Hilton Hotel

akemi

Hi Lindy,

The Inn of Happiness @ Hilton would be the place if you are looking at a outdoor pool solemnization b4 dinner..

Hilton's min is 20 tables, but you can check out Traders Hotel- should be able to take 12-15 tables.

Hi Akemi,

When is your AD? You booked which ballroom? I went down yday to see the Grand Ballroom again and have book a tentative date with June.

Still in a dilemma between Holiday Inn and Hilton.

sun96

hi ling

i've seen hoilday inn ballrm b4... HI ballrm oso got pillars which is quite similar to hilton grand ballrm...
well both ballrms got their characteristics, it all depend which one u lyk e best...

Hi Sun,

Yes, holiday inn also have 3 pillars, and the lower ceiling portion is actually the 3 smaller meeting rooms, combined into 1.

This sunday there is a wedding going on, anyone interested, can go and see see. They have a Bridal Show coming up in April.

Argh, Sun, so cham, can only choose 1 venue.

sun, you have booked ur venue with Hilton already is it? Met up with June and have tentatively booked my date with her. Still looking around for hotels, will be viewing Panpac tomorrow...

Hi ling,

how is your package like with june? I love the ballroom of hilton and plus, it's in the central area, so I think it's very convenient for my guest to drop by. Only my FH lah, he dun really like hilton, say very old. grrr...

HI Sun,

I see all the hilton brides to be so on here, still draw up a chart to list...

My AD is in Jan 06, but not yet confirm the date yet. Still in discussion with my PIL lor...

sun96

hi rainne

with e chart we'll not be confuse abt e date & rm for individuals ma...

e date will be chosen by yr PIL?? or decide by tong su??

ummm... but even if u cfm for 06, june still give u e price & perks based on year 2005 ma?

talking_bra

how does Hilton manage the car parking? i heard they give out URA coupons? Cant be right? bec patrons oredi has to parked then turn up at the venue by then. anyone knows?

sun96

hi tanya

hilton will be giving certain % of the URA car park coupons n hilton complimentary car coupons so there should hv enough slots for the coupons they give out ba... if u r still worry abt tis issue, mayb u can chk it out w june direct to clear yr doubts...

u mean hilton's hving a bridal show in april??
if u wanna wait till e bridal show, u can but only worry tat yr AD might not be available... by then u gg to crack yr head for another venue lor...

btw, when's yr AD??

Hi tanya,

Is hilton having bridal show in april? Where did you get the news from leh, June didn't mention to me this.

Hi Sun, I think if we confirm the package with June now, have to negotiate if she is able to give us the price and perks based on yr 2005. Try our luck.

As for the date, have to discuss with PIL lor, tong shu is out already up till Jan 2006 mah.

talking_bra

erm, Rainne, i said there is a wedding show because i read yur posting (see posting number 13, u scroll up)
sun, my ad is either nov or dec 05. need to confirm with few persons before can pin date down

Hi tanya,

think you have misread my posting. The April bridal show is for Holiday Inn. Haven't heard of any bridal show coming up for Hilton though.

sun96

hi tanya

hopefully u can decide yr AD fast in order to secure e venue u lyk coz nov & dec 05 r popular mths to get marry...

rosewood

Hi Star and the rest

I have tentively booked 8th Oct 2005 for smaller room but we havent decide which to go for.

Vista or IOH?

I like Vista for it's conveniency but IOH for the extra pool area to view the orchard area.

I havent got a chance to view at the wedding setup for IOH until this coming Sun (19th Dec). When we looked at the flooring from IOH and the number of rough pillars (7 if i am not wrong), I feel like giving up IOH. We havent confirm the number of tables but it is definately less than 30.

Vista's ambient is good but it's kind of long. I am abit worried about those seating behind. The stage seems to be abit far.

HELP...Vista or IOH?

Hi Rosewood,

For me, I would prefer Vista rather than IOH. Perhaps, coz of the oriental look, I didn't like IOH. It looks just like a restaurant style of dinner banquet(It used to be a restaurant).

Vista is very very cosy and I think it's perfect if you have about 24 tables max. Moreover, there are no pillars too.

rosewood

Thanks Rainne,

Has anybody seen the actual wedding setup from IOH yet? Is it western style ( weird if it is) or very oriental kind? When I was there, it is absolutely empty. All I know is red ceremic flooring and grey rough pillars. I have to made my decision before 19th dec. Agrr..

I admit that Vista room is very cosy.

rosewood

I have spoken to June and she told me that I need to confirm within 1 week's time after meeting up with her/or Jac or she will let the "tentive date" to other people. I have similar experience with Marriot too, they will give u a grace period before striking you off the name from the date you choose to book "tentatively".

Hi rosewood,

Oh, I see. Yah, same case here, have told her to book tentatively for me too. No wonder you so stressed. I will be deciding by end of this week too.

rosewood

Hi Rainne,

When is ur big day? Have u decided where to book? We are late to source for ideal hotel(s), guess my choice are limited. I am also thinking of goodwood park but max is only 23 tables. Also thinking of crown prince. Very likely, we might stick to Visa room. Haiz, it's so stressful. Update u again....

Hi rosewood,

Mine is in Jan 2006.

How many tables are you looking at? I think Holiday Inn is a good choice too. I was there to view the ballroom set up and it's very nice and cosy. Mini is 25tables.

rosewood

yes, HI is my 1st choice actually. I was very upset by their service. They told me the date is available but fail to disclose if somebody had booked it tentatively. Or perhaps, they doesnt allow any tentative booking.

On the day of enquiry itself, I did scheduled an appointment with them on the following day. When I call up again in the morning, the same person whom I have contact told me that the date has been taken and confirmed. Maybe is just my luck.

We are planning for 25 tables or less atm.
Perhaps you would like to try grandcopthrone or Amara hotel too.

har, so cham? So far I have very good impression of holiday inn leh. I'm not sure if there are any other co-ordinator. I liase with Pauline. She is very friendly and nice.

You confirm your AD date already har. Then I think Hilton vista is just nice for you leh.

rosewood

Thanks Rainne,

I think i am giving up vista room after my second vist today. I felt that the room is too Long and narrow where there are abt 11 tables crowded behind.I doubt they can see the stage well. This happens if I take 25 tables. 22 tables seems better. Ask for the floor plan and check it out for the march in route if you happened to pay them a visit.

Go for holiday Inn if u can. Too bad, the dates are not available for me. I might be trying crown prince hotel... The ambient is not as cosy as hilton.Quite Simple and neat. How I wish hilton could have better smaller ballroom !!!!!

I was very impressed by the Hilton's grand ballroom's setting. Congrats to those having their wedding there...

Hi rosewood,

Aww...so sad to hear that, tot you would join the hilton family.

I'm tentatively booking their grand ballroom as I have abt 30 tables. vista too small for me, but I would love to have vista if I have a choice.

Will discuss with FH on holiday inn or hilton when he is free.

Keep us updated!

rosewood

hehe,

We are still stuck in the nitemare between Goodwood park, hilton and Crown Prince.

We try to keep within 25 tables. My dad has been to vista room before. He praised the food but he hardly see the bride and groom on stage. Pauline told us that we have to take initiative to mingle around with those people sitting behind as they hardly see us well.

Can see that my FH 's disappointment when I say "NO" to vista room. We havent paid any deposit hence nothing has been confirm.

I see if i can Upsize and get the grand ballroom instead. :p

Hi rosewood,

I cannot recall how many tables is needed for the grand ballroom on a weekday. Are you holding on a weekday or weekend?

For my case, I'm taking either fri or sunday, as the mini tables for the grand ballroom is 30. Sat is 40.

Try lah. I think vista room is very cosy and nice leh. Pauline? Pauline fr where? For hilton, I only liase with June leh

sun96

hi rosewood

as wat rainne mentioned, e min tables for hilton grand ballrm on wkday is 30 & wkend is 40... if yr AD is on wkday, then i tink u could hv higher chances of getting e grand ballrm if yr tables are less than 30... *grin*

well, i did asked june tat can i take e grand ballrm on sat if my nbr of tables are less than 40, but her ans was no lor...

btw, when's yr AD huh??

rosewood

Hehe, I got mixed up. Is June, thanks for reminding.

Thanks Sun96. My actual day falls on the 8th Oct, and we do not mind 9th Oct(which is a Sunday). Unfortunately, it has been taken up. Sob..

sun96

hi rosewood

u mean hilton is taken up by other couple on 9th oct?? hv u seen Hotel Rendezvous' ballrm?? their onli ballrm layout quite nice but too bad their max nbr of tables onli 25...
231806.gif
mayb u can hv a look...

rosewood

Hi Sun96.

Yes, 9th has been taken.

I have been to rendevouz last dec november. It's a L shape ballroom and it's pretty exclusive. It's ideal for smaller size and it looks cosy too. Both of us are not impressed by the food during that dinner and hence it never come across our mind. hehe. Thanks for the suggestion..

We are planning for 25 tables (max if possible). How about Trader's Hotel? I am paying them a visit on the upcoming saturday.I am getting so excited

sun96

hi rosewood

if i'm not wrong, trader's hotel max tables is 22?? not quite sure abt it but i heard a lot of gd comment abt TH fr SB forum...
mayb u can update me aft u visit them tis wkend...

btw, hv u try The Legend @ Fort Canning?? heard tat their ballrm juz renovated...

rosewood

Good morning Sun96.

Traders Hotel can cater up to the max of 26 tables which 26*12 = 312 guest. They dun allow us to make tentatively booking until we have met them.

I am planning for 22 tables or more if I happened to sign up with them. Update u again

Hi rosewood,

I attended a wedding earlier this yr in Feb at traders hotel. It was alright, food was alright, but I felt that the tables were kinda of cramped together.

I didn't like the 2 pillars in the ballroom though. Go and have a look, bring along a camera and snap snap before deciding.

TOnight will be deciding on my final hotel venue...

rosewood

Hi Rainne,

Thanks for the info. I have seen the 2 huge pillars from the pic offered by the web site. It is indeed big. It bet is should be the gallery room.

Which are the hotels that you have shortlisted?
All the best and keep us updated

You know wht? this reminds me of voting for the recent Singapore Idol and star search (though I didnt vote). But who will win?

harlow rosewood,

I'm not sure about other ballrooms at trader leh, but that should be the one lor. I like the deco of the ballroom though, minus the pillars lah. ; ) But then the stage abit too close to the guest leh. It gives me the feeling like I've no space to breathe.

I've shortlisted meritus mandarin, hilton, holiday inn and marina mandarin as well. Most likely will take up hilton. *wink*

rosewood

I will go for hilton if i can meet the min tables for the grand ballroom.

My parents like Rendevouz hotel but I had an bad experience with them. Maybe it's just that "moment" that makes me avoid Rendevouz all the way :p

The waiter took our unfinished sharkfin soup and serve the other table. It landed up seeing 2 tables of shocking face on that waiter's action. Speechless...

Other that that, I felt rendevouz is good but max of 24 tables. TIA............ ->out.

harlow rosewood,

can one lah. just another 5 more tables to your 25? At first, we also plan to have 28, then when we know need only 40 tables then get the grand ballroom at hilton, of course i get that lah.

join the family.

har?? eeeeeeee..take the sharkfin and then serve the other table! My god.

rosewood

Hello Rainee,

I did suggest to my FH. He wanted to keep it within 25 or less. Moreover 9th is gone, hence it is impossible for us at the moment unless we rechoose our date.I did try to pursuade him to upside but he refused.
Hence, gotta respect his decision loh

Yeah, cant believed it rite? We didnt complain to the hotel nor telling the bride or groom. It's just an memorable experience till date. Maybe they are running out of soup?

morning sun,

haiz, FH was too tired from work and did not feel like telling my parents about our decision,.*hmpf*. And June called yday to ask about our decision.

Well, regardless whether he is going to tell or not, I've made up my mind. I'm gonna join THE HILTON family. *cheers everyone*

morning rosewood,

ahaha..your posting and my posting is just 1 mins difference..

hey, join our family lah...come come