Hilton Hotel

sun96

hi elin

seems lyk u're very not satisfied over hilton's service...

so far i'm comfortable w june & i'm quite confident tat hilton will provide me their best service n attentive for my wedding as mentioned by ic who had her wedding last yr...

hope u r able to find yr ideal banquet venue soon...
255916.gif

eeyore

hi everyone..

glad to heard so much positive feedback u u gals.. i'm one of hilton bride oso.. hee.. but that was in 2003..

sun.. i agree with u dat june is indeed very nice person.. in fact.. the whole banquet team provide excellent service on my big day.. i got lots of compliments from my guest & i referred a few of my frens to Hilton too..

Elin.. since your fren got hard time contacting June.. they can contact Jaclyn instead.. she is June's assistant.. i hav spoke with jac before.. she's okie..

thks eeyore for your constructive suggestion. will forwrd that onto my fren.

ic, its not about complaining but giving feedback so people know what to expect. check out threads from past history and you will realise there are many upset clients out there only for hilton. so it is best for all to be aware. dont u say?

i just found when having dealt with June she's come across curt, rude and unprofessional. quite petty too as she remembered something my little cousin who was with me made (wasnt even intentional), as a harmless passing comment to her, and was very sacarstic in the consequent contact. sales staff acting like this is ridiculous! especially when the service industry is about reputation.

anyhow, since everyone's weddings not over yet hope your experiences will be up to your expectations.

pebbles, i know what you mean abt you know who. it is definitely her

okay guys, take care & good luck

summerala

hey people thank you so much for your advice...

Me haben really decide my AD..ard oct 06 or even earlier. Im a bit slow..always have this habit of doing things at the last minute..haha..

Think I will do more research before I decide on which hotel I want..

BTW, is June the only coordinator in Hilton???

summerala

hey people thank you so much for your advice...

Me haben really decide my AD..ard oct 06 or even earlier. Im a bit slow..always have this habit of doing things at the last minute..haha..

Think I will do more research before I decide on which hotel I want..

BTW, is June the only coordinator in Hilton???

sk2

summerala,
i think i also spoken to a lady name jacqueline when june was on leave. jacqueline offer her help when she realise i need changes to be made on my contract. so she attended to me. june is the sales manager there, i'm not sure abt jac

sun96

hi summerala

SK2 is correct, june is e banquet mgr for hilton, jac is her assistant... u still can chk w jac if u can't get june...

eeyore

hi summerala,

ya.. u can contact june or jac.. think there is only both of them doing wedding banquet.. dats wat june told me last time..

hi sun, mind to share how u do table??

icechoco

Hi elin,
I think it's the same everywhere lah not only hilton. It's just like shopping. Not all shops are to each individual satisfaction. For me, if i already not satisfied with one shop, compensation also no point. The most take it and leave it. Hmm... about your friend, i think if she's already unhappy, even if let jac (assistant) - never met her though, also no point introducing. Anyway, wedding is once in a lifetime. The most ask your friend to do it somewhere she feels comfortable working with.

sk2

I agree with ic. No point going to Hilton where deep inside her heart she already got a bad impression. No matter how well they do, she will never be pls. =)

cheapsale

had my wedding there in july last year. Food was excellent and portion generous. used the vista room and had a long march in pillarless. atmosphere was good. had jac as my co-ord and later june when jac went on maternity. Both are good and professional. quite accomodating. recommend Hilton to couples choosing venue

timminbuzz

Hi everyone...
I went to Hilton to view the banquet halls week before last and am going to view Inn of Happiness (in Hilton) this Sat. I met Jac initially, but June actually personally called me and followed me up after knowing that I was introduced by an ex-hilton bride. She sounded really nice and had good reviews from my colleague. She even met my colleague for lunch even tho' her AD was last year! I'll definitely go for Hilton if I could limit myself to 30tables.

pebbie

hi Elin,

i definitely agree with you on the service level and attitude of hilton's coordinator. i recall how enthusiastic i was abt holding my banquet there but only to get turned off by lack of response or rather, NO response fr the coordinator after leaving more than 10 voicemails.

perhaps the coordinators have started to brush up on their service level after reading comments in this forum? hahahaha

sk2

hi timminbuzz
how many tables u got? If u like chinese like deco, inn of happiness is like tat.. there is a entrance tat link to the poolside. anyway i like the name of the place. =)

young_bride

Just had my food tasting today....The food tasting was done in a function rm at level 5. We had the whole room to ourselves, therefore it's good if u have parents & in-laws meeting together to discuss abt wedding details...more privacy...

Overall the food's okay...my parents & In-law all commented that the portion is big and tasty...however we like the dishes to be less salty...also the chef actually forgotten abt adding crab roe into the sharks fins soup!! Makes me worried if he'll mess up on AD.

Also met up with the florist today....decided to choose the "Red Roses & Orchids" theme...wanted to add in the fountain on the stage, but the florist said it won't be nice...instead decided to stick with the original set-up, but change the chair red ribbon to red organza..no extra charges.....

The florist told me yesterday they've just done a wedding with mixed theme, but didn't turn out well...so she advise me not to mix..

sun96

hi theresa

wat's e theme u r choosing? is it 'garden of love' theme? w flowers - red roses & orchids?

as for e food, did u chg any dishes?

timminbuzz

my AD's on 24/06/06
Went with FH to view the Grand Ballroom and Inn of Happiness. My FH prefers the ballroom, so most likely taking it. We're trying to keep tables to 40.

young_bride

Hi sun96,

Nope..it's not "garden of love"...can't remember the actual name, but it's all red roses & orchids....

Yup, I mix n match the dishes from menu A & B.

sk2

hi timminbuzz
can inn of happiness take so many tables? for me, i'm having both, inn for lunch and ballroom for dinner.

timminbuzz

SK2...
No...Inn of happiness can take only up to 30 tables. That's y we kinda decided to go for the Grand Ballroom. I'm having a church wedding, so the reception will be in the church venue.

What other perks did they offer you?

sk2

timminbuzz
oic. I'm using 3 venues at hilton, poolside, inn n ballroom. getting 2 nites, day use room, 20+1 table, 1 btl wine per table, think these are the keys thing.. what abt u?

timminbuzz

SK2..
Haven't discussed with June yet. Gg down next weekend. Me tinking of trying to get free flow beer n bring in my own wine. And I'll be excluding a lot of other things, so hopefully, she can compensate with other things and get a good deal.
Wow...so u're a true blue Hilton gal! =)

sk2

timminbuzz
hahahaha...no..i'm jus a lazy bride.. wan to save all trouble from travelling.. so basically.. for the day, I will have everythg there, solmz, tea ceremony, lunch.. this save my trouble of having to travel to and fro for tea.
for free flow u can try, she din allow us to have free flow. she gave me 2 barrel for 30 tables and 3 for 35 tables. Wine, I can opt for either waiver or hse wine. but having to calulator the cost, if their hse wine is "drinkable" i will take theirs... it reali depends...

timminbuzz

SK2...
Everything @ one place is good. At least it's not tiring moving frm one place to the next. =) Good thinking!
Cos my solmz is in church, so i dun hv a choice. At least Hilton's in town, so not too bad. You have tea ceremony at poolside? Hmmm... I didn't think abt that part. =)
I have a number of friends coming frm Aust, so it might be cheaper to get waiver for me.

When's ur AD?
How's ur other prep?

timminbuzz

akoyo...
the wedding packages for 2006 are currently the same as 2005. However, june mentioned to me that they might be reviewing their prices in the next few mths. Couples who settle their booking before that will have the 2005 prices.

sk2

timminbuzz,
ya... the whole idea was for easy and convenience. my tea will be at the inn bcos i'm worry tat the weather, so tentative will hold it indoor, at least got air. but may thk of having tea at both pool n inn.. groom side at pool and my side at inn.. will see how..

just curious wat is the price for 2005?

cadburina

How many cards does the hotel give maximum? And does this includes cards, inserts, envelops and gold strings/ribbons?

How did you get free wine SK2? I wasnt offered that. How much does wine cost bought from Hilton? And if we buy outside how much, does anyone know? How do we keep tabs on the wine consumption throughout the dinner banquet? Is there a Hilton Dinner Captain for the event? Or are the coordinators present throughout the dinner banquet for us?

timminbuzz

SK2...
Price is $780 nett per table.

Cadaryne...
If I'm not wrong, hotel only provides the design. You'll have to pay for your own printing. So depends on how many invites you're printing. They outsource the printing. And e more details u want for your invite (ribbons etc) e more u pay. My colleague actually adviced that I buy own ribbons etc and fold it myself. Cos they charge $1/card for folding!

young_bride

Hi Cadaryne,

I also didn't managed to get free wine. Heard from June is that they had a promotion end of 2004, which incl. 1 btl wine for each table.

Can't remember how much Hilton charge for wine. But it's definitely cheaper if u get from outside. There r a few range of wine between $13 - $17/btl. Also depends on the country & flavour. For me, I choose a mixture of $13 & $15 wine....My wine supplier advise me to serve the $15 wine 1st as it's stronger, then later on serve the $13 wine. By then, most guest would not b able to drink much because they're numb by the strong taste. Also, it'll b better if u have experienced drinkers as they tend to prefer stronger wine.

For my wine supplier, I only need to pay 30% of my confirmed qty, the rest on consignment.

It'll b good if u let Hilton know how much wine u're prepared to serve & when. Also, better tell them to seek ur permission (or ur helper) before they exceed ur qty.

I intend to start serving wine only during 2nd dish....as I dun wan ppl to start getting drunk before dinner starts...

I'll be meeting Hilton to discuss the details next week...will let u know more then...

sk2

Cadaryne,
dun be too worry... most hotel they will be giving 60% of confirmed attendance for cards and 20% carpark. Hilton is giving 70% for cards (tat's my package n i think shd be the same for others) and 20% carpark. And for cards to be frank.. if u think u do not have enuf, u can neg...not a big prob I guess, jus tell them nicely. I knw for some cards with ribbon, hilton may charge extra cost as the cost is higher than the norm.

As for ur event, u shd expect a banquet mgr to be in-charge for the event, this is regardless of which hotel u choose, be it it is hilton or anywhere, for ur actual nite, one banquet mgr to run the operation and the sales mgr or coordinator who sign ur deal shd be present for at least ur first half of the event... normally the person who sign ur deal will leave the event after ur second march in.. they shd be there to ensure things are smooth till then... the rest u can liaise with the bqt mgr for the nite...

I have some contacts for wine and cards printing if u need I can provide u.. but guess we can do tat later bcos still quite early.. i oso havent firm up who i want... =)

for wine, i'm neg either waiver 1 btl per table or 1 btl hse wine from them, if more than the gurattee tables, hilton is charging me $25+++ per btl. u may wan to do some calculation... for me.. I think not much of diff...bcos the cost price from outside can range from $11 onwards, so if u add corkage of $15 + $13 (example cost of wine) is already $28..so buying from Hilton is ard $29.13..so to me not much diff... hope I din confuse u for this one

Theresa,
Jus my 5cents share, it is not too nice to serve 2 diff wine. btw, not all guest will be drunk by then, afterall, $2 is not much of a diff. u cant save much either. And when comes to choosing wine, it is not abt strong taste but is abt matching the taste of wine to the food... the taste of wine shd not kill the taste of food, it shd be smooth and at the same time, u can still enjoy the chinese food, therefore not necessary to have strong taste wine...No offence.. but jus my view..

sk2

sun96
me too.. cocktail strictly soft drinks.

ladies,
please remember to let them knw that no ordering of other drink except for wat is serve..if not, later, one guest see new drink, everyone starts ordering... and the end of the day.. the bill will be crazy..

young_bride

Hi sk2,

The mixture of wine was advised by my wine supplier. As my guests r make up of experience & 1st time drinkers, I would like to cater both groups too.

Don't think we can satisfy everybody...if we cater diff wine for diff food, then we'll have to cater red & white wine too.....

Somemore for my wedding, I'll be providing beer for my jap guests, hard liquer for older relatives & wine for others......don't want to incur too much just for the beverages....

My package is a bit different from everyone because of my unique circumstances...therefore, I can negotiate a better deal from Hilton...however still must give & take lor....

Am collecting my wedding invitation cards tomorrow, then have to send for printing. My printing is sponsored by a company, so no worries on that...

sk2

Timminbuzz
Not tat I knw of, but maybe can check with June.

Theresa,
I guess it entirelly your call, like I say is jus 5 cent share. Bcos every wine has its own unique taste. to go with any chinese food, light taste will be a good choice, guess ur experience drinker will share the same view if they are real wine drinker. You may like to bear in mind that server will not knw which wine is in the glass, so having 2 types of wine, you might get the chance of pouring 2 wines into 1 glass when comes to top up.
btw, jus curious wat is ur unique circumstances, care to share your package? When is ur AD?

greekgal

I am interested in the year 2006 wedding package; weekend; around 25-30 tables. Can you ladies share with me please? My email is [email protected]. Also, are you gals all 2005 brides to be? Thanks so much.

Would there be any Hilton wedding show coming up soon?

sun96

hi getting_married

i'm 2005 bride, my AD is in nov...
u can contact june (hilton banquet manager) @ 67303211 for more detail pkgs in 2006...
btw, hv u view e ballrms in hilton??

greekgal

hi sun
thanks for the info.
i only managed to view one of the ballrooms when i was having an office function there. didnt go in to view lo..
do u have pics to share? hee..
btw, do they have min table requirements? and roughly how much is their package for weekend? above 1K?

sk2

hi getting married
when is your ad? I'm jan 06.
dun think there is any show coming up but u can check with june.

young_bride

Hi sk2,

Pt taken about the wine, will discuss with FH.

Errm.....dunno if can mention in the forum leh...dun think it's nice 'cause Hilton make allowance for our case.

Probably can only say when my wedding over in May..