Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

chloe

I am going to Hong Kong end of this month. Would like to know where can I shop for reasonable priced ladies' apparel? Thanks.

jolin

Hi chloe

For clothing, u can go to nathan road at tim sha shui & sham sui po (both u can take their mrt to reach there)... there got a lot fo those cheap cheap clothing.... mongkok is also another shopping place.... But if u r looking for those branded stuff then u have to go to causeway bay & central side .... the things there r more exp lor...

mandysst

try taikoo. there is a taikoo station. the shopping centre always have sales. and it nornally quite a good buy.

also dun miss this place, i think it is called festival walk or something, it is located just above kowloon mrt, or kowloon tung mrt. it is the biggest shopping centre there.

try also ladies market in mongkok, u can get good buy there.

and oh, a must try! xu liu shan mango shake. best u ever tasted!

eternity

hi chloe,

i think u meant xu liu xian right? the one that sells herbal tea and desserts...

there are quite a number of branches around... you'll probably see then along the shop houses when you are doing your shopping....

jolin

hi chloe

Dun worry, u can SEE xu liu xian practically everywhere in HK .. kekeeee ... even the nathan street that i told u have oso .... i think they have a few shop along tim sha shui lor, even the airport have it .... HK island oso .... nice nice dessert, me eat it everyday when i was there.... they got a lot of different dessert wondering y s'pore dun have this kind of shop ....

chloe

OIC.. it's a shop that sells desserts.. will definitely give it a try!! Thanks, gals.

How about food? Any recommendation??

jolin

HONGKONG tim sum !!!!!.... keeeekeee i like their
wanton noodle oso ....U dare to eat their road side food or not ???? they got those many kind of fried food items then u choose what u wan n they wil cook it in a sause for u .... i like the "yu dan" oso ..... esp the curry flavour one ....

sheron

Chloe,

go to flower market if you wanna but cheap and the latest trend.
take the train to mongkok or prince edwards and head towards the exit of flower market. it is 5 odd mins walk from the station. (curry fishball here is fab!!!)

you can also go to lai chi kok. (exit castle peak rd.) this is wholesale shopping. most shop still sell individual pieces. this is a good place to get nice hangbags too. it is open during ofice hours. close on weekends.

if you are planning to buy u2 or bossinni, it is cheaper on kowloon island. the are price diff. on certain items.

do check out hk dim sum in the convention centre in wan chai. it is a must to eat goose in hk!
you can either go to sham tseng or try yung kee in central (lan kwai fong).
if you wanna eat seafood, then it is better to go to lei yue mun compared to saikun. but over all it is still expensive coz they know you are tourist.

enjoy your trip! the weather is fab at the moment...too bad currently no sales.

swatch2004

as a local Hong Konger and still staying in Hong Kong at the moment, I must say that you gals really know a lot more shopping lobang than me... I did not even realize some of those places got shops till reading this threda..

=>

sheron

hi swatch,

me also living in HK.
so where do you normally shop?
maybe you know some other lobang which i dun.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

shopping for me is mostly those big areas, like TST, festival walk, Causeway Bay... I don't really like Mong Kok as it is too crowded (anyway, everywhere in HK is crowded)

How about you? =>

sheron

hi swatch,

i frequent kowloon side as more comfy with the area. i like causeway bay too but hardly go to festival walk. it is kinda out of the way for me.
dun go to mongkok much too. it is really crowded especially weekend.

how long have you stay in HK?
you like life in HK?

starfruit

Hi Chloe,

For your reference, there is a Xu Liu San (or Hui Lau Shan in cantonese) just opp Time Square Main Entrance (Causeway Bay station)U won't miss it. I luv the desserts there too.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

i am staying at the kowloon side, but my work place is across the harbour. As a local who grown up here in HK and someone who lived abroad before, there are definitely things that you can find in HK and no where can be measured up... like the shopping here and the dim sum here!! but i really wish we can have bigger space at home like in singapore...hehe..

How about you then?

I like festival walk only because it's kinda close to my place, and they have quite a no. of shop there, good choice in the summer.. at least don't need to go out of air-con!!

sheron

hi swatch,

i used to live near you (that part of town) but now am in NT. been in HK for about 8 odd yrs. i love it here!!!
agree with you that no where can measured up.
shopping is so update and never out of choices and of course food, this place is food heaven

too bad things are expensive compared to home...

do you go back to SG often?

Chloe,

you left for your hols already?

swatch2004

hi sheron,

yes, things are a bit more ex here than singapore, esp makan... but then again, ppl also earn more in HK.

i used to fly to SG twice a year when my hubby was there, but now he is in aussie, so i guess i won't go to SG unless necessary. hehe..

you have been here for 8 years.. so you are actually quite local by now! btw, there are couple of places offering singapore makan in HK, have you tried (although I must say the taste of things there is nothing compared to singapore's real thing, and the price is superb ex!!)

hi chloe
i usually go to Causeway Bay cos I like things at Island Beverly (diagonal to SOGO) and another complex next Eu Yan Sang. These complexes have HK designers' own labels which u can't find elsewhere. There's also a new shopping complex called Mongkok something. It sells a lot of handbags. Essentially, brands at Times Square can be found in S'pore. I normally head straight to Joyce Beauty to grab beauty products.

As for those shopping malls at Taikoo, Admiralty, Central, they are too expensive, and most of them could be found in Singapore too.

If u r looking for cheap fashion, TsimShaTsui will be the place for u. A lot of shops carry funky street apparels, some are factory overruns and seconds, some are local designs made in China. If u don't mind quality, 'In and Out' Fashion sells affordable things like those in our THIS FASHION. Are u into European labels? U might get limited stock in some shops at TsimShaTsui too.

Festival Walk at Kowloon Tong MTR is also highly recommended by me. But most of the brands, again, can be found in S'pore.

If u hv the time to cross the border to Shenzhen, things are a fraction cheaper than HK's. But the experience is less desirable than that in HK. I'm always thrilled to walk the bustling streets of HK, even though I can buy the same brands in S'pore!

sheron

hi swatch,

yup, am considered local. gotten my permanent ID.

i go back to SG alot coz hubby is there. so never bother to check out SG makan in HK. like what you said, it's ex and standard 'mah mah'.

boo hoo hoo.... i dun earn alot over here leh. that is why have to move to NT. (cheaper, hee heee)

do you enjoy LDR with hubby?

swatch2004

hi sheron,

you must be kidding.... enjoy LDR?? I think that's the part i enjoyed the least in a relationship!Do you enjyou your LDR? hehe...

so you are staying in HK by yourself?

I know that places in NT would be slightly cheaper, but my option is even cheaper - staying with family! hehe...

sheron

hi swatch,

of course i dun like LDR lah (juz in case my hubby is reading..only kidding)

yup, me leaving alone. so not like you. after work got soup to drink. me eat maggi noodle

chloe

Hello Sheron

Thanks for the advices. Will be leaving for HK next Wed. Too busy to login. Have lotz of work to clear before I go on leave.

Wow, you have been staying in HK alone for 8 yrs (that's quite long).. how do you manage to maintain your relationship with your hubby? AMAZING!!

Qn again: Can recommend any nice lor por pastry?

starfruit & yule, appreciate your contribution too. =)

sheron

hi Chloe,

lor por pastry can get at Kee Wah bakery. you can get it at the airport. this bakety have nice packing. otherwise can go to Hang Heung. Tis place a bit diff to locate. they hv branch in Mongkok n Yuen Long. their most populor item is 'dan quen'. something like our love letter but in long rolls. during CNY also got stall in Taka selling.

me n hubby meet pretty often so no must problem so far....i hope! heehee

swatch2004

chloe and sheron,

the branch at the airport is Wing Wah instead of Kee Wah... now i am so lazy everytime i will choose to buy at the airport! (there are two shops at the airport, one after you have gone thru the custome! so no need to carry!)

sheron,

that's the good thing about living at home, but then again, when you want some peace... you may not get it!! =p

sheron

swatch,

there is a new Kee Wah shop in the airport now. it is after immigation before taking the escalator down to the departure gate.

i understand what you mean. i am so used to living by myself that at times i find it difficult to adjust when i am back home.
so all things in lifrehave it's pro and cons lah, huh?

Chloe,

too bad i am busy, otherwise will be your local tour guide. (prefer rates!!)
enjoy yourself

kare2711

Sheron
Envy you. I've been to HK numerous times and I love that place. The world is so huge that I have literally no time to go back to HK at all. Even though I love it there.

Actually I only love HK after the second or third trip there.

Times Square: I don't agree that all the brands can be found in Sg. Colors18, for eg. I love the clothes there.

Festival Walk: So big and so friendly (not like Ngee Ann City or Suntec City where you get lost so easily). Quiet too (on weekdays). They even have a Lancome store!!

Night markets: Maybe it's me but I think they are getting worse. The stalls used to sell cheap and good stuff. Now all I see mostly is fake goods.

Taikoo is a relatively new shopping place, isn't it? I went there once. Reminds me a little of Festival Walk.

Joyce Beauty: Wow!! They have almost every good cult brands from the US!

I'm mostly a Causeway Bay person because my ex used to stay around that area and it's easier to explore that area. I don't like to go to Mongkok/TST when I'm alone. I hate the crowds there.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

mmm... must be a new shop, have to look out for that the next time! I like the pineapple tart there!!

yeah loh, like you said, staying alone got the freedom, but have to do all the household chores, but if staying at home.. hehe..

kare,
taikoo is an old old shopping mall since we were a kid, festival walk was the relatively new one... but they are from the same property company, that's why you can see the resemblence.

actually, for people who like brands, they can think about landmark in central and pacific place at admiraty as well... you can see lots of tai tai there as well

=>

sheron

hi Kare,

woww...you do know where to shop, huh?

it is always the case. either you are kowloon ppl or hk ppl. the diffrence is pretty obvious.

no need to envy me lah. you sounded like a season traveller. which is your second favourite place?
i like London. luvvv the high street shopping there.

hi swatch,

yup, the kee wah shop is new. check it out the next time you are flying off.
pineapple tart is good? will go and try.

kpo a bit, hor?
you are actually born in HK?

swatch2004

hi sheron,

i like the pineapple tart and the egg white biscuit as kee wah... much more than wing wah, so really glad that they have a shop at the airport then i can buy for my in laws the next time!

yap, i am a local local... born and grown up in HK, but met my hubby when i work in SG

sheron

hi swatch,

oooh. but you really blend well into the local. coz you uses words like 'makan' and 'lobang'.
well done

the kee wah in the airport is diffrent from the outside branch. their packaging is very impressive. good way to attract 'kwai lo' to buy.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

i have even learned a bit of hokkien and malay while i stayed in singapore as my job requires me to interact a lot with real singaporean. and don't you think singlish is just a very infleuntial language?? hehe..

so how often do you go back to singapore??

sheron

hi swatch,

wah!! it is good that you are able to blend in so well. it will be hard otherwise. sui!! (hokkien)

i go back 3 times a mth. got good deal for airfare that is why i am flying so often.
very 'sticky' to hubby lah...

u fly to Australia or you let your hubby do the travelling?

swatch2004

sheron,

3 times a month???? which airline are you taking that have such a good deal? so you are basically flying every weekend!!!

as fly

swatch2004

sheron,

as flying to aussie is a bit more expensive, we are not going to see each other for the next few months... but even when he was in s'pore, we used to fly only four times in total per year!

sheron

hi swatch,

you are really a strong gal! i admire you.
if i dun see my hubby for anything longer then 2 weeks, i cannot 'funtion'.

it's a good thing that IDD is cheap these days. at least can talk more on the phone, rite?

swatch2004

sheron,

yes, idd is cheap these days, esp in HK, so many competition!!

so which airline do you normally take?? i normally will take UA as it's the cheapest....

kare2711

Sheron
Haa.. not really. Actually HK is my second love, after Paris. I love to shop in Paris. Everything is so cool. I've not been to London. Going this year.

But still, HK is near, and the weather is good too (in Winter).

sheron

swatch,

i work in the airline industry. (thus the good deal on airfare).
this few days very hot, hor?
looks like cannot drag till May before i start to run my aircon....

kare,

i am sure you will enjoy yourself in London but not the weather.
Paris used to be nice for me too but these days, euro are too expensive. no longer fun for shopping

chloe,

you back from your HK trip?
enjoyed yourself?

starfruit

<font color="0077aa">sheron</font>: Do u know if there is any place in HK to buy those aircraft modelling kits. I am not sure if ur familiar with is as my hubby is really into those fighter aircraft modelling. we r planning to head down to HK in the 3rd quarter this yr and he wants to see if he can buy some of these kits over there. Thanks

And, any good place to recommend for Dim Sum... since u r a local.

sheron

starfruit,
i have no idea where to get those a/c model. but will check it out for you as a fren of mine is into tis stuffs.
perhaps swatch can help you.

go to the convention centre in Wan Chai for dim sum. it is ex compared to others but it's worth it. another place is Serenade in Tsim Tsa Tsui caltural centre. it is run by Maxim's group ( they owns a lot of restaurant) i like the food and the view.
do remember to order "guan tong gau". it's dumpling with shark fin's inside. my fav. whenever i go yum cha.

swatch2004

sheron,

no wonder you fly so frequent!!! i normally take UA which is the cheapest....

btw, my family have already started the a/c in the night, just too hot cannot tahen!

starfruit,

for those models... you can try those small shopping mall behind the women street near the Kwong Wah Hospital.... there have lots of shops selling car stuff, car model, gun model, not sure but they might have aircraft one as well

chris~m

hi starfruit

r u looking for those military aircraft models?
if yes, there's a small but fully stocked military hobby shop in HK island :

FALCON SUPPLIES CO. the MILITARY KIT SPECIALIST
Showroom address:
201 Chit Lee Commercial Building, 30 Shaukiwan Road, Hong Kong
MTR Station = SAI WAN HO, HK Island line East

i bought many guns model from kwong wah st also, but din see much aircraft models there, mostly selling those guns and cars or comics models only

there's also a website for this FALCON SUPPLIES CO. http://www.hk-hobby.com/

starfruit

<font color="0077aa">sheron</font>: Thanks for ur help. Ya i the maxim group, love the cakes they sell at the subway stations. In fact i bought their mooncake home to Singapore when i was in HK last yr. I think i am keen to go try the "Serenade" place that u have recommended. Will definitely try the shark fin dumpling u mentioned. Do they only have 1 kind of shark fin dumpling or more? And is there a best time to go for dim sum? early in the morning or late morning?
I have tried this place above Times square.. cannot remember the restaurant name and which floor its on, its not too bad.

<font color="0077aa">Swatch2004</font>: Thanks for your feedback too. Ya i think we might have stumbled onto this street that u have mentioned the last time we were there. They sell a lot of air gun stuff right.. it was definitely an eye opener for us.

<font color="0077aa">Chris</font>: thanks for your recommendation. Will ask my hubby to check out th URL link u send. Is there any shops that sells these stuff on Kowloon side near tsim sha tsui?

chris~m

hi starfruit

sorry, din see/notice any of these in TST...
me only know kwong wah st selling these models stuffs, i do see some aircraft models but not much, mostly on guns n cars. hope they hv more variety now

let me see my frens knows or not since he like models too ok! will keep u inform if he hv better place to recommend in kowloon side

sheron

chris,

yup, maxim = mei sum.

starfruit,

if you are having dim sum in Serenade, i suggest you go before noon. choices starts to run out after 12. the shark fin's dumpling (guan tong gau) only have one kind. it is not completely filled with only shark's fin. juz order one first in case you dun find it as yummy. amongst the dim sum, this one is slightly more expensive.

i haven't got time to check out the aircraft shop. will let you know soon.

swatch,

i know, i have started blasting my aircon too!!

swatch2004

hi sheron,

the weather is getting funny now, think heavy pouring will be coming soon!!

i really hate this season in hong kong....

sheron

hi swatch,

me too!!!
my fav. is when the temp. is around 18 degree. no need to freeze my butt out while showering (winter time)and also can go jalan jaln without sweating like a pig!!