Japan trip - where to go

• Thread starter Thread starter jo jocelyn
  • Start date Start date
Hi BLur

Thanks for the photo..NICE! And thanks for your suggestion. Will check thoses places out. That should occupy my 3 days there.

Anothing wanna check with you. Their power plug is it the same as Singapore huh? Need to charge my camera battery there. So any idea? Anyone?

HI blur!

saw ur pics!! so nice.. u and ur hb so cute and loving leh..

hi blur blur,

did thought abt getting an International Calling Card, but it wun be mobile, and if anyone need to call us, it wun be possible lor... thus might as well rent from Singtel..

also, i've just changed my Yen liao... the rate is s$1.59 --> $100Yen... not very good, but it's the best i've seen cos most of the places change it at S$1.60...

ppgroom, yaya... but rem to consider tt the charges of the airtime when they call you in japan aren't cheap also.. if u dun mind the money, then no prob..

yaya.. i saw the exchange rate abt 1.6 too.. very ex..

actually is more the concern of our parents being able to contact anytime lor... cos of recent quakes in both Japan and the Phuket Tsunami... thus they are very worried, so just get the phone to ease them abit...

yeah lor... i remember ah girl got her rate at 1.55 or something like that... now quite high... but bi bian...

hello - really need your advices here

will b going for my honeymoon end of Jan to Honolulu on 27 Jan and will have a stopover at Tokyo from 3-5 Feb.

On 27 Jan, flight will arrive at NRT at 1.50pm and will leave to Honolulu at 8pm.

a) Will i have enough time to get out to Tokyo area let's say Ueno Station to have a quick sightseeing and then back to the airport to catch our flight at 8pm?

b) planned to stay in Shinjuku - any cheap lodging at below JPY9000 for 2 persons with no curfew hour. Can be a ryokan or hotel.

c) what type of train pass can we use as we'll be there for only 2 days - to get the daily one or the unlimited one

d) the train pass from Narita to downtown Tokyo is different than the daily/unlimited pass, right?
which is the most economical way and which is the most fastest way to get to Tokyo from Narita and the cost?

e) understand that JR pass cannot be bought in Japan, where can we buy the pass in Singapore? Do we have to pay in Yen or can we pay in Singapore dollar?

f) planned for a day trip to Hakone on 4 Feb after going to Tshujiki Fish Market, we have to get another different train pass to Hakone from Shinjuku, right? Besides taking Shinkansen JR, do we have other cheaper alternatives? And the cost for JR and the cheaper alternatives?

g) the most economical and recommended Onsen in Tokyo/Hakone

h) where is the best money changer in Singapore for exchanging of currency in USD & JPY

thank you so much

Hi susany, Let me help u as much as i can.

1) From Nrt airport to Ueno is about 75mins. It's about 1000yen to go Ueno. Minus the travelling time, u might only left wif 2 hrs in Ueno. Cos u have to be back in the airport early by 7pm. U have to guage on ur own. Nrt airport area also have a few good shopping mall. I can recommend u if u r interested.

2)To get rooms in downtown tokyo is very expensive. I would suggest u to get a single room instead. Most of the single room equip wif super single bed. Enough for me n my hb. But must hid 1 person away 1st before checking in.

3) There's a 'free kipun' from JR line to be used in tokyo area. 780yen if i remember correctly. There's also a 1000yen unlimited ticket, it can be used on JR n tokyo subway as well. Plan where u wan to go 1st. U can calculate the fare of all the places u wan to visit before buying the ticket. It may be cheaper if u buy single trips ticket. Especially if u r not visiting many place in a day.

4) Yes. It's a different ticket. U can use Keisei line to go tokyo. It's about 1000yen. Use 'limited express' trains. Look out for the train schedule at the train stn. There's a keisei sky-liner. It's about 1920yen. It's takes less than 1 hour. All goes to Ueno stn. (ueno is the 1st stn in tokyo from the airport, airport is not in tokyo area.) JR is about 1280yen to go tokyo stn. Must look out for 'rapid' train as well. The price of both lines is about the same.

5) I can't ans tat.

6) Yes. It's a different pass again. I think JR is the cheapest. The pass is about 5500yen ( 3 day pass) per person from shinjuku. Is cheaper on weekdays. 4800yen (but 2 day pass). It's more economical to get tis 'hakone free kipun'. There's also a 'romance car' ticket. A special train to go hakone. Additional 900yen each for one-way. It's faster also.

7) R u going to stay in Hakone? I'm not too sure about the onsen. I think there's info from the Yumoto stn. I heard it's not easy to get a room during peak season.

8) Try CIC from raffles place. It's in The Arcade. 1st level.

Nik, thank u so much for the help.

I'll take your suggestion for #1. Pls advise. Which hotel in Shinjuku have you stayed?

For Hakone trip, is half a day sufficient as intending to travel around East Tokyo on 4 Feb afternoon.

Can anyone else help me on Item E & G?

Masshiro, thanks for the info, wow, the pass price is really pricey though ..

based on my 3D2N trip, i think i shall get a daily/ad hoc pass instead

can anyone recommend me economical onsen in Tokyo?

is buying eletronic/digital appliances cheaper in Japan compared to Singapore such as digital cameras, laptop, etc ...

Hi SusanY,

The Japan Rail is good if you're travelling long distance, like from Tokyo to Osaka, etc. It's really worth it. I bought it when I was travelling from Tky-Osaka-Kyushu.

There are some electrical items and selective models that are cheaper, like digital camera sometimes. You can try the place Akihabara in Tokyo. A lot of electrical items there. Check out the prices in Singapore first and compare. Bear in mind though, the instruction manual, etc likely to be in Jap also.

I dun know about onsen in Tokyo. Tokyo is not really an onsen place. I only know Nikko and Hakone have nice onsens. Also the Ito area.
Check this out.
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/RTG/PTG/pdf/pg-809.pdf

I'm planning a trip to Hokkaido next month to see the snow festival. So excited over the trip. Have always wanted to go there.

hi hi everybody!

I m back!

PPgroom, there are a few types of rails in Jpn, out of which 1 of them is the bullet train, the fastest & of cos also the most expensive one lar.

I heard frm my tour guide, beside Akihabara, there's also tis Big Camera selling Electrical items @ quite reasonable price. I hv no idea ware tis is, cos I din go w/ him.

Seems like many of u hv tried F&E b4, is it really tat easy? To me - maybe I m an idiot, going w/ tour can rch many places, bt of cos timing will b abit tight. Bt ok lar, the nx time I go Jpn again, I will try out F&E. Din really get much chance to walk ard except Ikebukuro area, + winter season, nt much things tat we can buy.

hi ah ger!!!!! welcome back!!!! tonight my turn to fly to Japan liao!!!

i see... cos my itinerary got say we're taking bullet train from Osaka to Kyoto thus wondering lor...

hi PPGroom

yeah yeah, ths for welcoming me. Was bz w/ wk so nv really cme in & greet u all.

urs is frm Osaka to Kyoto? Ours I think was frm Kyoto - Tokyo; just 1 stop only.

PPGroom - enjoy ur trip hor........... must take more pics & show us.

weather - in Tokyo was ok. my gf said on 31 Dec it was snowing rather heavily. bt during my period nv snow.

Kyoto & Osaka colder than Tokyo then.

best u chk the weather frm internet.

good thing you replied in time hee hee...

my trip is land in Tokyo, play abit then fly to Osaka, then take bullet train to Kyoto, and finally reach back Tokyo to fly back S'pore.

yeah, i checked the temp liao... the 5 day forecast says 2-8 degrees leh... sounds cold... but is it??

hi pple, juz wanna check if u all rcv this email that says disaster will strike either korea or japan in 2005... i am planning for a trip to japan in mid march. now wondering if shld go ahead anot... wat a spoilsport!

Hi SusanY, Half day trip in Hakone is not enough. U have to set aside one day there in order to complete the whole place.
I didn't stay in Shinjuku, I stayed in Shinagawa. Heard tat the rooms in Shinjuku Hilton n Otani is big.
Although it's a little cheaper ($30-50)to buy electronic products in Akihabara, u can look for oversea model, they got international warranty n instruction book in english. But i think it doesn't worth the trip there.
There's a onsen in Odaida area, But it's not a natural onsen like hakone.

planner, i had seen them liao.. very beautiful... u must have like taking photos a lot eh? ur photos all very artistic leh..

Hi Blur

Really that beautiful huh? haa haa. Thanks for the compliment. hmmm...I must take closer look at them again... yrs also not bad wat.
I like to travel, so will take pics of all the places i visted lor...hee hee.

hi ah ger!! hi blur blur!! hi all!!!

i'm back!!!

WOW, Japan really is a nice place!! i like it very muchie!!! but following the tour group also quite tiring leh... it's basically hotel hopping all the way... but not bad also la, got make new frens hee hee... overall, GOOD!

i'll sort out the photos that i took first and then i'll share with you gals

hooray, my japan trip confirm liao!!

enough pple to set off liao!

planner - can share your pics with me...

ppgroom - wow, so fast come back already?
fun fun?? any tips for me? gg during CNY period! share with me your pics too...

planner... i like to travel too.. my FH promised me tt he will planned a nice trip at least once a year...

ppgroom, welcome back!!! must b a good trip right? think those who went to japan always have good comments abt it.. i will definately go back for sukura viewing..

MTDT, hahah. u must b feeling excited now right??

Hi MTDT

You got mail!

Hi Blur
Actually I don't really like the place. Maybe i prefer scenic place then city like area. hee hee..

Hi PPGroom
I would like to see your pics as well. Can share with me? I was in Tokyo from 11th to 15th. Who knows we met on the streets? hee hee...

ohaiyo gozaimesu!! (hahaha!!! keep hearing till i also know how to say it liaoz

Hi MTDT,

i follow tour group, so destination tips wise, i can't say much leh... but since you're going during CNY, i heard from the tour guide that Feb can be the coldest month for Japan... SO BRING MORE WINTER CLOTHES!!! hahaha...

hi blur blur,

yup!! it is a GREAT trip!! too bad it's so EX... if it were like flying to Hong Kong like that, think i'll go once or twice every year liao hahaha!!! too bad got budget constraint la

hi planner,

i think very unlikely that we would've met on the streets cos Tokyo's SO CROWDED!! hahaha!!!

no prob, let me sort out my photos first... then will share with you ladies

planner - thanks for the pics...
if u like scenic plcs, then shd go to Hokkaido! u will sure love it!

can fight with NZ!

planner, then u should have gone to kyoto,hokkaido, nara etc... i bet u sure like them a lot... i personally prefer kyoto to tokyo...

ppgroom, hhahaha.. me too, i din buy a lot of things cos it's expensive.. tt's y i only eat a lot.. food aren't tt ex....

ya ya..thats what some of my gal friends said. And they planning a trip to Hokkaido later part of the year. Self drive.

hmmm.... have to do some research before going there though. Whether its worth to self drive. hee hee

PPgroom, okie lookng forward to your pics.

wa seh - hw time fles, PPGroom is back!

W/ tour is tiring bt @ least no need to think of ware to go, just follow the coach. ha ha ha.......

Blur - u've got mail!

I m also thinking of gng to Hokkaido.

I also prefer Kyoto though we din really spend much time in both places. & the gals tare are prettier than Tokyo gals.

Mashiro/Nik - thank you so much for the help. The website on onsend is indeed very useful for my trip to Hakone. I just got to know that I can obtain a 50% ticket on limousine bus from Narita but too bad, not obtainable for my husband as he's not from the same company. Will take Narita Express then ... wonder if there's any scenery along the way to Tokyo from Narita.

Quake off central Japan triggers tsunami warning

TOKYO: An earthquake measuring 6.8 on the Richter scale in the Pacific Ocean triggered a tsunami warning on Wednesday, the Meteorological Agency said, but the jolt was hardly felt in major cities in central Japan.

The agency called off the warning 90 minutes after issuing it for 24,390 residents on the Izu island chain, located some 100 to 300 kilometers (62 to 186 miles) south of Tokyo.

At one point the agency recorded tsunami waves 30 centimeters (12 inches) high on the islands.

The tremor occurred at 3:11 p.m. (0611 GMT). Its focus was located about 300 kilometers southeast of Tokyo and 10 kilometers deep, the agency said.

There were no reports of injuries or damage.

An official on Oshima, one of the Izu islets, said the ocean looked normal.

The Oshima village told its 9,300 residents to be alert of a tsunami but did not urge them to evacuate, the official said.

"We made an announcement to our residents that the tsunami warning was issued but they did not need to evacuate to higher grounds," Oshima official Yuka Otsuki told AFP.

"As far as I can see from my office, the ocean looked the same as usual."

An Oshima police officer said he did not feel any tremor.

Late on Tuesday, a quake registering 6.3 on the Richter scale shook northern Japan but there were no reports of injuries or damage. - AFP

PPgroom, can share more abt ur trip? coz i am contemplating going there in mar/apr when its end of winter.

i am thinking of packaged tour but u said its very packed and hectic... how abt ur expenditure? spent alot? how much? thks 4 the info.