galnextdoor, er, i wanted to PM u abt something, but u dun accept PMs. Got something to tell u, can u either leave ur email or edit ur profile to accept PMs? Thanks for ur comment.. my tummy damn big right? like 3 mths preggie... haizzzz..

Hi bear, I don't think your tummy is big leh...think it's more of the blue satin that brings out that effect. So envy u tall enough to wear mermaid-cut gown.
Maybe negotiating with M-hotel next wk on the package.

Ashlady, for church invites will be good if u can design yourself then send for printing. That'll add a personal touch to the cards
. Some couple also ask their friends who are creative to help them design church invites. For myself, I plan to design our own church invites then send for printing and ask friends to help assemble them together.

U got mail galnextdoor!!

Ya satin hugs every curve that's why i requested to make it in organza.. but the colour is slightly off so hopefully the final outcome will look gd lor...

hi galnextdoor,
Where are you getting the papers, envelopes & printing company? Think i need to find time to do some trial & errors first! heh..how many are u doing? think i may need like 400-500!

Bear, got your msg. Thanks for the alert and I have activated the PM for my user profile

Ashlady, the printing company should provide the paper. I have not done the research to choose printing company yet. But will ask the couples in my church about this soon. So far the church invites I've received are lovely, and are designed by the couples in my church themselves. Can browse wedding stationary websites to get ideas (eg. www.promiseswedding.com). Think I'll need around 300 cards.

hi galnextdoor,
Oh u mean we can get nice papers from the printing company? din know abt that...heh. Thanks for the website! Gives me more ideas...now i must perfect my skill in tying ribbons coz i want ribbons for my cards

I recently had my wedding at the M Hotel Banquet Suite and would like to share my experiences!

Pros
1. Aaron was my co-ordinator. He is very helpful and efficient. As we were rather last minute (eg we only booked the hotel only 3 months prior to AD) and rather laid-back type of couple, he called us to arrange for the food-tasting (in a private room) and chased us for other stuff.

2. They were also flexible as we needed the room on the banquet suite around noon and they made that available for us.

3. Both the cocktails and the dinner itself went very smoothly. No hiccups whether in the march-ins, pacing of food, etc.. and we had good advice and support from the banquet manager himself (eg on control wine, topping up of beer barrel, when to get changed, etc). So, rather relaxed and hassle-free.

Cons
1. The major thing we were not so happy about was that the jacuzzi bathtub in the bridal suite was not thoroughly cleaned. The last couple who occupied the suite seemed to have used rose petals in the tub. Due to the pump and piping system, these petals (now decayed to black colour and in tiny bits) would spew out of the the tub whenever the pump was activated. We made several calls to the room manager and tried to pump and clean it several times. The technician came along but there was not much he could do. At the end of the day, it was unresolved and we were too tired to bother with following up on this and did not use the much-touted jacuzzi bathtub.

? We also had an unconfirmed case of a cockcroach sighthing under a dinner table (gasps!) Luckily we had a spare table and the guests were moved to the that table.

Another handy tip I would like to share is that the printer reccomended by M Hotel is very efficient. We got our inserts printed within a day. (but pls note these are the straight forward ones...)

Another one would be the shop Bottles & Bottles at tudor court. You can return up to half the consignment you ordered for unopened bottles. we got 36 bottles and returned around 12 bottles...

Hope the above helps you to kick back and relax on the day itself...

Galnextdoor, yups! *wink*

Wah i din know church wedding need so many invites! Dun worry gals, u can always activate ur frens to help u right?

Hi vanessa thanks for the tips.. hrmm rose petals in jaccuzi?? *light bulb* heehee... all the same it is heartening to hear that M Hotel is not as bad as some ppl puts it.. how was the standard of the food. did u guests comment on it?

i just confirm the dates (13/1/07) with M hotel and would like to join in the discussion with all here abt preparation for the wedding.

Thum Linna, thanks for sharing your experience!
Think the jacuzzi will be the 1st thing we would want to check on the AD after hearing what has happened to u couple. How many tables you've had?

Ashlady, I've asked my friends. One couple did their printing at Focal-Ad. They designed the card themselves and selected the paper from Focal-Ad. Cost them $2.20/card and they are satisfied with their service. You may wanna try

Hi piglet, welcomed to the thread!
kao_welcome2.gif
Are u holding banquet at function rm or banquet suite?

hi galnextdoor,
oh, $2.20per card is too ex..my budget is $1per card for the paper+printing...heh. Dunno whether can find such good deals :P Thanks for sharing!

Hi ashlady, the price per card depends on the texture/type of paper u chose, and card size and shape. Not sure whether $1/card possible or not...no harm looking around, think u still got time. Don't worry

hi galnextdoor,
heh..thanks!

hi mei,
hehe...think there are other "thousand & one" things to settle that the banquet is the last thing on my mind now! hee...me now looking for church caterer & VG. Need to start doing up guest lists & thinking of invites too!

i have just sign with M hotel last tues.. hehe i finally decided on M hotel.. so happy... anyone care to share their experience with them.

hello gals....

Hi mei, hee.. u still hanging around here, helping M btb....
ok, let's see if i can help too.. =P

had my dinner last yr at function rm... any qns, shoot! keke... my coordinator, aaron.. i think my banquet manager is david..

hi highness, may i take this chance to ask a few questions? me super blur now:

1) know wat are the things we have to get from m hotel besides the invi cards?
2) can we do direct printing (without inserts) on the cards provided by m hotel?
3) how abt the floor plan etc?
4)will they also ask us down to rehearse/test the sound/audio system some days before the dinner?