M Hotel Singapore

junvis

AD080809,

Kulai is one of a town in JB. I dun have the contact nor the restaurant name. I just got to know from my colleagues whose bro just hold the wedding there

yew

Hi Junvis,

Thanks, i not very sure where is this town ... will check from internet see where is this place.

ian_venus

Hi AD080809,

Can you email me the package? My email is [email protected]

I am thinking of having my AD somewhere in 2009. I like the Anson function room. Cosy for me as I might have less than 22 tables. Any recommendations? Wedding planner??

josfoo

Hi frennie

sry for the late reply..
i find it cosy

and my AD got 31 tables

keona_280907

Hi josfoo,

Jus to check with you on the following:

1) u confirmed 31 table for your AD, hw many reserve?
2) Is it very cramp?
3) Did the guest seating at the table no. 31 complained that they feel isolated or they cant really see u when you are on the stage?

Just to share with u gals on the Anson Rm table layout as follow :

696423.jpg

josfoo

hi keona..
my confirmed table is 30+2.. but 1 reserve unused

my floor plan is the same as urs.. but due to last min changes... table 30 was shifted to beside table 3.. tat location confirmed is isolated one.. i kanna complain.. Simon did warn me.. but as tat was last min.. i got no choice.. table 32 was shift forward abit..

22, 25, 27, 29 - was abit cramp for me to walk in.. as i nid to go in to the wall side to take photos ... my gown was wif can can.. so abit troublesome to get in... try to arrange to take photos wif u standing outside..

other than tat... still ok ...
but most of the tables are 10pax except the red tables 12pax

josfoo

hi all... i nid help...
my AD just over but i realise i forgot to take the photograph of the hotel room..
wondering if anyone can email me the photographs?

nid to print out 4R for memory sake.
thks in advance

jedilim

HI all..just had food tasting...was alright..need some advice for those who just had food tasting....how is the yam paste? cos i tried the red bean, was normal only, so we decided to change to yam paste...those who just had their AD, any comments please advice thanks!

the steam sea bass was quite disappointing so we changing it deep fried sweet n sour sauce instead...anyone tried that before?
shark fin soup, prawns n noodles were nice!

jedilim

The food quite ok la, you getting banquet suite or anson room?....different food for each.
i just saw they have new table clothes for guest tables, cream color with some designs on it, very nice and classy.
also i think their service of their staff, banquet managers etc is very good and polite and patient..

yew

Can check anyone have the floor plan of the banquet suite?

I am trying to increase my table to 28 but some of the tables will be block by the wall. Anyone have any ideas how to reduce the table from the blocking by the wall?

dodolet

I am trying to limit my tables to 25 to 26 max.

Keona, I have asked Simon before, they have the big tables for 12pax, but you have to inform in advance. But he did highlight that you can only do 12 pax in 1 table for afew tables and there is the total numbers of tables cannot be too big.

I also wanna have the floor plan of the banquet suite. Anyone knows how to make the banquet suite march in longer?

keona_280907

Hi JJ,

My menu is for the Anson Rm. I had my food tasting in May. Their yam paste not too sweet and is very nice (My family and I like it very much). Maybe you can consider.

As for the fish, maybe u can check with ur coordinator whether can it be changed to other types of fish instead of sea bass? I would rather have the fish steam instead of fried. Reason being steam fish can be tasted very easily if the fish is not fresh and therefore plp will normally use a fresh fish to steam. If fried, the fresh taste of the fish will be gone after the deep fried, so if plp use a stale fish we might not able to taste it. Just a cents of my thought... For your info, mine is steam garoupa with soya sauce. It is very fresh and nice too. Overall their food is ok, not much complains.

However, you gals need to check is the food serve during food tasting is correct. They made a mistake on the Cold Dish during my food tasting. They only serve 4 types of food instead of 5 for the cold dish. Luckily, my FHB counter checked the food with our contract and realised that it was wrong. If not, I think they will provide exactly the same food during AD.

jedilim

hi keona, thanks, at least u say yam paste is nice, i more relieved...by the way, do u need to top up money for changing to garoupa?
ah..have u seen the new menu and packages...seems quite good, got a few new diffrent dishes.... wah n the banquet suite so good got choice of different dishes....
guess anson dun have....so sad....

stacyl

Hi JJ,

I'm taking up banquet room. I'm in love with the ballroom at the first sight... keke.. But, heard some of the comment that the food not very nice. so quite worry about this.

jedilim

i can't say much on the food as ur banquet ballroom menu is different, may be nicer than anson room package i duno, see what others comments....
as anson package is very reasonable compared to prices in other hotels, so i am fine with the quality of food. of cos may not be as excellent as other more expensive hotels la....can't compare like that bah..

stacyl

Ic.. I understand what u mean. Going down to pay deposit this coming Tuesday. I wonder since they will give free flow of beer,Can i also ask for every confirm table a bottle of red wine at the same time? Did anyone ask for this too?

xixi0310

me went to my fren weddin yday (28/6)..i duno which ballroom, bt its at level 10..
my comments is food very nice..waiter/waitress service also nt bad..bt me suay..got a very rude waiter..bt overall its gd

keona_280907

Hi JJ,

I did not top up for changing it to garoupa as this was given to me by my ex-coordinator before I signed up with them. Maybe you can try checking with them on this.

I had not seen their new package. Anson menu are quite common which can be the same as other hotels which might be $800++ per table. So dun be sad ya. Trust ur own choice.

Honestly, I find that their food is nice. At least my family, FMIL & Cousins do not have any bad comments during the food tasting.

josfoo

hi keona..
the VIP table is slightly bigger than normal..
nope it wasnt crampy at all..
the normal guest table can accomodate up to 11 pax...

keona_280907

Hi josfoo,

Thanks for your info. It will be great that the VIP can accomodate up to 12 pax as my FHB have a big family.

So your guest at Table 31 & 32 did not complained they they felt left out / isolated right?

stacyl

Hi Josfoo,

u having banquet suite on ur wedding day right? How is it overall? Can share some of the picture of it? Hee... Thank a lot ya :p

josfoo

hi stacy..
nope... mine was not banquet... mine was held at anson room..
anyway my ad photo not up yet... no time to edit..

hi stella..
yes. their bridal suite include jacuzzi... it was very shiok...

ene

I just went to view M Hotel's Ballroom yesterday. Nice! Am just wondering if the dates I want are available.

One concern: Is there ample parking space in the hotel itself?

vianice

Hi can anyone share your wedding photo in anson room? I am concerned whether the stage is really so small like what Jun Lim (junvis) mentioned. Thanks!

tydy

Hi, i intend to hold mine at Anson Room too.. cos find it more affordable and I held my solemnisation at Jbar therefore I chose M Hotel..
Anyone had Colette as their coordinator?
She seems abit difficult to bargain for perks..
For mine solenisation, I only got the standard pkg.

tydy

hey Keona, we have to bring in duty paid liquor.
in some threads, they have emailed some authorities to pay the duty for those liquor.
But I think the trend now is that guests will consumed more red wine than hard liquor.

hopeee

I am a June 2009 BTB too. Just decided the date of my wedding 2 weeks ago. Busy doing the shopping for wedding banquet. Not much choices left as we started planning later than others.

I have came down to the final two.
1. M hotel
2. carlton

Really can't make my decision as in which one to choose.

Does anyone has any suggestion or comment ?

Really appreciate your comment.

strawberrie1983

fang -> well i am liked u..initially stuck with M or Carlton..but in the end i chose Carlton w/o givin M hotel a chance by gg down to take a look
reason: coordinator whom serve us is very sincere and location is very accessible..so that why we chose Carlton..

bubbly19

fang: I chose Carlton too, same with Stella. location is more accessible.

personally, the food @ m hotel isnt that great as i have attended a fren's wedding over there. not sure if it has been improved though

tydy

hey girls, dont mind me joining in. I have confirmed my date as 28 Nov 09. But now still shopping for banquets. Have shortlisted M Hotel Anson Rm, Holiday Inn Atrium, Furama RiverFront and Novotel. The prices and perks seems to be the same.
For M Hotel Anson Rm, seems abit cramp for 30 tables and there is a narrow stretch from table 26 to 30. But my Solemnisation was hold at Jbar in M Hotel so this hotel is what we can relate to.

For Furama Riverfront and HIA, location seems abit out as its not easily accessible from MRT.

For Novotel, seems abit old and there are some threads commenting on the bad svc.

Sorry for typing so much. Girls, any views on the above 4 Hotels? Feel free to speak up. Thanks...

hopeee

Thanks Stella and Bubbly19 for your advice.

I agree with both of you. Carlton is better compared to M hotel. However M hotel is much more cheaper than Carlton. We still have to buy our own wine if we choose Carlton. A lot of hidden cost incured.

hopeee

Hi Candy,
Ya, I ageree with you. The M hotel Anson Room is a bit cramp if you have about 26 to 30 tables. But if you have less table, it shouldn;t be a problem.

I went shopping for banquets last weekend. I am quite comfortable wit M hotel, but my BF said that it doesn;t have the feel as compared to the other hotel.
1. The lobby is small.
2. Anson room looks more like function room to him.(it is a function room, keke) My BF said i can take M hotel unless i can do anything to the decoration to make it more class .

I did consider Holiday Inn initially , but its taken. As for Furama and Novotel,i din consider due to poor comments.

tydy

hey fang, thanx for your reply.
and another thing to consider is at anson rm, is there any lift to bring us to our bridal suite for changing outfit? Cos we walked up the stairs to Anson Room. Didnt notice if there is any lift access from there. Imagine u wanna change outfit for 2nd march in, then have to go 1st flr to take lift.

strawberrie1983

fang -> M Hotel is more expensive leh than Carlton..in terms of per table cost..Then think back, M hotel is nt as grand as Carlton, nt as accessible, and somemore cost so much. Though Carlton have to bring wine ourself, but we can bring in duty free wine/liquor, they will waive corkage charge lo, other hotels will charge per botle opened leh..

As for M hotel Anson room is function rm, unless u are taking the ballroom, then diff lo..High ceiling and nice..

Holiday Inn ok..nt so bad i think..but location nt very accessible..same as Furama..As for Furama RF, there is nightclub beside the htl leh..first impression gone le..Novotel ok..exterior is old..accessibilty nt so bad though..

tydy

i think fang is comparing between Anson Room and Carlton. Thats why Anson room will be more affordable. If compare banquet suite, it will be additional 140 per table. So i will not even consider taking M hotel banquet suite. Simply not worth the money spent. Thats why Im considering Anson Room.