Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

fatcat

Sheron--I'm a freelance designer and a full time housewife cum maid. So after you resign, you will stay in HK or Singapore? Maybe we can catch up for cup of coffee when you become full time maid

wanlow1--not so hao ming when you think of all the housework I have to do

Hi swatch,

you mean tailoring of cheongsum is ok?
got any recommendation for tailor or not ah? and how's the pricing like...

cos cheonsum must be really fitting, so if tailor now, later sure have to alter again...but if the price is worth it for the design and quality then will consider...

oh yes girls,
how much does it cost to transfer from Airport to Jordan station ah?

the cheapest is by train?
if me and my hubby go, cheaper to take train or cab?

swatch2004

wanlow,
VCD series is of similar price to sg in hk. unless you go china and buy that would be really cheap! my hubby last time bought the whole set of 007 DVD (20 discs i think), and it costed only 200RMB, which is like 40SGD, and it's all in good condition.

fatcat,
you still more hao ming.. at least you got to be with your husband ;o)

sheron,
great! have fun....

postpet,
my mum bought one for my wedding, it's not tailor made but it kinda fit her. i think she bought it from a shop at Tung Ying Building along Nathan Road...opposite to Parklane, then you have to find Cameron Road,it's along that street.

May be sheron and fatcat will know other lobang on this one!

for the transport, the cheapest and easiest way would be to take bus, think it should be A21 to Jordan and it will pass most of the major hotel (sheron and fatcat, pls correct me if i am wrong.. i never take this no. before!!) the cost is about 30-40 per person. it's definitely cheaper than airport express or taxi!! and they have announcement in both chinese, english and mandarin on which stop you are approaching so it won't be too hard for you to find your stop

fatcat

If take train there is special tourist ticket you can buy at the airport which include 3 days free use of MTR, bus & ferry and l trip to city,last year when i buy is about HK 300, you can get refund of the deposit when you leave HK.And if you travel to HK a lots you can keep it and use it next time like our Ez link card. if take cab l trip to Kowloon about HK 250.

wanlow1-You are 50% correct i do other designs too !

onyx

Hi Swatch

Thanks for your recommendations

Btw, my sil made a cheong sum in HK last week while on business trip. I think she hasn't recieved it yet- they're shipping to tokyo for her f.o.c.. Heard it's an old shanghai tailor recommended by the people at Shangri La. He charged her usd300! I will let you girls know if the cheong sum is worth it as soon as i get to know about it.

sheron

postpet2,
this tailor my fren highly recomended charge around HKD2K. the design on her cheong sum is hand printed.
i have yet to see it but she is singing high praises.
the tailor's tel is 23659952/94890169.
Asakura Fashion, the tailor's name is Mr. Chan

fatcat,
you interior design?
maybe i can ask for your professional advice when my place is ready for reno.
i will love to drink kopi with you

wanlow1,
i think the 3 days free use MTR package is still available. this will be the best.
no need to travel on the bus for 45 mins before you reach Jordan.
the VCD sold in SG is not that old. in fact there are some series which are not air yet in HK. to me the best is to rent. only buy your favaurite for collection.

btw, i am not living "tai tai" life.
still have to work.

cl3o

Hi Sheron/fatcat,

I'm leaving for Hk tomorrow .. hehe yeah.. kinda late to gather all necessary info for shopping.
do you happen to know where I can find Esprit, Nike and other warehouses?

Does the price really cheaper than singapore?

I also might be going to Macau. will it be safe to just walk around? I heard no need to take public transport, except from pier to the city?

fatcat

Hi CL30
1.Nike Factory Outlet
Location : Unit G, 8/F, Yip Fat Factory Building, Phase II, 73-75 Hoi Yuen Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Telephone : 2172 7938
2.Esprit Outlet 1.
Location : Shop B01-03, Basement One, Sheraton, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Esprit Outlet 2--Biggest one
Shop 327-331, 338&339, Level 3, Sun Yuen Long Centre, Yuen Long,
New Territories, Hong Kong
3.G O.D.'s Furniture & Houesware Discount Centre
Location : Shop 2, Level 3, Discovery Park, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Telephone : 2940 0555
Even normal price at G2000 or Balano are cheaper than Singapore that's why I always load my luggages with clothes whenever i go back HK.
It's quite safe to walk around Macau but of coz not at 3am in the morning la.
Have fun!!!

fatcat

Seems everybody are going to HK this few weeks, did anyone take the valuair to HK?? Please give me feedback if you plan to or already try their service.

cl3o

fatcat, thanks!

I took Cathay's promo, $300+ only.
think valuair these days also the same price, so prefer Cathay.

Hi fatcat,

my mom and sis is taking valueair to HK...
so far service is quite ok...
but its the first time booking with this airline and they have not gone for the trip yet so i can't comment much on what's it like in the plane..

but the pre-sales is quite all rite leh...

cl3o

Gwyen,

$300+taxes is for the air tix only.
I bought it early this month, as the promo was ending 12 May. But I saw in the newspaper that they have extended the promo till end of June

some travel agents are also having the F&E package with Cathay.

for my package, 5D/4N Cathay + Eaton hotel + airport transfer + airport taxes = $604.

newbride

i will be going to HK in mid June. Too bad. missed the sale. staying at Dorsett Garden, Jordan MTR (cos its the cheapest).5D4N is S$545.

Like to ask if it is worthwhile going to Ocean Park.Thinking of going to Lantau island, wishing tree, wong tai sin, half day city tour and shenzhen. Might not have enough time for shopping.

My folks are joining us too. Any ideas which places will be suitable for them as they dun really like shopping.

fatcat

postpet; i thought you already went to hk, anyway the tree is in tai po'lam chuen' i don't know the english name of the add, can try ask my friend in hk for direction for you if you want to go,once again i may need to email you in chinese.

min_minnie

Hi, newbride,

Might not be a good idea to go Ocean Park, Kantau Island, Shenzhen with the old folks.IN HK have to do lots of walking, old folks will get tire out. Went with my parents and their friends the last time, they can;t really walk too much. Ocean Park is big and fun but rides not suitable for old folks. Shenzhen have to do lots of walking as major activity is shopping. Lantau Island, have to take bus.

chris~m

can take KCR to Tai Wo station then go downstair bus stop take no.64K, tell the driver u wanna go wishing tree or Lam Chuen and he will call u when reach there

chris~m

hi newbride

if take bus to Lantau Island, it will take u abt 40mins... if u want the old folks to b more comfortable, take a cab better, faster too (ard 25mins only) it's ard HK$120-145, some can bargain and go w/o meter...

and now if u dun wanna climb up to the big buddha, u can take a short bus ride up there, think it's abt HK$20 or HK$25 per person... cut down so much walking...

cl3o

just came back from HK yesterday...
very..very tired..
went to Macau and Wishing tree also..
but... nv got chance to visit the Peak! *sigh*
ate a lot... we went to several places recommended by this booklet I got from 8days.
Those recommendations are really good.
Singaporean really know where to eat good food and shop cheap items! really a useful info.

posphet2, the wishing tree is very far away..
Chris has mentioned how to go there...
I went along to Yuen Long (can take the same bus) to go to Esprit warehouse.
Must shop @ Esprit warehouse, really cheap!!

gosh, I really admire u, Chris.. hehe.. seems like HK map is in your palm. U know exactly how to go to any place in HK (i read the other thread bout your 'proposed schedule').

Hi cl3o,

wow...so the wishing tree is indeed very far away...while looking at the online map, kinda hesistant of the journey liao leh...
but if on the way can go esprit warehouse...erm...maybe? hahaha

so any new discovery or places to recommend?

what is the booklet that you are referring to? which week of 8 days is it?

meijia

Hi c13o,

May I know how to go to Espirit warehouse. Any MTR nearby??

Is there a lot of things to buy??

benee

Hi cl3o
If it's the same 8days booklet you have.. I used to have one but lost it. Can you see if you can find the address of a cheongsam tailor in the booklet. It's somewhere in Causeway Bay.

anything interesting on Hong Kong Island itself ah?
Any worthwhile places to go?

For pastries hor, hang heung har?

chris~m

hi cl30

mayb it's becoz i used to plan itinerary for F&E customers when i'm with travel agent... so when i tourlead there or my personal visit, i will explore ard and gathers infos like hotels, transport and traffic timing esp those place of interest for the tourist...
but i'm not as familar as sheron and fatcat for the location of the shops... heez... i hv many frens and relatives in hk, so will visit often esp during cny, duno y... just love hk... esp their street snacks...
105865.jpg

share with u another place that i like to shop, shatin (next to shatin KCR)
but very wasted leh, u din visit the peak.....

hi postpet2
it seems like very far from the map, but actually quick fast also... it's abt 30mins KCR ride (i abroad from Mongkok station) and less than 10mins bus ride to wishing tree... just keep ur eyes on the window at those nice scenary after shatin station and u won't feel boring liao... and duno is it co-incident or wat, i make a wish for my "yin yuan" at the wishing tree and 5mths later i got to now my hubby... heez... so now everytime i go hk i will go there to "return" and as well make my new wish... heez... and it's fun to write ur wish and throw the oranges... the tree outside the main road is for normal wishes, and the "yin yuan" 1 is further in... i heard from the aunties saying, the highest and least times u throw the faster ur wish come true... good luck!

btw, normal days very few pple will go there, u can hv the whole place to throw any part u like, but if u visit during some of their p.holidays or cny,... wow... so crowded and u hardly hv place to throw... but it's interesting, and becareful the oranges will hit ur head...

cl3o

postpet2, the wishing tree is a good experience
nv see it before and quite fun trying to throw the orange on to the tree *difficult leh*
but my wish on the lover's tree could reach quite a high branch haha... *wish..wish..*

Meijia,
there are 3 Esprit warehouses. Fatcat listed in one of the post up there. another one.. er.. I have to check it when I get home

I think the biggest one is @ TST.. Oh .. the one in TST is not @ sheraton hotel anymore. It is now located opposite sheraton hotel, you will see there is a big sign of ESPRIT. It's near the Prestige Tower (the one with Benetton).

beene, will look @ my booklet and inform you later.

Thanks Chris, thanks cl3o,

ok..i'll go to the wishing tree...

cl30 : the biggest esprit outlet is in TST ah? not the one in Yuen Long? oh..then no need to go to the one in Yuen Long liao lah...very far...
I've gone to the TST one when i went to HK 5 years ago...

did you all buy the pastries back?
besides seranade, any other good place for 'yum cha' and dim sum?

sheron

hi gals!!

the other Esprit warehouse is in Tung Chung. the town nearest to CLK airport. it is located in the City Gate mall. In the mall, you will also get U2 and G200 warehouse. the price is cheap but not much choice.

swatch,

you in SG already?
i have just installed HKNET's broadband service. such a good deal!!
for the first 12 mths, it is free

cl3o

Hi Sheron,

ya..ya.. think the other Esprit outlet is the one near airport. I didn't go there as it's very far away.

Postpet2, I managed to eat Hang Heung's wife cake.was planning to bring back some, but when I went to the outlet @ Mongkok, it was closed. not sure if it's closed down or not open at that time.

I also didn't try Wing Wah pastries, as I bought the similar one from Macau... not so sure if the taste is the same.

the sad thing is.. I missed out Yung Kee goose restaurant and the egg tart *haiz*
next time... next time..

I ate @ Serenade. It opens 11am, found that char siew pao is good! But when I tried to order the sharkfin dumpling, they said they don't have it. I think because they didn't understand me hehe.. coz I can't speak mandarin nor cantonese...

there is this beef ball small eating shop @ mongkok. It's v nice!!! specialize in black pepper beefball and handmade fish noodle.

then there is a small dessert shop, selling milk beancurd (seems like it). but really need effort to look for the shop..

My feet still ache from all the walking, summore hvn't get enuf sleep hehehe...
but the trip was really fun.
would love to go back to HK next time.. but.. I think must make sure that it'll be during SALE period.

sheron

hi cl3o,

wah! it seems like you did cover a lot while you are in HK!!
when it comes to food, there is never enough room and time for it while in HK. i am glad that you have fun

no love lost if you miss Wing Wah's pastries coz those in Macau is 100 times better!!!

the next time when you come back to HK, go to Sham Tseng for goose instead. just take the train to Tsuen Wan and then transfer by bus or taxi to Sham Tseng. bus fare is HKD 4.90 and taxi fare is HKD 50). the goose is better and price is lower. plus you get a good view of Tsing Ma bridge.

the milk beancurd in Jordan is better and easier to locate. it is on the street behind CRC shopping center. there is a cow on the signboard.

wanlow1

juz back from hk, i like HK very much, shopping..
but very tired, walk until my leg pain pain. i bought weng hua wife cake, but a bit sweety, i unable to buy heng heung wife cake at mongkok, next time if go HK again have to try liao.

i like to shop at TST and central. ya the esprit at TST is big, and we bought many cloth fr Esprit outlet.

viavia

Any recommendations for nice and affordable dim sum?

Also Sheron, where is Sham Tseng? Near to Peak? What is the name of the place selling the goose?

Can i get the heng heung wife pastry at Sogo? Or anywhere at Tsim Tsai tsui area?

sheron

hi viavia,

majority of the dim sum restaurant are yummy. so you can actually walk in and eat without worries. if you want a good deal then go yum cha at tea time (3pm to 5pm). it is cheaper but may not have too much choice to offer.

Sham Tseng is in New Territory. there are 3 main restaurant selling goose in Sham Tseng village. the most traditional and populor one will be Yue Kei but my favourite is Chan Kei.
you can either take the train to Tsuen Wan followed by a cab or you can take the mini bus from Jordon (which is heading to Yuen Long).

the bus from Jordan to Sham Tseng takes about 25 mins (the drivers are well trained for F1 hee hee). the fare is HKD23.
i do not suggest you take the mini bus coz you may not know where to alight.

mini bus are those that you need to shout for the driver to stop where and when you like. it is load of fun and nerve recking for a first timer...

i dun think there is a Heng Heung in Sogo or TST. so far i only know of the Mongkok and Yuen Long shop. sorri, not a fan of their pastry.

wanlow1,

did you find time to watch any concert while in HK?
or spot any actress/actor?

wanlow1

no concert, but we manage to spot some tvb star at ,mirarma hotel. i like hk people(the way they speak english,the canton style english). I sin manage to eat goose, the tour guide told us that we cant find any goose at these few month coz of the "qin liu gan".

ya, i don think got any heng heung at TST.

cl3o

benee, I have checked thru my booklet, none about the place u mentioned.

Sheron.. gee.. so there is another place for goose, hehe ok, next time will try..

btw, I managed to eat smelly beancurd. Got it @ Yuen Long (far hor...) not as smelly as I thought.
My friend said it was smelly, but I didn't find it smelly at all.. aiyah.. probably my smelly threshold is quite high hahaha..

newbride

Hi Chris, Min and all

Thanks for your advice! read that need to take 200+ steps to the Big Buddha..tink i will be panting away before i reach...

in a dilemma now...my parents want to go Macau, while my hubby wants to go Ocean park..But i prefer to spend more time shopping...Anyone can help?

my planned iternary :
Day 1
Lantau Island
Shopping in TST (Granville Rd, Waterfront promenade, Esprit)
Temple st night mkt

Day 2
Half day city Tour
Wong Tai Sin
Wishing Tree
Shatin (New Town Plaza, Snoopy World)
Kowloon Tong (Festival Walk)

Day 3
Shenzhen tour (Windows of the World)
Shopping in Mongkok and Prince Edward (Flower St,Fa Yuen St, Sai Yee St)
Ladies St night mkt

Day 4
Macau/Ocean Park
Stanley Mkt
Shopping in Central (Li Yuen, Times Square)
Peak/Lan Kwai Fang

Do you guys tink i have enough time to cover all meaningfully? : ) its my first time to HK..reali excited to go all places...

chris~m

hi new bride

wow.... i think it's a bit hard to cover the places u mention...

btw, wat time u reach hk in Day1? i believe ur package include airport-hotel transfer? if that's the case, then u mean u want to go bk to hotel 1st then got to lantau again?

and according to the local tour guided timing, the half day city tour will ends ard almost 1pm... feel dat Day2 itinerary abit rushing?

Day4 also leh...

hmmn... y not u email me ur departure and return date + flight schdule + which hotel staying, so dat i can try to do a better itinerary for u?

btw, does ur parents want to do most of the shopping too? which r the shopping area u think they won't enjoy?

newbride

Hi Chris!

yah..feel that there's too little time to cover all these places...
Thanks a lot for your help! will email you the details in a while : )

cl3o

hi newbride,
just my opinion here.. i found Ladies St is better than Temple St. You can find lotsa sanrio items there..