HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

chobits_lek

Have read a lot of good comments about Patrick. interested to meet him up for quote. Can I check whether Ho Bee is a contractor or ID. Have check with a few ID firms but find that their quote is a bit steep.=)

Can anyone email me their quote from Patrick?
Email is [email protected].

10Q!!!!!

bearyhugs

Hi milo,
Did I give you the wrong idea? I haven't started my reno yet but already have the resort style design in mind. Can only start my reno in mid sept due to geomancer's advice. : > Sorry to disappoint you.

vivis

Hi milo66,

Wow... Seems like its a daring try for you. I dont dare to take risk. Thats why ours is stainless steel colour with white match with black galaxy top.

I agree with aeina that it really depends on yr hse theme to choose yr colours. mine is contemporary, thus alot of silver, zinc, grey and white.

aeina

Hi Xue, David and Milo66,
U got mail.

Hi fay,
Don't worry... Patrick has a wide selection. In fact, we have difficulties selecting our kitchen wall tiles. he was bringing us around to choose our ideal wall tiles. he brought to 3 shops and we found our ideal in 3rd shops.
I would say the uncle who laid our tiles is perfectionist. In fact, we chose our wall tiles from 1st shop but the uncle feedbacked to Patrick that the colour tones run when he started laying them and he took all the tiles out even before we ve a look. he felt the tiles are not up to standard and will look horrible. I m glad that he didn't hide the truth. Nway, all my friends think the tiling work is excellent. hee hee.. me thinks so too.

aeina

Long time no hear. hope everybody is fine. sob sob.. HDB haven't repaired my toilet ceiling yet. Condition getting bad to worse. Now ceiling paint peeling off.

kat78

for those who get Patrick for reno, do u all call him n meet him personally for quotation or through fax n email? thinking of asking him for quotation first.

btw does he do designing for u all too?

wenn

hi aeina

long time no chat liao...
aiyoh, how come HDB taking their own sweet time

hi kat,
just get patrick to go take a look lor. no harm. anyway, we designed everything ourselves

kat78

hi wenn,

u mean meet him personally huh? can i juz email him wat i want n attach my floorplan to him to ask for a quotation first?

happy2004bride

Hi, Katherine

Yes, you can call Patrick to inform him that you would like to get a quotation from him via email. I have too, send my floorplan and requirement to him via email and he did reply accordingly.

Of course, subsequently, you can call him to arrange an appoinment with him to see his works.

:)

wenn

hi kat,
we arranged with him to meet up at our flat. then tell him roughly wat we want. even doing things this way, we can get wrong quotations from the different IDs & contractors. maybe me & hubby are quite detailed/fussy :p

aeina

Hi kat and happy,
U can call up or email him. Me emailed him my flrplan and asked fpr is quotation. I did that for other IDs too. After that, i compared and shortlisted those who offered better quotes.

Then we went down to interview/discuss with them and shortlisted again. ha ha... like MNC employing for staff yeah. 3 panels of interview and patrick got thru. ha ha... :D Wenn, me even worse right??

Patrick is more of contractor but he is very well-versed in anything. He can highlight to u what u can do etc. Very practical person too.

Hi wenn,
ya lor, HDB so slow ah. Dragged until 7th mth - hungry ghost mth. My neighbour sure doesn't want renovation in this period

wenn

Hi aeina,
hee hee, we all wanna get the best deal mah

hmm,, so they are going to repair the ceiling this month? can ask them to postpone to the 1st day of 8th month or not?

sheep

Hi win,

I look at the past link to your house photos & like your coffee table very much. Where did you get it from?

sheep

Hi win,

I look at the past link to your house photos & like your coffee table @ the living room very much. Where did you get it from?

sirwin

Hi Joyce,

U can get it from dingbrothers(http://www.dingbrothers.com.sg) via call. They are wholesalers. I also forgot how by trying my luck I can get them to sell to mi & did some negotiation as well. Model is 201A(White). Try calling Jean @ 63693733. It was priced between $330-$350 but cos I also bought a 7 ft TV console, it cost mi $970 altogether. COD.

Modern living(I went to the one opp. IKEA, think is called anchorage point) also get their pdts there cos I happened to glance at their catalogue & noticed that the model no. of TV console/coffee table tally, so U might wan to see the catalogue there & noted down their model no. before calling. Sungei Kadut is a bit far unless U stay near Marsiling/Woodlands. Hope it helps.

aeina

Hi Katherine,
Compare and do meet up with Patrick. I definitely give him 2 thumbs up. very good service and the workmanship is good.

Wenn,
Hoooray, going to repair my neighbour's toilet in mid sept.

p2me1a

hi aeina, read your earlier post that you have compiled a list of reno tips. Can u send it to me? thanks!!!

also, after reading all your comments on Patrick, I am now also considering contacting him. Could those of you who still have his quotes send them to me please? thanks!

I've been to almost 6 or 7 designers and they haven't given us any great ideas. all quite boring put-furniture-here-and-there ideas which I also can do... and all the "design input" actually all came from me and my fiance... so... we're thinking like that migth as well get a contractor...

would appreciate all your response thanks!!!

email address: [email protected]

aeina

Ps Tan,
Same for us too. We feel that we alreayd have in mind how to and where to place our things etc. No point engaging an ID.

I ve sent u my tips compilation. I think my quotation is obsolete. Shall leave it to other to fwd u the quote.

chobits_lek

Have meet up with Patrick and got his quote... Can I check whether anyone has let Patrick install shower screen or glass kitchen entrance b4? coz his quote for that is a bit low from the other quotes i got... a bit worrued....

aeina

Hi Chobit,
I did install shower screen but arcylic type. U wanna to see pic?? give me yr email add.

Hi5,
It is a bit high oh. Did he give u an overall discount?? Mine is pretty low becos he said i had lot of hackings so absorbed.

p2me1a

Hi aeina!

Thanks for your email!
Wah you very STEADY leh!!! hahaha love your reno tips doc! printing it now so I can read it on my way home in the train.
Thanks!!! :D Hey aeina, if you don't mind, could I see pix of your place, please? thanks again!

hey guys guess what? hahaha I spent the whole day reading all the archives of this thread. Smsed Patrick and he just replied like 10 minutes ago!
Am gonna email & fax him first then meet him another time to discuss. I hope his quote is good.

pst

bearyhugs

Hi win & aeina,
Me missing in action for some time. Finally after comparing so many contractors, we've decided to engage patrick too. His quotation was really too attractive to resist. Anyway, I rem reading in the earlier posts that patrick has some discounts at song cho or ho kee? Do we get him to buy the kitchen accessories and stuff like hood+hob+sink? Thanks.

sirwin

Hi bearyhugs,

congrats, but do note that after e seventh mth, Patrick(or all contractors) will start to get busi again, so do get his time schedule to manage your time expectations. Understand from earlier thread that for items above $300 & above can use his songcho disc. card or sometink, do chk with him on hw to do the purchase. I buy my own kit accessories, hood, hob & sink cos' features/designs/specs varied so got to do some homewrk here & get one that suit our taste/budget/needs. But can get his advises of cox if U need to clarify your doubts

aeina

Hi Chobit and boo boo,
u got mail.

Sigh... unbelievable, just finished watching the table tennis game of Li Jia Wei, decided to cook and on my hood. My hood exploded with smoke and electri of whole house tripped. argghh.... only bought in May and now malfunctioning. gosh.. It is an EF brand cooker hood. Bearyhug, don't buy that brand. it is an italian brand.

aeina

I also don't know why. So upset. Only bought it in Mar so still under warranty. Hope they can give me a new set.

fanyong

aeina,

so scary.... exploded? Call the co... and ask them how come their hood can explode.. or is it due to electrical connection reasons... Ask them to test ur hob too see if the hob is OK... Shld be under warranty since it is new...

sharon__joseph

aeina,

yalor, so scary! y expoded? better find out wat happen & solve it! if not they give u a new set also no use coz mayb its ur wiring problem leh? so dangerous! if its EF defective think u can ask for emotional compensation!! coz it scare the shit out of ppl!

aeina

When i first on it on lowest, it is ok. then i try to increase the power to no.2, it went silence, followed by a "boom" and smoke!!! Whole house black out cos it is late evening. my food also burnt cos i panicked.

i ve already called and they will send service man. Surprisingly, they didn't ask me what's wrong with it. I think they must have receive plenty of calls on the malfunction. gosh...

sharon__joseph

OMG! so terrifying! so have they come down to repair? did it burn your solid surface or cabinet as well? so dangerous! initially i intend to get EF now i m having 2nd tots!

aeina

Hi sharon,
haven't yet. will be this week. No, it didn't catch fire but only a loud blast inside the chimmey. ha ha.. i think better don't buy first. i will let u know the details once the repairman come down. Wonder if i m bad luck... house leaking, hood exploded.. what is next huh??? or i should buy 4D on the hood no. ha ha.. maybe will strike 4D.

chobits_lek

Hi aeina,

Thanks for the mail.. your house is very nice

I hope that the explosion did not do much damage to your house.... actually, i thought of getting an EF hoob b4 coz i like the design....

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
sorry to hear abt your bad experience. Anyway, what is the long form for EF brand? How much did u pay for yur hood + hob?

Hi win, thanks for your advice. Will check with Patrick his schedule but he did tell us there's no problem in starting on that particular date tat we are looking at. Does that mean I can borrow Patrick's Song Cho discount card or something? I'm interested to get their kitchen dishrack and drawer accessories.

vivis

Long time nvr post liao.

Aeina,

Seems like yr hse is happening! oh dear! Did you ask the vendor wats wrong with the hood. Its so dangerous. Luckily both of u didn't get hurt.

wenn

Morning aeina,
I checked with hubby on ur hood exploding. He said that maybe the manufacturer "jiao liao" on the insulator...
So, it's not the electrician's fault.

hi bearyhugs,
just tell Patrick that u need him to help u get Song Cho's products. he will either bring u to the HQ to buy or he will pass u his namecard. But u must buy more than $300 lah. So, in the meantime, u go the Song Cho shops to recce on the items u want or get their catalogs.

aeina

Thank u for concern. I m lucky that the hood only exploded with loud blast. No fire but smoke and smell of rubber.

Wenn,
Think u might be right cos can smell of burnt rubber. I trust the electrician cos Patrick has requested SP testing for us.

vivis,
How's the house reno?? complete?? The funny part is when i called up, they didn't even ask me what's wrong. They simply asked for my warranty no. and said they will send down serviceman. Wow liao.. i believe they received plenty of calls like that. It is like a pc of cake to them.

Bearyhug,
EF is EF brand oh. http://www.ef.com.sg/ Website as attached.

Sharon,
It is my neighbour's house that leaked into my house oh.

bearyhugs

Thanks Win and aeina for your advice again.
But I was jus wondering how to estimate what kind of baskets to get for the kitchen cabinets. Think most likely I will have to wait till the cabinets are up right?

wenn

hi bearyhugs,
nope, u can't buy the racks after the cabinets are up. the carpenters need the measurements in order to build the cabinets.

we went to songcho to recce 3 times b4 we decided on which baskets, swivel, sauce rack to buy. it's not easy as u have to conceptualise ur kitchen's design & decide on which basket u want.

i suggest u go to songcho shop at plaza singapura & look at how they do up the cabinets. oso, Hoe Kee is i think 2 doors away. they oso have their baskets on display.