JP - Chan Kai Yau

hi soon-t0-be
may i know how long the whole process take?
mm...think will ask mr chan to solemnise both in eng and chn as well

Hi Lynnette,

I will be holding ROM outside and had efiled. But we will need to go down to ROM office to collect the cert couple of days before the actual day. The collection of the cert tiem slot is given at the point of efiling.

So I wonder anyone didnt follow the given time slot?

Hi Xinyi,

I suggest you go on the time slot given. Though you reach there, you will still be given a queue number. Hope this is helpful to you.

hi elchwong, since urs is an external file, u can just do it within 22days to 3 months to the ROM date u desire.

U can even meet Mr. Chan (if he meet u early) before u e-file.. no problem

babybaby1007...i think the entire process took 15 mins.

Mr Chan was very early. We were supposed to have the ROM at 5pm. I think he arrived at 4.40pm....in between we chatted a bit...he told us a bit about marriage........pre-ROM counselling..heeheee...

hi furnana,

Thks! Mr.Chan says he'll call me but I'm nt sure when he'll call n arrange to meet...normally he shld be meeting couple way b4 22 days on the ROM date so tat we can efile in time rite?

hi elch sumtime like that..

but depends on him le

there are some ladies here, he meet the next week.
Some of them like me, nearer to the date then he meet lor..
Now i believed that as long as Mr. Chan promised us, he will remember

At 1st he thought we haven efile, then i told him that we already did that, then he told us to call him right after we collect the documents

elchwong, that wat most of us did

Bcos Mr. Chan may just only. meet us nearer to the rOM date.

we also have some other ladies where Mr. Chan straight give them the liscene number during 1st call.

anyone knows how long does it takes for Mr Chan to complete the whole solemnise process?
i'm planning for the timing now, in the event that we engage him as our JP, hee, because mine is during the evening before the start of wedding dinner.=)

when u mention that Mr Chan will meet up with u 2 weeks b4, does it mean 2 weeks b4 the rom date or 2 weeks b4 the collection of documents?

My rom is in 2 weeks time and i havent receive any calls from Mr Chan. I've tried calling him yday ard 9pm, i got his ans machine instead. i think i better call him later.

Hi hi

I called Mr Chan on 07 Nov to check his appointment for solemnization on 01 Feb 07, he gave me his licence number over the phone, and instructed me to go ahead to efile.

He said that he will contact me again on a later date to get the consent paper signed. He sounded pretty nice over the phone.

Anyone has booked him for the same day too? Cos I planned to have the ceremony at 12pm, so that we can proceed with lunch, which thereafter we are leaving for airport to catch the 5.35pm flight. He said he could only take 12.30pm appointment, so I reckoned he's lined up with another booking.

Met up with Mr Chan. When we reached there, he's alrdy with another couple, duno isit babybaby1007 or carowl?

We were seated with another couple cos we seems to approached Mr Chan at the same time... Haha... & he seems to know that we are here for him too... So Mr Chan asked us to sit together if we dun mind... Wondering who's that couple too...

For mine, it was a very quick one, Mr Chan just sign on the consent form & reminded us to call him after VD cos another couple is waiting so we din have a chat & left straight after... I always worried that my HTB will say something off topic & 'warned' him dun try to be funnie, & yet when Mr Chan asked him ' What do you do for a living' He said "Selling drugs" OMG! Mr Chan din get his "joke" & said isit xxxx company? haha...

haha..purple rain, ur FB is so funny...

i was the one before u...so r u the 1 in pink clothes?

at 1st thought we wud be late as my FB was stuck at work bt when we reached there, oni saw young ppl den he suddenly appeared n waved at us (wonder hw he noe..maybe we haz the ROM-to-be look..haha)

he did the same procedure wif us too.

when he asked my FB on his occupation...they seemed to haz a common interest n chatted for quite awhile(i was blurred listening to them)before moving over to purple rain (i guess)

i thought he wud share wif us on marriage life like wat sm previous gals said...hee

Thanks furnana for the info

finally met up with Mr Chan last evening... kind of a last minute thing. He was with another couple b4 us. Chatted with him for awhile and he's very friendly
Hope we werent rushing the couple b4 us. :P

me met him on 19 dec at 6.30 pm. before that, there's a couple. lady is long hair, wavy one. after us, mr chan went up the escalator. didnt see him meeting other couples.

but he was v nice and chatted with us. also asked what we do for a living. hee...me have also warned my bf beforehand to be serious and dun talk nonsense! haha! but all went well.

Can I find out from you what's the lead time you can start contacting the JP? My wedding would be next year in Nov 07. When should I start contacting the JPs for availability?

need some help here...
my ROM is next year Jul'07, if we contact mr chan now, will he sign any consent form? or he will only sign nearer to the date?
as we need some form of confirmation from a JP for HDB purposes

Hi piglet,

I'm also having my rom July 07. I've called him and booked a slot already.

He din mention abt efiling or any license number. But I guess i will be arranging to meet up with him a week before our efiling (3 months before rom date) to find out more details.

You can try to book him now. Tell him ur situation. Guess he's experienced enough to give you advice. =)

btw my rom on 7 july 07. how abt urs?

Hi Ellen,
hehe same as yours...guess 070707 is going to be a hot date too...
i'm not booking mr chan, might consider professor yu, cos mr chan doesn't have a HP, worried he can't find his way to our house is JW.

maybe i ask around for more info 1st

heh.. it's a nice date.. easy to remember..

Mr Chan got mention that on that day he will be giving solemnisations ard town area, so preferable town. Agree that it's abit worrying that mr chan doesn't have a hp.

If you are particular abt timing or have a timing in mind, better act fast. Coz for mr chan, he's quite booked on that day already. I've got a odd timing of 4pm where my booking of the venue hi tea is from 3-5pm. I'm worried my guests will not have enough time to eat and enjoy after the solemnisation. =( initially booked 10.30am, but my venues are all taken up.

hihi ladies

MY solemnisation is tomorrow and i am damn nervous. Got the checklist from ROM and checked it.. anything else i should look out for...??u know i almost forgotten to call Mr chan to confirm!! i am such a nervous and forgetful wreck

Hi Kelly Kat!

Congrats on ur big day!!!
Everything will go smoothly!

Me ROM in a mth's time. JP Chan hasn't called us yet for the meetup leh...

The way past couples said, it is machiam like q-ing up to see Dr Chan. Hehehehe ...

Hi KellyJ

its finally over! Mr Chan is such a nice man. He knew how to make us all relaxed.
:D

dun worry, Mr Chan will call u soon!

Yoz!!!!

Mr. Chan is really really very good..

Like wat the past brides said, he explained in chinese and english..
He made my hubby kissed me and kissed me.. Tat the most funny thingy

i do agree.. Mr Chan is very good. He joked with my hubby tat he shall looked at me when he says the wording tat at him cos' he's not marry him. and wanted him to kiss me longer so that can took down the kiss part... so funny saying it in Mandarin. Anyway, not everyone stand English.