M Hotel Singapore

shilo

I have a fren who had done lunch wedding and said it is shorter time and simple. Simple I can agree but shorter time I dun, think it is abt same time, and more rush

initially i thought of lunch, but then HTB dun like to idea

mango0977

Bell > i think usually it starts at 1pm and ends around 4pm...if the hotel does have to turn around for evening banquet, then i think can stretch till 430pm....at least this was what i have been told by another hotel that I visited...

attended a wedding luncheon late last year and i quite the feel of it...somehow guests were visibly more relaxed...plus our AD will be a Sun, quite nice to do luncheon on a Sun...at the end of the day, you must like the idea cos it is your big day
so if you really prefer a dinner instead, do share your thots w your mum.

mfchoc

Hi is the food at M gd? realised that their menu may b 8-course & not 9.. but tink it's alrite if food's gd enuf..can anyone who's tried it out provide some comments?

frennie

Has anyone held their wedding at the Anson room? Can give some advise? I intend to chose M hotel as my dinner venue.

jedilim

HI i have some photos of function room and banquet suite of M hotel. i booked their function room for Jul 08. very good value for money. click below to view:

http://jenilim.multiply.com/photos/album/4
it is pillarless..thought shape is P shape so will be quite weird to layout tables for both side relatives. but for mine is ok, cos uneven no. of relatives. i think the recep area is rather nice too, with the long winding staircase.

jedilim

hi Banquet is on 10th floor and higher ceiling and more squarish layout. their themes are different too, but u got to go down see for urself during roadshow lor. Banquet costs more too, think the menu slightly different. u can go to singaporebrides page under banquet/hotels to view video n banquet packages.

I did my wedding 1.5 years back in the function room mine was only 21 tables. That time, it was only a bit cheaper and the menu has garoupa dish instead of sea bass. I booked the package in Oct 2005, after the wedding show. I wanted the Ballroom but it was taken. However, we had a good time at the function because the reception area was big and we serve finger food and drink at the area and got to chat with most guests. To be frank, to have more than 25 tables it will be cramped.

jedilim

hi Anne, how much extra did u have to pay for finger food during cocktail? i was thinking of having some cos got ceremony at 6-7pm..scared guests will be hungry if dinner starts late.
oops.. i targetting to have 26-28 tables without having to open the last section.

tiff_tan

Grace,

I am looking at luncheon also. Will want to look at both function room and banquet suit first. Lunch is more for our budget cos we want it on a weekend. The weekend dinners are just exorbitant!

mango0977

Tiff > i think for us okay to do lunch cos we are looking at only 20 - 22 tables...consider small scale? so a shorter time is okay for us...

plus his cousins so far all had their weddings in the evening, so why not we do something different and give everyone a different experience...hee...

okies, lets update one another after meeting Simon this weekend....our choice is either M or GCW...

shilo

hi M brides

those who had their wedding done at M Suite, can give some feedback on food and service?

many thanks & appreciate

mango0977

bell > the wedding lunch i attended had a second march in....it was ok cos the warm lightings in the ballroom made it appear like it was evening time, so wearing an evening gown don make the bride out of place....

alternatively, can choose a more fun gown for the second march in....maybe something short etc...

tiff_tan

Hi grace,

We've met simon and went thru Anson rm and banquet suite. We both like banquet suite for its higher ceiling and cosy feel. Plus, the whole flr will be for our use only. The reception room is spacious! Didn't managed to go into the vip rm to take a look cos it was occupied. There were 1 lunch and 2 dinners held yesterday. Most probably, we will take M hotel. Quite satisfied with what we see...

When we walked to M fr the mrt, it was abt 5-7mins. However, there wasn't any signage after we came out fr exit D. Had to go back down to look at the map. So, i think it's better to include the map in the insert of the invitation card for the convenience of the guests who dun drive.

mango0977

Hi Tiff,

Met Simon this afternoon. We like the ballroom, it is cosy and warm...the other plus pt is that the reception area can be set for solemnisation and it was set for that we reached there...

However, my FH don quite the idea that guests have to walk the passage from the reception area to the ballroom at the banquet suite...but i find it ok...so i think we have to discuss further...

but happy that your FH and you both like the place! then can get the venue booked and one task done!

ya the MRT station is not too far away! v convenient actually!

tiff_tan

Grace,

We planned to have our solemnisation at the reception area! It's so spacious! Ya, the passage leading to the ballroom is indeed abit weird but it's just a small matter to me. No big prob...

Brought my cam there but forgot to take it out and use..haiz...So excited on seeing the ballroom..

mango0977

Hi Tiff,

Yeah the passageway was a small matter to me but FH don really like it...sigh..

Ya! the area for solemnisation is v spacious! when it is all set up really looks nice! but i'm happy for you lei, cos most impt both parties must like the place....

did you notice their table cloth in the ballroom? the prints are v elegant ah.

we will continue to look around and who knows, we may find M Hotel the most ideal at the end of the day

honeybunny

Hi Grace... hee hee acutally me & FH had shortlisted M Hotel. I brought my parents ther on weekend to view, however they had the same concern abt that passage way and they really really dislike it,..

so end of day, think we are gonna drop M Hotel as they prefer the other shortlisted venue.

shilo

dear all

I also shortlist M. But may I know why the passage way is a concern? I think it is nice with some petal flowers on it

honeybunny

Hi Ocean Claudia... i guess this is very personal cos I am ok with it actually. Just that my parents dont feel good about it.. they prefer more "open".. ie now my chosen venue is Vanda Ballroom at MM, which the Foyer overlooks the atrium so more "open" in this sense lor. Then the Ballroom door opens up to the foyer.

I think M hotel is quite an ideal venue but I go with my parents opnion since I am the only child & it is impt that they like the venue too

dodolet

I think the passage way can be transformed in such a way like going into a different feeling from the outside "recept area" to the real ball room. Thinking of the concept of a portal to another world ^^.

I was hopping to get de hotel to put some of the pieces (eg like the bird cage, lantern, some rose stands if there is enuff) in the ballroom into the passage way to create the feel of transformation. Of course must check if they allow or can do it or not.

Just a tot. If anyone seeing the co-ord soon, can check what are the other confirmed themes beside the oriental chic?

honeybunny

Hi Ocean, it tot so too cos M Hotel $828nett, MM $858nett. However if sign up before 31 May at MM you get ff or beer AND 1 btl of wine per table. So if you look at it this way.. M Hotel $828 (w/o wine bt with FF beer) + $20 nett for 1 btl wine =$848. The price diff is around $10 per table. Something like that lah =)

shilo

Hi Jiaple

MM where got $858 nett? thought was $828 nett for weekday and $958 for weekend?

thought M hotel was $898 nett?

can u pls enlighten me?

honeybunny

Hi Ocean Claudia.. for MM $858nett is for weekdays, $ $1038 for Sun, Fri & $1088 for Sat (for wedding after 19 Sept. Cos mine will be weekday in Dec09.

MM for 09, (wedding held before 19 Sept) will be $828 nett for weekday, $988nett for Fri, Sun & $1038nett for Sat

M hotel will be at $828 nett for weekdays for 2009 & $928nett for weekend..

So I guess the variance of price depends on when you are having your AD.

Cos after I compare 858(w wine) & 828 (w/o wine) nt much diff

shilo

Hi Jiaple

thats true. Thought yr wedding is this year. Wow! u book so early already! But i think sometimes if u book on wedding show, some hotels may offer cash rebates or some other perks. why dun u wait for these then>?

honeybunny

Hiya Ocean Claudia... yah. wanna plan & book early before price up & up againFaintzzz..I tot of waiting for M Hotel next show to get perks, but guess gotta give it a miss.

In fact I am planning to sign up by 31May to enjouy the perks offered by MM for their 20April wedding show. Good luck in your planning.

shilo

Hi Jiaple

good to plan early, not so stress. I have seen MM's suite room, I dun really like it cos it is a typical hotel room with connecting door. Prefer M's though it is smaller but v cosy.

who is yr coordintor from MM?

honeybunny

Hey babe... I am speaking with Fiona from MM.. nice lady and she also handled my bestie wedding last year. btw when is your big day?

josfoo

Hi all.. just finish my wedding ytd..
thumbs up for them

their service were fantastic...

Really glad that everything went on smoothly

cayenne

Any M Hotel brides know how long in advance we can arrange to test out the projector and sound system? What format of the music is compatible with their system?

Understand from the banquet manager, Dennis, that the M Hotel personnel will take care of the playing of the music of the march in etc. We only need to take care of playing the wedding montage, preferably using our own laptop.

For me, I'm thinking of playing my prewedding pics prior to the dinner, and my wedding montage before first march in, and the whole actual day event pics throughout the dinner. Any M Hotel bride did the same thing before? So practically won't be using the M Hotel staff to help already?

fairy_gal

Hi Jos,

Is your wedding in the banquet suite or Anson Room? I went to recce the banquet suite yesterday with the max capacity of 32 and found that it is very nice with all the deco done up.

josfoo

Hi fairy
mine was at anson room.

Hi cayenne
their player can play mp3 format.
for me, my emcee aka my sis took care of all the music and montage. we only mange to test the projector and sound system on the Ad afternoon

fairy_gal

Jos,

Thanks for the reply. Just a check with you as to how was the feedback for the food? Is it good? As for your bridal suite, did you get the one facing PSA or the one facing the sea?

josfoo

Hi fairy

overall the food was ok.. and i luv their sharkfin..

my bridal suite is not the facing PSA/sea.. is facing the other side of the building...

evelyn818

I am also interested in signing up as M hotel bride but banquent suite was taken, so i may have to take the function room now. But my hubby and i really love the ballroom alot.

Thus, if you had booked the banquent suite dinner for 10 Oct 09 but decided to let go (for other better venue), please please contact me at [email protected]

yew

After my AD wedding in singapore i will need to go in JB and throw another wedding dinner for my father's relatives. Any one have any idea for the dinner? I know nothing about JB.

junvis

Hi Frennie,

I have viewed the deco of Anson, it was one of my priority, but the idea was put off after viewing.

(1) Ceiling was low
(2) the layout is awkward. It is subdivide into 2 portions, the 1st half closer to the stage is rectangular whereas the 2nd half is elongated. A L shaped if u know what i meant.
(3) stage is small

so, i am still sourcing for venue. What other venues u have viewed so far?

junvis

AD080809,

I will be holding extra banquet in Malaysia too. For me, I wouldn't waste so much time in sourcing for venue in JB cos Malaysian are very "chin chai" one. Depending on the location, you can try one of the restaurant in Kulai. I think kinda famous there in terms of food and as a function holder.