Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

stars

I had seabass for my wedding last year too. My guests said was nice. Though seabass sound like a cheap cheap fish but I guess if they cook seabass nice is still nice.

I will be going to Holiday Inn for wedding dinner next week. Maybe I can share with you all what I have seen hee. Me feeling excited about going leh. Now I am going as a guest I guess the feeling will be different.
stars

pooh

Hi Stars,
glad to hear that the seabass was nice.

Pls update me wat dish u find is nice. Thank you so much.

stars

Hi pooh
No problem. I will defintely share with you all my opinion.

stars

bear

Finally my wedding is over

Overall, we are happy with the decorations but of course, slightly disappointed in few areas

Just as a guide to upcoming brides at HIPV , take note : -

1) Bridal suite is warm, no matter how you turn up the aircon, it is still quite stuffy ( subjective as I fear the heat), this is my third time hearing this feedback,

2) Food is quite cold, though quite cold, for those who went for food tasting, do not be prepared that the food is of the same standard, regardless of many "warnings" given to the hotel

3) Operations stuff were good, Kelvin was very experienced

I was very disappointed with my Emcee but I think i shld be glad as he had helped me using his own free time and goodwill but I think he can do better

ok, for those brides soon to be wed at HIPV, overall, it is still a good, smooth experience, just hand everything to the Operations mgr and you would be super fine !

freesia

Congrats Bear

Glad to know that you had a wonderful wedding....

Thanks for your kind advice, will take these into consideration for my wedding there...mine is end of the year....

absolut_curant

Hi Bear,

Congratulations! So envious now you can eat all you want hehe, trying to stop my hands from reaching out the curry puffs and chix wings hehe..

My wedding is in Jul, pretty excited, hope will be as smooth. My friend got me my chopsticks from BKK at less than $0.90 each and i'm printing my own tags to stick onto it.

bear

Hi absolut

Why get another pair of chopsticks again ? Not using the hotel one ?

You found your chopstick casing ?

Aiyo, i never care for my wedding, still eat, to the very last night, fried chicken wing, i was so fat... but who cares.... as long as I am happy

hahahaha

absolut_curant

Hi Bear, the one got from BKK is nicer mah, got designs one and plus a rattan casing. You fat meh? I even more fat ah, hubby don't let me eat too much already :p

yvonne

Can someone pls advise what kind of rate is Holiday Inn charging per table? min number of tables? How many dishes and any comments about the food?

bear

Absolut

Of course i v fat, my wait is 33 leh ! what do u think ?

Whew. after wedding now, got to revamp my image, got to rebond my hair, dye, or highlight, must make myself look more attractive, haha..

of course, the most pressurising is WORK ON PROJECT B ( BABIES )!

bear

haha

I revamp after marriage , mainly is not to let ppl say, wow, after marriage,all relaxed, how to hold on to husband like that ?

now like that, after babies worse//.

so...like that lor, i also want to have a change

lkf

hello

anyone around? This thread has been very quietly since march. Anyone held or attended any wedding dinner there lately?

I will be hving my dinner there in nov, wonder if anyone can share her recent experiences with me on the food n svc or anything i shld take note of for my dinner.

Thanks a million

orchid

hi lkf,

i had my weddinng there last year. food & service are both great! u can request for a day room for your helpers/parents on the day of the wedding dinner.

lkf

thanx Orchid

glad to know that u had a great wedding. juz wonder did u encounter any problem with the aircon? think i saw some postings wrt the aircon not cool enuf.

u had ur wedding @ the end of 2002?

seraphim1970

Hi lkf,

We had our wedding there last Sept and I have to totally agree with Orchid that the food and service were great, actually to me they were fantastic especially the banquet staff, even my hubby is still singing praises for them. They were so good that after our wedding, my uncle had his company dinner and dance there!
24173.gif

orchid

hi lkf,

had my wedding in sep last year - like seraphim! heh... no problems with air-con... yeah, even my grand mother liked the food! wh is pretty rare for wedding dinners.

seraphim1970

hey orchid, the suite I had did have some a/c prob when my whole gang was in there but after I chased them out to the crystal ballroom, the room was cooler. I went down for the cocktail then when I went back to the room to change into the WG for the march-in, the a/c was very nice and cool liao, so I think best not to crowd the room ... heh heh.

cool that your ah mah liked the food, most of my guests actually gave much praises for the food which is what you said ' very rare for wedding dinners' lor, that I agree with you. Who was your wedding coordinator? Mine is still in contact with me till today ... heh heh, btw I am currently residing in new york.

lkf

hi Orchid n Seraphim 1970

thanx for sharing. glad to know that ur guests gave their thumbs up for food, really "very rare for wedding dinners". ur reasuurance have set my mind more at ease.

did u all hv the steamed fish in ur menu? if so, how was it, served at least luke warm? mine is seabass so it may turn a bit fishy if the dishes are prepared much earlier n served later.

seraphim1970

hey lkf,

The steamed fish was ok, I only got to taste it when they sent it up to the room, overall none of my fussy-pot family members complained so I guess it was good cos they are the type who will criticize whether I like it or not ... ha ha.

Don't worry so much, don't over-stress yourself.

yan

Happy to see that there are new postings! My package does not have food tasting so any recommedation for the food? What is nice?

Glad that there are good feeback regarding the food bcos it is rare to get good comments about hotel food. People always say that restaurant food is better.

lkf

hello seraphim1970

thanx but still can't help worrying. me really nervous wrack, esp when i saw in one of the earlier posting which mentioned that the food was cold. but i guess if u can still eat it after the whole event means it's not too bad...hehe..me really "kan chiong" type

mebbe i juz can't get over the horrible steamed garoupa which i had tasted at my cousin's wedding three yrs ago at another hotel...it was so tough (cold n overcooked) n everyone at the table simply refused to touch it again after their first bite..."shake head"...pity that such a gd fish had gone to waste. we also dunno whether this is only affecting our table only, if tat's the case then it's juz our luck...

hi yan

i may not be having any food tasting too as I hv to pay 50% for it (which i think is quite ex). i always think that the dishes at food tasting would definitely be nicer as the chef r preparing a much smaller portion as compared to the actual day when he has to cook for more than 200 people. but having said that, if the parents insist, we may juz have to oblige. unfortunately they dun allow us to taste jus some of the dishes only.

if i'm not wrong, some brides did commented that the drunken prawns were gd, big n fresh. the dessert seems not too bad either.

when's ur wedding anyway? mine is in nov. less than 5 months to go.

absolut curant

unfortunately i can't feedback on the seabass nonya style. ur wedding in Jul rt? can share experience with us later on?

seraphim1970

hi lkf, I did not take the 50% food tasting too but I had alot of good feedbacks from my mom's friends so I didn't bother cos like that you mentioned, the food is always better at food tasting sessions cos they only have one table to serve. My cousin had her wedding few years back at Marina Mandarin, the food tasting was really good but on the day of the wedding banquet, yuck yuck yuck, it was so disappointing. HIPV will serve you pre-dinner snacks, try to eat something, don't be like us cos my stepson and my niece gobbled up the snacks, we were so hungry after the banquet, I didn't even bother to take off my makeup and hairdo, we just dived into gobbling up the food they sent up after the banquet ... ha ha, I tasted the fish, didn't have any fishy smell.

You worry worry also no use, relax and be a 'mei mei' bride lah.

lkf

hi seraphim1970

wat pre-dinner snack they serve? i thot it's quite a thotful of them to offer the snack. i think not many hotels do that.

read from some other threads tat u r now in NY. how's life there? btw wat's the time there now? u reply very fast lei. me not so busy today so can sneak in more often...if my boss see this, me sure kanna liao...hahaha

seraphim1970

Hi lkf, had wanted to reply last nite (NYC time) but the internet connection was acting so I went to be a piggy instead ... ha ha. When I read your posting, it was already 11pm here while it was 11am for you lah ... hee hee. Normally when I am online, I try to reply ASAP lah ... heh heh.

Yeps, HIPV was really sweet to serve the pre-dinner snacks for the wedding couple, I think it consisted a variety of sandwiches and fried chicken wings, I was not able to see what the 2 little monsters (stepson & niece) gobbled up cos I was getting the make-up done and also my hubby was in the bedroom practicing his singing cos he sang on stage for me ... ha ha.

Wow, you seen me in other threads ... I got to hide now ... ha ha. And
24570.gif
, I am living in the big apple NYC now, with my hubby and stepson. Life here is ok lah, I am currently a housewife, not really looking for a job yet since I will be going back to Singapore soon for a visit.

lkf

hello seraphim1970

ur hubby so sweet...sang on stage for u...muz be very touching n memorable. my hubby can't sing lah n he's shy too. me too will also hv stage fright if u ask me to sing in front ofso many people.

aiyah...no need to hide lah. It's actually a gd gesture of u coming back to the forum to advise or chat wif other brides-to-be. actually i first saw ur nick in one of the thread under the topic of bridal boutique, following that there is the lively "38 club" or something.

yan

Hi lkf

I also did not have the food tasting cos I have to pay 50% of the price. Since there are many good feedback under this thread so I decided not to try. Anyway, I will ask my co-ordinator, Eugenia what's her recommendation for the dishes. Who's your co-ordinator?

Besides the pre-dinner snacks, saw from this thread that actually the hotel also packed the dishes for us to eat during supper cos they know that we will not have time to eat during the dinner. So nice of them.

I am having my wedding in Dec.Currently, I am not busy with the preparations so a bit worried.Nothing much to do now leh. Are you doing any preparations now? When's your photoshot?

lkf

hello yan

my co-ordinator is jasmine

izzit...juz imagine how hungry we will be when everything is over. they r really thotful.

my ps will be on 4 sep. now i am working on the guest list (still in its preliminary stage) n thinking of who to be my jiemei, helpers n emcee. i guess i will be more bz come jul when i need to go 4 my fitting n prepare for other stuff like printing of cards, caterers, wines, guo da li. rt now i juz concentrate on sourcing for suitable shoes/shirt/tie for hubby. consider lucky tat i dun hv to worry reno as it was done last yr.

anyway dun worry too much. i also juz draw up a simple timetable/list to remind myself wat i need to do n by when. u hv probably done a lot of things n u r not aware of them cos they r really nitty-gritty but somehow impt stuff.

u went 4 ur ps already?

seraphim1970

hey lkf, good thing the packed supper they brought to us was still warm and yummy, I did mention to you earlier that even the fish didn't have smell. Good to do up the guest lists, that was my biggest headache, the moment I sent the invitation cards out, it was like a big relief. Since my hubby was not in SG most of the planning time, I had to do everything myself lor, lots of headaches but I am so thankful that Eugenia (my HIPV coordinator) was so helpful so the only big headache I had was for the church cos alot of sourcing and contacting to do ... 'sang nao jing'. Have to agree with you that there are alot of nitty-gritty things which are really important.

Hi Yan, my coordinator was Eugenia too, she is very very nice, even the banquet operation people were great! In fact, Eugenia and I just emailed each other yesterday ... heh heh. Tell her you know she got a friend in New York City ... hee hee.

Which bridal & photo studio are you ladies using?

chibi

I will be having my wedding dinner this coming Sept. Starting to get panicky now cos have not started to prepare lots of things :p
I think I will skip the food tasting too since there are so many good comments here. Are there other things I should take note too?

lkf

hi seraphim1970

by the time i reply, i think u already ZZZZ liao
i'm with Dang n ps with Andrew Tan (the Edge). ya loh...the guest list is really headache. a lot of my brain cells died becos hv to think thru who to invite, missing anyone out blar blar blar...haiz so "xian".

did u ask them to pack the supper or do they actually took the initiative to pack for u? yup...the coordinators r really accomodating n understanding.

hello chibi

sorry...me not able to help u much. in fact i hv to rely on u to give me more feedback

mebbe Orchid n Seraphim1970 can give u a better idea.

Freesia

u also HIPV bride?

absolut_curant

Hi lkf,

Yep my wedding is early July. Sure will let u guys know the outcome. By the way, I went for the food tasting. The service is excellent and food is good. Only the garoupa is a bit tough so we changed it to what the captain recommended although we don't get to taste it. Now our only problem is that our guest list had hit 40 tables and only 10% of the guests had not RSVP. Really headache... :p

seraphim1970

Hi lkf, the supper was sent up by them, we actually didn't expect it as we were all ready to go out and 'tah pow' some makan back cos we were famished, thank goodness the food was sent up warm and I think about 15 mins after we went back to the room so it was really nice.

Yah, by the time you did the posting I oink oink liao cos I have been sick and no mood to stay online so long, the weather in new york is messing my body system up, sickening.

Ladies, do take initiative to call your guests for the RSVP, if you rely on them to reply you, most of them would probably not. I personally called my guests 3 days after I sent out the invitation cards. You know how some typical Singaporeans can be. Some of my so-called 'good' friends confirmed that they would turn up but at least 10 of them didn't turn up, never called and till today still MIA, sux right.

yan

Hi Freesia,

Mine is on 25th Dec
What about yours?

Hi lkf,
My ps is in Oct. I also thought of drawing up a to do list. Always thinking only
Must give myself a deadline to do this.

Hi Chibi,

Think it would be good if you also draw up such a list so that you will know exactly what needs to be done.

Hi Seraphim1970,

I also agree that Eugenia is a very nice person. Glad that she is my co-ordinator.

I am also having a headache drawing up the guest list. I know who are the frens whom I will invite. It's the colleagues' list that is giving me a headache. Dun noe who to invite.Very xian.

chibi

Hi lkf,

Will definitely share if I can.

Hi Yan,

I am starting to do a guest list too and agree with you that the colleagues list is the most difficult part. [headache too...

]

So when all of you create the list, will you ask the person you're inviting whether he/she is coming first before putting their names down or just add onto the list of names to make up the tables first?

yan

Hi Chibi

Currently, I only put down their names on the list first. Maybe, when the date is nearer, before I send out the cards to them, I will call them. If they can make it, then I will send the cards to them.

lkf

hi chibi

i also adopt Yan's method. n yup, the colleague list is kinda difficult to draw up ... still scratching my head lei...

gourmet

hi everybody,

my fiance and i are seriously thinking of holding our wedding in holiday inn. from the forum, we get to know that the food is fantastic. however, is there any comments on the 3 big pillars? any complaints from your guests on that? majority of you here chose the long or short aisle?

anybody got the food tasting waived? or did anyone of you tried asking for the waiver?

absolut_curant: hope that you can feedback on the food for your banquet.

thanks...

absolut_curant

Hi gourmet,

My hubby and I chose the short aisle as it provides a better view for everyone.. my wedding will be coming very very soon and will let u gals know how is the food compared to the food tasting session.

My food tasting is free for 6 course, comes with the weekend package. One thing to comment is that the Crispy Egg Noodle is really nice. Worth going for it compared to the boring Ee-Fu Noodle.

gourmet

thanks absolut_curant...

how many tables are you having??? did they tell you how many tables will be blocked by the pillars if you are having the short aisle??

absolut_curant

Hi Gourmet,

Finally my wedding is over!
Well, here are my comments on the hotel:-
* Banquet operation staff are superb. They will advise you if they feel that your procedure / program is not appropriate at which time of the dinner and will discuss with you. Co-ordination is great.
* Everybody I asked said the food is great and portion is more than enough. But sharks fin is a bit too little (Not the whole bowl but meaning the fins)
* We took a risk and tried the steamed seabass in nonya style. It is a terrific dish if you think your guests love spicy stuff. Heard that it's really hot!
* Rooms are not warm at all as I saw in the threads above. In fact, very cold leh! Must remember to check the switch lah cos' there are 2 controls for the aircon, one to switch on Low/Med/High, one to tune to exact temperature like 20 degrees etc.
* Bridal Suite is great but I'm still wondering why they do not have dressing table in the suite but they have it in Superior Rooms?!
* Chicken and Crispy Egg Noodles are the most popular among my guests. They whack all man!

That's about all!