HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

rachelcheng

Hi aeina,
Thanks for sharing your experience with henry. Felt more assured. Patrick said the quotation (final) will be ready by today but yet to receive his mail...

sunsetbay,
there was a few occasions even in another thread *forgot which where I tried to PM you but your PM is not working.. But now I forgot what to ask you already.. Hee. But I remember your house is special design and lot of carpentry if I am not wrong. I only have very few carpentry.. But patrick told me it is not possible to reach my budget at $25K... hence I need to increase my budget already..

Amelia,
I intend to conceal my storeroom door and hack one entrance from my Master BD to the storeroom for my walk in cabinet..so in fact I am just purchasing the skeleton, no point to get a very wonderful custom made one.. save cost.

bearyhugs

Agree with Aeina that to get good workmanship, you definitely can't afford to rush the carpenters. Patrick has a group of carpenters who are excellent in their workmanship. You can perhaps ask for them or ask to see their works before deciding. This group of carpenters did the carpentry works for my hse and we are pretty satisfied with it.

Rachel, we did a walk-in wardrobe too in our Master bedroom but wardrobe carpentry quoted by Patrick a little on the high side, hence both me and HB came up with this idea to make half carpentry and half pole system. We got our pole system from a promotional offer at Zh*plin (replace * with "a"). Overall effect not too bad.. N saved us quite a bit of money there.

ssb

hi rachelcheng,

i din know there's a PM function here. haha.. im more active at hardwarezone & renotalk forums.

ok, my carpentery work incl: walk-in wardrobe, kitchen cabinate.. i think tat's all!! i do hv a wall feature (a cement screed wif stainless steel strips along it), a low wall divider on the balcony... other than tat nothing much liao.

btw guys, ikea also selling those poles system wardrobe.

mr_3lmo

Hi sunsetbay,

I employed Patrick in mid Nov... actually just small scale renovations, decided to hire him based on faith after reading all the positive comments here. I also dunno whether it is me but it seems like there are things that we have to keep reminding him of cos the small details tend to be forgotten. I did not rush him leh... that's why now Feb already just going to finish only....

There seemed to be some miscomm along the way, things that we thought can do in the end cannot do... somemore i very conscientious to go there everyday to check wan... and once got problems I highlight already. and i consider myself not very niao already... i do not think the tiling is very well done... and even my hacked down wall, which they rebuilt, was not straight... later they rectify but only the bottom... I just sad la, maybe expect too much already. My cabinet base also not level, despite several re-doing... and a lot of other small things here and there. Patrick is nice, so I also dun want to make things difficult. Just feel sad and disappointed that things did not turn out as nice as i thought it would be... maybe mine was just an exception, since most of you had nicely done homes... Happy lunar new year everyone...

aeina

Mr 3Lmo,
So sad to hear. Pretty surprised cos all of us are happy customers. By the way, u mean the wall is not straight, and only rectify below?? Hmm... doesn't it seem not very safe?? I m imagining a leaning tower look. can take pic and show us?

In addition, cabinet base not level, so yr cabinet is crooked huh?? sorry... i can't visualise very well. If that's the case, u should ask patrick to re-do.

lady165

Hi Mr 3Lmo,

Since such a long time never been to this forum already, just happened to read your thread.
I also get Ho Bee Reno, and I have to agree with you that the workmanship was more of an average. But the electrical workmanship not so good. The switch to on my kitchen light now is not that good, need to click many times to on them. Sigh* I also wan to save the hazzle so never called up Patrick since I've been staying for few months already. Maybe my expectation was too high after reading the thread before engaging Ho Bee to do my reno. A bit disappointed but Patrick indeed is a nice guy.

sugarbabe

hi mr. 3Lmo, erm i oso engaged Patrick's service.. same as u, sometimes small details he oso forgotten so have to remind him again... Overall, can say that his workmanship is abt average, some of my frds say that my sink top is not solid enuff (below the tiles is hollow).

mr_3lmo

hmm... the wall ahh... I dunno how to describe... imagine you hack down the whole section of the wall... then you rebuild the same section... the stretch that runs horizontally across the ground hor.... is not straight lor, but vertically up is straight, so no slanting wall before rectifying... but now when they move the base, the top and bottom do not match liaoz, but because there is a door in the middle, most people cannot tell... I did not insist that Patrick move the top also, because I am worried that it may make the whole thing look even worse with retiling (from not so obvious in one area to becoming very obvious in another area).. i not very good at describing... If i got the time to draw, then will attach some illustrations...

the cabinet base not level... my carpenter is my father in law, not using patrick's carpenters... patrick's workers redo the base 2 times already but still not level... then in the end my father in law just add wooden strips in places when it is dipping so that the cabinet can have support... but i am just worried that over time, without a solid ground to rest on, the cabinet base may sag... the appearance does not appear crooked though... cabinet laid already, if redo need to take down cabinet, dun want to trouble my father in law also...

The light needs to click many times before you can on? might be a contact point issue rather than the wiring itself, you can ask your hubby to try taking the socket to adjust the contact point to see whether it helps... I have not checked my electrical points in my house yet...

aeina

Sharon,
I ve same problem like u. At first, i also thot it is becos of switch. Then my htb told me it is not the switch but the light starter. He changed the starter and it works prefectly. U can ask yr hubby to change the starter. Only S$0.50 to change one starter for light.

wenn

My custom-made cabinet in living room wasn't up to my expectations. 1 of my homo tiles in service balcony has pop up a bit liao. Since Patrick has 5 years guarantee, will wait till I have given birth & had my confinement b4 asking him to redo that tile...

bearyhugs

Hi sugarbabe & the rest,
Sorry to hear abt your unhappiness. Well, I guess all reno do come with a little unsatisfaction here and there. Sugarbabe, what exactly do you mean by sink-top? Were u refering to the solid surface top?

Hi 3lmo, actually, think my reno stretched on even longer than yours. We engaged Ho Bee n works started in late Sept. Guess what? We jus had our flat handover last week! Reno went on for like 4 whole months. But we are not in a hurry to move in so didn't really rush them. Overall, we are quite happy with their workmanship, maybe becos we really gave them enuff time. Agree that Patrick has to be reminded of small details really, maybe he should get a diary or palm top. We had a glass door at our kitchen entrance and had it changed 3 times already as it was also not level with the wall. Now still waiting for it to be fabricated.

ssb

i think beside verbally remind him, anthr safer way is to put a masking tape over the defects so tat his workers can easily see the area need to be re-do. i done tat also.

overall i still he gave a value for money services. no regret.

bearyhugs

Hi bubble,
Think Patrick mentioned to us that the average time is ard six to eight weeks. But ours was exceptionally long, in fact, it might be the longest that he had ever done... Cos there were some delay during reno period itself.

ssb

they take so long not bcos their workers are slow, i believe they are handling few projects at the same time. at last stage of my reno work (when the tiling works & painting are done), they don't send workers to come down everyday.

lucky we were not in the rush too.

serametin

some of u said that patrick is a nice guy and i m not trying to doubt any of yr words... but can anyone give exmaples why he is a nice guy. thks. hope i m not asking too much. cheers.

bearyhugs

Hi serametin,
Maybe you can try to see our previous postings to get a better picture. In my opinion, Patrick gives sound, honest and practical advice and he's not calculative. Plus trustworthy.
So that's what matters to us.

rachelcheng

What excuse did you give the contrators who have quoted but you might not consider? A few contractors who quoted keep following up but I dun noe how to handle.. Is like very cruel to reject them after troubling them. I have shortlisted a few and is it ok to tell them that I am still comparing between a few quotes?

ruth2005

Hi Rachel, need not worry lor. First of all, u must know your rights and stand. You have the power to choose! If it is really not suitable, just bring out to them that u will think over it first, and if needed, you will revert to them again. If they are smart enuff, they should catch the 'hint'.

bearyhugs

Hi rachel,
Don't worry. We are the customers and customers always have the right to choose. Initially, I also face the same dilemna as you. But as the saying goes, survival of the fittest always stand, the contractor who can quote the lowest with the same materials that you want will win the race. Jus simply let these contractors know that others have quoted u cheaper. U might be surprised how much they can lower again.

rachelcheng

I think most prob I will choose HO BEE cos my hubby dunno why seems to like him the most among all contractors even tho Patrick does not sweet talk at all.. I find patrick not pushy to the extent that I doubt his sincerity. Is he like that to everyone of you or did he call you up to follow up? He did not call me up to follow up at all and I have to chase him for quotation during this period of about one month. Maybe he is too busy loh.. But he is fair. He allows me to take out itemised items from quotation without affecting the overall price. Some contractors can give me very attractive FOC items and when I said I want to take something out, he does not allow saying that that is where they make profit to cover the loss for the foc items, if I want to take anything out, he need to mark up and requote. Then what is the point of giving me that FOC items? But Patrick is not like that. That is fair cos it will be difficult for customer to adhere to a quotation without changing anything. Also reflect more accurately the quotation.

bearyhugs

Sorry, cool.
My qoutation not updated. Made lots of changes to it. If you don mind, I can send you my old one but not accurate.

rachelcheng

I realised that Ho Bee is not considered cheap cos I found quite a few cheaper one yet got at least 3 yrs warranty.. But if you take into account electrical rewiring, then Ho bee and Impress21 considered cheap. Ho bee tiles is very very expensive..Yet to see workmanship tho.. but some say not good leh..

waterbibi

Rachel,

I think it's best you view his ongoing projects to decide if his workmanship is to your liking.

Hub and I have already decided on him.Reno should commence next week.

cute_devil

any comments abt Ho Bee carpentry work? how abt workmanship?
I might be interested to engage him for carpentry only.
Cos it's only small jobs, I feel a bit pae seh to bother him to view his ongoing projects, that's why i need your comments b4 decide to engage him.
pls help

rc123

Hi Rachel,

I have also received a quotation from Patrick. I find some of his items are quite cheap. But dunno why the haulage fee he quoted me is very ex. I have not met with him and have not seen his works yet. What tiles are you using, homogeneous or ceremic? I heard normally contractor quote with a range of tiles they will be offering. Maybe he offered a higher range for you. Guess you need to clarify with him.

Patrick current renovating my house, so far, i'm quite satisfy with him. He is kind of easy going, not so calculative & responsible. But yet to see how's the carpentry work, coz just finalising the carpentry works design only.

As at today, i've no regret signing with him. Hopefully everything will go smoothly & they will handover the house end of this month!

ssb

Hi cute_devil,

i find patrick carpentery work is aceptable standard but not the best! his strongest area would be the tile work!! gaps are v small & very uniformly laid. my carpentery works actually had few mistakes bt his carpenter restore it back.

fm the forum, i can see quite a few of them are engaging him at the same time nw... so most likely his work process will be slower than lastime.

overall, his service is really gd! patience & easy goin. he drove us to the tile suppliers 3 times to let us decide the tiles.

rachelcheng

Sunset, you know who did the tiles? Maybe I can request for the same workers. Cos few weeks ago someone complained their wet works.. Not sure if done by same person.

rachelcheng

By the way girls, Did patrick follow up alot with you gals? COs he never called me up after he emailed me his quotation and I am the one kept calling him up to ask this or that. I tried email him with question but he din reply.. Wonder whats wrong with him..

waterbibi

Well, he does have a number of projects going on at once, meets clients 7 days a week and has a family.Husband and I will normally do the calling or arrangements which is fine long as work get done well.

Patrick is the type who opens up after he gets to know you better.He is sweet-natured, humble and doesn't put on a front.He brought us to select tiles/pebbles on wednesday and is rather forthcoming with suggestions.We selected tiles based on his and the sales lady's recommendations.Finalised our decision within an hour.Very satisfied with what we have chosen.

aeina

Hi Rachel,
Better for u to call him up. He doesn't check his emails regularly. I m surprised that somebody complain abt the tiling works cos my tiling work done by Patrick is excellent. The one who did my work is nicknamed as "Da Xia" - "Loud voice" in hokkien. He is a perfectionist. hee hee... we are very glad that we got him.

Amelia, I agree with u. He only opens up with u when get better. Hee hee... u finalised within an hour? Me and Hubby are very kiasu.. we took 2 trips to different tiles shops. Initially, we tot we better see more tiles before deciding. After visiting 3 shops, we realised still the first shop that Patrick bought us is the best. ha ha.. wasted his time. However, he is very nice. Keep on tell us that it is our right to see as many tiles as we want.

waterbibi

Haha no wonder Patrick told me I was really quick!Yah I trust their imput since they've been in this industry for quite some time and I personally love the tiles too.For pebbles, I chose subdued grey size 3 grains..prefer everything to be neat and simple.

Have u moved in yet?

bearyhugs

Also agree with the rest that you would only know patrick better after some time of interacting with him. He actually told us his past history once n how he ventured out to set up his own business. We are quite satisfied with his carpentry works so far. Can't agree more for the excellent tiling works. But can't rush them for good workmanship.

Patrick brought two couples to view our hse yesterday. We allowed him to use our place to discuss the contract with his clients too. Anyone of u out there happen to be these clients?