JP - Chan Kai Yau

Thanks for your feedback. I have booked Mr Chan to be my JP in Dec 07 yesterday(yeah, his schedule is opened for open for a year!!!). He sounds very nice and he told me that I don't need to do anything till Sep 07 where we need to do e-filing.

So girls, if you wish to engage Mr Chan - do book early!

I just had my ROM on 3 Jan. Not to worry tat Mr Chan does not hv a hp cos he will be arriving earlier (abt 15min) than expected. My hubby took the wrong route to the solemnisation venue and we ended up 5 min late than the expected time of solemnisation but Mr Chan is patient enuf to wait for us and crack up some jokes to help us relax. Reali appreciate tat....

Hi gers...do I have to call Mr.Chan for an appt to sign the consent form or will he be calling me? I've slready efiled n the appt given to go dwn to the registry to verify the documents is on 21/02/07...

Hi elchwong

Mr Chan will sign the consent form abt a week b4 the solemnisation date. Probably u can give him a call (if u are worried tat he has forgotten) 2 weeks before the actual date to ask him abt the consent form. Tats wat I did :-)

Would like to ask how long does Mr Chan usually take to say the vows and all, in both English and Mandarin?

Does he usually stay back for a while to take some photos before going off to another ceremony?

Appreciates any comments. Thanks! =)

Hi shice,

the photo taking, u must request him...

Last mth, we ask him to stay back. he only took one shot with us and the witnesses...
He is a humble man.. He stood up and stand @ the side with us instead of centre...
Unlike those @ Fort Canning

Our ceremony lasted for 15mins to 20mins

Hi Firnana

Can you share with us a little on your ceremony? What is the programme like? Do you have a "procession" like flower girls etc? Just curious, do you wear a veil for your ceremony? I am new to this and have never attended such ceremony, hence, I am blur!!!

Gals

I agree with Firnana. Mr Chan is a humble guy. He only stood at the side with us during the phototaking session.
Before the ceremony starts, he asked us whether we wanna the solemnisation to be in English or Mandarin. After the English solemnisation, he also added some 'speech'in Mandarin for us too. The whole ceremony lasted abt 15 min.

furnana, twinkle stars, thanks for your comments.

Sailor_p, if yours is ROM, i don't think u need to wear veil unless u're wearing wedding gown and holding church ceremony. flower girls are not a necessary, but will look nice during the entrance lah.. heh..

i wun be having flower girl.. coz don't have any relatives with kids.. guess my ceremony will be more like "adult" kind bah.. hehe..

izzit true that JP Chan doesn't solemnize on sundays? mine is on a sun & he has agreed. not sure if he din realise it.

hee...i guess dats wat most of the gals felt when they 1st called him bt heard frm others dat he's actualli quite humourous...

helo. yea..finally got Mr Chan as our solemniser this coming may. hehe..!! ususally where do we meet him up to sign the consent form?

sailor,

i request Mr.Chan to come @ 6.45pm. Some1 to attend to him n usher him to the table.

then i went to get ready with my dad for the march-in.
6.50pm guests were usher in from the lounge area to the solemenization area.

6.55pm like emcee announce and i start the march-in with my dad.

7pm Mr. Chan start the ceremony lor..

7.20pm like that finished, sent Mr. Chan to lift after photo taking. the hotel wedding planner see him to the carpark then.

follow by buffet dinner lor

we cannot keep Mr. chan for too long cos he had another ceremony @ 8pm Marriot hotel..

See one of the nick above: babybaby? She the one having the ceremony @ 8pm..
So glad i found her hehehe

when i called Mr. Chan for to solemize for us he already told us that he had one appt @ 8pm..so nervous n come to this thread to find out who the next couple is and found babybaby

BTW, i din have any flower girls or page boy or ring bearer.. cos my dad walk me in n my hubby is waiting @ the solmenization table with Mr. Chan so he 'take care' of our wedding bands

furnana, congrats~!!

just saw ur pictures.. u look so happy.. haha..

btw where u get ur flowers from? it's roses or wat? look very nice, wanna get something similar too, but different colour.. heh..

I just had my ROM yesterday & Mr Chan as my soleminzer.

He came 15 mins earlier, but i was busy with the prep so was abit loss, hand like leg, leg like hand... haha.... he asked me for the documents, i remembers u girls advise to give him the whole envelope yet I take out the cert & give him only... forgetting abt the return envelope... Oops!

Then he has to verify our NRIC, including witnesses. Then I blur again, din prepare in advance, den go round asking for NRIC...

I remmembered most of the girls here said that Mr Chan will soleminize in both languages, but when i asked him, he said either vows in english & explain in mandairn or vice versa. I blurred liao den asked him if is ok to do i both languages cos i have elderly guests. Mr Chan said I will get confused.... so my own solemnization is in mandairn... Not too bad cos mandairn vow more touching...

Mr Chan will create atmosphere & make it more lively thou he may look stern.... He asked us to answered his qns loud & clear so that my guests can hear.. My husb, as usual, trying to be funnie... really answered loud & clear as if during army times... all my guests laughed... Mr Chan said in mandairn : Ya, this is good. he also asked us to kiss longer, den my frens also joined in & teased us...

One hiccup was my husb forget to prepare the ang pow for Mr Chan. Last min, we cant find any ang pow & Mr Chan is about to leave... I despearely asked him to wait for a while & take out the $ in ang pows that my guests gave me. The ang pow was in a bad shape but i have no choice... Hope Mr Chan wont mind... I sincerely apologise in here...

Anyway, It was a memorable day for my husb & me...

Hi furnana

Thanks a lot for your replies and sharing of link. You are beautiful. Congrats and may both of you be blessed abundantly!

hey shice, i think is some african violets... i check with my frd, let u know

purple rain congrats to u

sailor, u r welcome

Another funnie thing to share abt Mr Chan.

He said we must looked at each other while reading out the vows, cos we are married to each other... Dun look at him or our guests, else it would cause misunderstanding, den it wun be nice... haha...

so he used that on ur ceremony too??

Oops.. Mr. Chan's fav quote then.

I almost burst out laughing when he said that

i think his quotes are more or less the ssame...been to 2 rom hosted by him and realised he sae exactly the same thing...

but i still happy i got him for my solemiser for my rom this coming may. cos i have seen for myself how good he is.

im glad ive mr chan as my solemniser

he made the whole thing more memorable and humourous, hee..he oso used the same quotes for my rom bt i like it :P
we requested him to do the explanation in mandarin n english whereas our vows in english..

furnana...thks for sharing the pics!

Purple_rain...congrats!

Can some1 list out the documents n things to prepare for Mr.Chan for the 1st meeting n the actual ROM day itself? Mine's nxt mth...thks!

Thou Mr Chan always said the same quotes, but is still humorous, esp in our own solemnization, right....

Carowl, i think i confused abt the explanation & vows. I tot Mr Chan can read the vows in both languages, but is actually the explanation. In the end, mine is in mandairn thru out.

elchwong, during meeting with Mr Chan, just bring groom & bride NRIC, extra copy of consent form. At the verification day, bring both witnesses NRIC, groom & bride NRIC, consent form. As for the returned envelope, dun worry, when u have collected ur ROM documents (put in a big envelope), just dun do anything... bring the whole envelope to ur ROM & give it to Mr Chan.

anyone meeting him this evening?

he called just now, so last min. he wanted this friday, but i can't. End up telling me today. Haiz.. My FH abit unhappy abt last min appt. He is very busy with work.. hopefully everything will turns out well..

Just met up with Mr chan. He is a friendly person.

I tot he will talk to us on marriage stuff, end up didn't. He was chatting with my FH about seafood, because my FH is working in seafood supply industry.
Everything turns up well eh. :D

Purple Rain...thks alot for xplaining in details...of cos u r nt being long winded...

xinyi_reiko...Mr.Chan called me last Fri n requested to meet on the same day itself...was sort of caught offhand as I din prepare anything at all n my fh like urs oso dun like last min appts...luckily Mr.Chan says its ok if I meet him alone...the meeting went smoothly n he even made small chat asking bout our occupations n such...

Mr Chan just called and said he wun be able to make it for my solemnisation.

I wonder why, coz last month already agreed le. Today he called and say he cannot make it. Some more it's on 070707, how to find another solemnisor.. headache..

I think i'm more puzzled than upset now.. tot i could trust him..

he got mentioned that he have one at 3pm at Orchard Hotel. So he can have mine at 4pm.

I dunno why suddenly cannot.. i was quite stunned during the conversation that i forgot to ask him of the reason.

Anyway now no point harping. Time to look for other available solemnisor.