Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

Wow.....can start to count down already

So are you taking the Temesek or Gallery room?

BTW,do u have any recommendation on where to get the wine?

darean

Esther, yes I can count down already but I do not feel excited yet..hehe. I am taking the bigger room, is it the Gallery room?

Recommendation..hmm not really, I got my wine from carrefour. Coz I feel if you want better wine you must be prepared to pay at least $20 and above. Since it is out of my budget, I never really bother to go around tasting wine. I think an average one will do.

wongly_esther

Hi Darean,

I am taking the Temesek room only as i am having a small wedding

I also heard that if we are buying wine at carrefour, we can get about 5% discount rebate.....am i right?
BTW, if we are bringing our own wine, the hotel will charge us corkage charge...around $18+++ per bottle....so it will be a large sum of money wor.....

darean

Esther, May I know what the 5% discount rebate is about? I have never heard of it.

Yes there is a corkage charge but for my package, there is a waiver of corkage charge for the 1st 36 bottles. So I only buy 36 bottles and the subsequent bottles will be buying from Traders.

darean

Hey Esther, I just receive news from Rosalind that I can get the new cards. I have not seen them yet so not sure if there is any problem with it.

wongly_esther

Hi Darean,

If i am getting a new card from them, are they going to compensate my loss as i have already done the printing at T-dragon on those old card?

darean

Esther, I have asked precious moment about the 5% rebate thingy, waiting for her reply.

For the cards, did you opt to print on the card or on a seperate paper? I am not affected as the printing is not on the card itself. If you already printed on the card, I guess you have to call Traders to check it out.

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

I am doing the hot-stamping on the card, so i think i will not get the replacement from them lah....if not, i need to send the card for printing again.....so troublesome :p

So are you having any photo montage on your AD?
Do you have any recommendation?

darean

Esther, yes it is a hassle doing the printing again.

I will be having the photo montage as my photographer (Everafter) will be lending me the projector. Initially wanted to skip it coz I find that it is rather common. Since my photographer will be doing it for me FOC so I decided to have it.

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

oic.....i think i will skip the photo montage as my bf and i seldom take photo together.....so nothing to show the guest loh :p

BTW, do you have any recommendation on where can we buy some nice shirt for our bf? i will be taking the PS in the mid of september but i totally forgot to prepare my bf attire :p

darean

My hubby tailor made his at Men's Tradition, the building beside Excelsior shopping ctr. You can tell the owner of the shop what colour your dress is and he can suggest the colour of his shirt. I think he paid $60 or 80 for the shirt.

I am not sure what your budget is. You may also want to try the shops at suntec?

wongly_esther

Hi Darean,

Thanks for your advice. i will go there and check it out.

BTW, there are only 2 of us chatting in this thread....heheh...so funny
So, have u settle your new house or booked your honeymoon holiday?

darean

hehe, new house not settle yet, so will be temporary staying at my hubby house or he come over since we are both staying very near each other. We are going on a short trip after wedding, the official honeymoon is next year, trying to plan now.

tsk

Anyone know what cocktail bites will Trader serve on pre-reception to the guest?
And what is a mixer? what kind of drinks?

Thanks gals!

tsk

Thanks Esther. At least, the guest have some bites first. do you know what is a mixer? what kind of drinks? hehe "mountain tortoise"

jacquise

I tot the Club sandwich is for the couple before the dinner? Hmmm.. Ya lor, wat they serve ah? Really gotta meet up with Rosalind soon. How many mths b4 the wedding u ladies collect the cards?

wongly_esther

Hi Jacquise,

My wedding is in Dec but i have already get my card printed. a bit kiasu....heheh

Ya hor....i have read the previous thread again and the club sandwich is the pre-dinner snack for the couple only.....don't know what they will serve as cocktail bites........

tsk

oh! thought that they serving club sandwich so good.

Hey Esther i having my wedding in Dec too. It is on 10th. How about you?

Jacquise, last week i have went to T-Dragon for my card printing.

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

How's your preparation as your wedding is coming soon.......BTW, do you have the food tasting already?

Hi August,
My wedding is on 3rd of Dec....Sorry about the mistake in my previous msg....but we the couple having the club sandwich as the pre-dinner snack also sound good.....yummy....:p

darean

Esther, yes..it is coming soon! 2 weeks more!
Preparation...hmm..seems that it goes on forever..haha. I think more or less done, just left with the major one, arrangement of the seating.

Yes I had the food tasting already. I find that the food is quite good, hope they maintain the same standard on the actual day.

What about you? How are the preparations so far?

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

I will be taking my PS on next Monday....really excited now, heheh.....but other than that, nothing had been done :p

I am glad to know that the food is good...btw, may i know that when is the appropriate time to have the food tasting? is it only allow to be on weekday only?

May i also know that are you getting any professional Emcee to host your wedding? Do you have any recommendation?

darean

Esther, the food tasting is on weekdays (Mon - Thur) only. The other time i had it in the evening, after work.

Nope, I did not hire a professional emcee as my dinner is rather simple. I just need someone to announce my 1st march in that's all as I do not have cake cutting, yum seng all these stuff.

jacquise

i just read my email and Rosalind has expressed that she is leaving as well.
I wonder what is happening really... Shucks. I better collect all my invitations before she leaves! Sigh.

jacquise

Esther,
Traders has a professional EMcee they always recommend. He's called Shawn. Eurasian. Not bad looking from his namecard. Can ask ur co-ordinator for it. If not can ask me.. hehe. I dig for u. I considering him..

wongly_esther

Hi Jacquise,

So who is taking over your account? They assign Thantan to me after Thomson left Traders. I also wonder what is happening in Traders.....i just hope that we all will not be affected.
I think i saw Shawn in the recent wedding workshop in Traders.......but as most of my relative are Cantonese, i would like to find someone who is bilingual in both Mandarin and Cantonese............Thanks for your help anyways.

Darean,
So you better check with Rosalind if your coordinator is her as your wedding is coming soon.

darean

Oh I found out that she is leaving yesterday too. Eunice will be taking over.

Anyone planning the seating arrangements yet? It is such a headache.

wongly_esther

Hi darean,

I haven't plan my guest list yet...i will wait for my parent to comfirm their guest list first then my hubby and i will try to fit in the remaining table.

i have one excel file for table arrangement which i have downloaded from other thread, if you need it, i can send it to u.

darean

Thank you Esther, it is good to take a look.

My concern now is I have quite a number of tables with 11 people. Is it neccessary to top up that additional portion?

jacquise

Rosalind also emailed me various versions of the wedding invitations. I must say Im appalled by the lousy designs and the quality looks bad too. I told my FH i'll definitely call them up or email them to lodge a complaint. the designs are totally unacceptable for a SHANGRI-LA group hotel! Has she officially left? I emailed her but there has been no reply. SHUCKS.

darean

Jacquise, Rosalind has already left Traders. I agree that the quality is rather lousy. Do you know that the batch of invation cards that I got the 2nd time round is of no difference to the 1st batch. It is equally lousy. Disappointed! In the end we send out the invitation cards as we can't be bothered anymore.

tsk

I just called up Trader. Cindy Ng will handle my wedding dinner I think she's the new event manager, abit disppointed that Rosalind has left,actually she's a nice lady.

jacquise

Ya cindy called me up today too. She was nice enuf to offer to send me the invitation cards as samples.
But i have already feedback thru Shangri-la website that the designs and quality of the cards totally unacceptable and worse than Chinese Restaurants. GOSH. Freak man.

imarilyn

gettin married in 6 daes time but there's alot of hiccups from traders.. the confirmation does not tally wif wat we agreeded on.. it seems like there's no communication btwn the staffs at all.. no of tables n additional special meals hav been informed to my event manager however, its still all wrong.. hav to go down personally one of these daes to clarify all.. so little time left n they juz added on more headache.. haiz..

wongly_esther

Hi Marilyn,

Who is your coordinator now?
I think if i am given a second chance, i am not going to have my wedding dinner at Traders..i think ever since Thomson had left, there is a lot of hiccups from Traders and everytime i email my new coordinator, she didn't bother to reply my mail at all.....very sianz

imarilyn

hi esther

my events manager is than than.alwz unable to get her on the phone.hav to email n wait for the reply.its juz like tings not up to date like tt.recevived a email from cindy askin mi to sign confirmation of the stuff, meals,usage of items n fax to her.but the list does not tally wif wat we told than than.its like bei pian de feeling like tt.veri disappointed wif traders.

wongly_esther

Hi Marilyn,

I think it is still better for you to go down to Traders again to firm up all the details.....to avoid any miscommunication and hiccup again.

BTW, are you able to exchange all your free flow of beer to waive the corkage charge on wine?
hmmmm......may i know that how many songs should we select?

imarilyn

hi esther

will be gg down on thur. need to confirm all before AD.

they onli willin to waive off corkage for 30 bottles of wine in exchange. we find it not worth so settled for complimentary 20litres of beer n waive corkage charges for 22 bottles. will be bringin in 30bottles as recommended by bottle & bottles. if max out all den pay 200++ for corkage. cheaper dan their beer. hehe.

song selection ah. i hav all my disney songs burnt into mp3. so dono how many is needed. mayb for abt 4hrs of function? including pre dinner cocktail time.

sstarlight

I am also a Traders Bride.
Was quite upset that Thomson left. I have signed that time cos he pursuaded me. Now he has left.. zzz..

Anyway, I would like to check how many designs of the wedding cards does Traders have? really very bad quality? I remember there were quite a few selections when I sign with them last time.

Can anyone forward me a copy please?

jacquise

hi starlight..
Can get ur co-ordinator to send to u... That's wat Cindy did for me. I have chosen the designs but looking for cheaper hotstamping than T dragon.
Any lobangs?

I also want to exchange beer for waiver of corkage. But i think we shld insist on BOTH! Since the svc sucks now.. we need some form of compensation. We have to write to the director! I wrote a general email thru their website and there's NO reply. SUCKS.

sstarlight

Hi Jacquise,

Yes, I just got design from Cindy.

I called Cindy and asked her if there are any other alternatives because we really do not like the designs and there are only 6 to choose from. She says she will get back to me.

Actually I signed up during a road show last year and I got free flow of beer and corkage waiver of 30 bottles of wine. Should be enough for me. Cos I only have 18 tables (Temasek Room).

Yes, I am also looking for the Customer Service Director or any public relations Director email in case I am really not satisfied with their services. I let you know if I find them.

jacquise

hi Starlight...

Glad that u got the designs. Not very fantastic rite? So hard to choose. Haha. Thanks I shall ask for the beer n waiver of corkage at the same time. Even 30 tables gd enuf la. Do let me know if someone responds to your rants. Hee...