HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

It is abit like mine.. Mine is also deep red. I bought $60 at pasar malam for 180inch by 90 inch. Bought two sets. One deep red and one bronze.

Hi aeina,

Wah!! I think the 1st wan is suitable for resort style. But 2nd pic looks nice!! How much is the painting? Btw yr whole hse is resort style or u hv different theme?

U guy chose deep red ah? My mum also ask me to choose red cos having my customary in few months' time. But because my colour theme is more to earth tone, so i hv to choose smthing that match.

Vivis,
Saw it selling at yahoo auction so tempted to buy. These are Van gogh art reproduction. Art pc is at S$10 but handling and shipping fee is from $30 - $50. Hmmmm... not that cheap lah. However, it is real oil painting on canvas and van gogh art reproduction. Heart itches but will wait first.

Basically, i tried to have resort style in whole house but my toilets aren't. I chose red cos my sofa cushion matches the curtain. In additon, dirt is not prominent on deep red. ha ha.. the laziness factor again.

Oh ic.... Thats quite ex then.

Actually I like resort style alot but hubby prefer contemporary.

Oh ya! yr toilet is the unique black right. Hee... Quite stylo.

same here too. bf also prefers contemporary or whitish look. he is tryin to convince to let him ve the study room to do whatever he wants. ha ha.. i wiil think abt it.

my black black toilet... laziness factor again. hee hee...

Ya. Went yr hse before. Patrick brought us there. Hubby n myself also wondering hw come u chose black for toilet. In the end, I thought of camouflage purpose too. Haha.....

I cant wait to see my reno done.

This thread certainly moves fast. I'm also looking at resort style but more to mordern resort since FH doesn't like the idea of being to traditionally balinese.

Fanyong, I'm also looking at white solid top with dark walnut colour cabinets. Your hse under reno now? Can check if yours is somewhere near bukit merah? Patrick was telling us he can bring us to this near completion flat in abt 2 weeks time. Whole hse homogenous - could it be yours?

I also like black toilet wall tiles but can't overlay the wall tiles as mine is a new flat.

Aeina, u can try this place which has very good comments from lots of homeowners. My colleagues just bought two paintings from them to hang at the foyer and till now, still singing praises of it. Can check which brand of hood n hob did u guys buy?

EVERSHINE GA LLERY
Blk 177 #01-140
Toa Payoh Central
Singapore 310177
Tel: 6250 1901
Fax: 6250 5354

me not using patrick but i love to come into this thread.. hope u all dun mind me joining.

bearyhugs
i am staying near bukit merah area!!!

aeina
i like the 2nd pcs too!!!!

Bearyhug,
I know evershine but so expensive. A colleague bought a painting for S$500 plus. well.. i m not that sure if i m that generous. :P

Potter,
U r always free to join us. Have u renovated yr house?? Wow.. bt merah is expensive oh. The 2nd pc is called, "The starry night". Definitely one of my fav of Van gogh art. Wish i can owe that one. wonder if i should buy that. aww....

I'm also interested in engaging Ho Bee for my renovation. Can some kind soul send me their quotation so that I can have an idea of their pricing? My email is [email protected]

Btw, on average, how many % are we able to cut from their initial quotation? Thanks in advance !!

Hi bearyhugs,

Ya.. that is my flat... whole house homo tiles...completing in around 2 weeks...Are u also thinking of doing whole house homo tiles?

My hood and hob is from Mayer.. Think the brand is Delizia... haven install yet...

Anyone staying near Tampines then? Patrick also mentioned that he could bring us to this near completion flat at Tampines too.

We are interested in parquet flooring but heard from Patrick that there's no one doing parquet for his clients base. A bit disappointing. Not sure how it might turn out.

Fanyong, mind if I ask if you are in the teaching line? We are thinking of doing homogenous for whole house and parquet for bedrooms.

hi bearyhugs,
i think the tampines flat owner should be sunsetbay. read his postings b4. u can find him at forums.hardwarezone.com

hi bearyhugs,

I not not in teaching line... y do u ask ? Are u a teacher?

Hi Potter,

Which part of Bukit Merah r u staying?

Hi Fanyong,
Nope. I'm not in teaching line but just that I heard the owners of the near completion flat at bukit merah belongs to a couple who's a teacher.

Thanks wenn, we went to that flat at Tampines. Not bad... They hacked the wall and joined two bedrooms into one and made a walk-in wardrobe.

Hi bearyhugs,

Then maybe it is not my flat u r going to .... cos there are many pple doing homo tiles nowadays...

wenn,

My carpentry work going to start soon.... realise that my house v small so not much space on the kitchen cabinet top.... and realise I cant buy the corner swivel baskets liao cos no space for that.... But nvm, cos the lesser solid top area the less things will be placed in pple's line of sight... then it wont be too messy... cos I am the lazy type so if I see space on the solid top, I will put things on it... now I will be forced to place my things in the cabinet instead.. Hee

hi fanyong,
ic ic... then u will get to save some $$$

aiyoh, my swivel oso caused some misalignment of the bottom cabinets with my hob. but can't be helped lah.... have to align with top cabinets oso....

me too, everything stuffed into cabinets... luckily, hubby din allow me to have all glass panels for the cabinets.... or else, everything can be seen :p hahaha....

Hi wenn,

Haha... Ya lor... save $$$. I also like frosted glass panels for my cabinets... but hubby dun like so in the end only one frosted glass at the dish rack....

Frosted glass shldnt be able to see through one....

I getting excited abt my flat liao.... more excited abt flat then wedding leh.... didnt really plan much for the weddng... will wait till flat settle first.. Any of you here having your customary soon?

fanyong,
ic ic... mine is 2 pieces of clear glass for the top cabinet

din have the dish rack above sink becos i have a big window there. oso, hubby dun like it cos every time he places a wet dish in the rack, the water will run down his arm

hi potter,
sigh, boh pian lah... govt is building smaller & smaller flats.... yesterday, a relative from HK told us that their 2 bedroom apt only 46 sq meter ah! their kitchen is much smaller than those 3 room flats in SG. imagine, our 3 room flats is about 70+ sq m liao...

Anyone has tried using the blum system for their kitchen cabinets? I'm quite interested in using that. But rather costly; abt $50 per drawer. Plus the anti-slam system. It would be good as we wanted to do our kitchen cabinets without handles.

<font face="Arial"><font size="-1">Posted by bearyhugs (bearyhugs) on Sunday, July 18, 2004 - 11:28 am: </font></font>

<font face="Arial"><font size="-1">Hi Fanyong,
Nope. I'm not in teaching line but just that I heard the owners of the near completion flat at bukit merah belongs to a couple who's a teacher.

Thanks wenn, we went to that flat at Tampines. Not bad... They hacked the wall and joined two bedrooms into one and made a walk-in wardrobe.
</font></font>

i think u went to vivis &amp; my home!! :D some of the things will be re-do, like one of the color of the bedrm will be repainted, the wall features, patrick will paint over it will smiliar cement color!! we dun hv fancy bathrms cos we wanna cut dwn the cost.. bt overall we still satisfy wif patrick service.

Hi Bearyhug,
I m using blum system. Hee hee... but only for few drawers. really good.

wenn,
U r right. The house in HK is so small. ai yoh, hong kong serials are very misleading. Always show the house so big and nicely decorate. In reality, it is very crampy and small.

Potter,
How much did u pay for yr flat? Must be expensive rite??

By the way, my neighbour finally agree to use HDB to repair the toilet flooring. hee hee.. we met up with the MP yesterday. Hope my problem will be resolved soon. So happy....

hi gals, juz to chk with u!! is Patrick charging u all for installation of wash basin n sink?? cos me met up w him n he quoted me $60 fo rinstallation of wash basin, can negoitiate with him??

Hi Sugarbabe,
Same for mine. just checked on my quotation. he charged S$120 for 2 vanity/sinks installation. however, he gave us a lump sum of discount at the end so i think it is ok lor.

u can negotiate with him for freebies. ask him to give u free things.

hi aeina, free things as in??? may i asked hw much disc. he gave u?? cos my hubby gg to ring Patrick up later for a disc.
if nt convenient to say here, mayb can private msg me

Usually, Patrick will round down the total figure at the end of the quote... so he will show the amt of discount in the quote.

For me, I didnt ask him for freebies or any further discount when my hb sign the quote cos we find his price is good and we feel v comfortable to tok to him. Now my house doing reno and i dun have to worry abt it cos I trust him to do a good job... I think that is v impt. Anyway, Patrick is v accomodating... if u need some minor adjustments or small additions in the process of ur reno, I think he will give one, unless of cos for major changes then different. He is v nice, not calculative at all...

Must really thank kk and aeina for recommending him..

Hi aeina,

I think i know wat blum system is... it is those that will slow down the closing of the cabinets so that the cabinets dun slam in whenever u close it right?

hi fanyong,
Yes the blum system works like that. Look forward to seeing your house. Must invite us ok? *hint* I'm your good fren from JC.

We oso din ask for discount &amp; Patrick gave it to us after we confirmed which tiles we wanna used. Anyway, his was the lowest quote &amp; gives me my black galaxy granite kitchen top which makes me happy liao. Other contractors/IDs all refused to quote me that. Insisted that i use solid surface top....

Hi fanyong,
Yeah, blum system for drawers work as anti-slam. Frankly, it is not a must to ve. U r most welcome. I was also introduced to Patrick via KK. In fact, i got many quotations and went to see many contractors thru recommendation here. Ha ha.. kinda of like paying it forward oh.

Hi sugarbabe,
Me didn't ask for further discount cos his price is lowest and he will round down the amt in his contract. For me, he helped me to install stainless pivot to my old windows, replaced my rusty poles holder for clothes hanging for free.. hmmmm... helped us installed metal pcs to secure our kitchen sink cos i bought an average stainless steel sink. We also got mops and pails left at our house after they cleaned our house. He even purposely came to my house just to install blinds for us. :PPPPP i know we really exploited him. My bf even wants him to come again to install the speaker for us. patrick is very nice to agree but i told my bf that we shouldn't bother him so much.

Hi aeina,
We are also very interested in using the blum system. Makes the cabinets look high tech and reduce noise when we close them. Safer too.
How much did u pay for your blum systems?
From where?

By the way, can I also check if Patrick charges u guys haulage fees? Is it bargainable for that?

Hi sunsetbay,
So the house that we went at Tampines belongs to you? We like your cement feature walls. R u guys going to paint over it?

Bearyhug,
I don't know how much i pay for it. Patrick gave me a lump sum for my cabinet. Again, we didn't bargain for haulage cos he is the cheapest of all. The rest quoted me so high for haulage cos mine is resales flat.

sunsetbay,
Wow.. i m keen to have a look at yr cement feature wall. Me have a pc of wall at foyer but not sure how to decorate it. How much did u pay for it? If possible, can show me the pic or not?? pls pls pls.

hi fanyong,
Ai yoh still dunno who I am. I saw you at Club Chinois thread, then knew who u r liao. I'm your JC fren, recently our another good fren got married. Still not enough hints?

No time no hear.

Hi Aeina,

Glad that yr neighbour finally agree to do up his toilet area. Btw sunsetbay is my hubby. Hee... U wanna look at our feature wall ah? ok.. i'll ask him to upload for you hor cos the pictures are all with him.

Hi bearyhugs,

We onli intend to paint the feature wall at dinning area, As for living area, we'll leave it. The reason why we wanted to paint ovr is because we find the cement screeding not uniform. Patrick did warn us before but we didn't expect it to be one patch one patch lor. So we thought of painting cement colour over one of the feature wall and the other remains as it is. Furthermore, doing it on both walls dont really bring out the special effect.

Hi Vivis,
Thanks. Thought your cement feature walls were quite unique in a way. N we like the small little partition that Patrick had done up to divide the balcony and living area. Gave us some good ideas as to how we can partition off our dining space frm living area.

aeina, here's the pic of my wall feature. not quite complete yet. the stainless steel strips protective plastic have nt removed. we may call patrick to repaint a cement like color over it. will take a better pic whn it's complete. the cost for the wall feature at living &amp; dinning area is $1k++

so far, the feedbacks fm vivis's frens on the feature walls were quite negative,
bt i felt it will look difference whn everything is completed &amp; whn the furnitures are put in.

bearyhugs, i got the cement wall feature ideas fm my fren's home &amp; i requested patrick to do smething similiar. as for the low wall partition, it will hv a solid surface top &amp; the wall will be painted, the low partition can either be seated or place some candles behind the glass blocks to create the ambience. we also intend to put a simple water feature on the balcony bt this will be the later stage whn we shifted in,

124535.jpg