Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

ykfoo

Hi Rusty,

Congrats to you. I am new to this forum.
Feel so happy for you!

I am a 07 HIPV bride. Was thinking how to deco the staircase. Can share your staircase photo with me? my email is [email protected]

Many thanks..

hots

HIhi jesdreamz,

Hmm, depending hw many confirmed tables i have. Eg, i confirmed 40 tables then i got 40 bottles waived.

josephron05

I am new to this forum too..
I am also the 07 HIPV bride, i sign up during the wedding show on May 06.We have chose to hold our wedding in crystal ballroom .How do you all find the food there ...and can i know more about how they deco the ballroom and service . Thanks

hots

Hi babystarlet,

I haven't ordered the wines. But probably will order from outside dealers. Cheaper, save costs... tight budget.

doggiel

Hi babystarlet,

Thanks for your recommendation! But I can't tell Darren that I'm reco by you, as I dunno ur name...hehehe

babystarlet

hi rusty,thanks for the email,we can contact from there.

hi karon,if u order from their in-house wine supplier,the wine cockage is free too.

hi swen,tell him susan from Boon Tiong,he will noe.my hse still renovating now.
btw care to share wat's ur name?

hushbear

hi rusty_piano,
congrats!
glad to hear your wedding is so smooth & memorable. did you have your hard liquor corkage waived? shue sounds like a helpful co-ordinator.

awaiting to see your wedding photos...

jesdreamz

Hi Karon, wow.. they willing to waive off so many bottles for u... That time when i signed contract with Pauline, she only agreed to waive off 12 bottles of wine for me... Think when my AD is nearer, i will try to ask for more bottles to be waive...

judy_lsk

hi hushy,

If i am not wrong, all hotels, restaurants, etc does waive off corkage for all hard liquors brought in.

Will share pics with all end of month.

loveangel

Hi Rusty,

Congrats on a successful big day & banquet. I'm glad that Shue is such a great coordinator so hopefully in July 2007, she'll still be around to coordinate my dinner.

I'm eagerly waiting to see your AD photos too! Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone in the forum.

May i just find out how soon before the banquet will the coordinator call you? My banquet will be in July 2007 and i don't know when i should expect Shue to call me.

judy_lsk

Hi Priscilla,

Shue emailed and call me up one month before AD to arrange for food tasting.. Thereafter, u can start co-ordinating with her.. Maybe on end May or early june, she will contact u...

hots

Hi babystarlet,

Ya, getting wine from the hotel supplier, corkage charge is waived but the supplier wine very ex...
Wanted to save as much as we can ma.

Hi Rusty_piano,

Glad that u met a good coordinator. At least she follow up yr wedding. I've got to call them to arrange food tasting myself, really wondering if i dun contact them, will they forget me?

babystarlet

hi Karon,i tink they have a special wedding price if i dun rem wrongly.
$220 for a case of 12bottles,i tink

seriously,i tink the staff turnover at this hotel quite high,so pro there will be different coordinators by next yr.

hots

Hi babystarlet, I got a wine dealer frm my online buddy thru our BS thread. She got her wine at only $12.50 per bottle. She like the wine alot. So, maybe i'll get from that supplier as well. Cheaper lor...

jesdreamz

Hi karon... wow $12.50 is really cheap... Have u tried the wine before? Can share with me the contacts? Me also want to save as much as i can...Thanks.

hots

Hi jesdreamz,

Oh, no problem. His name is Allan 9423 6833.
Office no. 6334 2320

Try to call him on his hp. Heard from my friend is actually a pub but sells wine. So office oni open in the evening. Wine tasting is in the evening too. I havent booked any appt for my wine tasting yet.

Website address is not allow in this thread... Hmm, if u wan the website add. Give me yr email add, i email u.

hots

Ya, Judy... I wish to know abt the cash u prepared for the angbaos too. Btw, if drivers are bros liao, still must give twice?
Driver who drive the bridal car?

Each bao $8 enuff or nt?

judy_lsk

Hi jesdreamz & karen(hots),

I spent a total of $784 on AD angpows for all helpers.

Here's my breakdown :

$20 Co-ordiator (My good friend to oversee the whole morning event)
$20 Meipo
$28 x 7 = $196 7 Jiemei
$28 X 5 = $140 5 Xiongdi
$10 Photographer
$10 Videographer
$10 X 4 = $40 driver (1 bridal driver and 3 xiongdi as drivers)
$20 MUA (Initally only $10 but then she did a good job so gave $20 instead)
$50 X 2 = $100 (open bridal car door) Actually groom's side should give more than bride's side.
$20 X 2 = $40 reception (Best man and one of my jiemei)
$50 X 2 = $100 Emcees (Both are my friends)
$88 to parents to replace roast pig (Parents to return $28 ang pow to groom too)

I also provide dresses, wrist corsages, breakfast, lunch for all my 7 jiemeis so gave lesser angpow $..

Actually all the amt decide by me.. so i think it's up to you and your budget. For us, we have low income so gave not much. After end of dinner, we sent them thank you card, etc.

Forgot to add,
If i am not wrong, both parents of both side should give a little amt of angpow to all xiongdi and jiemeis too.

assirac

It's been a long time since I've read this thread. Seems that HIPV has a lot of pple coming and going leh. Who should we be contacting now huh?

Rusty_Piano: I'm thinking of getting dresses for my gals too. Where did you get yours?

hots

Hi Rusty_piano,

wah, this amt u still say not much? To me, quite ok liao.... For xiongdi and driver, meaning some of them u gave twice angbao? Correct?

jesdreamz

Assirac, i think Shue is the new person replacing Pauline... So maybe u may be liasing with her...

I also thought of getting dresses for my Jiemeis so their dresses can be quite uniform.. But hard leh.. Have to make sure the dress fits them all nicely and too exp...

judy_lsk

Hi Yen,

thanks.. i got my wrist corsages in this forum from fellow forumer.. my jiemei like it alot..

hi karon (hots),
ya, some of the xiongdi got more as more roles they covered..

hi jesdreams,

actually i spent around $200 for all the dresses. (not much cos i bot them during offer)Some i did alterations for them too. $4-$7 for alternation at wet market.

assirac

Hi hi, I'm thinking about getting all the jia mei dresses from daniel yen ... quite a number of cuttings with the come color ... so easier for my gals to choose.... roughly how muchie per dress there huh ??? i remember it's not too expensive right ?

jesdreamz

Hi Assirac, U mean Daniel Yam issit? I think normal priced dresses are quite exp, ard $80-100+..
For Arthur Yen dresses, i remembered they frequently have sales dresses esp in Metro... And it can cost ard $39-49 for a nice tube dresses.. I once saw a green organza type of tube dress sale at $39 and satin plain tube dress at $19..

bubblesoul

Hi Gals... i am back with my updates. AD was just over 2days ago. Everything went smoothly,successful and great even when Shue is not around. I choose 'crystal theme' no regrets at all,makes the entire ballroom so grand,beautiful and perfect.

The process during the 1st and 2nd march in was the best, memorable moment... Everyone was cheering for us. Very sweet,fun & great. Started to miss the moment now.

Thumbs up for the banquet operation manager. He helped in oversee the whole event and update us on every details, examples : Wines,hard liquors and etc...

As for the food... we have received very good feedback from all relatives and friends. Food was serve hot and portion is more than expected. And of course all food was wonderful and delicious.

Best Wishes,
Past wedding bride, Karen.

purplepiggy

Hi Karen,

I went for food tasting on 10-oct. Actually our co-ordinator brought us to crystal ballroom to see the crystal theme setup ard 7plus. Think should be your wedding that nite right?

May i know what are the dishes which you have choose for your AD?

As i quite worry after the food tasting so i would like to find out from you what are the dishes choosen by you for your AD.

Some of my feedback on the dishes tried:
1. Steam fish (teochew style) - too salty
2. Chilean abalone with Taiwan Cabbage - it taste like vegetarian abalone.Would be changing this dish due to the chilean abalone.
3. Yam Paste - too sweet

BY the way, their presentation of the dishes is quite normally. Not very sure if there will be any change on the actual day....

Hi Judy,
Thanks for the emcee script. I received it

jesdreamz

congrats karen... glad that u had a great wedding and positive reviews on HIPV... hehe...
Can share your banquet pics with us once they are ready???

bubblesoul

Hi Purplepiggy

Yeah... thats my wedding.

Dishes i choose for my AD is :
1)Hot and Cold Platter
2)Shark's Fin Soup with Fish Lips & Dried Scallops
3)Crispy 'Pi-Pa'Duck
4)Mixed Mushrooms wrapped with Beancurd Skin in Bamboo Pith
5)Braised Sliced Abalone & Mushroom with Spinach
6)Deep Fried Seabass with Superior Soya Sauce
7)Braised Ee-Fu Noodles with Crabmeat and Chives
8)Yam paste with Gingko Nuts 'Teochew Style'

Yes... their persentations of the dished is rather normal.... no changes on the actual day. Bw,they are quite shorthanded... cos some of my friends asked for drink... they took quite a long time... As for the food,i have received more good feedbacks than bad.

Hi Jesdreamz : Will share with u gals once the photos and videos are ready.

therese

I would like to find out what are the recommended HIPV printers and their charges? Will be having my AD next year but thought I would like to do some research on printers first.

I heard the invites are 3 fold?

assirac

Hi Jesdreamz, yup, i went down to take a look at the daniel yam dresses ... bery pretty... was wondering if a local seamtress can do similar designs for much lower prices. Didn't see any arthur yen dresses though .... still have about 2-3 months to source.... :p

went down to HPIV today, too late to take any pics of the ballroom. Today's theme is CRYSTAl ... NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!

jesdreamz

Assirac : Yalor.. i also hoping to find a local seamtress that can do the dresses at cheaper rates cos tube dresses looks like very easy to do hor... If u find any good rates must share with me ok.. The crystal theme really v nice?? that good!! I nvr seen the crystal theme actual set-up before. Only saw the candlelight theme..

assirac

Hi Jes,

Not aware there is a candle-light theme leh... is it nice?
I've actually decided on a disney fairy-tale theme for my wedding, so am wondering which of HIPV's theme will be better.

Will share with you on the seamtress contacts if i do find any.

jesdreamz

Disney fairy tale theme in HIPV? meaning u will pay extra for the disney theme? That's quite a cool idea... Hehe.. for me, trying not to spent too much on the banquet so will just stick to whatever themes HIPV has...
Actually had a idea yesterday, thought of asking my jiemeis to get a simple tube dress themselves and i will provide them a uniform outerwear like a lacey or organza cropped bolero or shawl... Then it will look more uniform...

carowl

i was attracted to HIPV's ballrooms frm their website bt only a few pixz attached.

do any of u have any ideas of their upcoming wedding show cz i missed theirs dis yr?

iz there any1 who can email mi ur pixz @ HIPV?
my eddy is [email protected]

babyfifi

I have some concerns over the HIPV Ballroom. Hope some of you can help me answer my concerns:

1. Crystal Ballroom: Some of the tables will be inside the "private rooms". Is this ok or will their view be blocked?

2. If I have 22-24 tables, how? Their small ballroom max is 20, the crystal ballroom min is 25.

babystarlet

hi fifi,if i dun rem wrongly,i dun tink the crystal ballroom gt private rooms leh,if u have enugh tables,it will fill e whole hall.

i will think if urs is confirm 24 tables,perhaps u can negotiate with the coordinator since it is only 1 table more to reach the min.shld be quite easy to occupy that

babyfifi

I thought that crystal ballroom is made up of a long ballroom (the actual crystal) and 2 small rooms. After open up will be a square.

I'm concerned about the opened up rooms. Any blockage?

hots

Hi fifi,

U r right... There will be 2 pillars in each private room. But i think it should be ok.

Went for my food tasting, hmm... so far still ok.

chelseaxpg

Hi fifi,

I booked 24 + 2 tables with HIPV. Think they are flexible, u can dicuss with them even though you don't have the min. numbers of tables.