HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

I'm very new to renovation. I read comments of how people feel about contractors' workmanship either for carpentry, electrical or tiling works. May i know from you ( if you can spare a min ) what you look out for in these areas so as to consider it as good workmanship or bad workmanship?
Your comments will certainly help me to judge when i visit the contractors' projects whether is good or bad.

Thks

Bearyhug,
I m keen to see. Email me at [email protected]

Nelson,

My husband had the same problem with you initially but after viewing a couple of houses from different contractors, he could tell.
The tiles should be levelled and the spaces between the tiles fine.Flooring must look neat.Laminate of kitchen cabinets has to be glued on well..no torn/chip areas and no warping.Cabinet doors have to be in line with each other.Mostly imptly if they are any mistakes your contractor must be able/willing to alter the work till you are satisfied.

Have sent you guys the link for those who've requested. Only minimal furnishing so far. Not complete yet. Feel free to comment though. Photos resolution not so good cos got to reduce it in order to upload so many. : >

thks Amelia!
It's certainly gd pointers for me. Than i wont b so blur.. btw may i know the ID that you engage for your reno? Is he gd?

Hi Bearyhug,
Wow... yr house is very nice.. how much u spent? I m very impressed oh. Did u custom made the platform bed or u buy it outside? i love it. the walk-in wardrobe is very nice too. one of the best i ve seen compared to my friend's.

Nelson,

I have engaged Patrick from Ho Bee Renovation.. just started my reno yesterday so cannot comment much.Maybe you should ask other gals in this thread.

Just a question,

If 5 person want patrick to start work on the same month, how would he handle? Too popular might have risk of delaying work, inferior workmanship due to tiredness.. Not necessarily a good thing. I am hestitation because of this reason. He will not treasure each individual customer since he has so many on hand right? Quite worrying tho he is in my top list..

Rachel, think it ultimately depends on whether you need to stay in urgently. For us, we did not rush them and they really took their own time to do. That's why workmanship was quite up to mark at least for the carpentry works.

Amelia, we bought our sofa (belgium fabric) from this Ritz Rymen store at Furniture mall. Luv it at first sight becos it resembles a day bed. TV console and coffee table also from Furniture mall.

Rachel, Patrick and team really helped us to source for the bamboo. We went down with Malcom to view the bamboo from Choa Chu Kang and Patrick helped us to transport everything down to our place FOC. Quite nice of them.

Amelia, thanks for your comments. We now make our hse the weekend resort, haha.. still not fully furnished yet. We actually outsourced the walk-in wardrobe ourselves to save costs. Only carpentry works by Patrick. Pole system from elsewhere.

Actually, din spend a lot for the reno. Patrick gave us a good price. N he's not calculative abt certain changes or additions which we proposed along the reno.

Hope my photos had helped in your decision making for choosing Ho Bee. : > Will try to email to those who've requested today.

hi Rachel,

the one tat do my tile works is an old uncle. here's the side view of him... hope he dun mind i put up his pic! lucky i still has all the pics i took lastime. haha...

257619.jpg

Heh, sunsetbay,
We never got to see our workers doing the tiling works. Becos they completed during the weekdays. N when we pop by in the weekends, they are usually not there.

By the way, how do you manage to upload your photos onto this thread? Mine are simply too huge to upload as the error msg kept saying that.

Nelson,
My views of good contractor:-
1) Sincere and only speak the truth - For E.g. he knows we r under budget, he taught us how to cut cost. He must be able to advise u on all aspects.

2) Good service - Going extra mile for all customers. For e.g. if u ask him to fix this and that, he will fix for u w/o extra cost. Even not his fault, he still goes all the way to help u.

3) Good tiling workmanship - I m very particular with tiling work cos it will last for the lifetime. u can change yr cabinets etc easily but not tiles. From what i ve compared, the gap of my tile is about 2-3mm but my friend's tiles gap can be as large as 5mm - 8mm. For larger gap, it tends to trap dirt/dust. It appears neater and more beautiful when gaps are smaller. In addition, the worker must soak the tiles in water for sufficient time. Cement must put enuff and alignment is straight. If tiles didn't soak for sufficient time and cement not put enough, the tiles will crack and pop in no time.

4) Carpentary work - all the nuts/bolts/screw should be nicely done. Joint area is nicely glued and trimmed. Most imptly, make sure no missing nails or screw. My colleague told me that her contractor forgot to nail the back of her cabinet. Such mistake should not happen.

Hi bearyhug,
I like the bamboos. Nearly got them too but scare hard to maintain. Do u need to wide one by one?? i m very lazy person lah. yr house is really nice.

Hi rachel,
the physique looks like him but i can't see the face. If u wanna Da Xia, u must tell Patrick. I must say he is really very good. very perfectionist. Like what bearyhug said, if u r not rushing for time, then u can consider patrick and ask him to do slowly. payment also slowly. ha ha.. easier for yr pockets too. Nway, it takes time to finish a master pc. hard to believe a contractor that can guarantee do things fast fast and with good workmanship. Chinese saying "Man Gong Chu Xi Huo" - "slow work produces better quality"

Thks aeina.. certainly comments like these can help me decide which contractor to pick... Certainly i wont want to rush the contractor but on the other hand how much time would they need to produce a gd work? 2mths? 3mths? ~?

Hi rachel, i dunno his name or nick. he ride a motorbike. i think he got another young china assistant. only two persons doin the tile works, tat's explain the work is slower but we were not in the hurry anyway.

To bearyhugs,

u hv to resize the pic under 600x600, above that it wont allow. also hv to take note of the file size.. cannt exceed 50kb.

kao_scared.gif

Thanks to both aeina and sunsetbay,
Sunsetbay, can't seem to resize my pic to 600x600 leh. Gave up trying.

Aeina, thanks for the compliments. I must say you have given a good analysis of your views on contractors! HB would be the one cleaning the bamboo, not me. So far, we have only cleaned it once. Not so bad since they are quite spaced out and not too diff to clean.

hi bearyhugs,

Thanks for sharing,your house is very beautiful. I love your feature wall, it is very unique. Notice that your colour scheme are limiting to two colours, are the colour your favourite?

Hi nutmeg,
We had wanted our hse to hav that modern resort look not sure if we've acheived that. So we mainly chose all brown n pastel colours for the hse + furniture.

Placed the bamboo there partly becos of fengshui n for the overall resort look.

hi bearyhugs,

thanks for sharing the pictures... after looking at them, then i realise that it is u.....
i'm the one who went to your plc last sat to view the workmanship....the world is so small huh!! anyway, i'll most likely going ahead with them.. also do not want to delay the reno since i want to move in early June.