HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

mageous

hi rockbaby,

doe that means that Patrick has measured all your requirement and you had already pick the material for your reno? how about design? is that done too? does he show you any design? I just got the quote from Patrick and is not very sure where to go from here.

my_rock_baby

ya, I have already told Patrick all my requirements and he has also done the measurement. All my tiles also choosen.
(me veryyy KS, all those things that I want him to install for me, eg. hood, hob, sink, accessories, toilet bowl, basin, etc... I already bought them and now sitting in my bomb shelter... haaa I think Patrick will go crazy when he sees them on Saturday haaa)
According to Patrick, the first thing to start is tiling. And since I requested for the popular Loud Voice uncle
... so he alone will take 3-4 weeks. For carpentary, I will only be doing the kitchen cabinet, some horizontal conceal shelving in 2 of my rooms and also a cabinet in front of my main door. For the design and choosing of exact colors of kitchen cabinet, we will only start talking in detail when we are going to start on that (for me ok lah, no point now tok so much wait got to change and change again.... knowing my "kuan" haaa)
So now, I only left with looking for air-con, buying remaining lightings and I can shake legs liao~~ ..

by the way, I read so much about homogenous tiles will wrap or have sharp edges, or even some will have croudy wax on them .. hai ... worried leh. Anyone of u 'regreted" using homogenous?? alamak, my living/dining/shelter/3bedrooms all using the shiny homogenous tiles leh~~

my_rock_baby

eh bearyhugs, I show my colleague the picture of your bamboo house and they all say very special

hee next time if Patrick company going to do website, you can be his "spokemen" liao

my_rock_baby

Hi Mageous,
if u like his quotation, maybe the next step will be to give him a call and ask him to bring u down to see some of his current houses that he is renovation. Then u can see the workmanship meh.

Then if after looking at the workmanship and most important, after seeing what Patrick is like (haaa ... very important... it is always very weird to talk to stranger, until u met that person), if everything is OK, then u can arrange to get him to go to your flat to do measurement. During the measurement, u can ask him any questions (for me, I have 1 WHOLE long list of questions to ask him, like can do this, can do that, etc) And I am very "suay kuan"... I told him "eh I want to put in study table, king size bed and warerobe in this small room, can or not huh?" and after he measure here and there ans tell me "can,but walking space very small", I told him "huh like that huh,. then no need to do wareroble liao lah ... eh remove this item ok?" haaa ... lucky he very chin cai type, if it's other ID I think they will probably show me BLACK face liao heee..
After the measurement is done, he will go back and do a revised quotation (based on what u really want). Then u just look through and anything not ok, then u can 'ding dong" with him until OK lah

For me, I even choose my tiles on the day he goes up to do measurement heee... I told him, "ah ya save time meh, then I no need to see your face so many times haaa". He also prefer to choose tiles first before he prepare final quotation, like that will be more accurate.

beagle

Like to know if it is a practice for contractors to give "free gifts" upon sign up.. (though is more like a calculated thing..) Is it also a practice for Ho Bee/Patrick? And what is this 'carrot stick' that they give?

Hi my_rock_baby,

so how he look like? hehehe...curious to know even actually meet him. Did u get him to do the grilles cos I heard got many types of grades and some are quite inferior.

Hi Nelson,

wrought iron would so contractor would have to galvanised it first. Grades? I not sure about wrought iron but for alum there are many grades, some are really very cheap and u can feel that its of poor quality

My in-law's got their place installed with alum grilles couple of years ago and was really cheap...I cant remember the cost but u'll know the difference if 2 grades are placed together. My current one feels really solid but my in-laws one really feel very light and one can actually bend it if use a bit more strength...

Hi my_rock_baby,

wow, u really super fast to have got everything ready for them to kick-start the reno. Btw, did u buy your sink, bathroom accessories, basin from Asia Excel and total how much u spent so at least me can start saving now.

Hi Nelson,

got to tell the contractor. Galvanised especially those exposed to rain and shine which would be applicable for my balcony grilles.

So u signed up with Patrick already?

beagle

Thks Hello88..
Not yet because i'm still finding out details about laminated flooring.. Was asking around which thickness of laminated flring is good.. 8mm,9mm,11mm,12mm or 15mm. any idea?

Hi Nelson

me also don't know about the difference so cant give any comments. So far, none of the quotes I got from IDs mention anything about thickness.

So yours a direct flat? Your quotes from Patrick is??

beagle

Yes mine is one of the AMK balloted flats.. i'm trying to get details so that when i request for quotes it will be more accurate..

thks hello88 n have a nice day

mageous

thanks rockbaby,
actually I had seen a half-reno house and done a site measurement already. As I won't be doing any tiling so I skiped that. But I think I need to see another flat so will request another visit, hope he is ok with that.
So you just ding dong the quote till you happy by email? I found that he is unreachable through phone a lot, guess he is very busy.

Does anyone used more colour than what he is willing to offer for wall painting? Do you know how many coat he use?

waterbaby

my_rock_baby,

hahahaha you're so funny!
I think Patrick will be in for a shock on saturday! Hub and I are the opposite of you...we too bo chap!Ask Patrick about the couple at CCK Cres haha

my_rock_baby

hmm ... me got no problem getting through to his phone leh. Anyway, most of the things I want to ask him or get his advice, I will say when I meet him, so we have a common understanding and getting the exact quote done not so much problem. Normnally I also used email and after I sent him the mail, I will sms to let him know ... he pretty fast lah, next morning will reply my mail liao.

I got my sink from Nan Wah, $94 after 20% discount. It's a big single bowl. And since I am doing a concrete sink top, so I don't have to worry too much of poor quality of sink that will result in the cabinet rotten after few yrs use

I bought my basin and toilet bowl from Asia Excel, including the tap and all the other stuff that are needed to install them, it's about $400.

eh Amelia, I prefer to "enjoy" my renovation period and there will sure be a lot of other things to coordinate during the period. So I will prefer to do research on those hood/hob/sink/etc... as early as possible and buy them first.

how does Patrick looks like?? "thin thin dry dry dark dark" type loh HAHAHA... I guess a lot of clients have been sqeezing him for discount until he so skinny now haaa

my_rock_baby

eh anyone of u going to use tempered glass instead of stainless steel backsplash (the piece of thing at your hob). hmm Patrick one same price, $140 regardless of whether s/s or tempered glass. Anyway I ask for tempered glass, easy to maintain. I saw Bellari also selling it, wow $220 leh.

my_rock_baby

Hi Mageous,
For wall painting, Patrick is 5 + 1 (meaning 5 colors + 1 white color). This 5 + 1 is applicable for wall only. For painting of door/pipes, etc he will be using others but the price is included in the total price for painting he quoted. Anyway he quote me $1050 for 5 room flat painting. ... as for number of coat...hmmm I didn't ask him ... will ask him on Saturday. I will also ask him "what grade of aluminium grill" he is offering hee. He quote me $950 for aluminium grill.

bearyhugs

Hi rockbaby,
Thanks for your comments. Wow... seeing so many inputs from you re your reno makes u a much better spokesman than me. Wait till your hse is ready then you can start emailing us the link to your photos.

Think you bought your stuff early too. Well, we kindof bought everything during the reno itself, actually, we are still asking Patrick to come back to our place regularly to install stuff, like spice rack.

snowpad, sorry. Sent u the link already. Jus basic furnishings only.

cheertho

where is Hoe Bee company located ??? any website ??? can anyone share with me ur quotation???? I have just brought a 5 room resales flat n searching ard for good ID... thks alot... email is [email protected]

cecill

rockbaby,
seems like we have 2 things similar for our reno, I am also going for tempered glass backing and my sink top is also concrete type.

Ya Patrick also quoted me same price for S/S or glass backing.

They have painted my hse just few days ago, I realised that they have painted 2 coats. & will do 1 more coat to touch up after everything is completed.

Wow you are much more efficient than me cos patrick has to chase us abt whether we have got our lights, select our paint colours etc.
Cos we can't make up our minds.

my_rock_baby

Hi cecil,
is your concrete sink top same level as your cabinet? er same level as it height is same and width is same, so that I does not stand out too much?
eh u have any picture of your concrete sink top to show? heee

bearyhugs

Hi hello88,
As far as I've liased wih Patrick, he does not have any show flats up yet. Heard that he's busy coming up with a shopfront somewhere in Orchard?

Hi bearyhugs,

thanks. The letterhead of my quotation from him shows AMK Blk 3043...anyway, we drove past there the other day and no signboard and saw quite a number of workers there doing carpentary works

cecill

rockbaby, I think I mistaken... I am doing the concrete top for my master toliet basin. No picts yet, sorry...
But are you referring to the below? this is not from my hse but copy from a website.

274019.jpg

my_rock_baby

hi cecill,
hmmm actually not like that... just imagine the part where your sink is, instead of wood all around, it is concrete loh

I have just sign the quotation with Patrick this morning. Afternoon when to Balestier to buy all the lights for my house, $750 + $38 for 6those screw, etc for installation. Will get the lights worker to install for me, as I have bargain with them till no need to pay installation fee heee.

cecill

rockbaby, I guess I finally understand what it is. My parents' kitchen concept is like that and the cabinet solid top is level with the concrete top.

you are really ahead of time, we bought our lights after the living flooring is completed. currently waiting for the carpentry to start.

we got our air-cons from Hong Tat so they will be doing the installation.

Targeting to move on 1st May.

Did a check and found the following:-

Licence No. HB-02-0225Z
Company Name HO BEE RENOVATION PTE LTD
Licence Holder MS THO LEE KWEE
Licence Expiry Date 31/01/2006
Address 5A, DEFU LANE 8, S(539310)
Telephone No. 62916661/67885841
Fax No. 67889384

Anybody know why? The letterhead of my quotation from Patrick is Blk 3043 AMK Ind Pk 1. Contact numbers are the same as above.

Hi Cecill,

Hong Tat would be installing your air-con....any idea how do we ensure air con man do not shortchange us as there's different types of 'piping' used and heard that's the reason why diff air con shop charges differently. Read from one thread that G**n *i*y not honest and shortchange its client by installing those inferior materials. Don't how true.

Hi Cecill,

yours system 3? what brand and inverter or non-inverter? Air-con to be up before what reno? Sorry ask so many questions

cecill

celia, it's ok. I enjoy talking abt hse reno and share ideas.

was considering of getting the inverter sys 4 but now went for single sys (living) and sys 3 non-inverter. So we have with 2 compressor (only possible for those newer flats). after consulting HT and they did a calculation on our aircon consumption, we chose this to save on our electricity bill. my usage is low and I don't turn on all units together at one time/all the time. so a non-inverter will be have more saving.

got a Mitsubishi StarMex Easy Clean.

beagle

Hi Cecill..
i'm thinking of your combination too. Can share with me your cost and the company you got the air con from?

I havent get any quotes as I'm just planning ahead. Heard system 4 inverter would cost about 3k plus. I might get my selected ID to recommend. I checked neec.gov.sg and found energy saving brand for inverter is only Mit and Daikin. I would prefer Toshiba

my_rock_baby

I did not do any false ceiling or L-box, so I did not buy any downlights (save money!!!).
I have also just called CoolS*rv* (replace * with e) to do the installation of my aircon. I choose Toshiba System 3 non-invertor, also due to low usage.

babyt0t0ro

Hi Celia,
I think the aMK ind park 1 is where their capentry workshop address.. went to ind park 1 last weekends to visit one of the capentry there.. c alot of capentry workshop there too..

ya...saw a few men doing carpentary at the unit which did not have any signboard. The letterhead of Patrick's quotation indicated the address at AMK. Read from one of the post in this thread that he's setting up a showroom at Sungei kadut.

So far, any clients of Ho Bee been to the office?

marathon

Back to the aircon topic again. I heard Starmex EASY CLEAN is quite good. Although internally it has the same specs as the old Starmex, but it can be easily opened up for us to do the cleaning ourselves e.g. vacuuming. Of course we will still need to get the aircon people to come down to service our units every few years. I bought Starmex Sys3 @1599 and top up $200 to the Easy Clean one.

cecill

hi marathon, you also got starmex easy clean. when i booked my starmex aircon, there wasn't this easy clean sys yet so i top up cash for the sys1+sys3. Besides the features, I like the look of this than the old one.