Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

swatch2004

starfruit,

if you are still looking for aircraft model, just happen to see this shop at the junction of waterloo road and peace avenue today that has lots of model on display, you may want to check it out.

hi sheron,

weather is funny these days, so hot some time and kinda cool the next day....

sheron

starfruit,

i hope my info is not too late. i found out 2 shop where to get military a/c model. it is in Mongkok. pls give me your email add and i will forward you the map. coz dun know how to translate it in english.

swatch,

how's life?

lea

hi sheron/swatch

understand that you gals staying in HK now. how's the weather like over there these few days? i'll be reaching on sun and bringing my bbs so worried abt whether the weather will be so hot and rainy that it's difficult for us to get around. thanks.

sheron

hi lea,

weather is like in SG. hot and humid with occasional rain.
so far the weekend forecast is clear sky with temp. around 29 degree.

be prepared to suffer if you are shopping in ladies' market etc or do other outdoor activities. to make the best of it, bring along hand held fan and a bottle of water wherever you go.

but if you were to stay in shopping mall then no problem. the aircon is always blasting!!

Winnie,

July is good for shopping in HK. It's summer sale period.
weather is hot and these days cannot comfirm typhoon period.
the past few years, typhoon was very unpredictable.

airfare to HK these days are so cheap, it is worth taking the risk. pick CX, SQ or Garuda. i noticed that this three airline have fantastic package.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

life is busy as usual...but really glad about the recent price war between the airlines, though i don't really benefit much from it because if i do fly, i will take longer than 5 days in singapore (which is the max for most offer tickets)

winne,

july should be not too bad lah, these few years the typhoon is coming later and later... but it will be hot, like in singapore

lea,

now the weather is not too bad, it is hot in the day definitely, but not really raining at least... if you have bb, may be you want to plan a bit more indoor shopping...

have fun!

panggou

hi sheronn & swatch, thanks, my hubby warn me it will be too terrible hot 37 degrees. with typhoon, not sure if he is trying me to disuade me to go there to shop:p..

does it get as hot as 37 degree?

fatcat

starfruit: Try waterloo road, (where you can see the Mongkok rail station bridge aoverhaed) lots of big model shop along that road.

fatcat

As Sheron mention, "fa Yuen street" is a great place for cheap and trendy clothes and accessory. Just get out from Prince Edward MTR station and follow the exit sign. And a great place for street food too like "Siew mai" "Yu Dan" "fake shark fin" etc....Yummy...

fatcat

Winne, I live there for 28 years and never ever experience any higher than 33C before, your hubby just worry you will burn your wallet la1!!

swatch2004

hi fatcat,

another hk gal joining the thread?... hehe, so glad to know more hong kong ppl here...

lea,

heavy pouring this morning, but it does not last for the whole day... not sure about the coming week though

winnie,

37 degree, don't think so... think you may get overheated from the shopping than the weather.. hehe... may be your husband just worried that summer is the sale seasons here... heheh..

fatcat

Hi Swatch, in fact I've moved to Sing for almost 6 yrs already.But still go back a few times every year to visit family and friends, so you are in HK now?? Did you go to see the artifact from Mongkok?

kenneth

Hi folks, any recommendations on hotel to stay? Not too expensive, middle class will do. My fiancee loves shopping. So i guess it has to be near to the MTR and of course girls shopping areas.
We love food too.
Any recommendations will be much appreciated. Thanks!

twinstars

Hi Kenneth

I would like to recommend u to take Royal Plaza at Prince Edward. Beside the hotel is Grand Century Shopping Mall, 1 min walk to MongKok KCR, 5 mins walk to Prince Edward MTR, 3 mins walk to Fa Yuen St, and it's also nearby MongKok shopping area and Ladies St.

The most attractive is, it's a 5* hotel but at 3* rate only. I frequent HK, and RP is the best among the rest I've stay.

ps: HongThai hv the cheapest rate for Royal Plaza

wanlow1

Hi swatch,

i will b goin HK end of this month, would like to know abt Hung hum indoor stadium (where singer having their big concert), may i know currently which singer in HK will b having concert on end of may? or how am i going to search the list of singer will b held concert at that indoor stadium. Thank you

fatcat

Wanlow, I don't think you can get any ticket now as from 1/6, Sam Hui is holding a concert until 10th June and is all sold out already.

fatcat

Kenneth; BP International House (8 Austin Road, Tsim Sha Tsui), is not bad too, good location, near Jordan MRT lots of shopping not not expensive,book through travel agent is much cheaper.

sweetypie

My hubby and I are going to HKG end of June. Have checked that their summer sale is starting 26 June thru to end Aug.

We have booked our 4D3N package with Gunung Raya on CX. We will be staying at the Ramada Kowloon Hotel with 1/2 day city tour and 1 day full tour to Shenzhen or Lamma Island thrown in.

Has anybody out there stayed there before. Any info greatly appreciated.

fatcat

Sweetiepie. Ramada Kowloon is great location, lots of shopping just around the corner, and lots of good food nearby too. For the half day tour i will recommand Lamma Island better.

swatch2004

wanlow,

guess fatcat answered your question, actually i do not really keep up with who is holding concert..heheh

kenneth,

what's your budget like, there are actually quite a no. of decent hotel in the TST area, small room but reasonable quality and price, only need to know your budget!

sweetypie,

ramada hotel is a small hotel but should be okay, and it has good location, on the cameron road, it's about 5-10 min walk to MTR, so don't worry about it!

meijia

I will be going to HK on 25 June and will be staying at Stanford Hotel (Kowloon area). Is the location ok??

As I am on honeymoon to Korea today, will check your reply when I am back.

sweetypie

Fatcat - swatch2004
Many thanks for the info. Much appreciated.

Fatcat,

Would you be able to recommend some good eating areas around the hotel ?

sheron

hi starfruit,
email you the map leh. happy shopping

swatch,
i am also very busy lately. wanted to catch Sam Hui's concert but no time. but i am sure he will add a few more performance (unless there's no slot for him).

fatcat,
so you are like me, huh?
travelling in and out of HK and SG?

the Prudential hotel in Jordan is not bad too. it is right above Jordan station. the room size is average and deco is rather decent.
easy access to the free shuttle bus to Kowloon station for connection to AEL (airport train).

and if you need a foot massage after all the shopping, there is a 24 hours foot reflexlogy centre next door.
good rates on sunday! HKD88 only.

fatcat

Sweetypie; must try the street snack and "Cha Chan Tin ²è²ÍÌü" food you shouldn't miss like HK style milk tea, pineapple bun etc. On the same street of your hotel, there is tons of rest you can try and don't forget to try roast meat in HK too.

Sharon: I usually go back 2 or 3 times a year, not that frequent. Just to visit family and shopping loh. How often you travel??

anyone tried taking the train to Shenzhen for more shopping?

Heard that the area just at Shenzhen station is a 'heaven' for imitation goods...haha
more shopping...

wanlow1

Sheron,

so u bought sam hui ticket oledi? aiya, i am too late!! but my trip is 28-31 may, don think can catch the show.

swatch2004

Ang Bee Kah,

standford hotel, you know which area it is? jordon or mongkok? not very sure about this one...

hi sheron,
yes, have been busy lately too... not really a great fan of sam hui so did not really follow the news..hhhehe, but it's common for them to add somemore later

postpet,
if you are going to shenzhen, have to be careful of your wallet as fatcat mentioned, also try not to talk to strangers that come up to you.... it would be better if you have local friends with you!

hoshi5

I'm new to this thread.
Need some advise abt honeymoon in HK..
we are intending to go in mid-June for abt 4D3N...
So any idea shld we take F&E or package tour?
Also which hotel stay is best and which area to stay in?
Which are the places to go to get the best from HK?
Thanks so much!

fatcat

Wanlow; xing guang da dao is open already but to be honest, not much to see. Only got names and not much palm prints.

sheron

wanlow1,
i din get the ticket at the end. Q for half an hour still no luck so i gave up. dun tink i wanna watch the concert (if still have ticket). it seems like Sam Hui is trying to give his son a break in the showbiz. so this time round, the focus is on his boy. that is why his guests for the concert are all the young singers (those that sing like karaoke singer..hee hee)
you better go to xing guang da dao asap. before long, it would be footprints instead of handprints. footprints of the visitors!! all step till black black leh!!! so far, ppl who went came back with negative remarks.

postpet2,
shopping in shenzhen is very tiring.
if you are good at bargaining then ok otherwise it is better to skip this place. end up buying junk. and must be real careful when you are there.
i was choosing some immitations stuff in a shop wen all of a sudden the shop ppl lock up all doors. i was stuck in the shop alone for 10 odd mins due to some spot check. that was scary.
you can go to shenzhen either by train or bus. dun go on weekend or public hols, you will regret.

fatcat,
i travel every month.
have to be sure my hubby dun 'bau yee lai'

swatch,
any travelling plans? not taking a break this summer?
so who is your current canto pop idol?

hoshi5,
in HK, there is no need for package tour.
it will totally restrict you from shopping.
free n easy is the best.
Kowloon island will have more choice for budget 3 star hotel. there are a few mentioned in this thread.
Victoria Peak is a must go.

sweetypie

Sheron - 'Feimao',

Any advice on how to to to Macau on our own.

Is half day enuf? Hubby would like to go to Lisboa casino and gamble a bit.

Any places of interest to go and what specialty food that we can try whilst there!

Many thanks

sheron

wanlow1,
me 29.
for guy i used to like Aaron Kwok but after meeting him in person, my fantasy over him vanish.
for girl my all time fav. is Faye Wong.
but i am not those super craze fans. juz like her songs and style aspecially her attitude

yesterday at work, i met Wu Bai (the rocker from Taiwan). he is a real snob!

sweetpie,
you can also take the ferry from TST but i prefer the ferry out of Shuen Wan. new and smoother ride.
i would not recomend your hubby to gamble in Lisboa. the crowd there is 'mah mah". you win, you kena force to pay loads of tips.
my fren was there last mth. she and hubby won 20K jackpot. ended up they only got 18K coz the cashier insist of taking 2K as tips.

Macau is good for food.
go to Tham Chai for shark's fin and Macau most famous pock bun (chu chai bao). yummie!!!
the is a street that sells local biscuit. freshly made. all these are walking distance.

not to forget portugese egg tart. there is one cafe near Lisboa that sell the best i have eaten so far.

Thanks for the comments abt shenzhen...seems like its not that a fantastic place to go?
got to be rather careful...

how about accomodation...
any hotel with rather good location costing S$100 or below?

wanlow1

sheron,

me too, last time my fav female artist is faye wong, but sometime i like to listen to kelly chan and mirium yeung. For guy... don have.

swatch2004

sheron and wanlow1,

i am 26.... my favourite singer at the moment.. heheh. is stephanie sun... not like a great fan but like her songs! met her in person once at the airport, was on the same flight, she is really petite!!!

will be going to singapore next month... to see my hubby after all these months!! ;>

hoshi5

Hi sweetypie,
may i know how much is ur package?
sounds good... I'm intending to go mid-june. Not sure still got time to book or not?
Is ramada 3* or 4*?

sweetypie

Hi hoshi5,
Bought it for S$529 (all in) per person. Was lucky as CX promo last day to book was on 12 May.
Went down to their branch in Chinatown and paid the deposit.

Currently CX has extended their promo till end June. You can check out the papers for more info.
GA and CI are having promos as well.

Me think Ramada is abt 3 to 3 1/2 *.

HK Mega Sale comm from 26 June. Heard if you go before that, stuff like clothings are expensive.

Trust this helps!

wanlow1

swatch,

stephsnie has a great voice, but i seldom listen to mandarin song, so i don know how to sing her song.

Sweetypie,

(((( i will go to HK by end of this month, i don know HK sale is on june..Very sad now.

swatch2004

wanlow,

don't worry, if you are not going for branded stuff, the difference in price is not that much... actually, i always thought that sales in HK kinda start in august...

another plus point is that when there is sale, all the nice item and suitable size goes fast, so now, you can get more choices before the sales start!

starfruit

<font color="0077aa">sweetypie</font>: sorry didn't know u posted the price already. is this the total u paid including transfer and all tax?

<font color="0077aa">sheron</font>: Thanks for the map. Its really helpful

<font color="0077aa">all</font>: i like the Prudential hotel as mentioned by sheron as well. Its fantatsic, just above the MTR and lots of shops and location is good too.

sheron

postpet2,

once you reach Lo Woo station (Shenzhen) you will find an information booth. you can get loads of bargain hotel there. the last time i stayed in Gold Hotel. i can't remember the price leh but bear in mind that all China hotel require you to pay HKD500 for deposit while staying there. there is no need to change for REM cost HKD is accepted in Shenzhen.

Sweetypie,
pls give me your email add. tks.

wanlow1,
send you the email leh.

swatch,
you must be excited!!! meeting your hubby...