Living separately after wedding until new flat is rdy?

jackyd9

Hi, we've applied for our HDB at Punggol and it will only be ready in 2013/4. However, we'd like to get married, complete ROM, tea ceremonies and AD dinner in one day, next yr. But, I don't fancy moving into his parents' house and he mine. Rental is out as well as money is tight. Hence we'd like to still live separately till we get our flat. Any advice?

I'm doing that as well with my htb. I think it shouldn't be a prob if you guys decided on it. some of my frds went thru 'weekend couples' before they got their own place too.

initially me and my HTB planned to stay seperately till our flat is ready too.

usually the flat will be ready sooner than the actual. Mine is official ready in 2012 but i am collecting my keys this month. so for your case, maybe just stay seperately for few months

Hi May,

May i know where is e location of your flat? I always think that Sengkang/punggol region completes way ahead of time.

2012 is your Probable Completion Date or Delivery Possession Date?

Mine PCD is 2012 as well, but its not anywhere near done.. urg.

@BabyJacky My htb n i are gonna be the "weekend couple" too, staying separately for most part.

we are also going to stay separately after our customary in dec this yr..our flat will only be ready in yr 2015 earliest (dawson bto)

have rom-ed last yr so im staying over at his place every weekend now..lucky our places are within the same town so don't have to spend too much time on travelling..

my parents say its very strange for us to do that after customary while his parents are okay with this arrangement..i think i'll just stay over more often in the future cos this is the best arrangement for us now

same here.. house will be ready only in yr 2012.. gonna have wedding in june 2011. so probably have to be weekend couples for a year or so >.< staying over at each other's places for weekends..

same here. his parents are fine with the arrangements. ROM 2 yrs ago and AD is on Nov this yr. PCD is June 2012. Currently we are weekend couples. sometimes we dun even stay together also. just at own house.

Hi there, our bto hse will be expected to collect keys end 14 too. am thinkin of rom + customary on same day. if we were to stay apart at own hse after that isit wierd? another question is, isit for most traditional chinese that lets say if u jus rom and u are pregnant after that will they mind? from wat i noe, some elderly would onli consider customary(banquet) as fully registered as married.

Our flat will only be ready in 2014. We are getting married end of this yr. We also had the idea of living separtely and I stay over his house during weekends only after wedding. Actually I really hate the idea and has been quite unhappy in planning our wedding. Difficult for me to stay at his house cos his house is only a 4rm flat and he got 3 siblings.. thats too cramp.. How can I tahan for 4yrs... Want to buy a resale but no money..
Althought live separate temporarily is still ok.. but not for 4yrs right? And like that how to get pregnant? I'm near 30 liao.. cannot wait..
Really headache..

Hi Carolyn, if your bto projected completion is 2014, likely it will be ready by 2013 or earlier. HDB tends to finish earlier than expected. *Cross fingers*

Although initially we also intended to be weekend couple, now I'm staying at his place during weekdays and going home on weekends instead. Not sure how long this will continue tho.

I will be having my AD on Dec this year, and our flat will only be ready in 2014. So after married, we will not live together, he will live with his parents, and I will live with my sister.

When I shared the idea with my parents and friends, they all laugh at me. They actually suggested me to rent a room outside.

Now I just pray, HDB can deliver the project earlier, so at least I can move in earlier. Haha..

Carolyn, I also near 30 le, so when I move in to my hse, I almost 33 le, so we have actually have the same problem.. so how ah?

BabyJacky (jackyd9) > I am something similar as u, stay at IL house on weekday and back home on weekend.

ROM in Mar2010 while my AD is Mar next yr.Bto needs to wait for abt 4yrs.

Hi Peusecret,
Our situation is so simialr.. I also do not know how.. maybe wait til the resale market cool down and temporarily just buy a 3rm or 4rm to stay for at least 2.5hrs. Then when get keys for new flats then sell. If not, really have to stay at his house if I really get pregnant lor..

Btw, can I check how about the laundry? If weekend then stay at his house, do I bring back the clothes to wash? Cos I really don't know where to hang my undergarments as his house is mostly guys..

babyjacky, mY BTO in punggol oso will be complete in 2013/4 ( maybe we took the same project?).
My ROM last yr and currently staying separately. customary will be in Nov this yr..
After that we will be staying weekday my place, weekend his.

carolyn, im having the same problem as u.. my hubby side mostly guys.. i oso dunno where to hang my undergarments.. cant be inside the room rite? heee

Hi Carolyn &amp; Loewe79.

Usually I will bring 2-3 sets of undergarments, cause I a bit pai seh to wash and hang @ his house. I feel uneasy =x