Hilton Hotel

Hi all, is it true that the parking at hilton is insufficient and that the guests have to park in the nearby carparks? Also heard that the deposit is $4000 which seems quite high compared to $3000-$3500 charged by other hotels. Any idea? Am thinking of using hilton but now not too comfortable after reading about the hiccups on SB.

hi tanji

i've confirmed w hilton for my AD next yr... i've asked abt the carkpark issue when met up w june and she mentioned tat she'll be giving certain % of the URA car park coupons n hilton complimentary car coupons so there should hv enough slots for the coupons they give out ba...

as for the deposit, mayb u can negotiate with june... if u r quite keen, i tink most likely tis can be negotiable ba...

Hi tanj, Elin

Yup i had juz spoken to June on Wed regarding the parking issue and it is true that they b issuing URA coupons..However after June brief me about the way they be handling the issue, Me and my hubby felt that overall it is fine. So that issue is settled.

Hi sun,
Great!
I am glad i found someone that i can share n discuss wedding preparation..Coz me know nuts abt it as well.. Hee hee
But dun think for now we need to do anything regarding our venue yet..June told me that the hotel will give us a call when the dates get nearer.

So far, me like u also have a great relationship with June..We are comfortable with her and have no problem so far. So also keeping fingers cross that this will continue.

Hi sun, how much did you pay for the deposit may i ask? Any extra perks you got? If not convenient to say, you can PM me.

Anyone out there who have had or been to a wedding at the Inn of Happiness? How was it? Saw the venue but haven't really figure out how to walk during the march in cos no proper red carpet. Was also wondering whether did any of the guests find it inconvenient to go down 1 floor for the toilets?

hi tanj

u hv any date in mind?

u intend to take the Inn of Happiness??
i've been there n dun lyk the overall deco, morever is a L-shape hall...
y u dun consider the vista ballrm or grand ballrm?? i tink more nicer than IOH...

wat's yr nbr of tables? max 25 for vista ballrm lor...

i've paid 4k for the deposit but i tink u sure can negotiate w june if u reali tink 4k a bit high for u...

perks is the same as stated in their brochure, except tat my hubby did request an additional night in e bridal suite lor...

Hi sun, I am looking at Nov 05. No. of tables is about 20+, so considering either IOH or Vista. Have seen both rooms so far and like the IOH because of its uniqueness.

hi tanj

juz my comment on the 2 rms, hope u r not offended...

but if u r considering hilton then hv to act fast if yr date is on wkend...

hi cadbury,

gosh..thank god u managed to retrieve at least part of ur deposit fr the other hotel which gave u bad experience! any idea if hotels usually forfeit entire deposit in most cases?

hi xiaodingdang!

how hv u been?
hv not been posting on this site recently cos been rather busy. i guess both u & i are pretty similar when it comes to gd customer service expectations. i tend to be more particular when it concerns something dat is once in a lifetime lor
both my FH and me usually stop patronising a shop/place after getting less than desirable service twice in a row - twice cos every1 deserves a second chance but no 3rd or 4th chance. in hilton's case, i guess i was patient enuf to hv left more than 10 messages liow....

anyway,hv u found ur ideal venue yet? i can hardly hv time to view hotels these days..hai...

afternoon pebbie

yah lor, this sort of thing cant be "forced". i also feel when service has been so bad liao, no point mian qiang to sign bec it will most probablly mean that there will be more unhappyinness to come via more bad service along the way. tip of the iceberg lor & very sloppy leh for such a hotel.

and most importantly, like you, i also think one in a life time mah. cannot take risk when pple dont even think its important enuff to treat you decently. let alone with special treatmt ....

i am busy with wk these days so will postpone wedding banquet search until next wk. same like you
you have a gd wkend yah?

Hi Pebbie,

My first venue was not a hotel, it was suntec city. There were a few hiccups along the way and service jus got worse with the coordinator not able to give us what we want lah, got to check with the management lah and not able to fulfil what she had said she would give lah... blah blah blah. We shoot an e-mail to the management and they decided that we should get back half our of deposit. Very upsetting to even talk abt it, sigh. Bad bad experience. Anyway the case is closed.

Anyway with Hilton, I'm glad to see positive comments from sun96 and stars
. From my part I have no problems with them yet but then again my wedding is way Oct next yr so it's still early to say. But the price is right, the perks are good and so far I'm comfortable with the service they are giving so I guess I'm happy.

Hi Cadaryne,

Jus wondering why are u so sure that the positive comments are all Hilton ppl in disguise and how can u tell?

Does it mean that those who gave bad and negative comments are those from other rival hotels?

Jus wondering

hallo xiaodingdang,

sure hope u had a good weekend!!
i was working thru my weekend..so tiring! btw, when do u intend to hold ur wedding banquet? hv u been to marina mandarin to view their ballrm? i intend to hold my banquet sometime in sep/oct 05. i think i am gonna be running out of time liow if i still dun act

hallo cadbury,
aiyoh...ur nick reminds me of chocs..yum yum..but muz refrain from them liow cos need to start dieting if i wanna look nice wedding gown

sorry to hv reminded u of ur bad experience with suntec city. but muz really thank u for sharing it wif me cos suntec was on my list as well. *phew*

i hv to agree with u that hilton's price & package is rather attractive. i guess dats what attracted pple to consider them. if u ever receive less than desirable service from them along the way (touch wood!), make sure you be firm with them and tell them ur expectations.
juz found out from a fren of mine who held her wedding there a couple of mths ago was rather upset with their service during the wedding prep. her hubby told the coordinator off and made it clear to them that he expects better service from a 5star hotel like hilton -things improved after that.

hi pebbie, i'm doing bery good. only the rain is making me down. raining almost everyday liao leh. so wet & so troublemsome

yes pebbie u r right. also heard feedback frm a ex-hilton couple. they said there should have voiced unhappiness to top management because wedding AD was not satisfactory. hai yah

i just went to a weddin at marina mandarin last sat. i was quite impressed lor. i was there early to help with signing guests in and their operations manager was at banquet very early testing projector, testing sound system this & that. I tot waaaah quite gd lah. responsible mah

my ad is Oct/Nov 05 nearly one yr away laio leh .. kee kee

Hi Pebbie,

Thanks for your reminder, will try not to eat too many chocs myself, heheheheh. Has been a torture to jianfei.

After Suntec I have osso checked out MM, Marriot, Regent and Raffles Hotel. Out of all, I preferred Raffles Hotel. Although the budget's a bit out for us, I still like the place a lot. But too bad,our date was taken up. With Hilton, was ok lor everything, the perks and all. But dun worry, shld things start to go wrong, I will make a very big fuss jus like I did with Suntec, hehehhehehe.

Hi Sun96, my wedding is on 1st Oct next year.

Hey Cadbury,

U r a hilton bride as well..welcome welcome..yr AD is a few days before mine..Do let me know the results after yr wedding ya..Hee hee..

Guess in all areas, sometimes we have to be firm in wat we do n if we r not happy about anything in Hilton, we shld feedback to June..That way we can minimise any unhappy things from happening..

If any one of u have attended wedding at hilton pls do give us yr feedbacks okie..good n bad so that all of us hilton brides can take note of and learn from it..

I have just signed up with Hilton for my wedding banquet on 26 Nov 2005; and found June to be a very friendly lady to deal with.

In fact, my bf managed to negotiate for extra beer for 25 tables. So far, we have no problem dealing with her.

Hi Sadnil,

What a coincidence! I'm taking the Vista room, so you must be taking the ballroom ya? hehehehh.... we'll see each other then.

How about we start a list of girls holding their wedding banquet in hilton with details like date of banquet, number of tables, which room or ballroom wil it be n the coordinators use..this way we can exchange notes n minimise the chance that things might go wrong on our big day..

Ok i will start first: stars, 8 Oct 2005, Grand ballroom, 38-40 tables, coordinators ? yet

i volunteer to compile n upload, okie??
any updates juz let me know...

i'll go n find out how to upload properly to tis thread...

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">No. of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Coordinator</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">stars</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">38-40</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">06/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">sun96</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-35</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font></td></tr></table>

hey cad, so you're the one who beat me to book the vista room, keke. june told me 1st oct vista room booked so in the end, i booked inn of happiness, yup, sun..i know it's L-shaped hall and cheenah, but we're ok with it, so, i guess we're taking it. keke.

Was thinking of Hilton
But a little unsure after seeing so many bad comments....
I intend to try to come up with my own wedding theme... anyone knows if Hilton is generally ok with that?

Info updated...

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">No. of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Co-ordinator</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">11/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">nes</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">48</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">01/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">sadnil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inn of Happiness</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">stars</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">38-40</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">06/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">sun96</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-35</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font></td></tr></table>

hi anastasia

so far e comments on their food were not bad, u can go thru' e previous posting in tis thread...

hi anis

june mentioned to me tat there will be new theme for yr 2005, u can chk w her on e new theme to c whether u will lyk it anot...
meanwhile u can oso try asking her is it ok to come up w yr own theme instead

hey all, i dropped by yesterday at Hilton to take a look at the place...dammit the Inn of Happiness is sooooo beautiful...wanted to confirm there n then...but seems like for my AD, it's tentatively booked...hope that i can get that place man...else might hv to settle for vista room...

hi anastasia
when is yr AD huh?? if u confirm wan it, u can actually tell june to call up e other couple who tentatively book it to chase them for an ans... i tink most hotel practise tat lor...
224519.gif

I am a Hilton bride on 26 Nov 2005, using Vista room and having 20 tables + 2 reserved. June is the coordinator and she promised to lend us a function room for the solemnisation ceremony before the dinner.

Biba,

June is quite friendly.Offered Packages are differentiated by weekday or weekend. Weekday package is about $680nett/table while weekend package is about $780nett/table. Free bottle of red wine per table &amp; 1 table cost waived for min 20 tables. Do check out with June...

HI sun96

2 reserved tables on top of what I request right. Then, do you know if say the grand ballroom min is 30tables, then any idea if i can request say 28tables, + 2reserved to make up total of 30tables? If I dun use the 2 reserved, then I pay only 28tables?

My AD is on a weeekend.

Hi Akemi,
Wah, how did you managed to negotiate for a function room for your solemnisation?

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">No. of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Co-ordinator</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">11/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">nes</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">48</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">01/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">sadnil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inn of Happiness</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">stars</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">38-40</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">06/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">sun96</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-35</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">26/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">akemi15</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vista Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20-22</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June</font></td></tr></table>

hi ling

their min requirement is a must, so if e min tables are 30 for Grand Ballrm, u hv to pay for 30 tables even though u only utilise 28 tables...

if I'm not wrong, e min tables for sat &amp; sun in grand ballrm is 40 &amp; 30 respectively...

Hi Sun96,

so means i definitely have to take up 30tables, + 2reserved right? I think would have to discuss with June, coz there is this girl who actually had only 36tables instead of 40. I think should be negotiable hor.

Yap, I am looking at Friday and Sunday since their min table is 30 on both days. cannot meet their sat's requiremtn.

I think June is quite an OK person to negotiate with, though she is quite honest about requirements she cannot meet. For my case, my FH managed to upsize our beer qty from 22.5L(60 glasses) to 30L for 20 tables (90 glasses). We told her that we need a function room for the solemnization on my AD and she agreed that she would coordinate that for us as well.

Deposit is non-negotiable at $4K.
Congrats on being a Jan 06 bride!

HI Akemi,

can you share with me which room are you taking up? Gee, I have in mind quite a number of perks to negotiate with her and the beer is the last that I would negotiate, coz if I take up the package, I would get 1 red wine per table and I duno if she would be willing to up the beer to 30l for me leh.

as for deposit, I think if hold on weekdays, should be negotiable, coz apparently, someone paid $3K. but 4K is reasonable so that shouldn't be a prob for our case.

Hi all, I am considering the Hilton for my banquet too. But as my guests will be heavy drinkers, does anyone know how much is the corkage charges like in Hilton as well as what are the perks for 20-22 tables? Thank You.

Hi all, am new here. I am looking for nice outdoor garden/pool to do my solemnisation followed by lunch or dinner indoors. Does Hilton have a nice pool? i only hv 12-15 tables.

Ling,

Sorry for the late reply.
She has not confirmed any function room cos the AD is one yr away- she would let us know 3 mths earlier. I have also gotten a bottle of red wine per table and 30L of beer.

I m sure you can get the perks. When is you AD?