Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

vivalin

My AD June 5th 2010, just sign up with Vasathi.
Looking forward to it. But I am now looking for my dream flat..........very stress cos the 5 room flat are quite ex nowadays even during recession ...........

flozzie

hi anyone took up the orchid ballroom? mines on 20th june and am concerned abt the layout if the 3 pillars at the back of the room will be a hindrance to the guests?

teock

Hi Christine,

I will oso be holding my on 20th Jun, but it is lunch....

There maybe some areas where your guest will not be able to see the stage. You may need to do some shuffling.

mrs_tan_to_be

long time didnt come in this thread liao.. everyone busy with their wedding? Have u all decide which theme to use and the table cloth coloring? so excited manz...

amanda1982

Hi ladies...
Mind if I join in this thread. I am also going to hold my wedding dinner at HIPV. Did I just saw someone have more pics on the new ballroom? Will appreciate if you can share with me. My email is [email protected] thanks.

amanda1982

Hi EL, I will appreciate if you can send to me. Thanks.

So when will most of you be having your AD?
Mine is on 22 May 2010. So still a long way to go... haha. But my HTB very "gan chong" scare that he cant get the hotel if we keep looking or comparing ard. Well we did shortlisted a few hotels.
This is the 1st hotel that we went for viewing and decided by the next day. I went to see the new suite. It is very nice & cosy. I even request for my room to face the park on the highest floor. Haha...

amanda1982

Hi Jing Yuh, think we might bump into each other on your day. haha... so when did you sign up for the dinner? I did mine at the Vivocity show but I had reserved my date way before the show. Haha.. very excited hor... Have you see the new suite?

zljoan

wahhh...even before the show Amanda? You must have had a pretty good deal! i thought I was early...and my banquet is in feb2010~

amanda1982

Ya la... cos my HTB very scared that the date we wan will be taken. So we made up our mind the very next day. Good & Bad, good thing is no need to keep searching, bad is cant see other design of other hotel. But I heard that the food there is nice. My HTB had been there before for his fren wedding, he like it. And that place is centralize and easy to go. Have to consider all factors. Just the normal peaks, nothing special.

el2sgbrides

hi amanda, your pm is not turned on. i cant send it to you.

janice(jsim15) got it on mulitply. u can view it from there too.

Happy hotel shopping! =P

el2sgbrides

er.. not too sure. think they had a wedding show not too long ago... dunno if they will use back the same perks or not. i didnt go their wedding show at that time. sorry cant help much here.. for now.

attend a military wedding on sat 28/3 at the crystal ballroom

there was 2 wedding that nights so carpark was a big problem cos a lot of guests ended up parking at Starhub centre

otherwise the whole wedding took place very smoothly except that the red carpet was not line properly and there was slight disruption cos u can see the hotel staff trying to straighten the carpet with their soles but end up they have to pull up the red carpet and redo the velcro... personally I think is not so professional...

maybe u brides can sort out this minor thing with your coordinator before your big day

Happy Wedding Preparation!

teock

HI Christine,

We are taking the Crystal Room. Book the venue last year ard Feb/Mar period. Initially wanted for dinner & tot that we are too early (or too Kiasu) to book...

But... Never know some one was early than us...

flozzie

no la.. i also book last yr.. around june i think.. well anyway have u had ur ps taken? which bs u taking? i'm taking The Aisle..

zljoan

hey christine, you are with TA too?? Hee...i'm beginning to realise my timeframe for wedding preparations is quite "normal". Initially thought that I was starting too early! :p

jsim15

Hi kit kat,yup..is d crystal ballrm..not sure if it can hold 40 tables..but fm wat i noe is 35 like tat is abit squeezy liao..

w3ngal

wow i like the crystal ball room. if we cannot hit 25 tables, can we negotiate with them? ermmm how is the food portion and quality? alot of pics from these thread. thanks babes for sharing =) i added u all in the multiply.

zljoan

hi w3n, it's possible to get the crystal ballroom even if you can't hit 25 tables. however, you will still have to pay the cost of having 25 tables. for that, you will get an upgrade of menu or something. gotta check with the co-ordinator!

w3ngal

oh coz i see the menu only got 1 type for weekend dinner hee. there is an upcoming show in april. do u all have any idea? anyone will be going?

if have 25 tables, should not be block by pillars? I am trying to read this full thread but forgot what i read haha.

eveeve

Hi Janice (jsim15)

as u say, 35 table will be squeezey liao???

really..???? coz they told me min i think is 25 table max up to 40 after the renovation in sept!

with fairy tale or passion/romance theme........

jsim15

Hi Kit kat, tatz wat d previous HIPV brides say..if d pillars remain there so there won't be any extra space rite? Maybe can ask d co-ordinators during the open house on 19april

amanda1982

So any of you going to the wedding fair on 19 April?

I feel 30 tables will fit just nice into the place. Otherwise it will be too crump to move around for the guests.

eveeve

HI Amanda (amanda1982)

u mean u going to the bridal show on 19 april tis sun??? at suntec to ask the coordinator???

zljoan

Kit Kat, think Amanda is referring to the Wedding Show held by HIPV at the hotel itself this weekend. Gosh, when I signed with HIPV, I was told that there will be no more roadshows - guess this is not considered as one. Hopefully I've not made the wrong choice by signing with them earlier! :p

el2sgbrides

hmm.. apparantly HIPV n HIA do hold a few wedding sessions in each year. it may not be a wedding show but probably a showcase (smaller scale, no fashion show, etc.) or something like dat. tis is wad i understand.

el2sgbrides

btw eveeve, i tot the bridal + banquet show at suntec already over? tot it was last weekend wor... tis weekend is just bridal show right?

amanda1982

Kit Kat, yes I am refering to the wedding workshop at HIPV this Sunday. But I will not be going as I am having my MPC starting on that day.
But anyone of you receive any info from them about this workshop? Any extra peaks?
Can see that nowadays there will be quite a no of wedding shows coming every other weekend.

meandtim

My wedding jus over not long.. never regret the choice of choosing HIPV. Review from my guests were the food was great and portion is big. The chef dance was really entertaining. PiPa Duck was the most loved dish. The bubble effect is really nice.. Although i was not given the new bridal suite but I was compensated with a connected helper's room with 1 night stay where my jie mei can stay.

Great thanks and Best service to Adeline and Murali and AV personnel. Their professionalism has made our stay and the whole process confortable and smooth.

I am not sure when the renovating will end but the carpark slots were more than enough, no worries. Only bad side is their complimentary carpark ticks scanning system which is not really user-friendly. Minority of service staff is not really experience and the air con not cold enough, maybe because my guests filled up 38 tables in the Crystal Ballroom. But aside all these minor probs.. We had a fun time!

amanda1982

meandtim, congrat to you. Have a blissful marriage. The reno will end in Sept.

sobe, i didnt manage to make it to the workshop as I have something on. So did you go? I had lots of fun & laughter during the MPC. How abt you?

So any one of you went for the workshop on Sunday at HIPV? How was the promotion like?

jillz

Amanda, i went to the workshop yest, i heard the promo can be extended for another week.

1) $1k off from total bill - crystal ballroom with min 25 confirmed table
2) 17th table free - Orchid ballroom with min 16 confirmed table
3) 1 complimentary red wine per confirmed table

Visited their newly renovated bridal suite aka deluxe suite, not so much of impressive as compared to the ones i've seen before.