Intercontinental Singapore

rinnie

I'm new here..so glad that I can consider Intercon again..well cos intercon was my first choice at first but after asking our parents, realise that they have quite a lot of tables..we were looking at 45 at first..so alot of places cannot le..so we tot of having it at Raffles the Plaza but realised that the ballroom quite dark, doesn't reali look good in photos.. so talked with my bf and told him that i still like intercon..so we decided to reali only invite close friends and will die die keep it to 40 tables..

My AD still a long way ahead, in dec 07, so now we have not booked yet..I read about alot of good reviews about intercon..the only bad thing that I read about was about that it looked quite old. Is that true? Anyone can share any pix with me? Also, is parking reali a problem? Hope you all will share your experiences with me..thanks in advance!!

lavlyn

Hi dd,

When is your AD? Mine is also in June. How come Jane did not show you the plush dog? Is it out of stock?

The dog is so cute!!! I have not spoken to Jane yet about the wedding favors. Think i will call her to ask.

gs1979

dd, i paid $180 for hotstamping in red ink for 200pcs. if u print using copper or gold ink then its only $160. But my card is already in gold color so definitely cannot print in gold ink. But we run out of cards last week and went to print an extra 50pcs @ a one time cost of $50. heart pain....
kao_sad2.gif

my tea ceremony is held at both my parents & in-laws hse...if relatives cant turn up in time for d day then we will serve them d tea before d start of dinner. hey gal, i think u meant EG rite? cos WG is meant for 1st march-in mah. u gotto chg to EG after d 3rd dish is served. dun worry, your coordinator will contact u and brief all these details nearer to ur AD.

hey lavlyn, yes d dog is v cute dats y hubby n me chosen it. but hor, its not given out as a pair....one per guest but it b alternate way so end up whole table will hv haf males n females.

hihi Rinnie, y do u think intercon looks old?? i chosen intercon becos of its unique interior. The roman style wif chandeliers...my parents n in-laws liked the place when we brought them down for food tasting. My AD is in 2wks time...maybe u wanna pop by n view d ballroom??

moonlight00

hey gin
i meant the no. of cards i need is more than 60% of tables i hv =p
aniwei...i DIY cards for all mi colleagues liaoz...heh..so save $$ lo...didnt get extra from michelle

btw..i chose the same wedding favour as u too! hees...cute hor!! Like them as soon as we set eyes on it! actuali find the salt & pepper shaker quite unique too....but hb tink the face on the shakers make them look like ghost..haha..if u noe wat i mean...
we even got a pair from michelle dat day coz hb said he wana take pic of them to put into our montage....keke

little_a

Hi Rinnie, I think Intercon isnt old. The hotel design is more of peranakan style. Quite different from the other hotels. I love the exclusive use of the reception area.

ddwedd

Hi lavlyn,

My AD is on 22/6 when is yours? Probably Jane forgets to pass the dogs to me on that day cos pretty rush. I will check with her again.

Hello Gin
I think I will probably go for insert cos much cheaper. My mind is in a mess...now trying to sort out the schedule one by one....hope that HI can advise me more. Jane is pretty helpful but the rest is.......

rinnie

Hi Gintonic,

I haven been to intercon before..I also like the exclusive recep area and based on the pictures that I see online and what I got via email from the in-charge, it seems perfectly nice to me..just that I have a couple of friends who had been there before told me such comments...when exactly is your AD? It'll be great if u dun mind me popping by and see see..hee...=) I like Intercon cos can mix and match the menu..feels that it's more flexible this way...so glad to see good reviews from you all....

lavlyn

Hi DD,

Mine is on the 18/6, 4 days before yours. She have not contacted me regarding the ballroom theme and the wedding favours yet. I will also contact Jane again.

Hi Gintonic,

Too bad that it does not come in pair. Hope the guest will like it.

gs1979

Rinnie, my AD is on 2nd May and our dear moonlight is having hers few daz after me - 8th May. heee...so u can pop by any of these dates.
Like wad lavlyn has mentioned, the place dun really look v old. its more exclusive wif the foyer, recept + terrance. i just got the floor plan fr Michelle today...everything is gg on smoothly. Guess u nid not worry too much abt the staff's service level.

Yuki, initially i wanted to print a copy of the hotel map but gotto to pay additional so end up we din do it lor.

gs1979

dd, yes...inserts definitely is cheaper. U need to print your cards 1st then organise ur guest list. My AD is in 2wks time and the seating arrangement is still changing.....really hv to anticipate last min guests who cant make it. Guest list is d most headache part!!

Well, Jane is just Michelle's assistant. Overall still gotto refer back to Michelle. So far,we're pleased wif her service..prompt follow-up.

Hey moonlight, so how many tables u gg to have??

rinnie

Hi Gintonic,

Tink I will go pop by yours..on a weekday more convenient for me..unless my bf wanna go with me, den I'll go pop by Moonlight's one..wat time is convenient ar...dun wanna disturb...=)

yuki31

Hi Gintonic,

Any idea how much is the additional cost for the map? My hubby wanted the hotel map in else he say some may not know the way/

ddwedd

hi Gin
Oh yes I agree that the guest list and seating planning are the most headache. Mine is on the weekday, I hope the absencees volume will not be too high...

Hi lavlyn
You can call Jane, she is very helpful and polite. What theme are you looking at? I have not decided mine yet.

lavlyn

Hi dd,

I may consider the maroon theme which is more romantic. Maybe we can go view Gintonic's ballroom on 2nd May so we can have an idea on the theme. Gold theme is more grand feel.

moonlight00

hey gin...actuali i got abt 32 tables now, but to b on the safe side (in case of last min negative replies nearing mi AD), i told michelle 28 tables + 2 reserve ie. 30 tables...hehe
U leh? rem u got alot more tables yah?

actuali i prefer the gold theme but coz EG is yellow, so we chose the maroon theme instead. Turn out mi MIL juz told us she went to make a cheongsam maroon in colour & hence hb ask if i mind changing to the gold theme nw...
...sighz....but it will clash wif mi instead!!! hw hw?

gs1979

moonlight...alamak!! y ur MIL mtm maroon color?? u didnt tell her not to mtm either gold or maroon? i told my own siblings + jiemeis abt the hotel color theme so make sure they dun clash wif the table setting. My mummy is wearing black qipao n my MIL is wearing a MIL's KUA so guess no clashes at all. Since u got prob wif the color theme then better decide fast...guess u gotto ask ur MIL to chg d color of her dress since u definitely cannot chg ur EG.

gs1979

Hey dd, lavlyn, rinnie..u gals can pop by my wedding on 2nd May cos i chosen the maroon theme. At least u can hv a bigger idea of the ballroom setting....think d set up shld b ready by 6pm cos rehersal at 6pm mah.

Do we wanna exchange num??

Hey yuki, i cant rem the additional cost liao but u can chk wif Jasvy.....

ddwedd

hi hi..

I want to see Gin's set up too... lavlyn what time will you reach there? I am working in Tuas so not sure what time i can be there..hopefully no O.T

Gin ....talking abt the theme..my EG is gold in colour and theme is gold too...will it look very weird??? Feel like screaming now.

im_ashley

Hi Gin,

Congrats! Must be very excited now. Did you pay extra for additional floral deco?

Would it be ok if I also pop by to see the set-up?

ddwedd

hi yuki
becos i like the EG so much and I so stupid that it did not come into my consider that I will look like a walking table...I just hope that it will not be that bad.

lavlyn

Hi dd,

I am working in Toa Payoh but i finish work at 6.30pm. It also depend whether i need to work OT. Maybe 7pm will reach there.

My EG is fushia pink so if i choose maroon theme, will the colour clash?

yuki31

Hi dd,

oic if u like ur EG a lot then dun chg. maybe can consider chaning theme? is there only maroon n gold theme at intercon?

yuki31

Hi Gintonic,

read that u had engaged Rasel...can i chk r they good? u r engaging them for which event?

I juz went for the Rasel workshop today and found that their food quite alright.

gs1979

yuki, me engaged them for lunch buffet for my tea ceremony at my parent's place. i tried their food twice at those wedding shows...quite alright too. u wanna engage them for...??

yuki31

Hi Gintonic,

they are in my consideration list but not sure yet. i am looking for caterer for tea ceremony for my side n my FH side ....

but they need at least 100pax before they are willing to accept ...i dun really have so much ppl for one side so not too sure

ddwedd

hi Gin
what a coincidence....both of us are in Tuas

The last time I go HI reached there abt 7+pm due to the jam at AYE.... sob sob

1 more week to your AD you must be feeling very excited. How is your preparation so far?

Hi lavlyn
If no OT should be able to reach there at 7 p.m too. Have you girls met before?

Yuki,
MY FH likes the theme so much don't think he will change sob sob .....Maybe i go look for another EG loh.

hello Sozz
Welcome to the HI's BTB. I didn't know that there is lilac theme...probably I will check with Jane.
by the way, how do you find the lilac theme?

Ladies
Will there be any MUA for your mother? Any good one to recommend?

gs1979

yuki, tea ceremony no nid to hv 100pax mah. y u dun engage for norm lunch or tea recept buffet??

hey dd, yah me too alys mit michelle after 7pm if on weekdaz cos stupid AYE alys alys JAM like crazy!! haha!! 8 more daz to go...feeling more n more excited.

yuki31

Hi Gintonic,

i am engaging the norm tea recept buffect but they say for all the min is 100pax leh ....maybe i chk with them again....

urs min need hw many pax?

wow u all driving ....me no car

moonlight00

hey gin & yuki, we onli chose the theme last week mah & MIL went to mtm cheongsam the week b4 last week...haaa...oh well..timing sux...

Now i'm gng ard telling mi frens not to wear maroon/red liaoz ...aiyo..

but guess we're still sticking to the maroon theme afterall :Þ

sozky

Hi dd,

Michelle told me lilac is their new color theme.
Personally, I find it sweet (it will go well if ur gowns are those dreamy type) but I prefer the gold theme (seen the actual set-up before), more classic...

gs1979

gals, finally finally i've confirmed my no of tables. my guest list keeps changing till i got so mad abt it. haiz...really hv to learn and relax cos 6 more days to go. dun wanna look haggard on AD.

moonlight00

hey gin...
understand wat u're gng thru too but muz still try to take thins easy & b a pretty happie bride k! ^.^

mi oso...sighz...so pissed wif some replies i get when trying to cfm the attendance now...haiz..wat to do?...part & parcel of the preps...

Juz looking 4ward to mi long break after the banquet!!!

ddwedd

hey gin
Relax..i believe things will work out smoothly. Don get upset or panic cos it can makes matter worse... Dun worry. When I get work up i always watch stephen chow's movie at home to cool off myself...if not I will just go and catch a movie alone

cheer up
dd

yuki31

Hi Gintonic,

dun be too upset ok ? take some time off to have a break and to rest ur mind ....it is good tat u took leave so can do and arrange things.

I am sure things will turn out fine.
Best Wishes to u ....

gs1979

tks gals...i felt better today cos on leave liao. dun hv to think abt work now. can fully concentrate on d wedding. made adjustments on the seating plan again... sucks!! anyway, its more or less finalised so cross my fingers to d big day!!

rinnie

Hey Gin,

Must take care lei..make sure you rest enough den can be a mei mei bride on that day! I'm sure Everything will be fine!