Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

i went for weddin @ traders. it was in smaller function rm. quite cramp but fd was ok. only thing was waiter serve me orange juice in cracked glass! told him2change in e end!

sstarlight

Hi Nemac,

There are not charge to change from fried fish to steam fish.

Last I heard their charges for 2007 is abt 790+++ (increase abt $100 compare to mine)

Oh dear, the function room is cramp?
Mine is in the temasek room too :p

nemac

Elin,
glad to know that food is nice. the wedding dinner u went is on weekend? not sure whether the dish on weekday is nice too.

sstarlight,
luckily, there is no surchange. they seems flexible.

jacquise

I went for the food tasting too. Not too bad the food in general. But a little too salty. I love the prawns leh! Fresh! But a bit cheesed that some things Cindy promised not fulfilled. Like paying lip svc. She said will use the blue table cloth which i have chosen for my theme to be displayed that day but she forgot! And she said she will show me the size of the table number plate but she also did not! Worst of all, she spelt my surname wrongly which my parents a big hoo-haa! Already told her when i met her but she forgot once again... SIGH! I will check and double check the day before my big day!

jacquise

I went for the food tasting too. Not too bad the food in general. But a little too salty. I love the prawns leh! Fresh! But a bit cheesed that some things Cindy promised not fulfilled. Like paying lip svc. She said will use the blue table cloth which i have chosen for my theme to be displayed that day but she forgot! And she said she will show me the size of the table number plate but she also did not! Worst of all, she spelt my surname wrongly which my parents a big hoo-haa! Already told her when i met her but she forgot once again... SIGH! I will check and double check the day before my big day!

nikkilime

Hi Everyone!

Went to view the Wedding Show set up and fell in love with the theme "Flame of Passion"! Was wondering anyone has problems with the pillars in The Gallery?

Hi Darean,

Do u mind to share some actual day photos at The Gallery? E-mail me at: [email protected] Thxs!

nemac

hi nikki,

I like the "Flalme of Passion" too..pillar might not be big problem as it also depends on the table arrangement on the actual day. if you have less than 25 tables, think still all right.

nemac

hi traders brides,

any comments about the bridal suite? do know how many bridal suites at traders? the one they showed during the bridal show seems small, not sure is the only one. do they have deluxe bridal suite? thanks..

joying

Hi nemac,

I am not sure which suite you saw but the one they gave me on my ROM day was huge. The living area was large enough for a dining table and sofa set. It even had a bar counter. Remembered that the guest relations telling me that it was one of the bigger suite in Traders.

sstarlight

Hi Jacquise,

Is the prawns with lily bulb? I hope they really do take in my comments for food. Else I will be very mad..

Cindy just joined not too long ago. I think she was previously working in Le Meridien. Her reputation there quite good.

wongly_esther

Hi sstarlight and Jacquise,

I have also went for the food tasting and i can say that the Shark fin and the prawns with lily bulb is the best dishes among all the 8 courses,
The rest of the dishes taste quite Ok, not too bad.

I have meet Cindy on last week to discuss the wedding theme and wedding favour as my wedding is in 2 weeks time......I found she is quite OK and quite friendly. hopefully everything will turn out smoothly on my actual day.

sstarlight

Hi Esther,

Glad to hear you enjoy your food tasting. But I find the yam paste (the coconut milk very watery).

Yes, overall the food is nice I think.
But my family don't like the soo hock fish.

The sharkfin, sesame coated chicken and vege with mushrooms are very nice!

Wedding favours, they have coasters, scented pouch, rose pens.. think there are 1 or 2 more items to choose from. Their favours quite unique.

wongly_esther

Hi sstarlight,

My dessert is the dumpling with red bean soup, not so sweet, taste alright.

My family all don't really like the sesame coated chicken, taste bitter as i think the chicken is overly coated with sesame....and the chicken is not juicy and the meat very dry......but i found that Traders food is not oily....quite healthy leh.....

I am also holding my dinner at Temesek room....so have you chosen your theme?

nikkilime

Hi Nemac,

I'm considering between Marina Mandarin & Traders. What do u gals think? Traders is more flexible and I'll be going down to MM to view the ballrooms by this wkend. Very tough! And my very 1st choices are all taken up. That's y left w MM & Traders..

sstarlight

Hi Esther,

Red bean with dumpling sounds nice!
The chicken on my day was nice. Juicy and tender. Guess part of it also depends on ingredients.

Heh heh.. anyway hope we have a great wedding together. Yes I am holding my wedding in temasek room too. I chosen the Crystal Nova theme

nemac

hi nikki,

haha..u r at same situation as me. our other 1st choice are all taken up too. At end, between MM & Traders, we chose Traders cos of the food and service. furthermore, the price after discount during traders bridal show is close to MM.

Of course, usually price is main factor. If MM package is much cheaper and attractive, u can consider too.

nikkilime

Hi Nemac,

Thxs for yr advice. Did u book the Temasek or The Gallery? I will have to reduce my guests if I opt for Temasek cos generally it's pillarless with a reception area. Thought if the stage is in the middle then march in can be by the side. The Gallery is an L-shape march in(shorter) and there are pillars.

wongly_esther

For those who had booked the Temesek room, may i know that what is your preference for the stage arrangement? in the middle of the room or at the extreme end?

sstarlight

Mine is at the end, cos I have 18 tables (maybe 19). Don't think I have enough spaces to put the stage in the middle.

Nemac,
Didn't know that MM is cheaper than Traders. I thought MM just renovated should be more expensive.
But I heard Traders increases price for 2007.

When I was looking for my banquet, I was only left with traders and hilton. Chosen traders in the end cos I feel it looks more modern and cozier

nemac

hi nikki and sstarlight,

we have booked the gallery room. though there are pillars,think will not block much view. we like the ambience and the glass view.

the price for 2007 at traders after +++ is slightly higher than MM for weekday, not sure abt weekend. so far, comments for the food at traders is good. that's why after consideration, we chose traders.

sstarlight

Hi Nemac,

Welcome to be the traders bride. I find Gallery room nice too. The only draw back are the pillars and short march in. Other than that, its nice.

For my day, the gallery room is taken, so I am left with Temasek which I like too.

tlj

i would like to find out more about traders hotel ballroom can anyone tell me more..........

regards

nemac

Hi Sstarlight,

thank you.
hope everything will go smoothly.

when is your wedding? Temasek room is nice too and no pillars, but we have more than 24 tables so can only consider gallery room. Crystal Nova theme is elegant. Think we will choose either Flame of Passion or Crystal Nova.

nemac

Hi TLJ,

basically, there are two ballrooms at traders, temasek room and gallery room. temasek room is smaller, think max is 19 tables. gallery room is bigger, which can accomodate max 30 tables but with 2 pillars. u can refer to our previous msg for more details.

jacquise

i dun think can compare Marina Mandarin and Traders. I think MM is 5-6 star standard while Traders is only 4 and the price diff is huge i believe? I think Traders is considered value for $$$! How much is the 07 pkg?

nikkilime

I have noticed few good points about Traders are that they are not using porcelain spoons which I like and even other 5 stars hotels are not offering. Also they are rather generous about the flowers decor, kinda romantic. Price is also affordable, quite a few wedding favors to choose from. If I'm taking Traders, I may consider Temasek Room as Gallery has pillars. If so, then I'll have to reduce my tables. Will have to decide by this weekend. Really tough! Any brides had their weddings at Traders, please help me by sending photos. E-mail me: [email protected] Thxs a million!

nemac

yes, Traders is 4star hotel. however,so far i noticed that the feedback for some 5star hotel might not be better than 4star hotel (e.g.plaza, carlton), in term of their service and food. so think it is subject to individual preference also.

As for the pricing, the price for traders has increased next year. For weekday, it is close to $800 after +++, but has included free flow beer and wavier of wine corkage.

sstarlight

Traders not using porcelain spoons? Heh heh I never notice what kind of spoons they use.

Hi Nemac,
yes, passion of flames looks unique. But I be wearing red, so I don't want to clash with the ballroom deco

So I choose crystal nova. I like the cyrstal beads.

nemac

tat day when we attended their wedding show, think they used those metal soup spoon with spoon rest/holder. but not sure if they are using it during wedding day.

sstarlight

I see. I am using that metal spoon too during my food tasting. However, not too sure if the normal guest tables will be given that metal spoon?

Woah traders really increase their price a lot this year. Wonder why.. They have not renovated lately

jacquise

I just finished my AD on Saturday!Service was wonderful especially for the stay. The banquet mgr was also very attentive and made sure that the show runs well. However some frens commented that the service by the waiters were not that gd. But I guess for all hotels its the same case as these are students on vacation. So relieved that everything is over!

nemac

Hi Jacquise,

Congratulation on ur wedding! :D

Can you share with us, which bridal suite was arranged for you? the one at 14th floor?thanks..

nemac

that's great! :D hope we can take it too.. any photo to share?
I saw the one at 14th floor during the bridal show. think it is the small one.

nemac

hi izz,
so far, the feedback about the food at traders is good. i feel the service is not bad when i attended friend's wedding last year. my bf said his glass was always refilled by the waiters. the hotel is under shangrila group, think service shouldn't be too bad.

strawberryz

FYI,

Cindy has left.

They will appoint another coordinator to take over our accounts. But it might be better to confirm all that have been conversed with Cindy to this new person, just in case.

lavis

Hi all, I'm still looking for venue for my wedding dinner. can anyone send me a copy of the latest wedding package for 2007? Thanks a lot!

BTW, Trader really increased their weekday package to 800? Then it'll be more exp than MM liao.. just wonder wat is the reason for them to increase so much?

nemac

happy new year to all!

strawberryz,
cindy has left? when have you received the news? tot she just joined last year.when is ur wedding?

strawberryz

Hi Nemac,

I just knew about it last week when I tried to contact her. Shaiful took over and he was really friendly and helpful and even managed to help me request for late checkout for a room that I have booked (previously Cindy said cannot).
My wedding is 20 Jan 07!

nemac

Hi strawberryz,
congratulation! my best friend will be getting married on the same date too.

glad to hear that the new in-charge is helpful.hope everything go well to you.
which theme you chose?

strawberryz

Hi Nemac,

I did not choose any of the theme. Wanted the flame of passion theme but felt the setup was quite stiff and aisle stand too short for my FH and me.

That is why we are taking up the other florist, Stefii's. Impact is unable to change to other suitable flower stands that I like. We are getting topiaries stands from Stefii's and taller aisle flower stands. Using more mainly of red roses and drapping ivy leaves. Not sure if it is nice, but I am willing to take a chance.

nemac

hi strawberryz,
sound interesting..hope got the chance to view ur ballroom setting but think need to be 'jiemei' for my best friend's wedding,so may not have the time. Can you share with me your wedding pic later? sorry to request so much..my email is [email protected]. thanks!