Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

freesia

Thanks for your replies...initially we was hoping to have only 30 tables...tot that'll be just nice....but now as the date draws near, and we did a rough estimate....we got a shock esp when I know that my FIL wanted 10 tables just for his friends.... :|

I was getting quite upset, coz our wedding banquet will be consistuted by majority of old aged guests which I wouldn't even know them....
And I am quite concerned abt who would be helping to organise and coordinate those guests n relatives on that esp it's not a norm for them to do RSVP beforehand...

elaine77

I chance upon this thread and Im interested in having my wedding banquet at holiday Inn hotel.

seraphim, orchid, thanks for showing the pics of the hotel setting, its very elegant and with high ceiling. Im looking at 30-35 tables.. issit too squeezy? From the pics, the ballroom looks quite big.. its a L-shape march-in? I told me FH about all these things.. he tell me.. all these not important.. he say food nice more important. Hhahha.. but to me.. all these important leh.. do u all have the same problem? We focus on different thing.. to me.. food also importnat lah.. but ambience must be good mah..

Ive just called holiday Inn for the package..maybe will go down to take a look after my ROM next month or oct to see the settings.

absolut_curant

Hi Chenoa,

Muslim and Vegetarian are charged at your table price divided by 10 per pax if they were to sit together with other guests. So in actual fact the more number of muslims / vegetarians sitting with other guests, the more you lugi lor.

They don't have projector in the hotel. You have to either source for your own or they will help you to rent one and you pay for it. So would suggest you source for a cheap rental one.

yan

Good morning gals

Long time never post msg already.

Fressia, initially we just thought of meeting the minimum 25 tables. But recently, my hubby calculated and realized that he needs 13 tables for his frens and colleagues.Total we might have 4o tables. I think too many tables already. Will ask him to cut down.

elaine 77, there are two kinds of march in, either long or L-shape. I will choose the long march in cos i can take a longer time to march in

freesia

Hi Yan
my hubby is also trying to get his dad to think abt his guest lists and we are trying to trim down...We hope that we wont escalate to 40 tables...Otherwise afraid it might be too squeezy

chris low

My sis wedding at Holiday Inn Park View is great. The ambience is good. The food is good and portion is good. Most importantly the people they have are provide excellent service. I was coordinator for my sis wedding just a month ago and they were really a great help to me. Professional advice they give too. Excellent.

tris

Has anyone held or attended any weddings at Holiday Inn Park View before? Would really appreciate some comments on their weddings.

bubbleling

Hi Tris,
i have not attend any wedding at HIPV yet...but i have actually went to see their wedding setup in July when i was sourcing a venue for my banquet

i shld say the ballroom look quite cosy with the chandeliers & the crystal lightings...the minus point is the pillars & also the height of their ceiling (diff height) ......food wise u can rest ur heart heard quite gd comments abt their food ...they are having a promo now whereby u get $30 nett off per table if u sign up with them before Dec 2003

So far which hotel have u view?? care to share with me

tris

Hi bubbleling,

I've only been to Club Chinois at Orchard Parade Hotel so far. The ballroom there is quite small (can only accomodate 25 tables) and the ceiling is low, gave me a claustrophobic feeling.

Am going down to M Hotel and Amara this weekend. Will update you later.

How about yourself? Which hotels have you viewed so far?

Btw, what's HIPV package like?

oops

Hi tris

i went down to view HIPV.

Pros : nice central piece, lighting
Cons : no pte reception area, some table may be blocked if u hv many tables.

The coordinator is very friendly and helpful. So if you are interested, do pay them a visit.

bubbleling

Hi tris,

So far i have viewed HIPV,Hotel new otani, dragon gate restaurant, Plaza Park Royal, Le Meridien .....
but i guess i will settle for Le Meridien bcos of their flexibility and also their pillarless ballroom
very nice setup for their wedding ..... and alsp they do have a few range of favours for the guest.....if u r interested mayb u can give them a call ......
As for HIPV package , i tink their weekend package there is 2 pricing...Sat & PH is 749nett then sun is 708nett (9 course dinner)...so if u sign up with them now u enjoy 30nett off per table ......as for their wedding favour they are giving away chopsticks & chocolates ....

pooh~

Hi tris,
i held my wedding at HIPV last June.
I can say my wedding went very well. No bad comments on the food and services.

The coordinator very helpful and friendly. The only minus point is the pillars lor.

If u worry hte blockage by the pilliars u can choose a shorter march in.

As for me i love the long march in and i have a military wedding so i need the long march in.

As for the reception area it ok for me.

If u wan to see some pics can a email to [email protected]

The only

elaine77

Im actually consdiering HIPV.. looks like theres some good comments on them. Im actually considering end 04 or early 05 therefore i dun know if they can have book for 05. Does anyone knows? How serious is the blockage of the pillars.. i dun mind the reception area but i nice and long march-in will be nice.. hehe.. can parade my gown longer.

Bubbleling. wahh.. so fast u book with them liao.. when yr wedding.. weekend or weekday?

bubbleling

Hi Elaine77
I did not book HIPV for my wedding though i would love to cos their max capacity only 40 tables i already exceed liao ...sob sob....
but i may book my banquet at Le Meridien cos i love their pillarless ballroom ...hehehee

Anyway my wedding is in July 2004 still long way to go ....
how abt u ???
which hotels have u been so far???

elaine77

Hi pooh

nice pics leh.. but abit dark.. because of the flash-light? Some of the pics are quite dark.. but overall quite ok. Actually i like the stair-ways outside the ballroom.. and the setting of the ballroom.. but if u say about the pillars.. i need to take a look there.

bubbleling.. ic.. so u confirmed booking Le Meridien, i did ask for thier banquet pricing b4 and the sales executive are quite friendly but i have yet go down to see. I think we have the same budget range.. hehe.. im also looking at merchant court.. amara and M hotel but M hotel food was quite bad leh when my friend went for a wedding din during this May. wah.. yrs long ah.. my customary will be end of 04 or 05..longer see which date is suitable for us.

pooh~

Hi Elaine,

No lar it becose of scanning, my actual pics quite bright. I do agree that if u are really interest to have ur wedding held in HIPV u should pay a visit to take a look at the ballroom.

Happy preparation.

bubbleling

Hi Elaine77,
hehehe ya i tink we have abt the same budget ....
meridien is quite flexible in their package i shld day ....& they have more wedding favours to offer....quite nice....ya i agree their sales staff quite friendly lor...im liasing with cindy wat abt u ??? So when u goin down to take a look at their ballroom ...i have yet to sign the contract with them but most properly will do it soon cos cant seem to find another hotel which fit into my budget.....hehehee LM is one of the cheapest hotel along orchard rd...hehehee
As for Merchant court ,they are quite inflexible with their package ...dats y i decide not to go down liase with them again....

octgirl

Hi all ex-HIPV brides out there,
My wedding will be in oct and now thinking to skip the food tasting since i'm on a tight budget and still have to pay 50% of the cost. Can anyone recommend what are the more popular dishes which are well received by your guests? Thanks very much for your help.

sept03bride

i hv just held my dinner at HIPV
comments were food was realli great, we din realli hv to bother too much, the co-ordinator was of great help...
but the reception area is slightly small

orchid

Hi octgirl,

i took the menu that had the chinese pancake, the seafood yam ring and steamed fish.

i also didn't have food tasting cos i've had good reviews on the food from friends who've had their wedding there. so thought i'd save the money.

rihini

Hi Sept 03,

How was the food during your dinner? What special efects did you have for your march in and was the sound system good?

I hope you had a wonderful evening!

BTW, what are mixers?

sept03bride

Hi Rihini,
personally i oni managed to taste 2 dishes... the rest no chance as i was too bz... but reviews was the crispy chicken was fantastic... and the dessert yam paste was great too
I tink the march in was norm wif those dry ice... and wif my frens/relatives popping the party poppers and spraying the confetti..

Mixers are like coke, 7-up

freesia

Like to check on the procedures for the banquet with brides who have married. Understand from the good reviews that banquet staff provide very good service. In that case, do you still assign somebody as the timekeeper for the banquet? How many duty roles did you assign? Do you think there's time for a cocktail dress before changing into bridal gown for 1st march in?

lkf

hi Sept03 Bride

may i know which march-in u chose, the long or short aisle? am thinking of changing the lotus leaf rice to crispy egg noodles? any comments?

orchid

Hi Freesia,

roles for dinner:
1. overall dinner coordinator
2. music coordinator (liaise with sound man for songs, cue in for march in songs)
3. receptionists (4)
4. 2 ushers & table photo prep persons

the only time-keeping needed is when to start the dinner. this will be determined by your dinner coordinator - coordinate with recep on the attendance. once the wedding starts, everything just run. the banquet ops manager (from hotel) will tell u when to change.

there's no time to change from cocktail dress to bridal gown. cocktail is at 7pm. the mingling time is pretty short so not much time to change.

pooh~

Hi rihini,

mixers are soda, ginger ale etc.

Hi Freesia,
i just have 1 coordinator (incharge of songs and all liase with the hotel staff) and 4 receptionists (during the cocktail)

As for the table photo is done by the hotel ppl and my photographer.

freesia

Hi Orchid & Pooh

Thanks for your reply. I am quite surprised that the small area can accomodate 4 receptionists... They are actually meant for the informing the guests their table nos. right? But that would mainly be for the couple's friends?

What time does the bride normally finish the makeup and come down to tingle with the guests? If it's exactly @ 7pm for cocktail, then maybe I can slip upstairs @ 8pm to change and come down again by 8.30pm in time for 1st march-in?

chenoa

I'm back on this tread.

I bought my FH down to HIPV to see the ballroom and he likes the place rather well. His preference is the long march, but I'm kinda worried about the blockge.

I forgot to ask them where the projector screen will be placed. Is it on the stage or beside the stage?

Notice also that there's a door on the left side, corner of thr ballroom. Is that the entrance for the waitering staff to move in and out?

kite~

went down to view the ballroom. hubby n i like it as it's looks classy. however max is 35 tables for wkends and we hv abt 33 tables. manager told us might be squeezy and pillars might blocked some of the guest's view as we prefer taking the long aisle to march in. what abt u all? how many tables r u hving? thanks.

blurblurblur28

im quite interested in HIPV too. But i have a max of 12 tables so I have to take the orchid room. Can anyone drop your 'golden words' regarding HIPV service, FOOD and ambience? Waiting for advice...

rihini

anyone can share which dishes in their menu are good?

Which are the dishes that we can food taste? Can we choose to taste sharksfins?

bubblyly

hi bubbleling,

have u chosen ur AD at Le Meridien yet??? have u been to any bridal show by them? do u know if they have any coming soon?

bubbleling

Hi bubblyly,
i have booked my venue with LM liao .....but not too sure whether they hv any bridal show goin on soon ......sorry cant help u on these.... :p
anyway u r interested in Le Meridien also ???

bubblyly

hi bubbleling, what is your AD??? congrats. Ya, i'm considering it. u mean u already sign the papers? which package did u chose? how much r u paying?

so did u bargain for any freebies or any extra?

chenoa

Wow... this thread had died?

I've confirmed my package with HIPV. Was recently asked to select my menu, but need so urgent meh? my dinner is next Oct leh.

Ex-HIPV and current HIPV brides, where are you?

Anyone has recommendations for the dishes? I heard their drunken prawns and or nee is fantastic. Will definitely have those.

One thing I'm puzzled: "conpoy" and "dried scallops". Aren't they the same?

freesia

Hi Chenoa
It's indeed quite puzzled that you need to choose your menu so fast? I thought the most important thing is to select whether you are taking a weekday or weekend package. Have you done that already?

Yes, conpoy = dried scallops.

chenoa

Hi Freesia.

Good to see you still around.

I have made my deposit already.
What about you? date?

If conpoy IS dried scallops, how come they have sharks fins soup with dried scallops and sharks fins soup with conpoy? Maybe there is some difference????? like size??? texture??? (blur)

Usually when is the latest we must confirm the dishes? Is 1 month notice enough?

freesia

Hi Chenoa
I'll be having my wedding this sunday.

I only confirmed my menu before I go for food tasting, which is about 2 months before the wedding.

I don't think there's much difference between the two items... Maybe you should check up with your coordinator. The coordinators are very helpful, so far I'm very pleased with their services.

pepsi

I just had my wedding at HIPV last week. Just to share my experience & my only 2 regrets for all future HIPV brides.
Firstly, make sure the hotel staff is ready before you start the march in. We waited for about 5 mins after the march in before the hotel started the first course presentation. This was EMBARRSSING because the emcee has already announced that the dinner was starting but nothing happened. The banquet manager said it was because there were late comers and our ushers were not there but frankly, I think the hotel staff are not ready for the first course presentation.
Secondly, better check with the hotel their style of the first course presentation. Frankly, I find the first course presentation quite silly & far too long...imagine, the guest must be hungry after waiting for so long for the banquet to start & then they still have to wait for the waiters & waitress to walk in from the side door, then the front door, then up the stage, bend down in some formation, then down the stage etc etc.
If not for the above, my wedding at HIPV would have been perfect. So, just for all you future brides' reference & hope your wedding there would be perfect!

freesia

Hi Chenoa, We had a wonderful wedding yesterday. The service staff are good.

The banquet manager did mention to us that there are a few first dish presentation formation. We just let him decide the formation to use based on the music we selected.

Hi Pepsi, congrats to your wedding too. just wondering if you pay additional tips to the banquet?