M Hotel Singapore

yew

Hi Gabrielle,

I tried to bargain with M but no use.

Will like to check with those who signed up the package during the fair, have your coordinator call you up to sign the agreement letter?

jedilim

HI all, any idea if M hotel allow for VIP table to increase no. of seats to 12 or more? or do they have big table to have more people?
having disagreements w parents on who to sit on VIP. mum wants couple n both side parents to sit together...while i think groom side used to having 2 VIP tables seprate....hai..so trying to compromise...also thinking quite hard how to put the 2 VIP tables abit strange cos using function room which is P shape. stress!!! any advice??

Hi all, think if sign up at fair, usually will have discount off table, so very hard to bargain for any other freebies. they quite strict. but what they offer quite comprehensive already, especially with new package out this year.

Agreement letter normally they will call u up, takes about 2-3 weeks or more. to me no hurry.

eugo

Hi AD080809 and Tony,

Thanks for both your replies. Finally I am a BTB and Wedding dinner will be host at M Hotel. Kinda last min but lucky to find a Sunday slot.

I really think M Hotel package is quite comprehensive till I don't what to ask from them. But I am quite happy with the package.

By the way, anyone has the Function Room photos to share? Mine will be held in the Function Room. Thanks in advance!

eugo

Thanks JJ. ^^

Do you have the seating plan of the Function Room? I am still trying to figure out the seating arrangement wor.

jedilim

HI Eugo, u mean u didn't go down to the M hotel to view the function room then u sign up already?
Think the hotel suppose to give us arrangement but normally at later stage lor..but i gan cheong, so try to draw up my own version first. u give me ur email i can email u my version which may not be accurate.

so when is ur AD? mine is end Jul.

mango0977

jj > wah, your AD is just round the corner ah...must be busy preparing now...have your taken the photos? which BS did u sign up with? cos i saw the photo u posted on multiply..the WG is nice.

yew

Hi Jedilim,

If not wrong regarding your question with the VIP table, i think i also asking this question when i sign up. If not wrong i think they allow 12 to a table.

Hi EuGo,

Cong! When is your AD?

eugo

Hi JJ,

I went but that day the function was occupied by a Company hosting their D&D. Can you send the seating plan to [email protected] ? Thanks alot!!

Hi AD080809,

Thanks. My AD is in Early Nov 2008. ^^

jedilim

hai both sides dun wan to give way!!! HOW??? very very stress n upset now. my parents side one combine, my FH side one 2 separate table. give up!

shilo

hi JJ

Can understand how u feel. Remember this is yr wedding, not their wedding! So u decide, not for them to decide for u ok. No need to please everyone. Tell them this is what u arrange, take it or leave it.

jedilim

it doesn't work with my family la...they will call the shoots one, esp this area....then dun wan both side all not happy, how to have banquet like that...alamak...

anyone heard of bride parents seating at groom's side then?

lost_in_space

Hi JJ, groom's parents should allow ur parents to sit with them~ understand that they as the host, have to invite ur parents as guests to sit with them at the VIP table.. as for ur parents' VIP table, it should be filled up with ur dad's relatives.. my MIL also dun allow my parents to sit with them.. but no choice.. cos we are paying the dinner ourselves.. i think more impt is what u and ur HB wan.. me and my HB want both side to sit together.. make ur stand clear~~

Lost

dodolet

I asked before to get 12 pple in one table. Simon said it is not a problem but the issue is, the food inuff for them? Cos they cater for 10 pple only.

JJ worse let fate decide. What you need is a coin. And let ur fh and ur parents to decide which side they wanna. Who ever wins get their choice. So both cannot complain about it.

Anyone saw what are the new themes for this year? So far i have seen 1 only.

jedilim

Hi all, thanks...wow wat an interesting way to settle dispute...haha.....very funny....
duno yet la..see how lor...cos also we are paying for the dinner ourselves mah.

as for food whether enough, shld be ok, since couple wouldn't get to eat much anyway.

oh so if brides parents sit with groom side, then the other VIP belongs to the bride side la? then can be mother's relatives to sit there instead of father's relatives?

dreamy79, u can see my earlier entry on themes my photos in multiply...they usually have 2 themes i think for each ballroom. for banquet i saw the new theme at Mar roadshow, oriental chick i thnk, red theme n got black bird cage with red candles inside on the flower stands n stage.
but i think sometimes they may change as time goes on, so got to check with them closer to date.
the function room new theme also like not very finalised yet.

lost_in_space

JJ.. it should be ur father's parents.. his unmarried brothers (your uncles), or unmarried sisters (ur aunties), if sister is married cannot sit at the vip table cos they are married out to their husband..but can place married brothers and their wife..

jedilim

HI all, thanks for advices. will see how to settle this.

by the way, anyone had food tasting yet and tried their yam paste? i have a choice of yam paste or red bean. food tasting 1st week May. got to decide n tell them on Mon. Those that had weddings at M hotel, please advice. THanks.

blessedwedding

hihi..
I am interested in M hotel. heard that they had wedding show end of mar but i missed it. heard they had good perks ie. $1100 cash disc. is that true? anyone signed up during the fair? care to share the package? hw much per table for function room? is the 2009 rate applies from jan 09 onwards or mar09?
any idea when is the up coming wedding show?

blessedwedding

hi Maycat, understand u have relatives coming from msia? are u msian or husband msian? im thinking to ask my hubby go msia hse to fetch me on AD. so looking for MUA in jb. any lobang? btw did u charter a bus to bring yr relative from msia to spore for the wedding banquet? or they drive? if so, hw much? my mum suggest me to charter a bus but personaly i dont like the idea cos is an additional cost to us.

maycat

Hello bell,

I used to be Malaysian but now a singaporean and my family living in singapore. so will not have issue like you.

Most of my relatives coming from malaysia will be driving also.

Maybe you can try check up the rate of chartering a bus? i heard that to charter a bus in singapore is around 100?? if it is still affordable can consider so all of them will arrive on time!

maycat

hmmm, this is what i heard from rasa sentosa banquet manager.. but i am really not sure,, anywhere, what she quote is from rasa sentosa to any one place of singapore sth like that..

So you really need to check it out .. !

fairy_gal

I will be using the max capacity of the ballroom up to 32 tables. Anybody held 32 tables there before? Is the walkway very crampy? That is my only concern as my HTB wanted a military wedding.

blessedwedding

anybody can share the photos on the new themes decoration of the function rm. pls send to [email protected].

is there a different in hotel room if a person sign up function room or banquet suite? is all their hotel room come in jazucci?

lilostitch12

Hi fairy, the march in walkway is indeed crampy with the no. of tables you are looking at. I visited the banquet suite on one sunday afternoon and saw the staff preparing for that evening dinner. If i remember correctly, the set up was for 30 tables. It does look slightly congested with the U-shape march in. Suggest u make some arrangements with your co-ordinator to view the full set up when the banquet suite is holding dinner of similar size. Make your appt ard 4pm plus when the ballroom is almost fully set up. Just my tots! Happy Planning = )

fairy_gal

Hi lilo,

Thanks a lot for the advice. That was my worry too. Will probably arrange that with my co-ordinator to view the banquet suite to see a smiliar set up. Are you planning to hold your wedding at M Hotel as well? How many tables are you planning to have? Actually, other than M Hotel, the other hotels I have in mind are Furama Riverfront and Holiday Inn. My HTB prefers M Hotel though.

lilostitch12

Hi Fairy
I have already booked my dinner with M-Hotel. We are looking at approx 26 to 28 tables. I was very impressed by the banquet suite when I first saw it and the price was reasonable as compared to other hotels. It was a easy decision to make. = )

fairy_gal

Hi lilo,

Glad that you have decided to make M Hotel your wedding venue. I feel that M Hotel gives a very cosy feeling and the location is very convienent for guests who are not driving. When is your AD? 2009? Mine is Nov 09.

eugo

Did anyone manage to bargain for extra perks from M Hotel when booking not during the Wedding Show? Do we still have the bargaining power if we have booked the date? My fren told me that we can still bargain before we sign the contract. Is it true?? Thanks in advance!!

lilostitch12

Hi Fairy,
My AD is in Sept 08. Its great that you plan early so that you could spend more time hunting for a suitable venue.
Personally, i feel that the service has not disappoint me so far. Infact, I was pretty impressed with the attention that the staff has given.
I actually had my wedding solemnisation held in the hotel a couple of mths back and I have informed Simon (my co-ordinator) that my mom is on special vegetarian diet. Therefore we need special arrangements for my mom's lunch in the cafe.
I was pleasantly surprised that the cafe's manager actually came up to my mom personally to take her order at the cafe while the rest of our orders were taken by the other waiters. What really pleases me is that Simon actually took attention of our requests and inform the respective staff our requests. I think its really a thumb up for them.

shilo

hi lilo

i just met up with simon today and indeed i would say he is really professional and service oriented! Simon, keep in up! ( u know who i am from P company)...hahha

shilo

hi grace

rest assured u will be in good hands if simon is yr planner

honeybunny

Hi Ladies.. i am considering M Hotel, Function Room as my wedding venue, for brides who had their wedding there.. care to share some AD pictures? Please email me at [email protected]

Has anyone got the floorplan? I may have 30 tables... worried that it will be cramp lei.

btw any one managed to negoitate for 1btl of wine & ff of beer together or change the day use room to overnight stay or another other perks?

Quite new in this.. appreciate some advice

tiff_tan

Hi there!

I am a new user of this forum! Found this forum so useful to prepare for my wedding. I am considering M Hotel for banquet. Read so many comments abt this hotel that i felt i shld go and take a look.

honeybunny

Hello.. can I check for those who had their wedding dinner or foodtasting.. for the baby abalone, can I ask is it very small? is it better that those normal slice abalone that we usually have?

thejade

Hi there ;)

I have booked M Hotel's Anson Room for my AD in Dec'08.

But i'm starting to have doubts on my decision now.
I'm worried that the stage might be a little too small...the room may look abit too crampy as compared to the Banquet Suite though it can accommodate 2 more tables than the latter but it has low ceiling & pillars.

With all this doubts, i have to make the whole process much simpler w/o adding much details to the stage/room deco. Anyway, the Banquet Suite is already booked on that day which is why i took Anson Room.

I'm ok with the reception area though it not as exclusive as the foyer area over at the Banquet Suite.

I didn't manage to extend the helper's room to the following day or upgrade my own suite to the seaview either.

Will be having my food tasting in Sept before i decide if i want to change part of the menu, depending on how much i have to top up.

shilo

Hi Jade

Sometimes small and simple is beautiful. U never know till the actual day. Dun be doubtful, trust all yr decisions will turn well and make all the best

Honestly speaking, I use to think a lot like u also. But then have come to this stage there is no perfect venue. Also the guests will not care how the stage look like and the ceiling. Important thing is the sitting arrangment, service and food they have.

ylang_ylang

Anyone with Colette as co-ordinator, how's your encounter with her?

Colette is my co-ordinator, doesnt seem very accomodating and inflexible. As it just me feeling this way ?

Though I have not met Simon, from what I'm reading here, seems Simon is more service oriented and a people person.

honeybunny

Hi Ylyan Ylang, is your wedding confirm already? I have met Colette, I find that she is fine and professional. Well as for the package, i believe the elements are more or less fix with some room for negoitation.

tiff_tan

Hi Grace,

I am also meeting Simon on Sat! Originally, he said may have to meet me NEXT MTH cos he has so many appts. I asked him if there are other coordinator available to meet us on Sat. And he told me that he has squeezed in anor slot for us. God! So exaggerating!

mango0977

Hi Tiff!

My appt on Sat was supposed to be 11am. But FH gotta work leh so proposed to meet Simon at 3pm...but he cant....

so we changed to meeting him on 18/5 (Sun) at 2pm...

i m looking at wedding luncheon at banquet suite...you?

probably will swing by sophia wedding collections also after meeting Simon...same area.

blessedwedding

Hi grace, any idea wat time does the luncheon start and end? my mum is hinting me to change to luncheon... but i prefer dinner leh...
any special reason y u want luncheon?