HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Orrrrr... sunsetbay is vivis' lau gong

Thanks for sharing the photo. A good idea leh!

Frankly speaking, not many pple will have the same design sense as u or me. So just ignore those negative comments. Just stick to wat u like

Hi vivis, Sunsetbay, Wenn and bearyhug,
ha ha ha.. think we are the only creative person around. i think it is really unique and i love it too. It gives a rustic feel which i like very much. Those who have went to my house will remember the rustic tiles i choose for my foyer. Hee hee... me like it. I think once the furnitures are put in and with effect of the light, it will be power!!!

hi bearyhugs, patrick did charge us for the little partition wall in his quotation. i think is abt $300.
there's another half wall between living & kitchen which we will do a counter top, that one he din charge us as we make it a last min request when his contractor was hacking the kitchen wall.

Hi sunsetbay,
Now that u mention it, I rem hearing that from Patrick when we asked him too. Sorry, forgot abt that. By the way, what air conditioners system r u using? I saw that your air cons were already installed. Fridge and washing machine brands? Actually, is it really necc to build a fridge base? I saw one of my fren's house without fridge base n it looked better in fact.

Aeina, can't wait to see pics of your completed furnished house with "power", esp when u bought your furniture from Widjaya right? I'm also doing resort style and intending to buy from there too. :>

Hi Bearyhug,
I meant sunsetbay house is "power" after furnitures are in.

Hee hee... i will definitely show u my pics once furnitures are in. Wihardja will take 2mths to deliver oh. I also bought at Home Merchant for my tv console.

hi bearyhugs,

we r using samsung system 3, $1600. i not particular abt aircon cos i can live w/o it. haha...

fridge & washing machine are taken fm vivis's parent home as they are shifting too to another place. we hv the washing machine base if u hv notice... which i think it's not necessary cos it's larger than i thot. for fridge base, i think it's ok to hv it. i think we also hv to think of maintenace whn designing a home, if one day we wash the kitchen flooring, we will hv hard time reaching the base of the fridge if there's no base beneath.

initially i want to hv a suspend cabinet bt thinking of the extra area to clean & lesser space for the storage, we drop the idea although patrick told us the cost is abt the same.

hi bearyhugs,
we only have a fridge base. hubby din want a w/m base. he said buy those plastic boxes-thing to prop up can liao

but hor, patrick's workers did some gradient for the floor. so that part where we placed the w/m is not even. ended up, we took 30 mins to adjust the legs of the w/m to get the correct flat gradient for the w/m. was so frustrated that i told hubby that if can't solve, i'm going to ask Patrick to do the base liao!

For the w/m base, i think i made a mistake of having my w/m built with my kitchen cabinet. I saw my friend has a w/m next to toilet and she can recycle the water to wash the floor and windows etc. The water of my w/m flow directly into the kitchen sewage pipe... sigh... never thot of that.

Hi sunsetbay,
I heard suspended cabinet will drop bit by bit as yrs go by. The gravity rule. Not very good if u r keeping a lot of things in the cabinet. So u have made a right choice not to have suspended cabinet.

Had been sometimes since I last visit the SB forum and am very surprise to see this thread.
We engaged Patrick for our home renovation too. Very please with the workmanship and two thumbs up for his service!!!
Hubby and myself want to give him credit for transforming our bare flat into a new and cosy home... like some ladies here, we didnt really negotiate with patrick as we find his quotation very reasonable and most imptly, we are happy with the final results and service tat we get.
I have absolutely no hesitation to recommend his service to any everyone on this forum. Good things must share right?? tat's the reason why we are here

Serong,
Where is yr place?? hee hee.. i am always curious to see people's house. Wanna to exchange house pics but my house's pic is still not complete cos my house still quite empty.
I agree that good things must share but i also agree it got to do with affinity. sometimes, we might think it is good. other might think only so-so etc. really think it is an affinity for all of us here to engage same person.

Really comforting to hear that Patrick is receiving so many goody comments. Reassured us that we've made the right choice.

Thanks for all yor comments. Decided to go ahead to build both the W/M & fridge base for lower maintenance in future afterall.

By the way, we are not doing any feature wall to cover the bomb shelter door as the door is along a passageway to the bedrooms. Doing a tic tac door would make the opening of the door v diff (passageway too narrow). Any other ideas how we can comouflage the door? We thought of hanging those thick Nylon ropes (those that r used for curtains) over the whole piece of wall. Saw something like that at one of the showrooms before. Looks like a big curtain to a stage.

Patrick really is nice until no words can describe... I told Patrick I wan to keep one of the bedroom door to replace the old one at my mum's place. ( i am changing all my three bedroom doors so quite wasted to throw all the new doors away). So I told him the measurement of the door at my mum's place (slightly smaller) and ask him if he could help me to trim my new door to fit my mum's place door. Yest, I met up wif Patrick to confirm my house colours and cabinet design, he actually ask the door specialist to come and the specialist ask me for my mum's address so that he can go down personally to take exact measurements of the old door and frame then he will trim the new door to the exact size.. and he even offered to drive the door to my mum's place... all these without any costs...

Patrick is really a v good contractor who goes the extra mile for you.. Wonderful...

Hi aeina,
My place at punggol and is already fully furnished as renovation was completed since Sep last year. U staying in SK/PG area too??
I dont mind sharing but got to give me sometime to take the pix...

Hey fanyong, wow... seems like patrick's really going the extra mile to help... happy for you

Fanyong,
Patrick always goes extra mile. He also dissembled the ex-owner's aircons for us and sent them to my bf's house for free. There are also many little things that he did for us. i think he is really wonderful. My colleague also said love his personality and attitudes.

I agree that we shldn't really take negative feedback to heart. Anyway, if we feel that 1 wall feature is unique, we'll keep it. Even though some elderly cant take that kind of "unfinish" surface. Haha.....

Recently I juzt shifted to my bro hse, so cant visit this website do often until my bro apply a telephone line. nw at my lao gong hse surf net. hee...

Patrick just brought a couple to our hse to view his workmanship.They also knew him through this forum. Think Patrick no need to get a showflat liao. Haha....

Hey bearyhugs, you've been to the showflat at punggol central?? hop over yesterday w hubby to kaypo... dont really like the decor but tot you can copy their idea of camouflaging the bomb shelter door... The designer had treated the bombshelter as if it's a window and hung a full length curtain to cover it up.

Hi Vivis, I agree with you... he brought a few couples to our place too. He has been such a nice person so hubby and I didnt mind helping him.

Hi Serong,
Nope. Didn't go down to the Punggol showflat at all. But went down to a showflat by one of the reno companies and saw this Nylon rope concept to cover the bomb shelter door.

Can check what kind of floor tiling did u do, serong? Parquet by any chance? Patrick was telling us that none of his clients had done any parquet, so we r still deciding if we should do it.

Hi Bearyhug,
Nylon rope concept sounded rather unique. Never actually see it but definitely sounded interesting. My cents of thot for parquet is good to see but hard to maintain. My cousin has a semi-d house and her 2nd flr is using parquet. according to her, easily scratchable and need to polish every few yrs. When engaging specialist to polish, the whole place is very dusty and dirty. She doesn't recommend me that. She told me to use laminate so i did. ;) If u really like the wood feel and classy look, go for timber strip. Heard it is much better than parguet but expensive too.

Hi vivis,

I found this on the web. Find it quite useful. Recently, i bought a bottle of sofix for parquet. Also meant for laminate. really good. I used the undilute solution, pour on cloth and wipe on my laminate flr for master bedroom. Can feel a difference. It gives a layer of protection compared to the other bedrooms which i only use dilute solution with water. I used in master bedroom cos i used the toilet in it frequently.

Laminate floors are easy to care for and hard to damage. Here's how to maintain them properly.

Steps:
1. Read the warranty and care instructions for your flooring. Follow the instructions and keep them where you can refer to them if a problem develops.

2. Vacuum and then damp-mop laminate floors. Don't wet-mop, because puddles could seep behind basebords and seep under your floor and damage it.

3. Do not apply wax or acrylic floor finishes.

4. Use the stain-removal products recommended by the flooring manufacturer. Acetone (for nail-polish spills and cigarette burns) and mineral spirits (for tar and grease) are typical suggestions in product literature.

5. Put down doormats at doorways that lead to the outdoors or garage. These will trap grit that could gradually cause light scratching on the surface of the laminate floor.

6. Put protective easy-glide buttons on the feet of furniture.

7. Use a dolly when moving a heavy appliance or large piece of furniture across a laminate floor. You could leave a scratch if a tiny pebble gets caught under a wheel or furniture foot that you're sliding across the floor.

Tips:
Take common-sense precautions to protect the floor when working with sharp, heavy objects. For instance, put down a thick tarp or carpet scrap to protect the floor when installing a ceiling fan and using a drill; if you drop it you could damage the floor.

Hi aeina,

Wow... Very detail info. Thanks.

That day I use damp cloth to clean my laminating flooring cos I hvnt buy vacumm cleaner for my new hse yet. Hee....

Sofix Parquet Floor Care? that's what we had juz bought last sun at giant. the twin pack is abt $10+ with free sponge.
126106.jpg

Sunsetbay, u actually took pic n upload ah!! So this is the one we bought. I din realise the brand also. Next time u try then i sit there n look at the effect. haha....

Yeah yeah... exactly what i bought too. used the undilute version to wipe yr bedroom. Yesterday, i was telling my mum and she too felt that there is a layer of protection for my mbr, which i used the undilute version. Try one bedrm with dilute and one undilute to see the diff.

Hi bearyhugs,

As ours is a premium apartment from HDB, it already comes with parquet floorings for all 3 bedrooms. Just curious if u are concerned abt the quality of Patrick's work or becos Patrick's not confident of doing parquet flooring.... If your concern is the former, then you are put your mind at ease
The flooring of the bedrooms were not covered during renovation and some part of the flooring were quite badly dented and scratched.... hubby and I really heartache when we saw that but Patrick reassured us that he will be doing the touch-up after everything is complete... And of cos, he delivered his promise... the end result was nice parquet flooring for all 3 bedrooms.

hi i just got my 4 room resale flat and would like to engage Patrick for my renovation so can i have his contact nos.and Ho Bee address.If u all don't mind can share your quotation so that I can have an idea of their pricing? My email is [email protected]. Thanks!!

Hi Serong,
Thanks so much for yur advice. So u mean Patrick re-do the whole parquet flooring for you? Or did he patch up those pieces that were damaged.

Thanks aeina & sunsetbay & vivis for sharing tips how to care for laminate and parquet flooring. A lesson learnt for me.

Hi Aeina,
Saw one of your earlier posts tat u got some of your electrical appliances from Mega discount? Is there one at United Sq as in the one near Novena? I only know of the one at Katong Mall.
Ironical as I'm working in Novena area and I don't even know of this shop's existence. : >

hi bearyhugs,
they are at the basement of United Sq. but the young sales guy pissed my hubby off with his constant questions & recommendations. so in the end, we bought our fridge & w/m at Audio House sale :p

hi david,
You can reach Patrick at 96792934. Would love to share my quotation but cant find it anywhere at home :p sorree

hi bearyhugs,
nope... they just dugged out and replace the damaged parquet blocks. Afterwhich they painted the rooms with layers of lacquer. We cant even tell between the original and replaced pieces.
Got my plasma, fridge and washing machine from mega too... good deal if you squeeze them hard enough... did some research before buying and they usually can match other's pricing. I liaise with louis, supposedly one of the boss. Btw, I went to the branch at katong. A friend got hers at the branch at Novena.

Hi all.

Im new to all this renovation thing. i juz book my unit w HDB n yet to collect keys. i juz wondering tat do i have to start doing research nw or shld i wait till i collect keys then i start to research. im so blur nw.

Hi serong,
Do u have any photos to share for your parquet flooring? That will def help a lot... Thanks in advance.

Hi Xue,
U can start doing research now. No hard and fast rules. But it really depends on when u wish to start your reno. Can try bringing your floorplan to a few contractors to compare prices and quotations. A must to do: start buying Home and Deco magazines e.g. Home&Deco, BestHomes, Homestyle, CUBES... They do give u lots of useful reno ideas, me at least. :>

Hi Xue,

I think bearyhugs is right. If you want something unusual, its better to flip through home mag to get ideas. Visit a few contractors not just to get quotation, but also look at their proposed design. Who knows you can actually have their design at a cheaper rate.

Have fun looking around.

can anyone give me some advice regarding kitchen cabinet?

has anyone tried red and white combi?

as in for the bottom cabinet is half length red and half length white. backings is red laminate + frosted top cabinet. pardon me for my horride description

Hi milo66,

Half length red & half length white? Quite innovative. Cant put the picture in my mind. where did u get the idea from?

the whole length is 10 ft. one length white, one length red. meaning the bottom cabinet is split into two colours

i think red & white sounds good. seen in some magz b4. but i wun use this colour scheme cos looks like Marikita leh... (national flag colours) no offence hor.

in my previous home, my dad did the kitchen cabinets all by himself. the combi colours are orange & white. looks like this combi is quite popular now too

hi wenn, i fully agree with you. red and white look so hot. dunno whether will this colour be lasting or not. act i love orange and white perhaps can propose.

Can i know wat is the colour theme for your hse. is it woody or jus plain laminate?

Hi Xue,
Must start early. Preplan is always impt. I got my keys in Nov 2003 but i have started searching in Jul 2003. My reno only started in Feb 2004. I really take lot of time to search for ideas and good contractors, quotations etc.

Hi Milo,
It is also impt to match the cabinet with yr floor and wall tiles. Don't just blindly follow the trend.
Red and white combination is very common in Spore. My cousin did it. I find it is pretty interesting but got to suit yr house's theme. Ha ha ha... i m thinking if u r going for oriental contemporary, u can try red and black or contemporary - red and stainless steel. cool.... that's only my opinion.

Hi Bearyhug,
Mega is not the best. My sister used this company. Really good. Lion City Co : Joshua Ong Tel : 94558515 Address : 684 Geylang Rd. Singapore 389608 (sob sob.. my sis’s frigde (same model, same brand) is $75 cheaper than mine even though mine is $60 cheaper than Best/ Harvey Norman. There is a new Police HQ at Outram. Inside the bldg, there is an electrical store. Most of the policemen bought appliances from there. Lion City is the distributor to that shop in Police Force HQ. Call him up and ask him for quote oh.

Hi Xue,
Forgot to tell u that i ve compiled a list of reno tips. If u r keen to ve a look, reply to my email.

Hi aeina,
Thanks a great deal. Will try that shop then and compare prices.

Hi Milo,
I've seen red + white + black combi cabinets in magazines. Initially, also had the same idea but more keen on resort style concept hence, wuch bright contrasting colour combi wouldn't match. But it gives the whole kitchen a very mordern futuristic look esp if there's stainless steel combi as well.

noticed that most of you here have engaged patrick as your contractor.. we are also considering to engage him and have gotten his quotation. can i just ask how you find his workmanship and the quality of the materials he uses? eg. tiles, tempered glass, etc. does he offer a wide selection of floor tiles to choose from? in the quotation we got, it's the 600x600 china homogenous tiles.

will appreciate any feedback...

hi aeina,

mine is a colourful theme but after seeing the laminate and drawings, cant help but worry that it might look too boring. still prefer woody laminate where there are some grains. Wat theme is your hse? mind sharing.

Hi bearyhug,

mind sharing with me pic of your resort style hse? my email is [email protected]. Resort style does it involve alot of wood? Sorry but all this are driving me nuts. my reno starting after national day and till now i cant confirm wat i want. sigh.............

hi milo66,
my laminates are wood grain. in fact, most of my house is done with wood grain

u can refer to the july 15 archive to see the photos i posted

hee hee wow your kitchen cabinet are so.... nice. must have cost you a bomb buying all teh trays

is your whole hse deco the same shade of laminate as your kitchen?

thanks thanks milo

the trays costed an extra 1k. can ask Patrick to bring u to song cho to buy. he can get 30% discounts.

not really same colour range for whole house. our colours ranges from mahagony to rosewood & birch. i only got Patrick to customise the kitchen cabinets & some shelves. furniture-wise, we bought from vhive & ikea