Intercontinental Singapore

kelvin82lim

blurz_ger,
I dont know the charges if u decide to change from the whisical magic stands to charming elegant. Ya I would be using lilac roses if tHEY allow the change.

woo83fy

Hi fellow IC BTB/HTBs,

You are NOT able to mix and match items/deco from different themes.
It is a standard so as to be fair and to be true to the themes that they promised.
This is often the case for 5 stars hotel and above.

HOWEVER, if you are willing to PAY, you can engage their florists(or external) for additional special treatments.

For EG, let's say you really want the stands from Charming Elegance but the rest of the flowers/centrepiece/favors from WM, the best alternative is to take the WM theme, and pay extra for Charming Elegance stands. (whether you want to have BOTH, is up to you.

This is what I gathered from Jane after MUCH questioning. (I am very anal about decos and flowers)

kelvin82lim

Yup,

This was my understanding too, so i said there will be some charges, they wont ley u mix and match for free..

So sad...

End of the day money makes the world go round

renel

Ya...so sad...extra charges for everthing.

Hi woo83fy,

So which theme will you be choosing? R u going to pay extra to customise it?

rainbow79

Hello everyone,

Me not so stressed yet till maybe Dec onwards..
Eh...still looking for my wedding shoes..:p

Ollie: U got set colour codes for yr jie meis in the morning...Thinking of asking them to choose pink or silver leh..

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

Wah, you'r still looking for your shoes? I thought you should have got your shoes before your photoshoot? O ya, I've told my jiemeis to go casual, so they re allow to wear jeans, but their top have to be in black.

rainbow79

Hi Ollie,

I am thinking of getting another new pair cos the pair used for photoshoot kena sea water so spolit lor and is white in colour while I am looking for a silver pair for AD.

mrslim

Hi all... i am Dec 08 bride n had signed wif Intercon since Aug'07... My photo shoot will b s'where ard July...
Wanna know all e 08 brides... wat preparation/s hve u done?

woo83fy

Hi renel,

I will be choosing Opulent Desire, black and red are my favorite colors.

Actually I am going to pay extra to customise it, whether is it from Intercon's inhouse florist or outside sources.

Will plan how elaborated the setup will be like after paying the rest of the bills...hee... wedding is not cheap.

Probably will add candle stands along the aisle, and more flowers around the stage area.

kelvin82lim

Latest List

Ollie - Nov 07
Rainbow - Dec 07
Serlz - Mar 08
renel - Sep 08
Woo83fy - Oct 08
Kelvin - Oct 08
DarkWing - Nov 08
Blurz_ger - Dec 08
Mrs Lim - Dec 08

kelvin82lim

Mrs Lim,

I guess most brides will have their photo shoot at that time, my WTB will go down to the BS in dec to discuss with the designer as her gowns are all MTM.

serlz

I am now sourcing for good printers for the invitation card. Anyone to recommend?

Btw, I also need to decide which themes to use now bf I collected the cards for intercon. Anyone got photos to let me see how the themes look like and the weddings cards & flavours?

serlz

Hi Kelvin

I just called Intercon just now. They said that they are holding Whimsical Magic for tomorrow dinner and Opulent Desire for Sun dinner. Whoever interested can go down between 5.30pm to 6.00om on Sat and Sun.

Most likely I will be dropping down to have a look...

renel

Hi woo83fy,

Indeed wedding is an expensive affair. ;)
Wow...candles will add to the elegance of Opulent Desire theme.

I'm leaning towards either Opulent Desire or Whimsical Magic.

Hi Mrs Lim,
I've booked the necessary areas like banquet, BS, PG, VG. Now just waiting to go select and MTM my gowns early next year. What about u?

rayne

I'm a Feb 08 intercon Bride to be. Just met Jane last Friday to confirm our theme. We selected the charming elegance theme cos we like the flower stands, actually we were deciding between this and whimsical magic. In the end, decided to go for charming elegance because we can choose the colour of the flowers and the flower stands are nicer. Will be collecting our wedding cards this Tuesday

unsuregal

I'm considering to hold my wedding banquet at Intercon. However, I find the invitation cards quite ugly. I'm worried that guests may think Intercon is a low class hotel by looking at the invitation cards.

Anyone know if Intercon intend to change its design for invitation cards?

Any new themes coming up? The whismical magic theme is quite nice except for the 'forest looking' deco stands which look out of place with the crystal chandelier.

serlz

Hi Kelvin

You sure they nice? Out of 4 cards, only Whimsical Magic cards are nice... The rest so cheapbo... haha....

woo83fy

maybe if more of us are vocal in complaining, the cards may change...lol

anyway if u are afraid that pple may think Hotel Intercon is cheapo, then just go and design/print yourself...which is what I'll be doing.

i pray they will change their wedding favors too..haha.

but seriously all the weddings i have attended cannot be compared to the grandness of the Ballroom, but i guess nowhere is perfect.. -__-

darkwing79

Thats a good one woo83fy.

I think the quality of the card and the design of the card be change to suit the hotel will bring much good points out of intercon.

Wedding favors, i think cant change too much.. cant really bring out the colonial class of the ballroom is too adventurous i think.

serlz

Frankly speaking, my opinion is that no point wasting extra money on cards since ppl dun bother to see the cards and just throw it away.

I like the Whimsical Magic cards but dun like the flower twists . Charming elegance suits me but the cards not nice. Both stage design very plain.

Really not easy lor to choose between these two themes unless they agree to mix and match for us free... Haha

footprint

Am thinking to have mine @ intercon, but seems now no wedding shows. Anyone has any photos to show me? Thanks! :D

Btw, i cant find the price in their website as well. Can send to me as well?

rayne

Agree with serlz. No point wasting money on cards cos they'll end up in the bin anyway.

I think the cards for charming elegance are quite nice cos simple and has a very English feel to it.
I don't like the flower twists of whimsical magic too. Ya agree that charming elegance stage deco is very plain. Actually I was thinkinhg of having champagne flowers for my tables centerpieces and pink roses for my flower stands on stage...

Actually if can, I would request for them to change the backdrop for the charming elegance. Make it champagne or any colour except white...too plain lah...

flymetothemoon

i also think the cards looks cheapo. I don't ask for very very nice design, just don't look cheapo is good enough. Really really hope the hotel will do something about the cards.

Woo83fy: since you are spending money on cards, did Intercon give u more wine or beer in exchange?

woo83fy

hi flymetothemoon, the funny part is that Jane feels that it is nice.

haha..actually it is more of the material of the cards... not those good quality types.
the design is erm...so so lor... but for me, even those super plain design but good quality paper will be better for me.

Everything depends on your budget... for me i will like everything to be perfect, and i really dun wish to shortchange my guest with cheapo cards or favors... that's why i may want to spend more to make this event as lovely for them as possible.

flymetothemoon

Hi Woo83fy

keke, I have exactly the same view as you.. . It is the material of the card that makes it cheapo looking... they should give better quality cards to reflect that the hotel is a 5 star hotel .......... I'm sure everyone would prefer better quality cards even if plain design rather than a well designed card printed on cheapo paper.

Really hope the hotel will use better quality cards with more people voicing their concern

darkwing79

Hi woo83fy,

how much your budget for the print? envelope + printing.. the cost of 1 card is around 0.80 to 1.20.

Did they say how much the print? My WTB and me also thinking of alternatives.

Coz need to budget early. Got alot of things need $$.

journey

Hi , I'm new here, i am interested in holding my dinner there too. May i know about how many mths in adv u book your banquet?

journey

Hi DarkWing, i'm looking at end 2009. cos i heard that 2008 and 2009 are hot year. cos 2010 is the year of tiger...
me rom-ing in Jan, therefore after that gonna source for hotel.
HTB 1st choice is Inter Con. i also like it.
Have you booked yours?

darkwing79

End 09 should not be a problem. what is your budget like.. as hotel prices are going up. You have to wait till i think next yr after the first quarter 08 then go and ask whether they accept bookings for End 2009. normally is 1 yr ahead.

Inter con is not cheap. How many tables you looking at.. min 888+++ for fri and sun. They may revise upwards, have to take into account. Do budget properly if Intercon is your choice,.

I booked mine my AD Nov 08.

Happy Planning and Congrats!

journey

Hi DarkWing, Thank you for the info. i'm looking at about 40 to 50 tables. many other threads also mention that the prices is going up every year.
can i ask? why u choose inter con?
tried the food there?
my mum suggest Resturant, as the food are nicer.

darkwing79

40 is the max for Intercon. No more tables can be put on standby if more.

Its after some comparison with the various hotels around the area, Fullerton, Marina Mandarin and marriott, Sheraton Towers

Many BTB here have went thru alot of homework looking at various aspect of each hotel, from ballroom to march-in to tables to wedding themes to bridal suites to ease of access to the ballroom, toilet facilities, handicap/elderly friendly, parking facilties, Solemnization etc. etc and also the accompanied packages if you signed with them

Do take the time to go thru with your HTB. Its about making the correct compromise and convincing yourself the experience of a life time vs the money 30k to 50K you are about to spend.

For me, I chose intercon more or less is the best of both worlds.

I like the colonial feel, classy, big ballroom but cosy.

The only downside i think is the location with Parco bugis. Makes it abit messy with a shopping centre next to it.

But each have their own preference. Do experience yourself. Make sure you are comfortable with the coordinator to the place and voice your concerns and see whether the hotel staff are able to accomodate your request or your requirements.

Its a good couple experience I think. I had.

ollie27

Finally everything is over! Yippie!

Just wanna say that I've no regrets choosing Intercon. Everything went smoothly, all the guest praised that the food was delicious and the Opulent Desire theme was beautiful which blends well with the whole setting. Of course I'll like to commend abt Stephanie great coordinating job, without her I'll be stress out man.

So for those who have selected Intercon, I would say that you'r in safe hands. Oh and we've feedback to them about the wedding cards, so hopefully they'll change..hehe.

rainbow79

My wedding is finally over.

Both HB and I are pleased with IC's service.
A great thanks to Jane for patiently attending to my every request, even though some look trivial.

Was more nervous during the evening events than morning events.

Very tiring experience but good memory to look back.

joannetan

Hi Rainbow,

Newcomer on SGbrides.com. We are thinking of signing on the dot with IC this week and Opulent Desire is our choice. Really love the ballroom, but can I find out if your AD photos turn out well cos of the theme? Do some of them appear to be too dark? Any advice on what could have been done better?

By the way, anyone ordered the wine directly from IC? I'm interested to find out if they have a good selection... Thanks!

darkwing79

Hi joanne,

IC abit stingy on perks.. need to try abit harder. but generally, they wont commit. Most of the time you will hear diplomatically correct answer like, I will put the request to my manager/director.

Opulent you have to ask Ollie.

As for the wine selection, you can email them for more details.

They will send you a list of wines they provide

happy planning

ollie27

Hi Joanne,

I've not received my photos yet, so can't help much too.

Hi woo83fy,

I'm not really particular abt the sound and light, but the sound system is definitely up to standard. Your coordinator will arrange a date, a wk before your wedding, to test the sound system. So no worries la. As for the light I'm not too sure, as I'm too excited and busy to notice so much things..hehe..sry couldn't help much too.

rainbow79

Hi Joanne,

I took whimsical magic.

So sorry that I was too nervous and excitied that I did not notice the AD's systems and set-up too.
Somemore, my video montages were played before my march-in.

Now trying to overcome the "lost" feeling as the wedding is over and return to normal life.

Ollie: How abt u?
Have u overcome the blues?

ollie27

Hi Rainbow79,

Same here my video and photo montages are played before my march-in. hehe...

The "lost" feeling? Dun've leh, on my wedding day I was hoping it to be over asap. It's so tiring, but I can't wait to see my photos and video, bcos I din smile alot. Hope everything goes well.

rainbow79

Hi Ollie,

I also did hope it to be over soon.
But once after the 2nd march in ended and champagne pouring ended and I managed to sit down, I was hoping time will stop to let me mingle with my guests.
I didnt have time to mingle with my guests esp those whom I havent met for a long time.

Ya, waiting for the photos now.