HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

bearyhugs

Hi jean,
So you were one of them who came to my place! But I'm sorry. Which one were you? There were two couples who came. One of them came alone without her HB though. Were u with your HB? : >
Hope you like our hse design.....

Thanks sunsetbay, gave up trying already. Don think I have the photo editor programe.

Sent the link to the rest who've requested.

ssb

send to me too.

waterbibi

I am very pleased with Ho Bee's tiling work thus far.
Reno should be completed mid of next month.Just curious when i should shop for my furniture?Now?Or end of this month or later?Thanks

cecill

Hi bearyhugs

Tks for sending the photos! Guess what... I visited your hse sometime ago - the day when they were fixing the bamboo poles. I came with my hubby & son. It's after seeing your hse that we decide to engage Ho Bee.

Wow nice to see your completed resort flat - Cool! Like the overall design

I'm also in the midst of reno, patrick mentioned that I have chosen similar kitchen tiles as yours.

Wanna ask where do you get the wooden blinds and what is the colour that you chose for your walls?

aeina

Hi Rachel,
Did u receive my email? By the way, i forgot to mention, don't take homogenous tile from msia. China's quality is better than msia. Msia's homo tiles will be cheaper too.

Amelia,
Shop when u r free and there is sales. ha ha... i started shopping before my reno ends. However, i will ask the furniture shops if they can keep my furnitures for few mths in their warehouse without additional cost. U will ve to take down the measurement of the furnitures u want to buy and go home and measure if it will fit yr house. Don't buy a furniture that doesn't physically fit yr house. ;)

bearyhugs

Cecil, oh... so you were the one with your HB and son! Your son was really cute. Hoped you had been equally satisfied with Patrick's reno as us too. What a coincidence that you've chosen the same tiles as our kitchen tiles too but they are not very easy to clean, it seems. Oh, we got our wooden blinds from spotlight. Saved us a few hundred dollars compared to getting it from those professional curtain shops. As for colours, we chose mainly barley white for the living and sandstone for the master bedroom. All the best to your reno and rem to share pics with us too.

Amelia, suggest you to start shopping ard and compare prices too. Like what Aeina mentioned, you can order first and deliver later. Get your measurements right, important.

shelyn

Halo everyone,

I am new to this thread... was doing research for a contractor though i've not gotten my flat yet. Hopefully will be able to get one by june/july.

Saw that Ho Bee and Impress21 are the 2 highly recommended ones... but may i know whether they are expensive to engage?? i intend to buy a resale 4-room area 90m2, with a reno budget of 18k only.... but my design is quite simple. other than the std carpentry like cabinets for master bedroom and kitchen, tiling etc, only require additional fish tank. Do you think HO Bee would be able to work within my budget?

also, where do you all shop for furnitures?? there are soooo many ads on furniture every sat with a wide range of prices.. not sure which is good and bad leh. was quite interested in Berlini until i saw somewhere that their things are of very poor quality.... so now i'm very worried about buying a poor quality furniture.

any advice here??

cecill

Hi bearyhugs

Tks for your reply! Heard from my friend abt spotlight too, will go there and take a look.

At the moment Patrick has not started the tiling work cos the aircon piping have been delayed and he is very particular that this has to be completed before he proceeds.

Hi Amelia, read from your thread that your reno started on Mar 7 and mine started on Mar 8. So Patrick is handling both our projects together. How much has yours been completed?

waterbibi

bearyhugs,

Will do thanks.
That husband lah..always dilly dally.I admit I am very lazy too.

Shelyn,

You have to call up Patrick regarding quotation...see if he can work something out for you.

Recommended furniture brands in this forum are:-

Ritz Rymen
Lorenzo
Cellini
OM

Cecill,

I haven't been down for more than a week but my guess is he's halfway thru L box or has completed L box.Tiling for living and kitchen is done when I was down last week.What concept are you going for?

my_rock_baby

May I know whether anyone of u here did tilings for your sink and/or stove area? I heard that if u don't do tiling at your sink area, few yrs later the wood at the sink area will rot???
btw, I have made appointment with Patrick to view his existing project, need to see some workmanship before signing on the dotted line :D

bearyhugs

Shelyn,
U can call Patrick for a quotation. He can give u one quite fast though....

My rock baby, do let me know that u r also from this forum if you do happen to view my hse. : >

Cecil, such reno delay happen very often during our hse reno too. That's why ours took particularly long... But got to compromise for good workmanship.

my_rock_baby

one more question, is there any particular Patrick's carpenter who has extremely good workmanship??? have more or less make up our mind to engage Ho Bee, so hoping that can get the good uncles :D to do my flat :D

my_rock_baby

ya bearyhugs... I will remember that your house is the one with the bamboo pole :D ... btw we have tentative fix the visiting date on Good Friday :D so if you see me with my mother and 3 yrs old son, u know is me lah :D
very excited :D

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
Sure. But Patrick din seem to make any arrangements with us. Maybe, he might bring you to see some other newly completed hses. Don worry, everyone of them should be good. Can rec u my carpenter cos he's really good.

Hi Rachel,
We spent ard $300 for the bamboo poles plus the pebbles that are placed in the planter box. Oh the vase, got that from seiyu departmental store sale. N it costs ard $28. Don think they have it now but I saw it at one of those cartwheel stores outside Meridien foodcourt jus last week. Can try. Otherwise, can try the Malay Village. I got the dried flower from there and each stalk only costs $2 to 3 .

Chloe, sent the link to you liao.

waterbibi

I went down Furniture Mall over the weekend and couldn't find anything(Cept' for sofa which i already ordered)that goes with my modern concept
Most shops there carry walnut furniture.

I was hoping to find glass pieces for coffee and my dining table...console must be nice, modern and sleek.Any ideas?Help Help!Thanks!

Amelia, if u r looking for round glass dining table, can check it out at Cupboard, IMM. The furnite is from OM. Looks quite morden

Amelia, agreed with you, coz i also looking for round glass table, pretty hard to find. So far, this is the only one that catch my eye.

All the sales persons are telling us, most of the ppl now looks for LONG RECTANGLE table. sianz

my_rock_baby

Hi bearyhugs,
what is your carpenter's name? can check with u whether u did any sink top? My mum leep on saying that I should do it as she heard a lot of people say if don't do the wood at the sink area will rot over the years... I mean really that bad meh?? Not cheap to do it leh

slance

am new to this thread.....from all communication Patrick seems to be quite popular...is he from Ho Bee/. Can i have his contact?

Can all share house picture?

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
Jus ask Patrick; he will tell u my carpenter's name. R u referring to the solid surface top? I did that.

Slance,
Sent u the link already.

slance

hi bearyhugs,

got ur link!gg thur it very nice....can i have ur reno contact as well as do they have a link to view?

What i know is they are renovating their new shownroom in Sg Kadut, not sure if it's done.

Celia, u can just call Patrick directly.

cecill

Hi Amelia

Sorry to reply late cos I didn't login over the weekend. Was on leave to attend to house matters.
Mine is a 5rm resale at Sengkang.
More on resort style like bearyhugs.
Today they are fixing the false ceiling and L-box but only kitchen tiling is done. like what bearyhugs said, I want gd wkmanship then can't rush Patrick. Where's your hse?

Hi rockbaby
I met up with the carpenter y'day. His name is Ah Kiong and he works for Patrick. I must say that he gives good advice. But I am only doing kitchen cabinet so he advised us on the layout of the kitchen and shoe cabinet and what laminate colours to choose to match the wall tiles etc. hope this info. helps.

my_rock_baby

Hi bearyhugs, thansk for "informing" Patrick that I am interested in your good carpenter :D ... bet Patrick now knows my_rock_baby = Shirley haaaa.
Actually what I meant is, my mum wants me to do tiling for the sink top.... but then I check with one of my colleague who did that, it will cost around $1000 just to do forthe sink area and if u want to include the stove area as well, it will cost $1600 (alamak... heartpain)

waterbibi

Is Ah Kiong bespectacled, medium-built, tanned..wearing stripe shirt and jeans yesterday?I also met up with a carpenter last evening.

My new flat is at CCK Cres.

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
I din inform Patrick abt your interest in our carpenter leh??

Hi Amelia,
Think it should be him.

Hi Slance,
Thanks for your compliments. By the way, I don have our contract with us as the soft copy is not the updated one. Ho Bee currently no website yet. Best to contact Patrick directly.

rachelcheng

Hi all, Is it true that whatever patrick is quoting there is absolutely no hidden cost? Will he left out something important which need to be done in his quotation and later on claim that we need to do this and that and not in quotation hence must pay$$$. I have a friend who told me that her friend signed up a contract of $16K in an exhibition not sure which company tho.. Ended up paying $40K++ and heavily in debt. I dun want to end up like her... Even 1K of hidden cost I also cannot afford leh.. My budget is just nice to the dot.. Also I have met up with patrick and chosen my tiles. Know he is busy so for the third location, we went down on our own to choose. I feel quite insecure cos he is too popular and not sure if he will do our house wholeheartedly.

By the way Bearybugs,
Who is your carpenter? You mean he is really good? I heard from patrick that Da Xia can do tiling alone for more than a month!!!! Then handover will drag loh.. Heard that others workmanship is equally good.. True?

One funny thing. He din ask me to sign anything lei tho we have gone down to choose the tiles.. What if we back off the last minute? He really trust that we will definitely choose him hor...

Another question for those who went around for quotation. Do you agree that Patrick's tile works is considered very expensive compared to others?

Sorry for being so long winded suddenly..

bearyhugs

Hi Rachel,
Actually, Patrick also din get us to sign anything til jus before reno started. Don worry, he will take care of everything except that he might be a little slow and require you to remind him at times when he's busy. But he does delivers his promises. Can ask Patrick abt my carpenter. Jus mention the bamboo hse lor.

Din really compare Patrick's tiling works with the rest but his overall was really much cheaper than those quoted by ID.

newowner

Hi, am new here. going to be get my new 4-room flat (90m2) soon, at queenstown.

Read from this thread that Ho Bee is highly recommended. Therefore, would be grateful if you all could forward either your quotations or house pics to me at [email protected]

Thanks alot.

my_rock_baby

I saw the Jurong West flat liao... hmmm the design of the flat not bad... at least I like the part that the bomb shelter door is at the kitchen and not at the living room :D ... so good, no need to do any feature wall to conceal it.
ya, will be getting Patrick to do the house liao, my mum and I like the tiling, very neat and small gap.
Patrick very friendly woh ... he so good send us to IMM, but unfortunately we all not familiar to that place so endup going round and round heee... so paiseh, wasted his petrol :D

anybody got Ho Bee's quotation to share? btw, those who have contacted Patrick...is it possible for me to send an email and ask him to quote on those stuff I wished to reno?

anybody got his email add?