Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

sheron

wanlow1,
nope. me from sg.
working in HK only. but for 9 years leh so consider local lah coz have permanent ID liao.

sweetypie,
got problem getting into my email account. will mail you tomolo.

postpet2,
juz for your info, my map is to buy military a/c model. still interested??

fatcat,
so you are married and living in SG?

fatcat

Hi Sharon, yes i'm hongkie but married and lived in Sing for 8 yrs now. So how often you travel to HK now?? I miss the street snack so much, what's your favorite food in HK??

sweetypie

Fatcat - Sheron,

Hey ladies need your help !
Any idea if cosmetics/skin care are cheap in HKG esp. during their Shopping Festival. If so, what are the brand names.

Also are there CHEAP (abt S$30) all-you-can-eat seafood buffet in the upmarket hotels there. Thinking of trying it out.

Any info greatly appreciated.

Hi Sheron,

oops...dun think so...

Actually wanna ask you girls a question..
is it worth while to tailor Cheongsum in HK?
If so, any recommendation?

BTW, i'm looking at staying at Kowloon Hotel...OK???

fatcat

Sweetypie: My No1 choice of cosmetics store is call LUNG SHING DISPENSARY in TST (GROUND FLOOR, 28 GRANVILLE ROAD,T.S.T., KOWLOON), they have the widest choice and cheapest price and a lot of hard to find brands. Sa sa is very convenient , got stores everywhere but not as cheap as Lung Shing.For hotel buffet/food i will recommand you to buy a copy of "Eat drink man woman" weekly magazine when you are in HK, as promotion change every month/weeks, so my info may not be up to date.By the way if you can't survive without chille, you better bring your own coz no restaurant, KFC or Mac will supply chille in HK.

sheron

postpet2,
majority of cheongsam made in HK are actually make in China. it will be tailored in China followed by final finishing by the HK designer. i do know of a good tailor in Whampoa (HK) at affordable price.
if you want to custom make and collect your cheongsam during your trip, it will cost more.

sweetypie,
do you need the map for military a/c model? i have not mail it to you coz busy
agreed with Fatcat (Lung Shing) is a good stop for cosmetics. SA SA or Bonjour can get you good bargain too. both have branch everywhere.

at SGD30 for upmarket seafood buffet is a bit difficult to get. tings are starting to get expensive these days (compared to after SARS period). personally, i prefer to have seafood in Saigon or Lei Yue Mun. but if you are a tourist, be prepared to kena 'chop' on the price.
it is a must to try "chew yim lai lui har" and "sing chee".

Kowloon hotel is run by Peninsula. location is good and the interior is nice too. just that the room size is super small. if your suitcase is left open, you will not have much room to walk in the room (can imagine?)
if you can get another hotel at the same rate, i will suggest you choose another hotel.
btw, Kowloon hotel is situated behind Peninsula hotel. the train station and star ferry is steps away.

fatcat,
i have a lot of fav. food in HK. i love yum cha but these days dun go often. curry fishball (especially in Fa Yuen Market), any 'tong shui', 'sai tor', 'bor lor yau', 'lou kei yik' and 'tzeh chai min' are a few of my favourite!!!
oh no....my tummy is making hungry noises leh

i am working in HK. so i travel to SG instead to be with my hubby.

fatcat

Sharon: Wow it's amazing, how can you maintain the relationship with your hubby??? Mmmm...you must be a real tough lady!!
I like the snack store in Fa Yuen street too, it's always crowded, their "Yu dan" and "sui mai" is wonderful. By the way do you know where can find "chau do fu" nowadays? Last year i went back in winter, I can't find "chau do fu" anywhere, so disappointed!!!Last time i used to find it in causeway bay near Victoria park, but now that area are so clean, no more hawker.

fatcat

for smelly tofu
maybe u can try temple street or pok lam street (red light district)? they hv a lot of supper Da Pai Dang (street hawkers).

heli48

Sheron,

Seems like u know all the plcs for good food!! hehehe... I luv yum cha too...where do you recommed? I'll be in HK tis week, staying at TST.

fatcat

Yule: I try temple street but seems they are not always there, I can't find them last time, anyway thanks for the info and will try again next time when i go.

wanlow: have a good trip, Jordon is a good location, got lots of food and shopping too.

wanlow1

fatcat,

ya, feel like excited now.

may i know if i wana to but some bridal accesories like earing,bridal shoes, where shall i go?

fatcat

wanlow: There is a big bridal mall in Mongkok,call Golden plaza, here is their website but it's meant for H konger so don't know if you will like their designs. But anyway you sure will go Mongkok shopping so just drop by and see loh.

http://www.goldenplaza.com.hk/

sheron

heli48,

walk across to the cultural centre. the restaurant is Seranade. i like to yum cha there coz food and view is good. make sure you are there before noon otherwise the choices will run out.
i looove to eat that is why life in HK is the best!!!

have a great time in HK

wanlow1,
there are loads of choice for bridal shoes in Golden Plaza. and if you are looking for 'kua' this is also the place. my gf juz got her bridal shoes there.

fatcat,
there is one stall selling smelly tofu near ladies market. it is always there. i will take note if there are any new ones and keep you update.

FatCat, Sheron, (aka Hong Kong expert),

you all heard about this place called "Factory Outlet" on the map?

It at Hong Hum area. Bounded by four roads : Hok Yuen St,Ma Tau Wai Road, Man Yue st, Man Lok St.

Any idea?

fatcat

Postpet2: I never been to Hung Hom one as most of my friend said the brands are the old fashion style, more for mature people. You may like to go to Joyce warehouse where they are mainly on designer labels like Armani, Anna Sui, Vivienne Westwood etc and best of all they accept credit cards. But this place is quite far away in Ap Lei Chau, will check detail add and direction for you if you interest.

sweetypie

Fatcat - Sheron,

Are dried seafood (scallop/abalone etc) cheaper in HKG? I remembered once I went to Sheung Wan with me mom years back and bought some back. Wanna buy some back for my MIL this time. Are there other dried stuff worth buying ??

Can advise where can i get them nearby in Kowloon area where I'll be staying.

Many thanks

fatcat

Sweetypie: I think Sheung Wan is still the best in quality and choice. I can't remember which hotel you stay but if in kowloon, the most convient place for dry seafood is Yue Hwa Emporium near Jordon MTR, or their herbal shop in Mongkok.

fatcat

Postpet2: Can you read chinese on your PC? As it's easier to email you the direction/street name/building in chinese. I try to type chinese on this forum but it won't show.

Hi fatcat,

dunno if my pc can read chinese or not..but its ok. mail it to me and i'll find a way to decipher...

can mail to [email protected]

BTW, Serenade was being mentioned as a place for good food....where is it?

fatcat

Ang Bee Kah, if the one is call Stanford hillview it's not very convenient but it's still a nice hotel in TST area, if it's the one in Mongkok, than location is just so so and i myself don't like that area, a bit too local

kingking

Hi, may I ask if anyone know whether I can find Kaya spread in Hongkong? Is it commonly found or should I say, is it a common delight there?

swatch2004

this thread is quite active recently and cannot keep track of names anymore...hehe..

for those dried seafood, the best of all would be in Sai Wan, which you have to walk a little bit from the Sheung Wan MTR station....if you walk along the Des Voeux Road West, you can find over 50 shops selling dried seafood, at cheap price and good quality, they have shops specialise in shark fin, bird nest (this would be along queen's road west) and different things

For those interested in finding out locatios in hk, you can refer to http://www.centamap.com/cent/index.htm

Regarding kaya, no, this is not common food in HK, and definitely not easy to find good one... may be some at indonesian food places, and those selling singapore dishes and it would be expensive and yet not as good as in singapore. (can they imagine they sell one whole pandan cake at 160HKD???)

regarding the hotel standford, like waht fatcat said, there are two on kowloon side... so which one are you referring to?

sheron, when is your next trip back to singapore? i am going next week finally!!!! =)

wanlow1

if i wana to but bird nest,but don want to got to sai wan, can i juz go to any shops along kowloon or tst? izzit cheaper that SG?

sheron

Seranade is in TST. it is where the caltural centre is. walk up the steps and you will see the restaurant (one and only chinese restaurant there). the dim sum is good and pricing is juz a bit more compared to other local dim sum "cha lau". service is excellent (most of the time....)

wanlow1,
the bird nest sold in HK are mostly from Indonesia. this type will melt if you double boil for too long. so becareful otherwise you will end up drinking bird nest soup instead.
the 'hoi mei' shop on kowloon island are not so trustworthy. even local aunties kena con at times.

swatch,
me in SG now.
how long will you be in SG?
dun forget to check out the Kee Wah bakery in CLK airport on your departure.

kingking,
why are you looking for kaya in HK?

kingking

Swatch2004, thanks for the infor.

Sheron, I asked becos I'l be heading to Hong Kong this coming weekend and our fren is coming to pick us up fr the airport, so i tot of getting her our delicacy here.

fatcat

Kingking: you better buy them dry pork meat from China town, all my HK friends ask for it whenever I go back.

swatch2004

kingkong,

you are welcome, kaya will be nice gift! and bak kua is something i still have to buy everytime when i come back from singapore. they just like it loh. other than that, i used to buy the prima taste curry chicken for my friends who like to cook too, and they really love it... but it's available in hk now though very expensive...

sheron,

i am planning to stay for a while... a month may be.. just need a long holiday to meet my hubby and friends and hubby and i planning for a short trip as well...will check out the Kee Wah this time at the airport

fatcat

King King: yes the Chinatown Bak Kua is HKonger's no1 favourite from Singapore, we also got Bak Kua in HK but taste is not as good as here, my HK friend also like pineapple tart from Bangawan Solo.

onyx

Need some advice on shopping in HK as we may be heading there for a short shopping trip with both sets of parents *horrors* (most probably separately)

Could you advice where to find elegant evening wear for older ladies (nearing 70)? My MIL is no ah por por, quite modern, hate sequins and she's rather fat and short and will not suit most glam evening gowns, so it's difficult to find suitable clothes here in SG. Any ideas greatly appreciated.

Also, is Hong Kong a good place to buy diamond jewellery in terms of prices, designs, quality? If yes, could you throw up some names of the reputable jewellers you visit.

sheron

kingking,
most of my HK fren like the pineapple tart from BS. you can also buy them the pandan cake.
hee heee...looks like you will have to give your fren a hamper instead

swatch,
one month, fantastic!
besides meeting up with family and frens, you can eat all the local food that you have been missing.
which airline you book this time?

fatcat,
you working in SG or you are living 'tai tai' lifestyle?

kingking

Hi Swatch, fatcat and Sheron, haha, think i really have to get a hamper filled with all the nice S'pore delicacies for my fren....ooh, i must really vacuum-pack all the stuff, otherwise the plane will b filled wi 'bak kua+kaya+pineapple tart+curry' smell....haha...er....eee..wat a blend.

ya i did think of getting the prima curry paste too but since u mentioned its avail there, then i'll skip that. must teach them how to make that famous ya-kun kaya toast mann!

actually come to think of it, s'pore got many nice food hor? got indian lah, malay, nonya peranakan, chinese, thai lah..so many varieties.

fatcat

Hi Sharon: I work here but after i got married, i was kinda semi retired, work as freelancer and housewife now.

Kingking: have fun in HK.But not sure your HK friend will like kaya as most of my friend don't like it, said too sweet.

swatch2004

onyx,

how about cheung sam? you can have it tailor made in HK easily... or you can go to Yue Wah to find some chinese style gowns, very elegant.... or if you go to the golden plaza mentioned earlier there would be lots of clothes for mothers in wedding.. not sure about price and style as my mother got her things without me even noticing!!

regarding diamonds, think you can just go to the big jewellery shop like Chow Sang Sang, Chow Tai Fok... they have lots of branches in Mong Kok along Nathan Road, and surely filled with lots of ppl form China as they bring CASH to buy real expensive items.. so these shops should be reliable.

Sheron,

yes, miss singapore food a lot... satay, stingray, roti prata and also ya-kun... and i also like the taiwanese xiao ping at Geylang...

though there is this throatcutting price war between airline, it does not really benefit me as my trip is long and i want more fleixble schedule (like most of those discounted tickets cannot change date), so i am sticking to my favourite choice - UA, which is value for money!

when are you coming back to hk

kingkong,

no need to vacuum seal lah, the bak kua would be sealed already!!heeh... sometimes, i buy cookies from BS too for friends in hk...

and like what fatcat said, kaya is not that common here in hk, but don't worry, i will finishe it for you if your friends don't like it..hehhe.. have fun in hk!

wanlow1

swatch,sheron,

HK TVB VCD cheaper ? if i wana to buy tVB drama VCD, where should i go? sam sui po? or normal VCD shop or shopping complex?

sheron

wanlow1,

the TVB vcd is not very cheap in HK. i normally buy in SG when Poh Kim got discount. we get to watch for free so no market for it.

fatcat,

oic, can kepoh what you do?
i am tinking of resigning soon.

kingking,

as long as you are not bringing durian then no worries. i am sure your fren will find the durian puff/cake here is better then those in HK.

have fun in HK

swatch,

i will be back in HK end of the week. today is my hubby's birthday. i am giving him a surprise party. i am so excited now....me am sucker for surprises!!!!!

wanlow1

sheron,fatcat,

wow, two of u very "hao ming", can stay at home and living "tai tai" lifestyle..

i seldom buy TVB VCD at SG, coz i think quite expensive and not many new drama, most of them old drama.