M Hotel Singapore

man_tou_bear

Hey Xiaobai, menu got yam paste meh? how come never see ah?

Nicole, heehee i like banquet suite better but the function room with the price looks as gd too! how now???

babybluez

haha. my dilemma too. In the end, I got a few girlfriends with me and showed them the difference and asked them do they think it is worth it to spend an additional $2k(based on 20 tables) just to have the nicer room. They both said YES! cos once in a lifetime. And difference maybe less than that if your friends are generous with angpow. So that's why I chose Banquet Suite. For you, you have to decide if you are willing to spend that additional amt lor for ambience (plus the changing room outside I like!).

Hi xiaobai ,
ya .me teochew. my hubby hokkien

man_tou_bear

Hahaha Nicole, yups that true. How come u can have 20 tables? I tot min is 25? I am thinking of getting the banquet suite and add another dish but its going to go beyond my budget.

The extra room for changing is a plus cos i have 2 changes. Dun need to rush up and change so many times. see how lah, hope to make aa decision as to which room to take (function room still in the running) by end of the wk.

Nobody can tell me if 8 course dinner is too little?

babybluez

huh? no what. my minimum booking was 19 tables which was what i booked. but now must increase already.

i don't think 8 course is too little. No one really counts and makes a big deal anyway. As long as food is nice and enough, that's good enough. Plus more course means end later. Think very tiring. UNless you need more time like you have 3 changes of gowns or many tables to go around lor.

xiaobai

What wedding favour you choose? Their wedding favour not that fantastic. Initially, thinking between bear bear & key chain. But from Emily's posting, think i can only choose bear bear lor.

Bear,
Yam paste was not stated in the menu given to me. I ask for yam paste during the fair but must top-up lah.

Nicole L,
Have you tried Wako brand from Japan(sorry not sure how to spell it)? You can also try CK Tangs, ther's a corner wher they sell plenty of undergarments. They may have.

FYI, I've been to the other Hotel in Tanjong Pagar recently. Actually, I find that M Hotel's Function Room & Banquet Suite's ambience are far much better than their Grand Ballroom.

man_tou_bear

Hey Nicole, ya their min is now 25 liao. Already did a tentative booking with Zul for banquet room just now. Most prob will go ahead lor. Hrrmm gd advice on the 8 course thingy.. might think twice on adding it liao

Xiaobai, how much did u top up for yam paste? i dun like it but FH's side is teochew. Plus my granny and my mum side also teochew.

babybluez

uh, i booked end of last year. As for special price, dun think so. It was at their rate for last year. I know now prices have gone up. Think it's normal. every year it only goes up. but then i also know the menu is more extensive and got free flow beer now. Last year I tried to ask for free flow beer, Fiona refuse say that's for Zen package only. I was quite frus but eventually got another barrel out of her and hope it's enough cos mine is Monday. Hope pple won't drink so much since next day working day.

emily, i saw the duet forte website already. Very nice stuff. I will most probably ask M to keep their wedding favours and buy my own. I like the customised mini shot glasses.

highness

Hi emily,
think ur wedding was very happening!
me thinking of top up for deco too..
care to share how much u top up for deco and for the extra dish? my mum is asking me to have 9 dishes instead of 8.. otherwise, u can pm me too.. thanks..

man_tou_bear

Hey Xiaobai thanks for the info.

I just confirm with M Hotel. Taking the function room cos me no money for the banquet suite. But i like both too so not much a prob lor. Plus I only having 25 tables so function room just nice lor. Will be adding one though Zul said to do the food tasting first. Also changing certain dishes. Think will be adding abt $60-90 nett more per table. Still in my range.

Ya Emily, i also wanna do more deco. Can you share what u did and how much u topped up? thinking of adding a bit more colour to the staircase deco... what do u guys think?

babybluez

Wah. Meihua, I was also thinking of adding some balloons. But must get nice metallic coloured red ballons and silver balloons then look classy. What balloons you used?

zoeanne27

Hi Mei

How is your balloon theme like?? Sound very romantic..

I went for my food tasting yesterday... Hmm.. also gonna change a few dish to another type...

Hi Bear
Glad you join in our M hotel BTB... yeah...

man_tou_bear

Meihua can u share with us the deco (colours and how u did it) and the cost of doing it up? any pixs to show us?

Zoeanne, thanks for the welcome. What dishes did u wanna change? ur AD must be in a few mths' time.

highness

Hi mei,
yah yah.. got pix to share with us? i also wanna do a balloon theme at first.. but like a bit waste $$ :p
does it cost a lot?

lu_meihua

hi nicole, the main colors I used are metallic pink and metallic white, with silver trimmings. I also used those "Just Married" transparent balloon (Big Big one) on each table.

hi zoeanne, other than the main ballroom is decorated with balloons on each table, I also have balloon-arch. I also have balloons at the reception/cocktail area. On top of that, I also have balloons "guarding" my wedding cake and 2 sides of the stage.

hi Bear, initally we been searching around for balloonist, i.e. those people doing balloons for a living. but they charge quite expensive. thus we decided to DIY.

For the balloons at the reception, we asked M Hotel to help us blow them up and we provided the balloons (cos' we want a blend of colours) and paid a nominal fee for the helium gas. For the balloons on each table, we also leave it to the hotel. M Hotel has been great in helping us in most of the deco!! Luckily got them!! = )

For the balloons at the banquet suite, all were DIY-ed by Hubby and his 2 xiongdis. Quite easily done. Thus overall, we paid for balloons, balloons pump, helium tank. Think overall, we spent ~S$500, relatively cheaper than what we were quoted.

We thought it's very worth it cos' all kids loved it! and all my ballons were ka-poh back by them!! even adults!! I still have some new balloons left, if anyone is interested. Hmm...perhaps I can help in blowing balloons! = )

hi Highness, I would very much love to shared the photos. Will upload attachment shortly after this post. Photos reso will be reduced cos' of the limitation of space here. Will remove them by end of day.

Enjoy...give comments ok? = ]

man_tou_bear

WOW!!! Mei, the banquet suite looks wonderful with all the balloons!!! how did u do the balloon arch?? sooo lovely.. where to get the balloons ah? can show a pix of the table deco using balloons?

Wow... still admiring ur deco....

lu_meihua

hi Bear, thanks for your kind compliments. It's DIY-ed by hubby. I got to go back and check with him. = ) Let me get back to you ok.

For balloons, simple. Either you get from those party-shop OR you can simply get from wholesale shop. They sell in packets with all ranges of colours. What's ur budget??

man_tou_bear

Er i am not sure abt the budget lei.. cos i haven't even signed with them yet. Only confirmed and waiting for the contract to be drawn out. But i think its really lovely...

Ur hubby must be really gd at design. I have no idea how to make the arch...

lu_meihua

thought you have already signed with m hotel for the function room??? when is ur wedding?

haha...he was scratching his head over this for quite some time! = ) must let him know his masterpiece got good feedback. thanks!

man_tou_bear

Hahaha may be i didn't make myself clear, I have already confirmed with them and now waiting for them to prepare the contract to sign. heehee..

sorry ah for the confusion.. Ya tell ur hubby his masterpiece was gorgeous. If i ever want to do something similar can i hire ur hubby and his xiong dis? Heee.......

babybluez

Meihua,
your balloons are cute! and I also must compliment your hubby on his arches. But $500 is not something I am going to spend. I am trying to add up all my cost now. Sigh.. Am going to get my own wedding favours most probably so that's already an additional amount to be spent. But you are right about M Hotel being very co-operative about customising your wedding decor.

I haven't even source for printing for the invite cards.

lu_meihua

hi nicole, if u get ur owm wedding favour, are u deducting some cost from ur menu package? agree. have to workout ur sums and see if u have budget and which is ur priority. We also cut here cut there to cater for balloon deco cos' Hubby know I love balloons. = )

invite cards, like the rest m hotel brides said, use T-Dragons. Got free gifts some more. Can take.

man_tou_bear

Heehee Mei, u say one ah... when i confirm liao i 'book' u first hor... heehee...

Nicole, why are u getting ur own flavours? M Hotels flavours are nice what...did they reduce the price off the package or give u something back in return? i like the bears.. hope the keep the bears for next yr too!

babybluez

I didn't like the M Hotel favours. Originally liked the bears but now, it looks kinda cheap. Hope no one offended. My own opinion only.

I won't get money back but they give me credit which I can use to exchange for something else, like top up a dish etc lor. Hmm. I seem to remember pple raving about chili crab before. maybe I can use it for that purpose. haha. or else I may use it to book an additional room or have an additional night in suite. See how lah.

lu_meihua

Bear, maybe can. Check with Zul. Wait for what? Wedding favours? I decided what I want when I signed the contract but I changed my mind to another wedding favour on wedding mth.

Hi Serene, thanks!

man_tou_bear

Er wait for the contract to come so that i can sign, Mei. I talked to Zul on Tues and was wondering when the contract will be ready for me to sign.. one week???

Nicole, ya the bears look a bit cheap, but nvm i like bears. heehee.. the chilli crab is gd?? hrrmmm heehee.. but will it be messy for the guests? sorry ah me just suggesting.. i like chilli crabs too!

zoeanne27

Hi Mei
I think u got a very nice wedding.. very cute..U must love kids alot...If i am the guest there, i also Kapo the balloons leh.. So sweet lor.. My ROM, i also have lot of balloons... same theme as u... white n pink metallic...Very nice.. Your hubby and xiongdi also hardworking.. can do the arch up....good teamwork lor..

Hi Nicole, me too, see the balloons so nice yet i think i cannot really afford for extra things. Still got to order wine etc, invites etc..

Gals, i got my invites printing at JB.. Can consider if anyone on real budget.. Its at City square. Of course, got to consider the convenience la.. Just my recommendation only..

lu_meihua

hi serene, i did not top up. just change 1 of the dish. = )

hi zoeanne, thanks. we also work around our budget. cut here and there to cater for balloons.

babybluez

Ooh. Zoeanne, you went to that printer in City Square. Cheaper is it? Lemme know. It's quite convenient for me cos I go JB quite often.
also got friend in JB who can help me monitor them or something. heehee.

Meihua, you making me drool with the idea of teh chilli crab. Got mantou or not to go with it. YUm! I remember you saying you chose the chilli crab and forgo the prawns. My dilemma is I like prawns very much too. sigh... why keep making me choose between things that I like!

lu_meihua

nicole, got mantou. u no try it before? I had it during the wedding show held by M Hotel some time back. First time had chilli crab in wedding menu thus we decided to have it no matter what. Yummy!!! = ) i also drooling now......

Me? Nope. I chose both chilli crab and prawns. I forgo something else. I think noodle. Can't rem.

babybluez

now i headache about actual day photographer. Someone called Hock Kai Chua emailed me with nice portfolio and reasonable charges. But I worry about his reliability. I really like Ray Ong from PhotoLanguage but he's too expensive liao. Anyone else got recommendation?

highness

mei, i like balloons too!

ur HB really wonderful.. i still wonder how he done up the arch, haha.. so pro..

i think my FH will rather use the spare time to rest n catch up with his Zzz.. so i dream on n drool over ur balloons loh..

Zoeanne, u did hot-stamping or normal printing? which printer u go? how much it cost u? :p

lu_meihua

hi nicole, I reco my photographer Alan Dxx, a freelance photographer. Good, reasonable rate, humour, and flexible. Most importantly, his skills are good and he know how to make the old folks happy happy and captured all their smiles in the photos! Let me know if u wish to get his contact to view his portfolio.

lu_meihua

hi highness, thanks. haha...maybe i can do for u and bear hor? whose wedding comes first? can recycle!! haha..= P engage me lah!

dawn45

hi bear

which date have u booked? me also looking at getting m hotel. but not sure what are the perks that can be negotiated for? pl advise. tks.

caitlyn

mei - do for me also can??*puppy dog eyes*.. hehe.. i think the balloons look great.. was alreasdy thinking of getting balloons and after seeing ur pics.. am sure i'll be.. =)

man_tou_bear

Heehee.. now i also thinking of chilli crab and MANTOU liao... considering i m mantoubearbear.. heehee... drooling liao....

Mei! I book u on my AD Oct 6th 2006!! heehee... Chop liao ah... Me thinking of having balloons for my ROM.

Dawn, I emailed u liao right? I neg for one extra nite's stay, more wedding cards, car park passes... err... what else.. i think that's it cos the package is already very comprehensive...

dawn45

Hi Bear

Oh i din receive any email from u ....
so ur negotiation for one nite stay (extra) successful? U taking the function room on wkend?

man_tou_bear

Hi Dawn

I did email someone abt M Hotel. May be not u.. sorry.. not enuff slp for this tired Bear.

Ya, all those i neg for, I got them. Inclding an extra nite at the deluxe room. The Bridal Suite only one nite i think... I am taking the function room on a Fri nite. I am having only 25 tables so the function room will look ok. Not too cramp... when's ur AD ah?

If u need anything else u can get me at [email protected]