Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Hi Hui Ling,
Balloons? usually D&D i see balloons 'floating' when tied to the chairs but I tot it will emphasize the ceiling height?

Sigh, tok abt max tables...I was discussing with my HTB and I guess we may need ard 20 tables and 1 reserved but dun think they can for my small ballroom la...now abit headache...

hey gin...was told that can do 20 + 1 the last time...in fact, if you really really want, 22 also can...but be it will be a bit tight le...

initially, htb and I were looking at 18+2 but when we did a gauge, found out we needed about 20+2..so had to do some re-recee and in the end selected HIPV Crystal Ballroom. hee...told htb tat if he wants HIPV, I'll only accept the bigger ballroom - thank goodness he agrees!

Hi EL,
Ya...Krystal just told me is 19+1.
sigh...

Hi sobe,
I seend the layout le...dun really like the stage location and the VIP table location cos it's not very centralize...so I intend to change the layout of the place but I need to think about it first.
Pity when I wan to book the venue, Crystal ballroom is already taken up. I juz decide my venue on 30 April which is abit too late to book for this year actually...sigh sigh...and my wedding is NYE

So now sourcing for ideas online to see 'wayys to make a ballroom grand' or some decorative ideas...anyway i will sure to adjust the tables layout...hope can be done

Gin, don't worry. I'm sure you will get the final result you want for the ballroom. One thing that I've found with HIPV, they really try to accomodate you if possible.
In the meantime, we'll all share with you ideas (if we have any)...chin up gal! dun keep
:P

Hi Sobe,
Ya...this is why i signed with them. I always make my money worth while so the service I get from them is very impt. And I must say Ms. Krystal did a very good job over here. Even when I sms her she also reply me even though she is off that day. I also abit pai seh here. You know la, as BTB, we usually have last mins tots that pop up and we scare we forget so we sms them immediately...lol
LOL...i juz realise my previous msg so many '
' LOL...thanks for the encouragement!

Hi EL,
It's New Year Eve...
Theme? Like the usual crystal and candles?
Been talking about the set up of the small ballroom, apparently still got some cons which I need to do something about it...sigh...

hi gin, oic. NYE = New Year's Eve. thanks! =)

theme other than the ones provided... say maybe certain colors, deco, etc. im not too sure coz im also exploring. or maybe can make it cosy instead for a intimate kinda wedding.. or since urs is NYE, make it a party theme with colorful balloons, glitters all over, etc.? juz wild ideas... sorry coz i didnt see the orchid ballroom... so i dunno exactly how it looks like. cant be much help here...

Hi EL,
Sorry for the late reply....not too bad hor
maybe some light sticks...switch off lights...hahahha
my relatives gonna fall....hahahaha

anyway i engaged a performer for that day to divert attention on environment! :P hope it works!

LOL...are you certain bout the light sticks? :P

hmmm....I've not been to the Orchid room either but you may want to consider having (fake) "vines/flowers" around the pillars. best, i think, is not to have anything which takes up floor space, considering the space you need for tables. then again, you can mix the hotel themes so that the setting itself can be somewhat unique and/or match your EG theme!

wow gin, got performer wor... also wanted one coz i tot the guests might be bored when doing the table-to-table photos. but getting one seems not dat cheap... can share how much is urs n roughly wad will be performed?

eh, cannot just dim the lights abit for orchid room? must switch off? btw, is the ceiling high?

hmm... depend on ur theme, vines/flowers to pillars might be nice.. can also add some lights/pearly trains to the vines too.

Hi Sobe,
Of cos NOT la...lol...but usually we buy party sprays for celebrations...if I buy that, I think hotel going to ban me! LOL
Wah...I abit 'cheng xim' on the ceiling height..so I decided to keep it as it is. Dun waste money le...spending abit on performers cos they are good. Will be asking them to do march in with us...but haven tot of ideas..wanted something different from the usual march in. HTB say he might want to sing...lol...

Hi EL,
Yes, my performers will be with us thru out the whole dinner...he also suggest when we doing table to table photo taking, he will entertain the ppl from the other side of the ballroom. GOOD...this is wat i like about them.
Its consider quite ok to engage them..but due to my date is NYE, it's doubled...but I think it's worth it cos they are entertaining and can sing alot of language to entertain my office colleagues (quite ang mo), my relatives (very hokkien) and my friends (chinese, english mixed).
I also enjoyed their performance at Grand Mercure wedding show last month. :P EL if u wan to see sample video, pls pm me, i give you their Youtube link.
If your date not like mine, can consider...to me, I feel no regrets wan!

Lol...no la..the light sticks i am joking about it! The ceiling for Orchid Room is LOW...very low....
That's the con about it.

hi gin, pm-ed u. thanks.

nope, mine is considered a normal date. but coz i oradi burst my banquet budget... so the funds for any performer is pretty tight.

Hello Gin,

I am interested in engaging the performers or a live wedding band. Can you please let me know more about the performers you have engaged, & how much they have quoted you.

I have received quotations from wedding bands, & it's stated that if the sound system provided by the hotel is not good, they may have to get us to pay for renting a better one. I heard that the sound system in HIPV is not good, so I am worried that I may have to fork out more $ if I were to choose HIPV.

Hi EL,
No receive leh...
Y not i PM u la! :P

Hi Chocolatepraline,
I spoken to the performer and he told me he did wedding performance at HIPV before so not to worry.
I pm u too.

hey all, is it true dat govt wanna tax those who sign up with malaysia bs? when is the effective date? my fren wanna sign up in malaysia coz its cheaper.. but if kena tax, will it still be cheaper? hmm...

Hi EL and Chocolatepraline,
That msg finally came in. I wonder have both of you received?
EL, let me send again to your private email.

from what i know the hotel ballroom is undergoing reno and will be done after sept right?? would it be wise to book the wedding package now if havent seen the new ballroom in real life??

hi gin, yeah i am reading ur pm now! thanks gin!

hi jacqueline, yes the crystal ballroom will be available after sept.. im using the artist impression to visualise since the structure of the ballroom wont change. major changes are wallpapers n mirrors. hope tis helps.

EL, i think the coordinator did send me the photos before. I would have to say it's very nice from the photo bur it might not be 100% look-a-like after reno right? plus reno will only be completed later... might be too late if i wait to see it den decide.

hi jacqueline, yea it might be a risk.. but dates for hipv seem to be filling up fast for weekends so i'll take dat risk. n its the first place im finally satisfied after viewing >8 places... so to stop "torturing" my hb, i'll juz stop at hipv.

haha... i havent met up with any coordinators yet.. plan to do so next week... i saw the photo of the new ballroom!! seems pretty nice and grand wor!! my 1st impression is "wow!! so pretty!!".. haha!!

hi jac, i tink it wont differ too much from the artist impression coz the basic structure is the same.. u should take a look at the current ballroom (which is quite grand actually, with the chandeliers) as a guide. it will be easier to visualise the new changes dat way. hope this helps.. cheers!

I saw the artisit impression of the new ballroom.. Nice nice...

As mentioned by EL. the current ballroom is already quite grand, with the high ceiling and chandeliers. SO, think the renovated ballroom will even be better!

hey gals, for those whose wedding is @ early oct, have HIPV contact you to choose the invitation cards?

Are you all planning to send out the cards before lunar 7th month? I was thinking to send out after lunar month (which is in late Sept) will be too rush...

hi hui ling, ur wedding in early oct leh..to send the cards in late sept seems quite rush unless no nid to rsvp... means ur guests already rsvp beforehand. juz my 2 cents... btw, cannot send during 7th month coz got taboo ah?

EL -> ya.. i also think so.. even though i already doing my guest list and telling my friends that im inviting them but then, would be better to send out invitation card before 7th month.. My mum pan dang, say ghost festival sent out not good loh...

Janice,
think we got to call them and check if we can collect earlier anot.. cos their printing company assigned is T-dragon and I know alot of ppl go there print and might take longer time. Plus, we need to sit down and planned arrangement as well... Just so scared packed everything at the time. Now got time can go do the printing 1st mah..

oooh.. and i dun think i got time to meet up all my friends to pass personally and then again, need time to get their address.. some time wasted again.. hahaha

HIPV just replied me.. they say its 3 months before then they will send emails to those getting married in Oct 09 on the wedding invitation.

In this case, was thinking it might be really rush if I want to send out the invitation before 7th month. cos think printing also need 3 weeks?

Hui Ling, u got a point also.. so is it possible that we fix a date with them earlier??

i m going tonight to meet the coordinators.. maybe shall ask her later...

Hi Gin, thank you for the mail. I have received.

Btw, can anyone advice whether the orchid room can accomodate 22 tables? I have 20 tables, & if I need to utilize the 2 reserved tables on the actual day, how are they going to arrange?

According to what I know, orchid room is very small. Tink the max it can accomodate is 20 tables. Anyway, you can always request to go dwn to view the ballroom.