HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

beagle

May i know the trend for the prices of air con? Does it normally go down like electronic gadgets? Is exhibition prices for aircon cheaper than contacting them directly?

Thks in advance..

cecill

Hi Celia,
I was also considering to get a sys 4 inverter but after doing some calculations based on est no. of hrs we turn on the aircon, we felt that it is not suitable. Inverter is meant for heavy users, those who turn on their air-con throughout eg. home office.

Hi Nelson,
I am not sure abt the exhibition prices but you should check out at both plcs. There are many aircon shops in IMM. can compare prices and find out the kind of materials they provide for the pipings.

for more info, can go to this link -http://singapore-aircon.blogspot.com

Amelia & rockbaby,
what's the updates of your reno with Patrick? My carpentry works will start tomorrow.

Hi Cecill,

here's an extract from another forum

"Most people shun off inverter aircon because of the high initial cost but never think of the benefits. Most inverter aircon saves u loads of electricity, tested and proven. You would get back ur initial cost by say 2 years? or less? Inverter aircon is much more comfortable. Anyone has experience sleeping with aircon n always remove blanket cause too hot then put blanket again cause too cold. You won't have such problem with inverter aircons. I've got the following points to add.

1. Don't compare brands because of price.
Example: Brand X might offer you system 3 at $2000 and Brand Y offer you system 3 at $1000. Don't jump in and get Brand Y straight, check the specs. What's the cooling capacity of the individual fancoil that both brand offers. What's the capacity of the condensing unit. Brand X might be able to cool all 3 rooms when turned on where as Brand Y could only manage 2.

2. Don't compare companys because of price.
Almost like the above. Company X and Company Y both sells Brand X system 3. Company X quotes u $1000 where Company Y quotes you $1500. Ask for the specs. Company X might give u same brand but a low capacity CU or fancoil.

3. After sales service.
There's many china brands out there which is cheap and looks good but if they break down, are you assure that those contractors outside knows how to fix them? Spare parts are they avaiable? Go for well establisb brands which are known for their after sales service.

4. Installation.
Like someone mentioned, installation is very very important for an aircon system. No matter how good the aircon system is how expensive it is, if the installation sucks. Thats if for you. If you buy a particular brand, find their authorised dealer.

Lastly, ask urself what's the usage of your aircon. Only 1 room always on at nite? or all 3 run at nite? Or all 3 on 24hrs? All these makes a huge difference. Get a good dealer to recommend. They should do the job. Inverter is what i would recommend for sure. =)

Just my 5 cents worth.
*Note i'm not here to sell or promote and brands/company. No brand nor company name is mentioned. I've enough of people framing me when i'm just trying to help. "

"If there's only 1 of the 3 rooms that is on always. Inverter is obviously the choice. Why? Non inverter basically is stupid LOL. Only know 2 things. On and Off. So the compressor keeps on cutting in when the temperature is not cool enough. Inverter has a circuit board inside that is SMART! =) For a start it doesn't cuts in just like that, it gradually cuts in thus the power consumption is low n once it reaches the required temperature it doesn't shut down, it goes down to a constant and operates. The cutting in and out kills the compressor. Trying playing with ur room switch on and off always. =P Just an example for you. Lets call it Brand Z.

Lets assume you are using a non inverter system 3. Operating the aircon in 1 room would take 1490watts per hour. Operatiing 2 room would be 1520watts. Operating 3 would use 1600watts.
Now for the inverter one.
Running in 1 room would take 780watts(400-1050) . 2 would be 1550watts(460-2220) whereas 3 would be 1660watts(510-2100).Notice there's a ( )? Eg. Room 1. 780watts(400-1050) means. The average power consumption is 780watts. When the compressor cuts in it starts at 400watts, the highest it goes would be 1050watts. Once it hits the required temperature it goes down n uses about 780 watts constantly. Thats the magic of inverter. See the difference between them? Lets say u uses a non inverter n on 1 room for 8 hours a day? 1490 x 8 x 28days = 333.76kW per month. Which is rougly $53 per month just for the room. Inverter would be 780(just take the constant) x 8 x 28days = 174.72kW per month, which would be $28. That's a huge difference from my point of view.

Hope my example ain't that confusing. =p The power consumption i gave above is quite close to the actual spec of a certain brand. I didn't make them up. =) Just trying to give an example. It applies to every brand of inverter aircons. So its your pick. "

Note again, the above are extracts from another forum

cecill

Tks for the info celia. perhaps I am wrong but what I know is that the sys 4 inverter is not so powerful in cooling the whole living/dining room due to the BTU so we chose the non-inverter type. Single sys at 24BTU.

Hi Cecill,

we learnt abit everyday. I havent decided on whether to get inverter or non-inverter and would check with my ID when my place is due for reno in few months time.

Yours got 2 compressor? 1 single unit for living room and system 3 for bedrooms? What brand? Mit?

my_rock_baby

today went to my flat to see see look look ... thought I will be able to see a few pieces of tiles done at least.... but what I see is one BIG heap of sand and cement haaaa.... 2 workers working on the floor, one I think is that Loud voice uncle, another one don't know who. anyway I see that they have disemble both my toilet bowl and one of them is working on the kitchen waterproofing layer... ok lah, anyway today is only the 3rd day they start work

my_rock_baby

Hi marathon, did u also get Hong Ta* to do your installation for the star mex easy clean? hmm was thinking of getting toshiba, but then the unit really like very "plastic" leh .... haaaa. Saw the starmex easy clean today ... hmm looks nicer

anyone already got Hong Ta* to do the installation? How was it? very afraid that the installation not done properly later a lot of problem (this is what happen to my current house aircon, ended up got to complain to CASE))

josnah

hi my rock baby,

i also got the Starmex Easy Clean Sys 3. my trunking will be done next Tues.

if u are interested, can pm me for details.

marathon

Hi rock baby, I used twin city to do the installation. Do take note that for higher capacity fancoil e.g. 18k or 24k ones, I was told that the unit cannot be easily opened up unlike the 9k ones. But if you are going for the exterior, it still look better than the old StarMex model.

Hi Josnah, how much did you pay for your syst. 3?

my_rock_baby

Hi, just want to check. Did Patrick do any kitchen cabinet design for you to see before he proceed with the kitchen cabinet carpentry? Forgot to ask him this when I sign the quotation heee.
Also, have anyone of u ask Patrick to constract a bracket for your fish tank. hmmm I want to hang my fish tank at the wall and Patrick said he is able to do it for me. But when I talk to the lady selling the fish tank, she said the contractor needs to be very skilful and he needs to used very good metal to do the base, etc... and if not done properly, the whole fish tank could easily drop down and shattered and may caused injury to anyone standing near it...alamak, make me sweat when i hear it. In case u are wondering why I did not get those "professional" to do it... welll due to $$$$ again! I check with Alantis and they charge $1000+ for it!!! siao right? aiyo, don't know should I continue to get Patrick to do such risky thing for me leh~~ haaa

my_rock_baby

Today go and see my flat again. The overlaying of 2 toilets' floor tiles are completed. The piping also changed to copper ones. Kitchen waterproofing done. Now they are in the process of building the kitchen cabinet kerd.
hmmm the tilings for the living/dining room not started yet..
here's some picture ...
278364.jpg
278365.jpg
278366.jpg
278367.jpg
278368.jpg

josnah

hi my rock baby,

my kitchen wall colours are also the same colour as yours.
wat colour have u chosen for your kitchen cabinet? i'm having a tough time deciding on the colours.
i'm also getting the sink support in concrete blocks covered with homo tiles.

my_rock_baby

ya, I also find that this color wall tiles not easy to match color. At first I wanted to have green cabinet, then my mother think it look very "malay"....I ask Patrick and he said grey not bad. My kitchen floor tiles will be off white, so I can also have some off white pieces in my cabinet, together with grey. See how first... haven really choose the color yet.
I'm glad that I decided todo the concrete sink top, at least now no need to worry about my cabinet rotting over the years

Hi my_rock_baby and Josnah,

Both of u having concrete sink top? Is it granite as I thinking of having granite top and finished with cremaic/homo tiles by the side for my sink and hob. May I know how much did your ID quoted u for the concrete sink top?

my_rock_baby

My concrete sink top is about 1 m in length, using homogenous tiles (not using granite because costly and hard to maintain). He quote me about $700. My hob area is wood, not concrete.

josnah

hi celia & my rock baby,

my concrete sink support in homo tiles (the sink is not included). my hob area also same as rock baby's. but my worktop is black galaxy.

my hubby & I finally chose to ignore the wall tile colours.
we finally got reddish brown tiles & laminate for the sink support & cabinet. and beige floor tiles, which looks a bit dirty with bluish grey marks on it.

initially we chose grey, but personally i dun like the dull look... try to go down to the tile showroom with ur laminate catalogue & decide on your colours. that's wat we did.

my_rock_baby

ya, sink is not included (anyway my sink is big single bowl which I bought at a discounted price.) But I do have 2 pieces of laminate doors for the concrete area, $200. I choose a grey homo tiles with blank and white dots, and it comes in shiny and non-shiny. The shiny one is for the exterior, the non-shiny is for interior.
Josnah, did u get Patrick to install the lights for u? or u get the person selling the lights to do so?

josnah

hi my rock baby,

he he... i'm in the wrong place.
my contractor is not Ho Bee...

ur laminate doors come with shelving?. cos' my ID quote the doors more ex than the cabinet's pfr price.

my ID will be installing. the lighting shop prices for installing was not so cheap also, just a dollar lesser.

cecill

Hi rockbaby
My installation of aircon just completed on Friday by Hong Ta*. We are pleased with their installation and they provide 1 year warranty on installation.

regarding kitchen cabinet, I have blue wall tiles so I chose white laminate and white solid top. my floor tiles are grey similar like bearyhug's.

Patrick's carpenter will sketch the drawing at your hse. But you must tell him your requirement - what kind of layout you prefer and what handles. My kitchen cabinet is almost done, now left with my corian top.

my_rock_baby

Hi celia,
I haven seen any of Patrick designer.

Hi Josnah,
Thge $200 is just for the 2 piece laminate door. No shelving in the concrete area because that area not big, doing the shelving is a bit "blocking way". Also, the reason why do concrete for that sink area is to prevent water from touching the wood and causing the cabinet to collapes. So it don't sound right to do wood shelving in the concrete area. Unless u are refering to concrete shelving ... but won't it bew very think?
My mum also have a concrete area for her sink and it is really big, I think about 1.5m. So she put all her pots, detegent and cooking sauces (cooking oil, sesame oil, etc) in there. I think with my 1m concrete area, I can only squeeze in pots and detegent

Hi Cecill,
post your kitchen photo here leh ... very interested to see how it is like

Guess what, yesterday I went shopping at Thomson Plaza and I saw that fish tank that can hang on the wall!!!! And they are selling at $500 (after discount and include installation)!!!! aiyo I faster grab
so happy. Too bad I use my hp to take picture and I don't know how to transfer to my pc

So now, I have to sell away that fish tank that I juast bought last Wednesday ... anyone interested please let me know

hi my rock baby,

we so eager to see your fish tank. U may use your handphone to forward to pic to your email a/c then u'll have the pic in yr pc so can show it to us

paulinelau

Sorry to interrupt a bit. I hope to have black granite top for my kitchen cabinet. BUT what I normally see in the magazine is that they normally match black granite with white cabinet. HOWEVER, I find it difficult to maintain white cabinet.

Can anybody suggest a matching color for black granite top. I prefer the colors that will not cause the kitchen to be too dull.

marathon

Hi Cecill,
So Patrick's carpenter will just draw the design of the carpentry on site with you? Don't you have prior meetings with his designer to finalize the design of the carpentry works before work commences?
Just would like some feedback on the design aspects of Ho Bee designers i.e. in general how do you find their design concepts and how often do they work with you? Of course I wouldn't expect ID firm kind of design services but certainly they will provide 3D perspective drawings right?
Many thanks!

waterbaby

My reno is going smoothly..no hiccups at all.You can trust patrick to do a gd job.

sorry hor...i am sick and dizzy...cannot read thru the whole thread.You girls can PM me if you have any questions.

waterbaby

Design aspect they are alright.My only carpentry is the kitchen cabinets so cannot comment much.Ah Kiong will draw out the design and ask where we are agreeable then proceed to construct the cabinetry.

my_rock_baby

wow Ah Kiong can do drawing also huh
... thought he only do carpentary. So people here recommend him for carpentary ... I will probably get him to do mine also

Actually I so kuku, I heard my colleague say contractor don't do drawing, so I borrow her ID kitchen drawing and amend myself, and was plannaing to let Patrick see haaaa. now no need liao

marathon

What about 3D perspective drawings? Do they provide?
And what about lightings ambience? I feel its an important aspect in the home design.. Are his designers strong in this area? Personally I'm quite lousy in design, so need a good designer to assist..

my_rock_baby

gee I thought only ID firm will have 3D perspective drawings (that's why getting ID is more expensive because this is part of their "service")??
for me, just a drawing on paper is sufficient

Actually for lightings, I just bring my floorplan to Lights Arcade (recommended shop by asome forumers in another thread) and ask the boss for advices. He is able to give me good advices on that, like areas in household shelter and toilets can use the cheap hamburger lights ($20 per lights, white light). Kitchen can use bigger hamburger lights ($38 per lights, white light). Living room should use nicer lights since people will see ($120 per lights... I choose one that can match the theme of my living room, warm lights). Dining room I use handing lights ($89, warm light) + 2 nicer pattern white lights. Passageway I choose a yellow light which looks like a small crystal. 3 bedroom I use curvy square white lights with color rim (blue/red rim to match the color of the walls in each room). The boss said that no one will be so mad to on ALL the lights in the house at one time, so it is ok to match white and yellow/warm lights. U need to know at what time u will on what lights, etc then u will know what color u need. U also needs to know what kind of activities u will carry out in each part of the house, eg. some people do homework in living room, so cannot use warm or yellow lights as it will be hurting for the eyes, etc. all my lights are ENERGY SAVING onces and the bulb must be easily replaceable. Though I did not install downlights (I don't do any false ceiling or L-box, so I can use the money to do other things), but I heard the boss told me normally people will choose downlights with glass panel for bedrooms only because when they lie down on bed, they can see the downlights, and with the glass in front it will not be too glaring for the eyes. For living room/dining room, no need the glass panel because people will not look up to the ceiling for no reason. Downlights with glass panel in front or more expensive. Square downlights are also more expensive than the usual round ones.
Take a walk along Balestier and you will be spoilt for choice (I walk there myself for 2 saturdays and manage to get all my lights from Lights Arcade .... can also save cost for installation because they charge me $38 for installing all lights, after some bargaining heee. Normally it will cost $8 to install per light and Patrick charge $10 for installing per light).

marathon

Thanks rock baby for the great feedback! I'll certainly go to light arcade to try also. Who could I look for? For me, I'll still prefer more drawings for better visualization. Thanks!

cecill

Hi celia, rockbaby...
regarding picts of my hse, have not taken the completed works yet... will do so once I move-in my furnitures etc.

maranthon, patrick is the boss and he has 1 designer working for him, his name is Malcom. initally malcom did a layout drawing to show us before work commence. but later stage his carpenter ah kiong did the drawings for all the carpentry works shortly before the actual works abt to begin. Patrick is very reasonable in his pricing as he is not a high-end ID co. my hubby & I came up with the designs we want for our hse by looking at magazines and patrick will advice us.

Lights - patrick quoted me package price for rewiring and installation for whole hse (5rm resale). can pm me if you wish to know the exact.
I got my lights from E Lite illumination located at Jalan Bersar, can bargain w/ them. they also advise base on floorplan. they have a website www.e-lite.com.sg

rockbaby, where is your hse? is it in woodlands?

cecill

punggol very near me. I am staying at sengkang

what fish are you keeping, tropical or marine?

do you have the address of the shop at Thomson Plaza?

my hubby has a tank with 3 surviving marine fish, initially we thought of doing a built-in fish tank but too costly.

my_rock_baby

The shop is a flower shop, call "astroria" I think, at the ground floor. There is only 1 flower shop in Thomson Plaza. The price that I quote u is promotion price, and they did not want to tell me promotion till when.

I will be keeping freshwater fish, 5 black and 1 gold color fish, for Feng Shui reason. In fact I don't really like to keep fish tank, so have been finding high and low for those fish tank that can hang on wall, so that it will not be so obiang

rachelcheng

Does patrick charge fee to install hood and hob? Cos he din state in the quotation with respect to installing hood and hob leh, so wondering by then if ask him to install will charge or not. Also we will be installing central water heater so wonder if he will also install the shower accesories free of charge or chargeable cos he din mention in the quotation. From your experience, it that understood as free or must include? Thks!

my_rock_baby

My quotation stated :
Fabricate and install 23ft top and bottom laminated kitchen cabinet c/w ABS trimming, drawers, handles, stainless steel dish drainer and 2 panel of clear/frosted glass cum labour fee to install hood and hob ...

so everything is inclusive in the kitchen cabinet cost liao.. hmmm I think it will means he does charge lah. But I think he charge this still ok, because things like hood eg. different model different installation, he neds to know the spec loh, unlike toilet accessories close one eye he also know how to install.

check with u gals, if u ask him to drill some hook does he charge for all these also?
can't wait to see my flat again tomorrow :D ... 2nd week liao.

my_rock_baby

Hi Racheal, is yours a final quotation? If not, maybe you want to state to him all the things u want him to install.

For my quotation, I tell him I want to install the followings and he quote me the prices in bracket :
1) 2 set of toilet accessories (FOC)
2) 1 instant water heater ($50)
3) hood/hob and sink (all inclusive in kitchen cabinet price)
4) door bell (FOC)
5) disemble and reinstall 2 toilet bowl ($180) (because need to overlay toilet tiles)
6) disemble and reinstall 1 wash basin ($50)
My total quotation, he give me another $200+ discount to round down.

I will be getting him to help me drill some hook (for hanging my plants, etc) and install some stainless steel bar (for hanging towel at the kitchen window) ... I hope he will help me to do it free
... very bad hor.

Patrick tell me since the 1st April HDB rule, now my house no need to apply work permit in order to start renovation
(mine no hacking) ... total I save $200 liao.

rachelcheng

Hmmm, meeting him on monday to confirm. If everything went on well, I will sign and start reno next week. Would it be too rush? Actually I dunno how to start with or what to start with... Quite blurr.

my_rock_baby

My tilings are 70% completed. I guess they should be all done in another weeks time
The bare house definitely looks brighter with the tilings

surprise to see one of the tiling worker today, thought that they don't work on Saturday

Here are some pictures (very blur because using a space digital camera whick is very "koyak")

282276.jpg

shiny homogenous tiles in living room

282277.jpg

only left the side and skirting to be completed

282278.jpg

constructing the concrete sink top

282279.jpg

my kitchen tiling ...hmmm the tiles look dirty, hope they will be nicer after they do the acid wash... can't even see the "natural pattern" on the tiles now

my_rock_baby

Hi Rachel,

Not rush lah. In fact I also the same, sign on Saturday and following Monday start renovating liao heee. I guess we will only get excited when they start renovating... For the first stage (tiling), no need to go up too often, once a week should be fine, because u will not see "much difference" within 2-3 days. But when they do the kitchen cabinet or carpentary, should go up more often (so can point out their mistake
if there's any and get it retrified asap )

I understand from Partick that 2 weeks after the renovation start, he will need us to choose the colors of the painting. Do you have a ICI Dulux catelog?? I know can borrow from Partick, but I know myself, take a longggggg time to choose color, so don't want to hog his catelog in case other people want to us. So I went to the ICI website to request for a FREE catelog and they will mail to u in 3 days time. I got mine already and now headache choosing the colors. Go to this website :
http://www.icipaints.com.sg/SGDLX/Dulux.jsp

After the tilings are completed, you can get your air-con man to come and install the air-con truckings. So u should start going round comparing air-con pricing now. Also, at the same time, you should have your lights installed, so u can start shopping for your lights also.
If u have not found your hood/hob/sink, er better start looking now because Patrick will need the measurement when he do the kitchen cabinet...

Actually, yours is new flat or resale? U do any false ceiling/L-box?

Hi my rock baby,

did Patrick's interior designer provide u with majority of the ideas? We are quite clueless on our reno design so looking for a interior designer who could offer us ideas.