Jurong West St.61 Blk 656

pYip, saw from somewhere in this forumn, the latest u can drag to open the water/elect is about 1weeks time.

Haiz... got news from HDB that we wont be getting our keys yet coz need to submit ROM Cert as we're applying for the additional HDB grant. So that would be around July then can get key liao...think by your renos mostly half done or mayb done liao lor heeheez...then i can start going to your houses and take a peek at your designs :D

Hi Devila_mun,

I am not exactly directly below you.
Some floors down...some level...

Nothing is done to my house yet..

Went to "inspect" the house on Sunday...
Couple of flaws here and there...

Hi..

i am staying at #0*-335.
just brought TV,washing machine, vacume cleaner, home threa before the gst increase.. hehee

got my keys yesterday.

the only 2 probmlem is my letter box and electricity door cann't be open.
i am looking for washing machine. any ideal how many KG should I buy? is 6 kg enough for clothes for 2 person? thinking of washing my bedsheets in lanudery shop.

i guess most of you have got the keys liao.. will be having headache from the renovation. saw my neighbour on 25/4/07 3pm plus- a pleasant couple with a baby... (are u in this forum? pm me k )

oshgosh,
Can u buy the appliances now and ask them to deliver in 6mths time???

cynthia,
i got the same problem with my letterbox as i cant fit the key into the hole... try pushing the contents of the letter box inwards and try again.

Hi..

Cynthia- hehehe. i am nt the same level as you. somewhere below.. As for washing machine, we brought 8kg so that can wash bedsheet as well. got a good deal - $299 samsung.

CK: Ya. u can buy and ask them to deliver later. the most u pay a $100 deposit. to secure the price.

so excited, tomorrow going over to my new place again to do some stuff. hope to see my neighbour there..

wow oshgosh... $299 is cheap..very good deal for a 8kg. is it top load?
hehee...sad u not same level as me...next time can come my house for coffee...

wow.. Oshgosh.. Tats a really gd deal lei.. Where did u buy the washing machine from?

I had collected my keys on 25 Apr. I could opened my letter box but the key hole is rusty. The upper part of the door latch could not be locked & I had reported to Pionner Service Town Centre.

Any ID to intro??

i am looking at front load, samsung, 6.5kg with 800 rpm...maybe buy from courts..
went to ikea..love their stuffs so much...

I'm staying at 656A. Last week i went back and saw quite a number of houses are renovating. Must be quick oso...
Now finalising the quotation with my ID.

hi andy..take ur time to search a good ID..no rush.
sit down and have a good talk with ID to come out with a good design that is nice,ease of maintain and within budget.

its fun...

I got an EA in the 656 series.May I raise a topic:

What might be the HDB valuation range for this batch of 656x EA flat 5 years later?

Considering the following factors:
1. New Pioneer MRT
2. New Jurong Point
3. New Park in the current bus-int
4. etc... (If you know...)

thks.

Hi neighbours

Did u all do any ceremony (like sprinkling rice & tea or go over fire when u all move in? Heard from my mum that its better 2 do cos the house is vacanted for 5 years. Any advice?

Hey I'm staying @654A. I got my flat after it vacant for 2 yrs. What I did was
-Choose a good date for move it
Then on that day
-Get a new characol stove for go over fire
-sprink rice + salt at every corner of the house.
-Boil water
-Have a lunch in the house (dunno why but my MIL say it's good for us)
-

Hi Sherine

Thanks for the reply.. Sorri, a few more questions:

1)When can I clean up the salt & rice after I sprinkle?

2)Can I borrow the characoal stove from my colleague or is it a muz to buy new one?

3)With regards of having lunch inside hse, can I pack food or muz cook huh?

i thought sprinkle rice before move in?

but i know have lunch in the house is to boost "ren qi".
when house is vacant, it has a lot of "yin qi", so we must drive those negative energies away.

yup i sprinkle the rice + salt before move in. Where no furniture was in yet. I think 2 days later i use broom to sweep away liao.

As for the characoal stove i buy new one (Cant remember how much liao , i think quite cheap).

That day, my MIL also buy food & fruits to la. So, she suggest to eat @ home loh.

Hi neighbours,

We are staying in 656D. We got our keys a month ago and currently HDB is fixing up the defects. Let me share the defects we have. BTW, for defects repair, our HDB contact person is Vanice (64778892) and the HDB contractor is Raymond (81987262).

1) LOTS Of hollow wall tiles in kitchen and both toilets. HDB is hacking away everything and replacing all the tiles, but the design is ok only. Raymond will introduce nicer tiles to you at additional cost.

2)Hairline cracks on walls here and there.
3)One of the doorknobs is faulty.
4)RUSTY metal home shelter ventilation port.
5)Incomplete rubber lining of windows.
6)Old electrical point covering at service balcony and balcony.

Erm... that's all i can remember. So just get your money worth as you have paid for a NEW home and what you received should be NEW.

Oh ya, heard from Vanice that town council will repaint the whole block at the end of the year.
Hope they do something about the rusty mailboxes also.

Hi Photoemission

Welcome to this Blk ;-) Which floor you are in?

Btw, may I ask how do you check if the wall tiles in kitchen & toilets are hollow?

My defects are a)incomplete rubber lining of windows b) leaking of water at the common bathroom pipe. I had inform Vanice about the defects in a mth ago. But still yet to solve. Sigh...

Hi pYiP,

i'm at 16 floor. What about you?

Regarding hollow wall tiles, you can just knock with your knuckles and listen for the "hollow" sound. But got so many tiles to knock, it's better to use a hard rounded wooden stick, eg wooden hair brush handle. If there's a hollow one, it will definitely sound different from a sturdy one.

Ya. Vanice told me got to wait 6 weeks, so still waiting loh.

Hi Photoemission

I'm at 8th floor.. Heehee ;-)

Oh, I didnt check if the tiles are hollow. I only check if there are cracks lor.

i am fr 656D, just shifted in two weeks ago. ya, alot of them start their reno liao. so a bit noisy during the day. so when r u all shifting in? Hope to see more people.

hi...neighbors..
i am getting rather more excited cos my renvo almost done... hope that all can be "shun shun" till the end.

maybe we should have a small gathering next year when all new neighbors can meet up?

Hi Kaiser

Welcome to the neighbourhood ;-p

Cynthia: Sure sure, we all can meet up when all of us have shifted in ;-)

I'm currently looking for some ideas on how to renovate my living room, kitchen and MBR. Can someone please send me some photos of their flat for reference. Any good recommendation for a good ID? My budget is around S$24,000.

i can be contacted at [email protected]

Contact Mr Tan @ 9191 6633 (Hoon Hoe Bros / Eagle Design). Have seen his carpentry works and designs not bad. Been in this biz for the 29 years.

He brought me to view his other clients' houses at various areas and I had spoken to them, abt 5/6 told me that his prices are really reasonable and dun over-charged! No mark-ups at all!

His client bases are mainly by words-of-mouth. Met up with him recently and got to know that he's actually bought his shop from the govt and dun need to pay rental hence can charge cheaper.

Most of the quotes given to me are basically material costs and some/minimal labour costs.

He got his own team of plumbers, technicians, titlers, electricians, carpenters. It's a one-stop service company.

His package even throws in reasonably priced cooker & cooker hub, air con and FOC toilet accessories. In my package, he also throws in FOC labour for lighting points & wash basin. Of course there's more into it.

Im also introduced by a forumer here and am so glad to get to know Uncle Tan.

He's a very friendly, middle-aged man who goes dealing biz in traditional way. Thus, he would be doing up his company webpage soon. Currently his company website doesnt have heaps of info.

Of the comments I have received from his customers, most of them went back to him after comparing quotes from outside contractors/ID..one of them even compared 15 quotations before signing up with Mr Tan. his quotes are generally 5-10% cheaper than other companies.

His company is registered and can be found under HDB's list of registered contracting companies. He even opens up a sister company in order not to let clients pay for the GST.

Not trying to help him bringing in more biz but trying to share what I know about Mr Tan. Hubby & I are in the midst of finalising the details and will be signing up with him this week.

PM me if you want to know more info abt Mr Tan's works. Insofar, I am quoted 25-26k inclsive of doing wiring for air con in living hall, making 2 pcs of temper glass door at main leading to kitchen and another one to rooms. We are still contemplating whether to keep the big air con at living room cos parents yet to decide whether to give us or not. Thanks.

hi pYIP
we will buy as soon as all our stuffs are shifted there. right now, house not completed renvo so wun purchase it as we will be paying premium when there is nothing in the house.

basic insurance from HDB already purchase (that is only protected against damage to walls).

Hi Neighbours,

Has anyone encounter the renovation permit being tear away? My ID called me today said that my reno permit has been tear away again by someone. This is the second times liao.

hi andy,
you can print them again from hdb wedsite.
click on "my hdb", then enter your SINPASS, then you go to the browser on the left handside and you see renvoation...something like that.

also, andy, once your hacking is done (assume u hack the wall between MBR and BR1) or drilling done, the permit serve no purpose. so its ok to be tear away.

so far, my permit is still there.