HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

ssb

hi rachel,

no hidden cost for patrick quotation. for eg i re-do tiles works for all area. patrick contractor remove the existing kitchen window grille so tat he can do the wall tiles. after the tile works was done up, he wasn't able to fix back the window grilles cos it's too big now.

patrick actually get a window contractor to make a new window grille for us!! i believe if some other contractor they will want us to pay for the cost for the wdw grille.

so i wld say there's no hidden cost as long u didn't add major things. small amendment he will usually accomodate.

since there's quite alot of customers fm here, i guess the best way is to give him ample time to do up the reno so tat he wont mess up ur work. hmm...

my_rock_baby

will be meeting Patrick this Sat to measurement my flat and also to choose tiles (feeling so weird because we haven sign any contracts...infact haven finalise what are the things I wanted to do, and we are already going to choose tiles)
anyone of u do wardrobe? Do you normally give Patrick the design and he will do for you OR he has a standard design that he use for the wardrobe? Also, understand that his kitchen rack comes with "stainless steel dish drainer" (er, is this the 2 level dish rack?). If it is the dish rack, what brand is it? If I want those from Song cho, do I have to tell him?

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
I did walk-in wardrobe for my hse. With a partial carpentery and pole system. U can see from my photos. We din take Patrick's dish drainer as we installed a double dish rack on top of the sink without the top cabinets. U can source out the model that u want and see if Patrick can get for u. That's what we did. He usually can help us get a cheaper price.

MY_ROCK_BABY, i did walk-in wardrobe with swing door, if i'm not wrong, also by Ah Kiong. I'm quite satisfied with it, you can choose your own design and they will advise you accordingly. I'm pleased with my small walk-in wardrobe, but no photos yet, coz i haven't taken any yet.

my_rock_baby

Hi 2005 & beary,
Thanks for your advice. Today when to Jalan Besar to source for my hood/hob and sink. But pretty disappointed because quite a number of shop owner like see me only lady and "don't look like really want to buy" so they either don't entertain me at all or their tone not so good, except for 2 shop (i.e Bellari and chuan Heng)...they know that I am here to ask about their products and will not buy on the spot but they still explain to me and very polite. Anyway, i am thinking of getting a fujioh hood + a bellari glass hob, glass backsplash, sink
... Also when to see the SongCho stainless steel accessories ... wowreally "lau nua" ... so nice, expecially the PRICE haaa

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
I bought my hood plus hob plus sink from Bellari too. Excellent afterservice though their products so so cos got some stains when we bought it. Economical pricing too. But Thomas from that shop is extremely friendly and when we called him re some minor problems, he came down to our flat within the next hr to take a look. That's what I call prompt aftersales service.

my_rock_baby

yes, Thomas is extremely friendly and also very funny when I see the way he intro his stuff
... I am especially impress with the Tonardo hob (wow the fire really burn upwards and spin like tonardo haaa), but then the price is $688 (wow ....)
oh btw bearyhugs, can I have the link to see your house?

Anyone willng to share their quotation from Patrick with me, preferably those who bought resale flat. TQ in advance.

btw, anyone got Patrick to do the WIW in their MBR, care to share.....

bearyhugs, me going through your lovenest again, how much was your total quotation?

bearyhugs

Hi Mageous,
Sent u the link. rockbaby, what's your email add?

hello88, my quote was ard 32K including system 3 air con with inverter but excluding furnishings. By the way, mine was a standard apartment meaning all wet works had to be done by Patrick.

Can anyone who signed up with Ho Bee advised on the payments? i.e so and so perentage at which stage of renovation?

Hi Bearyhugs,

Do u still have the quotation from Patrick? Not quite sure what would be indicated in the quotation if we wish to do a WIW with featured wall something like yours? How much did Patrick quote for your WIW?

bearyhugs

Hi rock baby & ayana,
Have sent the link to you gals already.

hello88,
Not sure how much was the WIW? U might wish to check with Patrick again.

Hi bearyhugs,

Patrick stated in the quotation 'sliding casement wardrobe for MBR' when I asked for WIW. Wondering if its the same as I've other quotes which stated compartments with cloth hanging bars, drawers, shelves etc, mirror, false wall partition etc for WIW quotation.

Under u had a feature wall for the WIW so is it part of your WIW stated in yr quotation or separately?

Let's do a recap. What to do next after u finally down to one final quotation, i.e Patrick? But some of the things u requested are not indicated in his first quotation. Get him to do another quotation to indicate the actual stuff u wanted or get him over to your place to get the exact measurement and pray hard that revised quotation would still be within your budget?

Anyone able to enlighten?

orith

Hello all

Today i just went to meet up with Malcom (its my first meet up with Ho Bee), i think he's the designer for Ho Bee. Do u guys get to meet up with Patrick or Malcom? Do you know if they work hand in hand together?

orith

Hello Bearyhugs

I am very interested to see your pictures. Can you please share with me? I am also a bamboo fanatic. Heehe...i just love bamboo.

Do you still have the quotation? Can u send to me pls? My email is [email protected]

Thanks a lot

orith

Hello all

I was told by Malcom today they have 3 diff group of ppl doing floor tiles. He said the uncle which has the loudest voice is the best. Anyone has feedback to share?

To Amelia and MyRockBaby, hows your renovation going? Can you please share your quotation with me? My email is [email protected]. Thank you

my_rock_baby

My reno only starting after Ching Ming
. currently Patrick has measure my flat, listen to what I want him to do/not to do, and choose tiles for my whole house. So he still working on my quote....

eh today went to IMM to buy my hood and hob and sink. And I encounter this uncle in Hoe Kee who is so corky. I ask him to demo the Fujioh hood to me. Wow he is so ON THE BALL and say so much. Then I ask him what is his best price, he said $420 with delivery included. I told him "eh but few days ago this lady in Chuan Heng offer me $360 for the hood leh"... then that corky uncle immediately told me "aiyah, no such thing lah! hers definitely did not include delivery charge!". anyway, I told him I will consider and guess what, he just said "if she really offer u #360, then u go and buy from her lah!" wow lau
... anyway I proceed to see see look look the sink and then theuncle come up to me again and say, actually huh, if they add up their delivery, it will be about the same cost... my offer of $420 is only for TODAY hor... next time u come I will not offer u the same liao". haizzz... Anyway, in the end I went to Asia Excel (highly recommended by the forumers here... price quoted is cheapest) and Ray offer me the following and DELIVERY IS FREE :
1) Fujioh FIT900 Hood - $360
2) Rinnai glass hob 2 burner - $320
I took his offer with out thinking liao haaaa
I also bought a toilet bowl and basin and some small accessories from him

Heard that Ray also selling TV. Fridge, home appliances, etc... so I will get those from him if his is cheaper than those HDB shops that others are recommending also

my_rock_baby

I think that loud voice uncle is called Da Xia. I also requested for him after seeing good comments about him
... According to Patrick, he said this uncle will tile alone, and he will take 3 weeks to tile a 5 room flat
... for me I'm ok lah, so long the tiles come out nice and neat I don't mind waiting longerrrr

Got some questions for those who signed up with Ho Bee.

a) pls advised on the payments i.e how much to pay at which stage of renovation?

b) So far I've got a few quotations but yet to decide on one since most of the quotations one of them from Patrick, do not cover all those stuff I wanted. What do I do next? Get 2 to 3 of the IDs to do a 2nd quotation to include all the things?

c) Can I get Patrick to draft another quotation to cover all those stuff I mentioned?

d) btw, how many quotations did Ho Bee prepared for you before u signed up with them?

e) Read that some of u already gone to select tiles even before signing on the dotted line with Ho Bee, or even have Patrick came over to your new place to do the measurement. Patrick ok with these?

f) Any of you had your WIW done up by Ho Bee? I requested for WIW but Patrick only quotated sliding casement wardrobe at MBR,nothing mentioned about featured wall or door way. Is this normal as I've seen other quotes which stated that the WIW include cloth hanging bars, drawers, shelves etc, mirror, false wall partition etc for WIW quotation.

Pls enlighten.

Under u had a feature wall for the WIW so is it part of your WIW stated in yr quotation or separately?

my_rock_baby

For measuring of flat, if you rely totally on the floor plan, it is definitely not accurate. Also, by asking Patrick to measure the place, I can also highlight to him where I want him to do/not to do and whether certain things can be done, etc. And based on what has been said, he will add these things in or remove some of the things I don't want in his first draft quotation. Of course Patrick will not mind lah (I think), as he seems so OK to do it for me when I only casually ask him "so where are u going to measure the flat?" heee
As for choosing of tiles, Patrick said that it will be better that we choose first and then he do the exact quotation based on the tiles selected. Like that it will be more accurate and no dispute later.
And Patrick is accomodating on choosing of tiles. He actually bring some of the other forumers to choose tiles in many places if they could not find the one they like in 1 place. For me, I alreayd found some of the tiles I want in the 1st place he bring me to, and I actually like quite a number of it, cannot make up my mind. So he basically take a sample of everything I like and ask me to bring it home to consult my mum (mother suppose to come along but cannot make it last minute) and if they don't like, then he can arrange another time for me to bring the old folks along to choose. He say "just choose until u like, nevermind"
... and I must say he give good suggestion to colors also

Hi my_rock_baby,

May I know what's the reason you choose Ho Bee? Was it the cheapest as I heard Impress21's quotation also quite competitive

bearyhugs

Orith, Not sure who was the one who did tiling works for my hse too. Can check with Patrick. Jus tell him who did the tiling for the bamboo hse cos so far, we were kindof the first ones who did bamboo under him.

Malcom brought this couple to view our flat yesterday. Anyone of you out there happen to be the ones?

rockbaby, thanks for your comments.

my_rock_baby

Hi hello88,
The reasons as below :
1) he is highly recommended in this forum (I have read through from the Darwin Interior thread to this Ho Bee thread). If so many people are giving him the thumbs up, I'm sure he is really like what they say, honest, not calculative, sincere, patient, etc. And after meeting him for 2 times, I need to add that he is a super punctual person. Both occasion he waited for me even before the meeting time. That I think is important as it shows that he is a person who takes his job seriously, regardless of whether the person he is waiting is going to throw in millions to do the house or just $10000 to do the house
. He is able to give me my 1st quotation within half a day ... impress!

2) Very reasonable pricing. I did not do much comparision since really no time and sometimes the more I compare, the worst it gets. It's always like this, A offer u something cheap here but something expensive there. B will probably do the other way... so end up, about the same. But so far I compare Patrick with others, his is really reasonable price. Even my colleague who did their house said Patrick price is good. So funny thing is I give him a list of things I wanted to do and ask for his quote, and I told him "eh I tight budget, so try to give me your best price". I did not state my budget, but in my mind I am praying hard that it will not exceed $15000. In the end, he give me a 1st quotation of exactly $15000 haaaa.

3) according to the forumers here, he has good carpenters and good tilers
... This is VERY important. Because some contractors can give u very nice package, but then if their workers skill is bad, it is as good as throwing $$$ into the drain!

hmmm I will be starting work after the Ching Ming period, so I think I can only comment more after I started renovating heee

Oh btw, Patrick is a very BUSY person... so my advice is, try to be more PROACTIVE, sms him or call him if you need to meet up with you.... don't blur blur wait and then if he did not call u, u think he is "no good" already. Must give this man a chance
... heard from him that he is working 7 days a week, no day off and he has a wife and young toddler at home.

Hi my_rock_baby,

you really a satisfied customer even before your renovation had started. Way to go. Ya, I thinking of getting him to give me another quotation at least to add up all those we need to do up so I can have a better picture and I'm sure he'll still give me a reasonable quote

cecill

Hi Hello88

I am currently in the midst of renovating my resale 5-rm flat, here's some answers that I can provide regarding your queries.

a) payment terms are 20%, 30%, 20% and 30% (upon completion/handover).
Some firms are asking for more in the first few stages and final payment is abt 10 - 20%. But Patrick's is 30% so very reasonable.

b) I scout and get 6 quotations from different IDs. Finally settled on 2 and got them to provide 3 quotation cos no obligations.

c & d) Yes you need to make sure most of the items are included in the quotation. But during the reno, you might have leftout some stuffs then Patrick will take note of it. I got Patrick to revise and revise - total 5 times before I signed with him. Each time he is prompt in emailing me the revised quote.

e) Yes, firstly Patrick came to take measurement and fix apptmt to select tiles, brought samples home before I signed the contract.

f) can't advise cos my WIW will be done by Closetworks.

Hope the abv helps.

My house tiling is completed on the schedule and very soon will start work on the kitchen carpentry. : )

Hi Cecill,

TQ for your reply. Closetworks? How much they charging u for the WIW? Will it just be the interior of the WIW to be done by Closet? Are u getting Patrick to do up a feature wall or door way or something?

newowner

Patrick is really a busy man, contacted him thrice but didn't get to talk to him at all. Lucky he has a good and nice assistant, whom help me to arrange a meeting with him today. Will be going to view a house in Bishan, wonder if it belongs to any of you here?

Would appreciate greatly if any of you could forward me your quotation, at [email protected], for my reference.

my_rock_baby

hee ... his good and nice assistant is his wife. According to him, sometime when he is talking on the phone and someone call him, the call will be diverted to his wife's phone. His wife will help him to take down message and arrange.

cecill

Hi hello88

WIW is abt 12ft - $2588 comes with false wall and folding door to conceal the WIW and toliet entrance.

can't comment on the workmanship on closetworks but keeping my fingers crossed as I read some remarks on them.

Got Patrick to do a divider cum shoecabinet at the living entrance. Initially wanted to do a feature wall to hide bomb shelter but due to tight budget we dropped the idea.

Hi Cecill,

$2588/- from Closetworks? So WIW totally sub-contracted to Closetworks right? U didnt get Patrick to give u a quote or is it because he did but too ex?

whiteveil

i was very very interested to sign with him due to the good comments from the forum and also his pleasant personality.

But after i went to view the bishan house done by Toa Sia (Loud Voice) yesterday, i couldnt helped but was a little disappointed with the workmanship (both tiling and carpentary work). Maybe my expectations was too high after hearing so many gd comments here but i think overall, their workmanship is just Average. Am saying this cos' the homo tiles are not even and there r sharp edges when u use ur hand or feet to feel it. The carpentary work at the kitchen was not done v well too...lamination work was not done properly and you could feel that there r sharp edges too...
mum was commenting how 'average' their workmanship to me and now i really dunno whether i should proceed or get another quote from other contractors

can anyone give me ur comments on this?

cecill

yeah we signed with CW w/o mucht consideration before choosing the reno ID so not bcos he was too ex. hope it will turn out nice.

waterbibi

Orith,

My reno has been good.Tiling work is very excellent...L box and false ceiling is also good.

Kitchen cabinets is not up yet becos it's raining.