Intercontinental Singapore

colleen

Hi vinmei,

I have been to HI too, Adeline told me that the package for 2006 will only be out end of march....but will increase $30 for 2006 for weekday and weekend lor....

vinmei

Ya. It is $30 more leh. But after calculating all the charges, It will be about $925 per table. It is not within my budget lor. Sigh....

Anyway we can lower the prices?

vinmei

Slimmy,

The price is for weekend leh. My AD is on a fri. *Sob* *Sob*.... Too ex for me liao. Got to look for other choice.

Any comments for Merchant Court or Marriott?

colleen

Vinmei,

Merchant Court require alot of table le.....how many table u need? Think Holiday Inn Park View not bad except one part of ceiling is low.....i got the photo link can send u...

vinmei

Hi Bluegrapes,

Nope...Not yet. I asked her if can lower the prices, but no reply. Think it is unlikely and me have to change my Venue liao. Only left with Merchant Court & Marriott. And considering Sheraton as well. :p

vinmei

Not really leh. Sheraton is cheaper than Intercon leh. But their ballroom is L shape. Need to go and take alook lor....

bluegrapes

I almost booked Sheraton during the wedding show but really didn't like the L shape ballroom and the stage is position in a weird angle. Regardless, the food is fantastic.

vinmei

ohh.... ok. me maybe droping by Sheraton to take alook this evening.
Waiting for my HB to knock off first.

Ya, agreed that the food is nice lor.

chercat

I held my wedding at Intercon on 27 Feb so probably the setup which Jean saw was mine!!!

Good comments for the service on that day. My friends were all pleasantly surprised to see individual dishing for all the courses. This saved everyone alot of 'embarrassment' of having to take food themselves from the big plate as some guests on the same table may not know one another. So during your negotiation, remember to request for 1 server per table!!!

The banquet manager Bernard who was in charge of coordinating that night's events was also very experienced, updating us and cue-ing us at the appropriate moments. All in all, the wedding was quite a success!

bluegrapes

Congrats to u, Chercat!

May I ask what dishes did u select and which are the ones receiving favourable comments? My AD is on 27 Jun, ie. exactly 4th mths from yours

And, mind sharing some photos of yours?

beanbean

Hi Chercat! Yup, looks like it was your wedding setup that I saw - very pretty! I was so happy when I saw it cos it was the first time I was showing the ballroom to my parents and they were initially not that keen on the hotel so I was a bit nervous, but after viewing the hotel (and your wedding) they relented and said ok.

I noticed you had a lot of tables - 40? I'm expecting around that number too. Was it difficult to move between the tables to take pictures, greet guests, etc? Can I also ask if you paid extra for the brown ribbons on every alternate chair or is that part of the package?

Anyway, congrats on having a wonderful wedding!

bluegrapes

Based on my understanding from Adeline when I sign the contract, the brown ribbons on alternative chair is part of the decoration.
This is part of the new theme.

chercat

Hi Bluegrapes,
My friends liked the Barbequed Pork in Fried Rice with Shrimps, and other people liked the Poached Prawns and Braised Abalone. A few commented that the dishes were abit salty, but this type of thing I think is very subjective according to one's taste buds.

Hi Jean,
I had 36 tables plus 2 reserved. It was just nice i felt, not too squeezy nor too sparse. And after the photo taking with ALL the 36 tables, i even had the time to change into my 3rd gown. I think the brown ribbons were part of the package, I do not remember paying for anything extra. Glad that your parents liked the place too.

Sorry i have yet to receive my photos, so can't share now.

vinmei

Hi little ger,

When is the bridal show at Intercon? They have just called me regarding the price of the banquet leh. Meeting them this evening to discuss more.

little_a

hi vinmei,
intercon's bridal show is on 26 Mar 05, 11am - 6pm.. registration form can be found in the latest issue of Her World Brides.

bluegrapes

Thanks for sharing, Chercat.

Bride to be, the bridal show is on 26 Mar 05. Check out the latest Female Brides magazine!
Anyway, good luck to your discussion this evening!

little_a

bluegrapes, i think its in the latest issue of Her World Brides.. cos its the Her World Wedding Show...

anyone wans the registration form let me know.. i can fax to u if u dun intend to buy the mag.

beanbean

wow, this thread is really moving - can't keep up! Anyway, thanks chercat and bluegrapes for the extra info - looking forward to the bridal show now...

vinmei

Thanks for the info. I am going for the Wedding show at Intercon on 26Mar05.

My meetup with Intercon is not too bad leh. The lady whom I met up was friendly and try to understand my needs. Think they maybe coming up with promo for that fair. She get some feedback from me as well leh. :p

Got to wait and see wat perks they will be giving away leh. :p But it is really quite costly for per table and I understand it is a 5* hotel lor. But not alot of people seem to know huh.

Now is the cost which is the main issue mann! :p

colleen

Hi Vinmei,

Who is the lady u meetup with??
Mine is not friendly le....she just show me the ballroom and thats all. She did not even explain anything about the package etc as she say there will be a wedding show coming up and request me to join the wedding show.

vinmei

Hi Slimmy,

I met up with Michelle. She went through the package with me as well. And ask me to go for the wedding show. Think there will be perks lor.

But hor, their per table is also not cheap leh.

When is ur AD? :p

colleen

Hi Vinmei.........

ya lor......not cheap per table....but me looking at weekday lor....june next yr....how about u??

So far i have shortlisted Grand Copthorne Waterfront & Hotel intercon. Think if i sign up with Hotel Intercon, i will request for another coordinator lor, instead of adeline.

Have u been to Grand Copthorne? Request for Grace, she is a nice lady....
Heard that they will be having discount on the price on april, according to Grace.

vinmei

Hi Slimmy,

ohh...weekday huh. So good. Mine is a weekend. Its a fri!!! Its in feb next year!

Think hor, I search Hotel till I very blurr liao leh... All so ex for next year one leh... HOW???

Me did tot of Grand Corpthorne but their grand ballroom is too big for me. I am only looking at 35tables lor....

Really tough mann! Now I am also lookin at Marina and Merchant Court.
By the way, I went to look at Oriental last nite. It was beautiful mann!
Nice nice... hehee

colleen

Hi Vinmei,

Think u can still go take alook at Grand Corpthorne as Grace say that it should be ok if i have 33 tables for weekday lor....their min is 35 tables for weekday meh!!! u can check with her lor....she is very nice. Cos she did mention that normally ppl will have 2 reserved tables.

ya me went oriental show too.....on last Fri. Still prefer the Hotel intercon ballroom le....and the price for oriental is too steep liao.

Hav u register for the wedding show for hotel Intercon yet?

spring_charm

hi little_ger,

can you fax me the registration form? Bought too many bridal magazines dun intened to buy another one =P I pm you my fax no.

vinmei

Hi Slimmy,

Cant leh. Mine is on weekend. Cant have Grand Corpthorne leh...

Anyway, it is really tough to choose lor. Sheraton have reply me with quite an attractive package. But do not really like the place.

Ya, I am going for the wedding show for Intercon. Are u going? :p

colleen

me going too...hav faxed the form but no confirmation receive le. Worried if they got receive or not....

little_ger/lee,
when is ur wedding??

Vinmei,
ya lor...Sheraton will have a promo on their wedding show, very attractive. Discount for per table, but still like intercon ballroom.....hahaha!!!

Think there is wedding show for marina mandarin too.

little_a

slimmy,
mine is on 26 Nov 05.... agree! i simply love intercon's ballroom..

btw, i have changed my coordinator to Michelle cos she told me Adeline is leaving.

colleen

no wonder adeline dun bother to explain much on the package last time i visited her.....lor.

Kind of disappointed after the viewing of the ballroom 2 weeks ago. But no choice really love the ballroom.Haizz....feel better now hahahaha! at least i noe the reason behind.