Jurong West St.61 Blk 656

Hi Cynthia,

Thank for the info. I scare tat my neighbour will come and ask my ID why din put the permit cos the 1st day he had ask him when they doing hacking..... My neighbour next door is very weird....

andy,
Yap...agree with Ferene. or you can photocopy a few and give one to him...
in the permit got renvo ID contact..then u can tell your neighbor to look for this ID if he consider renvo in future.. (hehehehe.....evil cynthia..)

Hi Andy,

maybe U should paste it at your neighbours door, haha. No need to worry about the permit, as long as your contractor did apply for the permit, it will be OK

Hi Cynthia, not sure who are you replying to but 20K is possible to do just kitchen, living hall & MBR, I got my first quote for that amt though, inclusive of a sys-3 aircon & 2 sets toilet accessories FOC too.

hi SK,
i am replying to tannabee cos she ask whether has another thread on jurong west.

anyway, $20k is possible so long you find the right contractor with the right design.

i think, you need to check carefully whether are they going to charge you for air con installation, copper wire $, workmanship etc. i know some ID firms claim to give freebies but they add a lot of hidden cost to final quote. so better be careful.

i suggest that you forgo those freebies and ask for some discount instead.

oic...

ooo D is the one with the showflat right??

oh dear... there is a mini temple above my flat le... i hope they don oways have rituals performing in the flat...

anyone here in 656B?

hi tannabee,
u r rite, the one with show flat.
can you complain to town council about the mini "temple" or shrine? i thought is illegal?

its on 4th floor.

matthew, which flr r u on? im on 3rd.

apparently, when i was there on sunday around noon time, i think they were having "diao tang" as i heard "pia pia pia" sound.

if its medium service then i guess no we can do nothing. people need to make a living too.

hi tannabee, i'm on 11th

hi matthew,
so so high up, no problem for you lar.
medium service is not so much of living, its more to people who believes in it.

Thanks for the advise. I'm staying at blk A.
Currently the permit have not been torn away...

hmm... 11th is ok...

they are directly on top on me... I saw their corridor ceiling smoked black already.

Seems like they have been operating for a long time...

i just met Vanice from HDB, she mentioned that to hack away the dividing wall bwtn the Kitchen n Service Balcony will need a PE Endorsement, also for that wall at the Balcony... But its subject to approval even if u engage a PE.

for the service balcony, how much does it costs to fix the window grill? My ID quoted $100, just want to find out the market rate, thanks.

hi neighbors
I will be having my housewarming on 29th Sept, from 1230pm onwards. All are welcome!!!
PM me for my unit number...
Angeline, I hope to see you and hubby there.

Hi Cynthia,

congrats on a done up house
Ours havent begun yet.

Anyway just wanted to say hi to all the 656Xers. We are new to the 656C neighbourhood.

Btw, any 656xers can share your b4 and after house layout? We are thinking of hacking 7 walls! a bit too much hor. Macham play lego. Later see $ then sweat haha.

Do send us any photo links if wanna share pictures of your house too as well. Homework homework!

hi javabeans
we did not hack many walls, just the wall between MRB and BR1 and extend MRB wall to BR1 so that MRB will look more regular shape.

i know of my upstairs neighbor who hack down 2 room and left with 2 rooms. wat a major project.

We are thinking of doing the following

Hack wall to connect MRB to BR1
Hack wall to build walk in wardrobe on MBR toilet.
Hack wall to absorb balcony to Living Room
Hack study room wall to enlarge living room

So after the walls hacking comes the wall building. Haiz.

Cos thinking 1st flat EA means no more upgrade le. So do it up nicely and settle there

Hi peeps,

I can't watch TV... sigh...

I dunno whether it is due to the cables given by HDB? Or is it due to my TV points. Any similar problem?

Hi photoemission, I encountered the same problem as you, signal not clear. You will need to inform the HDB about this and they will send their technician to activate the TV signal for the entire house (6 points).

i think its their TV point is rusty already. the guys just use solvent to clean the internal of the TV points..lots of Algae there. actually u can try using a pen wrap with cloth soak in cleaning agent...try if i works.

hi Java Bean,

fyi
to hack the balcony wall, you need to apply for qualified engineer to do the job because there is a stiffiner in that wall. It costs me $500 bucks...

my one cent worth of advice

HI Cynthia
paiseh paiseh, hvnt been following the threads.

Haiz...we intend to do our due diligence and go to different ID and LEARN

Last nite went to IMM, one shop, cow, the snr designer damn dao wo. Ask him casually if we can view ongoing works, he insulted. Say if dun trust how to hv fantastic ID client r/s. I read" Chai do(chopper) + Chai Tao(carrot) r/s more like it. Hee. easily a 20K job we anyway TRUST meh??

Btw, anyone here if have pictures of 656x your EA layouts can send me. Homework homework!

hi javabeans,

u r a owner of 656X? there are 2 kinds of layout in each floor..so mine may be different from yours.

also, my renov finish already i lost my layout also..sorry.

you can try to get from HDB.. or town council.

Dear Residents of Block 656,

Need your help please....
Has anyone subscribe to starhub cable/online?

I understand that our block has no starhub connection thus requiring a technician to help install the appropiate connection.

My question is- Does this installation require laying of wire from TV box (outside the flat) to the TV point (inside the flat)? Or they just need to complete the installation with the TV box?

If it is the former, I would be very upset... cos my renovation is completed and to lay wire on top of my new reno would definitely be an eyesore.

Please kindly advise.

Wa went down to Chew ID over the weekend. I would say the service level was great. Quotation was done on the spot by the sales designer as he walked us through our requirements and the effort needed.

The quotes hover at ard S$40K+. Pengz.
He mention it would be good to outsource some costlier parts to cost down. However, given the key things to do, he estimated that price cant possibly differ by 30% - 50%.

Btw, can I find out from you all, me and wife have decided to do our renov in phases.ie

Phase 1: Basic reno to move in condition with key things done
Phase 2: Aesthetic addition of carpentry works and stuff.

This way we will not need to take up a loan at all. Haiz so torn between wanting to do it up now and havg to reduce our cashflow.

Any couples in a similar situation? Think more importantly what should be covered in phase 1?
Our guide so far
Phase 1
1) Flooring( Homo + pacquet for rooms)
2) Kitchen eqpt
3) Knocking of walls
4) Copper piping
5) Aircon piping
6) Painting
7) Reclamation of balcony area, box up water piping and additional window at balcony area
8) Doors and frame

Phase 2
Feature wall
Ceiling L Box
Walk in wardrobe
Master toilet

Mainly minimal carpentry works. Do feel free to add the list hor

HI CK,

i have moved in since may. and also subscribe starhub cable. Only need to get the starhub guy to activate the reception. other then that, u just use the tv point and the digital box. and it works. wonder how come they told u 656 dont have the connection.

jvabeans, I did carpentry for my feature wall at living hall, shoe cabinet, kitchen (top and bottom), walk-in wardrobe (both sides parallet type) all cost us less than $25K. Of course there are more stuffs in the reno list.

I dun even bother to go to CHEW Interior cos a friend of mine dun recommend them to us. His family engaged them to do their old flat and they took a month to finish one kitchen....took solid 8 months to finish everything k. Service might vary from ID to ID. My friend advised us not to go to them cos of their expensive materials (not sure of the quality though, expensive might not be the best too).

I sincerely advise you to look out for more ID and compare their quotes. Do check out contractors too.

hi SK, thx. now doing our due diligence walking ard and asking ard to LEARN ba. Not going with CHEW.

how much did you spend on the reno excl furnishing?

hi javabeans,
renvoation is going to be a costly, so no matter whast have to compare prices with at least 3 ID at different locations.

for example you can compare betweem ID in beauty world & IMM. try not to engage in IDs in the north & east area unless you are driving because you may need to make to few trips to their office to discuss about designs.

also, $40k is too much. if you are running on budget, you can leave out feature wall & false ceiling. then for the regular shape rooms buy ready make furniture instead.

hope it helps.

Totally agree with Cynthia. Go for simple concept and that will definitely save you heaps.

I paid 25K approx for entire reno, excluding furnishes. Done within 2.5-3months though. Had L-box and feature wall but you cold choose not to do them unless you got the spare cash. I took the basic layout, not hacking of walls. HTHs.

My contractor's office is in Outram. So far, not much hassle going to them and we make less than 5 trips from signing with them till paying up. Still heed my advise (in email) if you gonna sign up with him. :D

its better to see contractors during weekdays to discuss about design detials because that's where they are not so busy.

most likely you will go to their office after work. that's why its better to engage an ID nearer to your office or home.

hey thanks for the advice all. think most prob will do it in phase 1 phase 2 kind lor. but start quotation with phase 1+2 and see how's the price.

my original budget's rd 24K ba. but with wall hacking...hmmm...think tuff. Hey if anyone here stays along 656C with unit #XX-315 kind, do PM me the link if you hv uploaded the pics lor. guess only more creative ideas can save more. If can minimize wall hacking best le. But the funnel shaped Master BR....headache. so many dead space wasted.

Thank you oshgosh for the response... the technician will be coming down this saturday... hopefully everything will go well.

Hi oshgosh,

I am staying in 656D too !!!!
haha... we are neighbours, may have even rub shoulders and we dun even know.
I would be moving in soon ( probably late dec or early Jan). Next time can jio you for supper, yummy yummy.
You are getting married right? congratz... Enjoy the big day k.