Intercontinental Singapore

yuki31

Hi Gin,

can check for your AD did your guest have any problem with parking? i am afriad the jam at bugis carpark will cause a delay for my guest.

Is there a different with the bridal suite on 2nd n 3rd floor?

gs1979

dd, spillages do happen. It happened to one of my guests during the AD dinner too. The event mgr told us when everything has ended. At least he din hide it from us and we were glad that he handled it well.
My guest was not mad at all as he was given a complimentary bot of white wine + they sent his shirt for dry clean immediately.

Rest assured that the service level of intercon is THUMBS UP!! But of cos, there bounds to be some hippcups during the dinner. Just b happy and enjoy the moment cos it b over v soon. We had great service and food from the hotel, wonderful guests + nice music...wad else could we ask for more....

My wines r from barwxxks(replace xx with "o" "r") They r located at chinatown pt. I got Merlot from them as its easier to drink wif chinese dishes. Shiraz tasted too "hot" for those mild drinkers. Compulsory to get min 2cases from them. The 3rd case will be based on consignment basis. I got 36tables and end up consumed 41bots. FYI, Most hotels dun allow to bring duty free liquors.

oxypanda

Anyone booked wedding during the InterCon wedding show in March06? What are the extra perks they give? I heard there is another wedding show in Sept-Oct06 period? Does InterCon have 2 wedding shows last year 2005 too?

Not sure if I want to wait until the wedding show as Me & finacee AD is Jun07. Need advises. Thanks!

gs1979

dd, u got mail!!

hi dramama, sorrie cant help. My coordinator is Michelle Lau.

Hey Yuki, i managed to have many parking coupons left ard 8.15pm before the dinner start. But they were all given out end of the day. My guests were all v punctual...not much a issue on the parking, partly becos my AD was on a weekday. My Bridal Suite was on the 3rd floor..the diff btwn the 2nd n 3rd is the additional private balcony before the entrance of the room.

yuki31

Hi Gin,

me oso weekday wedding so guess shld be alright ....was afraid when i saw the long queue at bugis carpark on friday
so it is better to take the Bridal Suite at 3rd level? we have to request in advace right?

dramama - mine oso michelle so cant help too.. but i spoke to Stephanie before and dun find her friendly...

dd - i tot we are not suppose to use DFS?

taneujin

About to sign up with Intercon but just wondering if anyone can help me with these for the wedding package this year:

1) Helper's Room
2) Upgraded bridal suite (not the one on the 2nd or 3rd floor)
3) more than 1 night's stay

oxypanda

Hi Eu Jin & Mari,
I believed more than 1 night's stay is not possible. Intercon is rather strict on giving extras. ={ As for helper's room & upgrading of bridal suite, these are options you can choose from the dinner packages. The link is as here, hope that helps: http://meetings.singapore.intercontinental.com/sinhb/weddings_2006.html.
We had reserved our wedding date for next year at intercon..abit early as the date is pretty hot..haha. So when you are planning yours?

taneujin

Hi jasval, our wedding will be held at the end of the year. I was hoping that I can have the helper's room as part of the must haves so that I can choose other things from the wish list. Seems like everyone else will be following quite closely to the package.

amy_fleur

Can you recommend any responsible and good coordinator from Intercontinental that we can liaise with?

Can someone also share what are some of the goodies (other than those in the premium selection) your coordinator was willing to include in the package FOC?

dramama

Thanks Gintonic.

Hi Yuki, Did you request to change to Michelle after speaking to Stephanie? hmm, i am thinking of doing it if i find her unfriendly.. but not too sure how to go about doing it..

yuki31

Hi dramama,

I was liasing with Michelle all the way except when there is a point of time when she is on leave so I check with Stephanie with some issues.

I think if you dun like Stephanie, you can juz look for michelle if u havent sign the contact ....after signing i am not so sure

oxypanda

Hi Amy,
My coordinator was Michelle. Hmm...the only leeway she can give is printing cards loh. ={ She cant give more due to company policies etc etc. We also reserve function rooms from her for our holy matrimony. But overall, she is very patient & accomodating to our needs/requests.

Hi dramama,
You can still give Michelle a call (think her no somewhere in this forum) for a appointment. As long you dont sign or commit anything (reserve dates etc), you can talk to anyone you want. =}

gini09

My banquet manager is Stephanie and wedding is on 23 June 2006. She's new in intercon but she's very friendly and experience in the hotel line.

gs1979

Mostly perks like helper's rm, free usage of LCD screen & extra printing cards shld be quite easy to negotiate wif the coordinator. But i guess sometimes it oso depends on the no. of confirmed tables. Initially i told Michelle i had abt 30(28+2) but when i finalised the details 1week before my AD, i confirmed a total of 36tables. And all 36tables were filled up and no reserved tables left. My hubby n myself were prepared to hv guests not turning up last min dats y we din wanna leave the reserved tables empty. Empty tables dun look nice...overall, the ballroom had v romantic ambience wif the lightings.

bride, i wil share my AD pics once i finished upload them as i'm caught wif work recently.

taneujin

Actually, I'm about to sign up with Intercon but we are not very comfortable with the coordinator. Wonder if we can still change coordinator? Hope they are not on incentive scheme otherwise...not very nice.

gs1979

Eu Jin, who is your coordinator? think if u r not comfortable wif the coordinator then its best to request for a chg lor. think shldnt b a problem.

whitetwinkle

I will be joining into the intercon BTB thread soon. hehe. Will be meeting up with Michelle this coming week to discuss on the details.

Just called to check with Michelle and that the date is still available. Looking at June next year. So exciting...

yuki31

Eu Jin & Mari, yap agreed with Gintonic ......better to chg coordinator if u not comfortable coz u will need to liasie with her a lot on for ur dinner

White Twinkle - welcome .....me at Jan next year ..

dramama - i not sure max is hw much but think they can go up to 40 .....

taneujin

Hi Yuki and Gin, I just went down to sign the up with Intercon and thought, what the heck, just go with whatever that I've been given. Don't want to cause so much problems also as I'm sure both coordinators will have their comments about us too.

So, there it is. Our wedding will be held at Intercontinental Hotel this year

yuki31

En Jin & Mari -when will ur wedding be? surely before me .......keke :p ur package allow to choose frm the alaca menu?

dramama - maybe u chk with intercon to confirm

gs1979

Hey bride,think the new pkg is wif fixed dishes liao. Those signed last yr were entitled to ala carte menu.

Hey Eu Jin, Gd for u..finally settled ur AD venue. So when's ur AD?

dramama, actually the max no of tables is 40 but the best to keep at 37 else abit cramped.

taneujin

Thanks for answer, Gin

Our wedding will be on 26th Dec this year. Just worried that everyone will go on overseas leave. Got to inform them early

groom_bride

Gin, like that then why they send to me recently they send e package with ala carte menu lei
i shortlist them one reason becos of ala carte menu, i better send them email to confirm

whitetwinkle

hi bride,

I'm also trying to find out if they still offer ala carte menu. Can let me know once u manage to find out? thanks!

I wil be meeting Michelle this coming wednesday. Keep you posted too once i check it out with her.

oxypanda

Hi bride,
Its ala carte menu. You must choose the dishes and total up the amount of dishes to price of each table price(weekdays/weekends).

We had reserved the date for next year jun07..hmm..will finalised the details & signed in 2 weeks time. =}

dramama

Hi Bride and WhiteTwinkle,

its confirmed to be ala carte menu.. just met up with Stephanie today... Heard from her that the decor after the revamp will be good! they are looking at more unique stuff for the wedding favours too... but details not confirmed yet...

dramama

no prob, white twinkle... do let us know if you are able to nego for more perks! you are looking at a weekday or weekend?

whitetwinkle

Hi dramama and bride,

No problem! Will keep you gals updated! I'm looking at weekday with only 25-30 tables. Guess not easy to get additional perks from them.

Btw. When's AD for you gals?

oxypanda

Hi white twinkle,
We are also looking on weekday with only 28-30 tables next year Jun07. Which day are you looking at? Ours is 20th. We had reserved the date with Michelle and will be following up with her next week on the details before signing of contract.

What extra perks will u be cajoling from her? Do update us so we can also be prepared. haha. =}

whitetwinkle

Hi Jasval,

seems that our wedding date is very close to each other. We are looking at 11th. Talked to her over the phone and she told me the date is still available. I will be having my customary one day before which makes it 10062007. Hehe.

So you took 20th because 20062007? kekeke. Alternatively, we might take 18062007 which is also available. Will go discuss details with her tomorrow and probably will sign the contract sometime after that.

I'll probably try to negotiate for more wine corkages. Not sure how much can i get though. will keep you posted!

You got your bridal package yet?

dramama

hi bride... i already told stephanie to prepare the contract for me to take a look, will most prob sign by end of this month.

btw, heard that there will be a price increase come jul. so for those who have yet to book, u might want to hurry!