Intercontinental Singapore

ollie27

To woo83fy: icic, not a bad idea too. I din bother about the cards design, since most of my guests will throw the card away, I rather spend it on something else.

rainbow79

Hello every1,

well well....I am taking the Whimsical Magic theme but it doesnt look as pink as what I imagine, esp the table cloths and chairs' covers...hmmm...but Opulent Desire really too black lor...Opulent desire will be more out of the box lor...

The wedding preps very slow leh...
Food tasting is in mid nov...I believe it will be OK cos I attended IC's wedding show last yr and found the food not bad...

Ollie: How are u going to tell yr guests that there is mixer to choose from?

darkwing79

was at the style wedding show yesterday at sentosa,

wah real pack man.. so many couples and all the Bridal Boutiques are cheonging for business.

Man found only DiGio we are comfortable with.. maybe GHA also.. not sure milan. Was not so convince with My Bridal room, white link and white wedding..

But Amara is nice, can plan for a getaway there..

haha.. after my wedding to cooldown

Anyone of you ladies went to the show

serlz

Anyone know when is the next wedding theme in Intercon? I had not seen the 4 themes yet so would like to view them before deciding my choice...

babyjo

Hi to all who are holding their weddings in Intercontinental:

First of all Congrats! I had my wedding in IC in Jan '07 and it was great. I believe you wouldn't have any regrets.

I do have some extra invitation cards and envelopes left, if anyone of you needs extra IC invitation cards, I am willing to sell it to you at a cheap price. Please email me at [email protected] for enquiries.

Thank you and best wishes to all of you!

Joey

darkwing79

Yo Ladies,

Just met Jane just now for discussion with my WTB. Settle liao. Now can wait for the actual confirmation and paying for the deposit and my mind can be at ease liao.

Babyjo: Eh.. what food taste good ah? Ladies any comments? Ollie and rainbow? after food tasting?

Care to enlighten? thanks

ollie27

Yoz Dark Wing,

Multiply is a site where you can blog or upload your photos online. Anyway, the food tasting dishes overall is so-so. Nothing impressive to me, some of the dishes that I like is sauteed broccoli with tiger prawns and shimeji mushrooms in spicy szechuan sauce, Man Fu Yuan signature cripsy roast chicken and the chilled honey dew cream with sago.

rainbow79

I havent been to my food tasting so not sure which dishes are nicer....

Ollie: Will take note of those dishes u mentioned above...So all the dishes are cooked by Man Fu Yuan, not the hotel's kitchen la?

I was thinking of the Orr Ni...is it nice??
Honey dew cream with sago...seems v common ....

darkwing79

Hi Ollie,

orh.. Blog ah.. mei you lah.. dun do blogging.. I am old fashion. Not into writing my stuff down for all to see.

oh Rainbow, yah, its not by the hotel's banquet. Its by the restaurant as it's kitchen is also located at the 2nd floor.

Hmm.have to keep those dishes in mind.

oh.. ladies here the invitation cards abit so so right.. and also the gift. thot of going to buy my own...ladies got any one doing the same..

I find the invitation not so up to the status IC carries.

oh..ladies you know what is the business suite? any different from the bridal suite the last time.. Jane told me was upgrade woh.

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

Yup, its cooked by Man Fu Yuan's chef. At the end of the food tasting they'll invite the chef out to discuss the food with you. They got orr ni? I thought orr ni is for teochew restaurants only. Honey dew cream with sago is common that's why I said nothing impressive about their dishes.

Oh Rainbow and Dark Wing another dish to keep in mind is braised straw mushrooms with garden greens and dried scallop, pls DO NOT order this dish. It's damn salty and the bite of the straw mushroom is yucky! After the first bite, I did not even touched that dish.

Ya, the cards are so-so, first look at it was hideous..I kept complaining to Michelle (the previous coordinator) that its ugly..hahaha..have't got a chance to check out their wedding favor but will be goin on 3rd nov

Dark Wing, you mean Jane offered you the business suite? Haven't seen the business suite before leh.

babyjo

Hi Dark Wing,

It's hard for me to tell you which food tastes good coz this is really up to each individual's preference. At my wedding, we actually upgraded the menu which totalled abt $1300 per table, and honestly, we received a lot of positive feedback abt the food from our relative and friends. Dishes that we think are really good are:
1. Double-boiled Shark's Fin in Shark Cartilage Broth
2. Sauteed fresh Australian Scallops and Prawns with seasonal vegs in spicy sauce
3. Braised Sliced Abalone and Flower Mushrooms with Spinach
4. Fried Rice with Diced Abalone, Chicken and Conpoy

The fish dish which we ordered - Steamed Star Garoupa topped with Light Soy Sauce - was pretty good but I dun like the presentation of it as 2 fishes were served on a plate instead of 1 whole fish. The cook said its hard for them to find so many large-sized star garoupas so they had to do this, but I still dun like the idea of it.

Anyway, hope the above helps.

woo83fy

Sigh.. I know that $$$ can be better used than buying invitational cards but seriously I think I will design and print myself lar...

=D

Or we can pray that next year they will change the design cos too many of us are complaining.

ollie27

wow babyjo, your banquet totalled to $1300!

Braised Sliced Abalone and flower mushrooms with spinach sounds good. Wonder how much I need to top up for that dish. Thanks for the feedback!

darkwing79

Hi ollie,

yah.. she offered me Business Suite. They say just upgraded for the new package.. dunnoe true or not.. trying to arrange for a visit to look at the place.

Hi woo83fy, yah $$ should be able to put to good use that invitation cards really doesnt fit. Hope they really change.

oh babyjo, did you tried the chang beer? they offered, jane told me is slightly lighter that tiger only becoz I was driving so cant taste..

Thanks Babyjo and ollie for the advise and recommendations. will take note. =)

babyjo

Hi Dark Wing,

Nope we didnt change the beer. We just go with whatever they give coz most of our guests have red wine anyway.

I remembered seeing the Business Suite, it is pretty nice and in my opinion definately better than the Shophouse Suite coz I dun like those olden shophouse themes. We upgraded to stay in the Executive Suite, and it was a really huge room and wonderfully relaxing and nice and beautiful. If you all dun mind the spurge, its quite worth it to spend the extra $ for the wedding night

rainbow79

Hi Ollie,

Which theme are u taking?
I am taking whimsical magic...ya and after collecting the cards, I feel the cards not as grand as the ball room...worry wait my guests think is cheapo...cos also the card not those conventional biedge/ red cards from other hotels...
I am getting my inserts today so I hope it turns out well...
I also worry not enough invitation cards....
I got only 70% of the tables I have...
If most guest is individual, then I need 100% then.

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

I'm taking the opulent desire. You can check with babyjo what theme she has used, she's selling the wedding card at a cheaper price.

Heard from Jane that each additional wedding card is $3. You can used the same method as woofy83, giving Intercon wedding card to relatives and buy nicer wedding card to friends.

darkwing79

Wah din know the menu change so much.. went thru the new package like only a few still in the menu.. 2007 and 2008 menu change quite abit.

Sad. man have to hunt again liao

ollie27

Hi dark wing,

Oh din know they'r changes, but the menu shd be better than 2007 right since the package is more expensive.

rainbow79

Hi Ollie,
I am saving the headache to use same cards for all guests cos the inserts which I printed is more suitable for hotel cards...

Wow...u taking the black cool colour...

Hee...me not so concerned with the food at moment but more concern with losing weight cos I think I am not slim as many brides whom I usually see...:p

serlz

When is your wedding held at intercon?
Mine is Mar08 but I still had not chosen my themes, food tasting and others...

ollie27

Hihi Rainbow,

Yup, taking the black cool color. No one can change my mind using that theme after I seen the setup. Haha..

I think most of the brides are concern with losing weight. Same here ma. hehe..

How come till now you've nt gone down for food tasting? I thought your wedding in Dec'07?

Hi serlz,

My wedding is on end of Nov'07. I think food tasting will be abt 1mth - 1.5mth before your actual day bah. No theme that you like?

serlz

Hi Ollie

Congratulations. Your wedding is this month. Must be counting down by now liao....

I had seen all of the themes but frankly quite like Opulent Desire but dunno very black a not

ollie27

Haha...dark wing, your wedding is end of nxt yr right? You can asked ard for those having the same menu as you.

Hi serlz, thanks! Yup, counting down and still have things haven't settle yet..hehe..asked Jane when is the nxt wedding using opulent desire (hehe..mayb its mine..), then bring your parents or friends down for a second opinion.

kelvin82lim

Indeed, Oct next yr is a very hot period for couples to get married, inquired with so many hotels and all either fullybooked or long waiting list...

Me and my FW really like their ballroom. So much so that if we manage to get it we will have to restrict our guest to only 40 tbls which is their max.

Anyone knows or have been to a 40 table banquet at InterCon?

Feedback on space?

Keeping my fingers crossed for the date I want...

darkwing79

Hi Ollie,

yah Nov 08. my AD. yah loh.. must ask serlz for advice liao.. lolz.

Kelvin, yah it was rush but we already made up our mind on Inter con. have you contacted Jane or Stephanie to arrange for a date.

Coz during our discussion with Jane, 2nd half of 08 is almost full already. Oct to Dec 08

Good luck man.

kelvin82lim

Yeah, we are now on waiting list. Tomorrow Stephanie will let us know if our date is available as the first coouple are still undecided. If yes then its a big load off my shoulders.

Thanks Dude

ollie27

Hi dark wing,

nov 08, still 11mths+ to go leh, still early. since you've settle your hotel, you should focus on other stuffs like bs, ad pg, ad vg, etc.

Hi Kelvin,

Good luck to you! Hope you'll be able to get it!

darkwing79

Hi Ollie,

yah, our next step should be BS already. Since we are not likely to use IC's invit cards, maybe start hunting for suppliers liao.. I think Sing See Soon also have some i think.. can ask from them some samples, I think..

Thats after november.. maybe Dec then can hunt

very busy with yr end event

=(

rainbow79

Ollie: Will be going to food tasting soon...Everything quite a standstill...

U done yr montage already?

Abit sad with the turn out of the combination of the inserts and the invitation card that HB says how come it looks so cheapo....
Somemore the invitation card is the first thing which your guests see and gauge the hotel's standard...

Btw, where did yr order the cakes to be given to relatives?

serlz

Why dun we make a list of who is taking intercon and the month so that we can check with each other who had their wedding dinner first...

Ollie - Nov 07
serlz - Mar 08
Dark Wing - Nov 08

How abt the rest? Please help continue....

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

I'm getting my sis n bro to help me with my photo montage. Haven't pass the photos to my sis to scan yet..keke..but she's giving me till latest nxt wk.

Your wedding card from Intercon? Same thoughts too, but then was surprised that my friends told me that it is nice, and they'r bored with the normal beige or red card.

As for the engagement cake, I just bought the vouchers from bangawan solo and distribute, no place to store all the cakes, and usually the cakes only last for a wk, which means you need to distribute to your relatives within that wk. So where you planning to get yours?

O Dark Wing, you can try Poppy (florist), my fren got her invitation card from Poppy.

rainbow79

Hi Serlz,
My wedding dinner is on Dec 07, next in line after Ollie..

Ollie:Mind showing me how Opulent Desire invitation card is like?
Whimsical Magic card is not those conventional beige/ red card with texture lor..normal "cardboard" material....and my wordings are in red cos the card is pink...

Lucky u to settle with cake vouchers...
My parents n in-laws are more traditional so we need to send ready cakes to relatives....
We getting from Chocz and deliver within the day lor...

Hope my guests also feedback with positive comments on the invitation cards too...

rainbow79

Wow....most in 2008...
Think Ollie must be feeling excitied...
I hope I dun feel too excitied in Dec else I know I will be confused...

woo83fy

I want to decorate the stage and aisle area with more lights and flowers as I will be having the Holy Matrimony (with the march in with my dad) in the Grand Ballroom as well, so any suggestions which florists are good, reasonably priced and reliable?

woo83fy

DarkWing, let me know if you know any good printing place for invitational cards.

Sigh.. if i have more money, i will get wedding flavors as well. I simply love wedding flavors like mini salt and pepper shaker, cute lovely bears or something less common.

How about...... those of you who will like to get your own wedding flavors, we come together and buy in one order... perhaps it will be much much cheaper?
Like if original price is $2 (standard for most wedding flavors), but if we get alot alot, we can get it at $1?

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

Hmmm..nt really excited leh...maybe I'll excited when its a wk before that bcos I haven't select my music yet..hahaha

Do you've mulitply? My multiply id is ollie27 u can add me, I've uploaded the opulent desire card at my multipy site. But the material is all the same, cardboard lor. Never like the card..

I wanted to get chocolates initially as replacement for engagement cakes, then after calculating it, find that its too ex..so abandon the idea.

My ad pg will be Edmund Leong. Chris ling pg only for my pre-wedding photos. But abt you? Which bs you'r with?

ollie27

Hi woo83fy,

You can try asking quotation from redbox or poppy. My florist for my flower bouquet is redbox and her service is excellent, highly recommended!

rainbow79

Ollie: Cant find the link to the invitation card at yr multiply...

Edmund Leong from Chris Ling's team...
My AD photographer from Chris Ling's team but not himself...too exp...

ollie27

Hi Rainbow,

Sorry I only allowed those under my contacts to view my blog. You've mulitply? I can add u in.

Nope, Edmund Leong not from Chris Ling's team. I did not engage Chris Ling himself for my pre-wedding photos, its Eugene. Who have you engage from Chris Ling's team?