JP - Chan Kai Yau

Guess most ppl meeting him there.

Does anyone call him up one day b4 to remind him of the meeting?? me gona meet him on Thur. scare he forget :P coz he change the meeting date with me once.

hi furnana

thinking of changing mine to 8.15 pm cos scare most guests will not arrive in time. mine at marriott
since he said can, should be ok lah

my appt at ROM is on 20 Dec. til lnow, he hasn't called me. mm...think will wait till next week. if he hasnt called me, will call him

i meet him next monday baby~~ I waited long also and he called 2 days ago hahaha

So conclusion: Mr. Chan will surely call us since he had agreed to be our JP.

Baby i gg to start @ 6.50pm lidat

furnana

oh, then think it would be less rush for him.
heee...u know what? u have me to thank leh. why neh? because last time, me actually booked him at 7.30 pm one. he said ok because no one booked him yet before that. subsequently, i changed to 8 pm
but now, me thinking of even later at 8.15 pm...

furnana

yea, i meeting him there at 7pm, how about u?
u also meeting him at the fountain area?

Just curious, how many of you are holding your solemnisation at Furama Riverfront? I am so scared he go missing or cannot find that place that day...

Hi all brides to be... I had my ROM by Mr Chan on Tuesday 28 Nov..really glad that i have chosen him as my JP. He conducted the ceremomy in a very professional manner. As most of our relative are chinese speaking, we asked him to do the introduction in both Chinese & English and took the vows in English and most of my friend commented that he was good. So reassure that all will go well.

I've already confirmed with Mr.Chan over the phone verbally and he says he'll call me when the date draws nearer. In the meantime do I have to efile or etc? Or do I jus wait till he calls, meet up wif him to sign the consent form then proceed? My ROM will be in Feb nxt yr...advises pls...thks...

hi Jiaple

did u have your solemnisation and wedding dinner toge? mine is toge and I'm not sure how to go about making arrangement. so scare wait guests arrived late and I'm not able to start on time

hi baby,
when ur guests rsvp to u, remind them to be punctual as ur holding ur solemnisation before ur dinner...

hi elchwong,
haz u confirm ur venue n timing?
if yes, u can go n efile provided u've mr chan's license #

hi carowl

ya, got state that in my invitation card liao. but mine weekday, so ppl got to rush fr work, so might not be able to start on time. scare mr chan will be unhappy. so better postpone the time first...

me too having my solemnization t/w dinner. Also worried they will be late but FH said heck care them loh, we just have to close the door punctually and solemnize, cannot afford to wait for all to be seated.. Wait must ask Mr Chan to stay longer, not so nice..

ya, me too. have indicated in the card that there will be no entry lor. will ak a few bros and sis to jaga outside also. after ceremony then let them in.

mitzi, so u will show your photo montage first, then march in then solemnise? what should be the better arrangement har...me still thinking...any advice?

hi carowl,

I've already cfm the venue n time but i do not have Mr.Chan's license number...

Can someone pm me Mr.Chan's license number so tat I can proceed wif efiling? Thks alot...

baby.. I probably will show montage first cos maybe can push the guests in this way hehe.. after that then march in to solemnize loh.

elchwong, u have to call Mr Chan and ask from him. Not wise for us to give you like that. In this way, at least u get to confirm that he actually remembers that he jot down in his diary to solemnize for u

Hi BabyBaby,

Nope.. i only had my solemnisation as my AD is still TBA.. hee hee.. i guess you have to make an estimate on the timing.. eg if you think all your guest will be settled down by 7.45pm, then the ceremony should start at 8.00pm and you tell Mr Chan is 8.00pm. In my opnion, is better to let the guest wait a while then letting Mr Chan wait as he might have to solemnise at other places & I am sure you do not want him to rush through yours.

Mr Chan is very punctual and will normally arrive on the dot or 5 mins prior

my parents also kena one of the invitation together with solemenization.
Lucky i check for them and it wrote "Solemenise @ 6.45pm...

Told them DUN b late.. not nice mah

I have efile last week. When I call and ask for his #, is a lady who pick up the call. She ask abt my ROM details again, made me kinda worry that did mr chan took down my rom details. But I told the lady that I previously have called mr chan. She say she will pass the message to him.

I change the timing from 3pm to 3.15pm. 15 mins for buffer. Dont want to get things too rush.

Hopefully nothing cocks up.

hi mitzi n carowl,

i actually called Mr.Chan last Mon to remind him n seek his advise as to whether i shld be doing anything but he said no need...i jus have to wait for his call...i 1st called him in June to inform him bout my ROM in Feb nxt yr...only after the teleconversation then I visited tis thread n c tat actually a number of gers have alrady efiled...nw i feel embarrassed to bother him again to asks for his license no....haiz...scared he'll think i'm so kiasu n kiasi to bk so early n keep calling him...

Xinyi, me kena the same thing.

Dun worry, as long as Mr. Chan agreed to be our JP during the lst call, he will remember.
I call the 2nd time, his number is given to me by the lady too,she asked me for details because she wan to be sure that Mr. Chan did agree to be our JP

elchwong, urs an external ceremeony or @ Fort Canning leh??
If urs is an external ceremony, u can e-file anytime btw 22 days to 3 months.
Explain to him that u can e-file already n need his number lor

hi furnana

me wont get a chance to meet u liao. mine appt with mr chan is on 19 dec. he called me last sat. but me missed his call. so called him back, he sounded v nice over the phone

Just called Mr Chan's home. Think his wife picked up the phone. She told me Mr Chan doesnt do solemnisation on Sunday now. Pretty sad that I can't get him.
Gonna look for alternative then.

furnana

i reached at about 6.30pm.. Mr Chan was with a couple alr (is that you?)

there was another couple waiting nearby at the fountain, so i went a bit behind to wait cos my appt is 7pm and my BF have not arrived yet. When i looked up again the 1st couple have left and the 2nd couple went to talk liao..

wonder if u seen me? i was wearing striped singlet and dark jeans.. cos not working today

Mr Chan is a nice old man

Hi Khimmy,

My solemnization is on a Sun in Feb nxt yr...he accepted...I booked him way back in June though...

It can't be tat he accepted by mistake right? I've oso called him last Mon to cfm wif him again...so shld be ok rite...he wun back out last min saying he dun solemnize on Sun rite? I'm worried nw...

elchwong, since he confirm with you so long ago, then it is ok.

His wife told me that only recently that he stopped solemnising on sun. Guess I'm plain unlucky lor. Anyway, I'm going to ask Prof Yu Shi Ming later today. Hopefully he is free.

Kelly!!

Me was the first couple

Din see u leh...we and the 2nd couple were waiting and Mr. Chan came waving @ us.
I wonder his sixth sense so good ar...

Ya Mr. Chan is so nice.. he said wanting to know us more, so chat for a few minutes... And my hubby to be is very very tanned due to work nature. And i showed him the hotel brochure, he assure that he know the way ard

hi Khimmy,

thanks for the assurance...puts my mind at ease...

Normally hw many days, wks or mths will Mr.Chan meet up wif couples to sign the consent form?

mr chan called mi juz nw, he sounded nicer over the phone compared to the 1st 2 times(not dat stern)...

he called to confirm my solemnisation date, venue n timing s i changed my date last tm :p

he suggested mtng in jan bt i asked him whether i can mt him in end dec n he said 19 dec...so im happy dat he called mi..heeeheee

Hmmm basically, hor, i put in the hotel name and change the whole address.

according to them, they have been just assigned with a new address by gvt.. hehehe

Haiz...my bf jus mentioned yest tat he wants to change our ROM to Mar on my bday instead of Feb during the CNY period...cos he says will be too tiring, car rental's difficult n ex...n etc...nw I've to search for another JP as I dun tink Mr.Chan would want to accept the change as its on a Sun...gd thing tat I haven't efile...

Hi hi, I just had my marriage registered by Mr Chan on Thursday. And I'm really glad that we have invited him to do solemnize our marriage....

Now, I'm happily married to my hubby!!!!

congrats soontobe

purple rain, i think he called dat time is to confirm my changed date and time so at the same time, i arranged the meeting wif him...
maybe u can try calling him in mid dec?

Congrats soontobe!

At last my bf n I have settled on the ROM date...he decided nt to postpone it after much consideration...luckily I still get to have Mr.Chan solemnize my ROM after all...

Thanks thanks!

My hubby & I are really happy to have him. We almost didn't get to solemnize our wedding coz my MIL forgot to bring her IC, and hubby forgot to remind her. I was really mad as we were left with 30 mins to ROM. But Mr Chan proceeded to solemnize our wedding...

And for our parents' sake, he solemnize our wedding in English & Chinese, i.e. he explained in Chinese first, before telling us in English again......can't describe how happy we are after our wedding...that my hubby forgotten to pass him our thank you hong bao till Mr Chan reminded him...heehee...so paiseh....