Japan trip - where to go

• Thread starter Thread starter jo jocelyn
  • Start date Start date
hi ah ger,

yeah, it's very cold leh... I LIKE!!!!
(but my wife dun like leh... think i got more fats that's why WAHAHAHA)

can let me take a look at your photos? [email protected]

i trying to upload the photos by tonight... stay tuned ladies

ok, i have uploaded several photos of my HM trip

do let me have your email address so that i can link you to the site.

hi magix_wand,

it's hectic, but at least you dun have to worry abt how to get to the next location lor... cos everything's been planned for you. All in all, excluding flight cost, i spent about S$900 in Japan

Hi Ah ger n PPgroom,

I'm planning a trip to Tokyo and Hakone in Mar. Currently, I'm sourcing for accommodation in Tokyo and Hakone. Where did u all stay in Tokyo? Would really like to try out the Onsen Ryoken in Hakone, but it's very very expensive. Hve any of u tried any of the onsens in Tokyo itself? Would really appreciate comments from experienced ppl.

P/S: Can I c ur photos too? My email addr: [email protected]

Ah Ger

Nice...nice as well..!!
You sure like to take and be photographed. Many pics. Thanks for sharing!

By the way hor, whats that egg thing?

thanks planner
your pics are nice too! we actually wanted to take a train to Shinjuku by ourselves during the night time, but did not go in the end...

ah ger, haha... you really look like a little ger leh!!

Hi PPgroom, thanks for sharing the photos w me! Very very beautiful photos!! The photos image r very sharp leh. Did u use a digital camera?

PPgroom, may i view yr pix as well? i am viewing ah ger's one at the moment... ah ger, u got alot leh! once i am done i will post here..

ger, ppgroom, i did not receive anything yet.. can u please send me again?? [email protected]
hmmm.. seems like i m the only one who haven receive yet...

missysep, sorry, been busy n din have time to log in... well, i did not try the onsen ryoken in tokyo.. for me, i went to hakone to try the onsen instead... very nice... high up in the mountain.. tokyo, i stayed in Business Hotel in shinjuku, price quite reasonable and is 15 min walk from shinjuku station. shinjuku is famous for it's night life, tt's y we had choosen to stay there instead.. hahah. but har, we had public bathing, if u dun mind.. think they do have hotels wif own bathroom but is more costly..

ppgroom, thanks.. i receive it liao.. ya.. can see that only u in the photos lah... very nice.. i saw the photos n i really feel like going back to japan again!!!!

paiseh paiseh, just back in action again. last few days - server was cranky & home internet wasn't ready yet.

PPgroom - I saw ur pic s- bt hor - hw cme so few shots nia?

Me like littlegirl? No lar - me old liao. I also used Konica bt was Xg nia.

Blur - I resend again.

Missysep - pls chk email.

Planner - no lah - cos pointless to kip taking scenary pics mah, so might as well put a human being inside. we basically take pics anyware & everyware we c, tats y so many pics.

The egg think is @ the Boiling Valley. I also dunno hw to describe leh, cos we nv really listen to wat the tour guide said. Something like eggs boiled frm tat valley is gd. Aiyoh - the smell @ the valley tare really tak bolek tahan. It's those lava smell bt then smells like rotten eggs. *puke*

Thanks to Ah ger for sharing the photos w me ... ;) Wow ... Tat's a lot of photos ya ... Still browsing through the photos ... *shack*

Seeing PPgroom n Ah ger photos make me feel like flying over to JP now ... Heeheehee ...

blur blur, where did u stay in Hakone? An onsen ryokan? Is it difficult to get ard in Hakone? N which hotel did u stay in Tokyo? Pai seh huh, so many qns to ask u ....

Really need some advices from e ppl here ... I'm planning a free n ez trip to Tokyo (5 nites) n Hakone (1 nite) ... 1st wk of Apr ... I have booked my air tics, now left e accommodation reservations ... I have short-listed 2 hotels in Tokyo ... (1) Shinjuku Washington (2) Ginza Capital ... Both hotels have breakfast buffet included ... Which will be a better choice? N lastly, i'm still sourcing 4 onsen ryokan in Hakone .... Anybody can help me on my qns?? Thanks in advance huh ... ;D

hi Missysep

well, I din get much chance to go Jpn mah, so KS abit - c any corner & every corner also snap lor.

Well - many pics are dup, so if u c till eyes drop, just skip the pics lor.

I also stayed @ Hakone I think - opp view is Mt Fuji if I m nt wrong. We din try the onsen, cos it was a shared one, then by the time we finished our dinner, we were 2 full & tired to go up tare & share. Moreover, *shy* lar, so many ppl I dunno leh & gotta share w/ them. Better nt.

Hi ah ger! yeah la... my wife made me filter a WHOLE lot out lor... she dun like ppl seeing her photos on the web la hahaha!!! so all you see are ME lor HAHAHA...

PPGroom

I heard very gd comments abt ur wife leh, they say she's very sweet looking.

wa liew- nt fair leh - I showed u my hb & I also.
*sob sob*

U spent like $900+ only? We actually spent $800+ bt we bought things @ HRC for frens & family members so ended up we spent another $500+.

hi PPGroom
saw your pix...very nicely taken! very clear images i like the disney shots!! how come so few photos only...not enuf haha. thanks for sharing tho

hi Ah ger
can i see your pix too? my email is [email protected]

ger, sorry, i accidentally deleted it.. can send to me again? [email protected]

missysep, i stayed in this B&B pension hse.. on budget.. also a shared onsen... I only stayed in hakone for one day, it was a relax day for us, we basically spent our whole day on onsen and admiring the view around... in tokyo, i stayed in shinjuku, hence i can't give u much advice on the hotels u mentioned..

hehehe... all thanks to my camera for the nice pics... initially i so scared my digital camera may not work in the cold climate, thus i brought along one more analog camera... but end up nvr used the analog one cos managed to capture lots of 'kodak moments' with my digicam

btw alot of pple say the expenses in Japan is real high, but i am surprised that PPgroom & ah ger spent less than $1K? if so, then wun need to really save so much liao...

when i tell my frens we r planning to go japan, their 1st rxn is :wah.... high standard of living leh! and i feel as if they are suaning me for being such a spendthrift!

wah ah ger... the disneyland seems so nice & interesting!!!!

if i am u, i will probably snap as much pix as u, if not more! heeee...
since using digicam, might as well as snap all we can since we can easily delete later rite?

wah!!!! plenty of beautiful candies! heee... ohhh i see macdonald's... izzit exp 4 a set meal? wow... the mountain pix is very nice!

oh... is that the hotel u stayed in? looks very nice and not as cramped as i imagined leh! eh, how come got statue of liberty? heee...

was that a fashion show of the kimonos?

sorry paiseh 4 so many qns... i very suah-ku leh... thks so much 4 sharing the pix! very nice...

hi magix_wand,

invited you liao

btw, i spend lesser might be because the tour package included 90% meals liao... if you go by yourself might be another different cost lor... shd be cheaper though...

hi PPgroom,

thks 4 sharing ur pix... i am viewing them now... wah... ur pix are crystal clear!

was that jacket sufficient to keep u warm? u wore any long johns underneath? hey, is that the bullet train??

oh gosh... the fa cai cat is covered wif snow!
bbbrrrrggggg....

hey thats interesting... is that ur sleeping room??? the tatami or sthg like tt huh? cant rem but u guys were talking abt it in the earlier postings... heee... looked very cosy!

wow... the mountain view is simply fantastic... and again... u seemed to wear very little yet the weather is soooo cold!!! i doubt i can do that! why were the performers wearing so little when i can see the audience in thick clothings?

yah, i thot so since the pkg will incl 90% of meals, so we shldnt really spend alot unless its going crazy shopping there...

thks 4 sharing... very nice..

hi magix_wand,

for me, i like cold weather, thus i wear only 2 layers underneath my jacket (no long johns)... my jacket dun see it thin thin ah... it's actually quite powderful one... my wife on the other and can't stand the cold, thus she wore long john, a t shirt, a sweater then finally a winter jacket (choose one that can tahan 0 degrees, and water-proof will be best)

the fa cai cat area really is very cold, cold till can't feel my face hahaha!!!

yeah, the matress on the floor is called tatami... actually quite nice and cosy leh... with the weather cold cold, you sleep with the heater blowing at you, very warm and cosy

i have no idea how the performers can tahan also

heeee.... i really feel like going there, after viewing the wonderful photos.

i think i am like ur wife, afraid of cold very much! and on the other hand, scared of heat as well! very small range of threshold.

i think i will b geared up wif thick jackets and clothings. btw did u juz bring one outer jacket to last u thru the trip?

hahahaa... shld b very cold bah.... the cat is covered wif snow!!!! brrrggghhh.... hahahaaha

where did the heat come from? heee... yah can imagine its quite nice.

oh btw can u share more in detail on ur itinerary? i wan to check out the agencies soon...
which airline did u take?

wah - so many qns to ans nw.

Ok, let me go thru 1 by 1.

Well - basically - we went thru pkg, so many things were alreayd included, bt of cos if u r nt full after the meals, can always go to their supermkts & buy snacks.

Things were rather exp + it's winter, so nothing much to buy.

I also did nt wear much - all the clothes I wore - can b worn in Sin weather also when it's cool. Same thing goes to my hb.

Magix, when u take pics using digi cam, REM - if u intend to develop them out, dun use a small resolution, use maybe a 1260 x 2084 or something like tat. Me lar - itchy backside - reduce until so small cos I scared my camera dun hv enuff memory to store so many pics. End up I wanna develop them out also cannot.

Bt then also gd lar - 350 shots wor - imagine 1 pc is $0.40 x 350 shots - tat would hv cost me a bomb. Bt then again - it all depends on individual lor.

I spent $1.3k cos in HRC we already spent $500+ just for buying stuff for family members & our xiong dis/ jie meis. Then arh - those snacks lor, on the av a small pkt is ard $8 - $10. We bought amulets frm the temples also - we spent ard $100 tare liao cos we bought for all our family members again.

The 100 Yen shop tare is cheap, ard S$1.60,is actually the same as Sin's Daiso.

Blur blur, u really jin blur leh. I'll resend u again.

Somebody was commenting the rms do nt look cramp? Cramp arh - maybe frm the angle tat I took bah, looks spacious. Dun expect 2 much wor. The hotels we stayed were already considered 4 - 5* hotels liao leh........

PPgroom, urs so gd - get to stay in those Ryokans, I dun hv leh.

I also nv tried the onsen cos *shy* lar, it's a common shared one + we were 2 full to soak ourselves after dinner (heavy dinner - the sashimi - self paid), so we let it go lor.

Magix, in case u ask abt mine, I took Hong Thai. I also brought only 1 jacket to last me thru'out. Then hor - if possible, bring those compressed bags. U can buy frm Daiso. Borrow vacuum cleaner frm the hotel @ the end of ur trip. they really compress ur clothings until very slim, then easier to pack & stuff things in.

We brought only 1 30" cargo & a hand carry - abit regretful cos nt enuff space to put out stuff, tats y we ended up using compressed bags. We bought those Jap dolls in kimonos near the Kiyomizu Temple - tat shop is a 1050 yen shop (ard $16 - 18), bt w/o the platic box lar, bt they will still pack nicely for u.

we went to the kimono show - yeap, showing the diff betwn young & old kimonos outfit.

Statue of liberty is @ Tokyo, near the Odaiba. was a gift frm France to Japan. Can't really hw they got it, bt it was after a dunno wat event then they recv it as a gift. the bridge behind is called the Rainbow bridge.

Mac & KFC all nt very cheap bt nvm lar, it's okie lor, no choice mah. Mac - per set is ard $8? Cos it's abt 500+ yen for a full set. Think if u go tare, try their local food, nt tat exp anyway. If nt they hv other fast food restaurants tat also sell burgers. Mac in Jpn - nt as hot as in Sin, maybe bcos it's American's & they hv other competitors.

Their Jap restaurants - abt the same price as Sin for a set. Maybe $16??? w/ rice, mini udon, then main dish - something similiar like those I've posted out.

Hi ah ger,

what's a Ryokans ah???

Hi magix,

i only brought 1 outer jacket and 1 sweater... i nvr sore long john... but if you can tahan, some of the winter jackets at Tokyo's shops are actually much much cheaper than S'pore!!

the heat in the room come from the heater machine lor... some hotels got centralised heating, and they can be abit too stuffy lor...

hi magix,

forgot to mention, you can find my itinerary in my earlier postings... quite lengthy, thus boring to re-type la hahaha!!!

hahaha, sorry ah ger, 4 bombarding u wif so many qns!

yah i will def snap those pix in the best resolution coz i will prob develop them into hard copies. i tried using low resolution once 4 a fren's wedding. regretted immed coz our faces were so blur when it was developed.

i guess if we dun spend alot on souvenirs etc, the expenses will revolve ard food mainly.

ME! i was the one that commented the rooms are not cramped. i think its ok leh... it wasnt as small as i imagined it to be lor. heee..
at least it looks like a normal hotel.

wats onsen? izzit hot spring?

ohhhhh really? using vacuum cleaner can compress the clothes???? i nvr heard b4... heee... so interesting.. thks 4 sharing!

oh their fast food ard $8-$10 ah... more exp than SG but at least not that absurd bah... yah muz try their cuisine lah... no point eating fast food there! heeee...

PPgroom... the winter wear is cheaper there? hmmmm... when i went Taiwan, the winter clothes r relatively cheaper here as well. juz bought a couple lah. coz we seldom get a chance to wear and the designs r juz so-so..

i was asking abt the heater coz when we went Taiwan, it was winter... and it was so cold that the blankets basically served no purpose and there was not a single heater in any of the hotels we stayed in. it was a real horror trip and i did not enjoyed it.

u got post ur itinerary huh? then guess i gotta search 4 the archives lor...

Ryokan looks abit like those tatami beds u slp lor - like those traditional houses one. Bt urs is a hotel right?

Magix - @ 1st we din think of developing, cos we know for sure will hv alot of shots, then when we came back I was thinking - hw can our relatives c them? So end up abit regretful. Bt it's ok lar - guess they may nt b as excited as us. The most as my BIL bring laptop lor, if nt when they cme to our hse - we flash it thru our projector to show them lor, let it run as slideshow.

I find the rms ok - cos once it's winter - they do nt hv air cons already. Sometimes I do find abit stuff, end up we still open the windows to let some cold air in.

Vacuum to suck the air out frm the compressed bags lar, then u can zip is like a ziplog bag lor.

Onsen is hot spring.

Winter clothes @ tat time we saw was pretty reasonable cos the Japs think tis yr's winter is nt tat cold, so they slashed dwn their prices so tat they can get rid of their stock, no need to hold for another yr.

Itinerary - u can always call them & ask them to fax u the itin. Tell them either the 7D best of Honshu, or if u wanna incl Hokkaido - tell them to fax u tat also.