Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Really cannot imagine all of us chasing the little ones to feed or separate them if they fight... the scene looks so funny.

I heard pre-natal massages are good, just make sure that they don't massage your tummy and breasts.

I am wondering how is the massage conducted? Is it done sitting up? Coz preggie cannot lie on the tummy mah

Hee, Crystalz, think birds nest can eat q often?

CrysalZ, i think should be safe. Like what Kokoyln said, get the certified ones. With masages, at least will feel more relax.

Kokoyln, if i'm pregnant in future, will get your masseur contact from you.

Think bird nest just eat moderate amount but not too regularly, some old folks also said it'll cause babies to have asthma if eat too much during pregnancy.

Huiz - the mummy must lie side way to have the massage done, cannot lie on back.

nellie,

hahaha that will be funny.. chasing the children...

Huiz,
cos i heard if take too much bird nest... they will have phelgm leh.. dunno how true...

woah, nellie... I also cannot wait to c the scene where perhaps we book a small vip room in a restaurant, then while we chat at the table while eating, the children is running round n round chasing each other... haha

Only sad thing is tat most of them may not be able to speak hainanese anymore.

crystalz: u can eat birdnest almost anytime. Cause commercial birdnest is not tat concentrated. Furthermore, eating birdnest often, ur bb skin will be smooth... Other than birdnest, u can also take *shi gaup* I dunno how to spell...
Good for lungs. *bu qi* so u can have energy during childbirth.
Then for the v infection, u may wanna change to wearing boyshorts in replacement of ur panties at the moment... so tat can have more fresh air.

Prenatal massage seems to be able to promote smooth delivery? I heard ppl saying. Postnatal mainly for maintaining figure?? keke.

yah, I heard from my fren, preggies will have to lie on their side. Massage not done on tummy and breasts.

Birds' nest...yup, also heard that too much will cuase babies to have asthma. But well, last time, my parents couldn't really afford birds' nest for me (almost 30 yrs ago)...then things got better for my sis and my bro...so my ma had birds' nest during my bro's time...In the end, I'm the one with the more serious childhood asthma problem. My bro...what asthma? He's totally ok. hahahahahha....Asthma is also a bit hereditary. Like everything else, eat with moderation...

My pa's been cooking birds' nest for me once every fortnight. So far, only 2 times. heehee...

Okie, I gotta go for a meeting. Sianz...

wah crystalz: good life. but i dun think u'll get a job immed after birth... ur bb will be so cute u can't bear to leave the baby... cause my fren also say after birth find job.. after birth 2yrs le still a stay at home mum.

petrina,

haha i oso hope i can dun work... But must see how my hubby says... kekeke

Huiz,

its boring leh... eat and sleep.... eat and sleep... :X

Haha, I wouldnt mind staying at home. I have lotsa things on my agenda to busy myself with.... kekeke. I was also taking my time to look for a job, but well, all good times will one day come to an end and now I am back to my clock watching days in the office.... hahahah!

Huiz: Friday you also leave at 5.30 right?

kokolyn: You in recruitment firm ah? Next time we want to find job can look for you? I don't know if bonus will be affected or not lo. Maybe performance bonus if i can't finish my work. But my boss says just cram everything and see how lo.

iViED: Ha ha, i gave her quite advance notice thats for sure. But I think she a bit worried because my team has only 3 ppl including her. I even told her jan i going to take 3 days leave because going BKK with the ah mais here. Heh heh. I think she listen liao going to peng.

Li Ann: Don't know want to defer or not lo. I just hope don't go overseas training because i got exams on 2 days during my reservist, and i hope can take off. If cannot take off, i think really need to defer liao.
I hope Vietnam wedding is not those put up a tent type, because i did see a few weddings on my trip last dec which were done that way.

petrina: I think she trying to get interns lo. Hmmm... not too sure though.

Nellie: Ha ha, no problem will let you know if we need help. Actually i abit scared to take leave for so many days since work will be piling up. But haiz, getting married. Bo bian.

crystal: So you are a full time tai tai now?

Everybody talking on preggy stuff now. So chim. Kekeke....

wa so long thread tat i don know how i shld reply

my routine from Mom is after 1 trimester, chicken essence once a week for strength [Qi], 6mth onward, birdnest once a week [for rosy skin] n chicken essence 2x a week.. lastly, eat wat u like anytime anyday, don think of getting fat. i ate almost every hr except sleepin.. ppl see liao scratch head. after delivery, i drop from 61kg to 47kg after confinement..

Pre-natal massage, lie on side when do back, foot, lie on back when do head, tummy n breast.. massage on tummy is optional depend if u trust the massaue or not. massage on bust is preparing for future breast feeding.. positioning really depend on how big your tummy is at tat moment. not fix one. u will realise tat when u at final stage, massage is the only thing u would enjoy n it help to ease yr water retention n cramps at nite.. as i mentioned i try so many massaue, i still love my this massaue, alwys try other then goes back to her.. she do for Shirley Yip [ex TCs artist] and almost got the deal for Zoe Tay so her price at $65/hr is quite worth it lo. my sideline is beauty n makeup, i wont know everything but i know wat i should know to survive in this trade lo.. nvr book pkg wit any massue until u try one session. i hav too many friens who had bogus massaue.. even i becos wanna save money, i get another malay for post natal end up i had to call my this massue back to do cos the malay din do a good job..

cranberry for UTI but becos of vit c, it say to be good from women womb.. not v sure abt this but Doc alwys tell me drink more cranberry or when i drink liqor i also take Volka Cranberry. hahhaa..

crystalz, same as me last time, i din work for 16mths so after my gal born, i take care of her myself n know all her habits n patterns.. the bond was built tat till now she is still v attached to me..

Hi everyone...sorry i've been MIA this week or so. Been very busy running around to prepare for my GDL & An Chuang tomorrow!!! Plus i've been sick. Down with irritable bowel syndrome & doc says i'm very stressed up. So i haven't been working this Thur & Fri. A longer (than usual) weekend for me.

I heard that for baby's skin to be smooth & rosy, the mommy can drink lotsa tomato juice. As for bird's nest, don't think it'll result in asthma. When my mom was preg with me, she drank bird's nest every week & i was born with very fair & smooth skin, very good skin texture.

Tomorrow evening i'm going for my final fitting! Am quite excited.

Petrina, can send me the link to your PS pics?

Huiz: Is it confirmed gathering at your place on Aug 11? Time?

Lance: How are preps for your ROM? You must be very excited! Which dress did your FW choose in the end? Too bad i can't attend but take lotsa pics to show me ok?

It's Sat and my mood is so uplifted! Going Arab Street with my friend later. Thinking of buying some materials to make ring pillows for sale.... heh heh

Pris, yes, the date is confirmed as 11 Aug. Some would like to play mahjong, so can come earlier lor. Say in the early evening like 5 or 6+ also can...

Hey petrina, I have seen both your edited PS slideshow as well as the one u had added in your other photos. Just a comment on the transition slide between the first part and the wedding shots part. Perhaps can speed up the focus into the verse a bit faster? On the whole, its a job very well done!

huiz: i dunno how to faster the focus to the verse... I was hoping to perfect it so that i can show it b4 my banquet... hope it doesnt look too layman.

janf: same, in my multiply web.
dun wanna post here. add me to contacts u can c le.

I have finished making my ring pillow. See if I can clich a deal soon or not... hehe

509303.jpg

Hmm, janf, still cannot see ah? I will go back office save the copy in my PC there into my thumb and play it on my home PC during our gathering lor

huiz, nice ring pillow.. how much u selling usually? maybe can help u market them..

the PS of Petrina is the one on the main page right? i can watch leh. so i don understand wat u all mean...

i jsut had prata at Pierce Resevoir/thomson.. so full now

Petrina, saw your video. Not bad, but can reduce the transition period or pic display timing shorter? Seems a bit long. Its quite fun exploring the various functions right?

wow, you gals are talking abt pregnancy now. I just came back from my friend's baby shower and boy, the whole room was packed with kids, just like a day care. hee..
I know I can count on you gals for advice next time. :p

janf, u still can't see? hmm.. I try to upload again, with some additional pic. If all else fail again, then I shall bring the CD in our next gathering. Crystalz, do join us.
I wanted to send a lower res email format to all of you, but realise that the pic output is really bad so changed my mind.

oh no Pris. Take it easy ok. One more week to go.

Lance, sorry for being able to attend. Do upload your pic in your multiply. Congrats again!

Lance, i ate the prata beside casuarina cos was the outdoor seating was full.. that shop also not bad.. however best prata i had is actually along Macpherson Road opp mandza showroom beside Pub KG.. it paper prata is super crispy. Order "Square" for plain prata, u will find tat it is thin n crispy.. kambing soup also nice.. feel like eating prata again..

ivied - my AD pics are in hub's multiply. so i tink u can go and see (dun tink he restrict access bah)..

huiz - SO NICE PILLOW!!! i like the flowers! purple my fav!! u bot the cloth wif the embro on it or the pillow comes in this form?

wonder hows pris's GDL yday..

I was talking to Pris over MSN last night and she said she would post some of her GDL pics soon... waiting to see it

Thanks Janf
I bought this oraganza cloth that has embroidery on it. When I sew this pillow, I put a piece of white satin behind it to form the backing if not all the cotton stuffings can be seen through the organza... hehe

I juz came back frm chinatown... Bought 2 huge luggage bags for HM usage.

Brought my F MIL to tailor her clothes for AD. I forgot to bring the pictures... Then she face black black. Eventually I went home to get it n brought back to the seamstress. Then she was already on her way home. Without telling us. So after instructing the seamstress what to do, my FH n I went on to do our stuff. We juz got home...
I think now FMIL n I in cold war period. I also dunno y she is like this.

Ivied: after viewing it a few times, I think I wun be playing it as a montage on my AD banquet. Too weird.. Too layman... Haiz.

poor petrina, wil u b stayin wit in laws after married? i jsut saw the Her-World BRIDES [latest] got few pgs on how to win good book of MIL, take a look la.. i feel tat bickering w MIL is due to diff style we r brought up at home. i like my ex-MIL she cook well and she wont show temper when i don listen [i'm pretty stubborn] she also adapt my style of discipline on my gal. now think back, i feel bad toward her too..

wat is HM?

kokolyn: Yes, I'll be staying wif FMIL after marriage. Cause the house is registered under FH & her name. After marriage, will add my name.

My FMIL is a person who keeps everything to herself. She say because she dun wan to cause friction between FH & I. But i think like tis is worse. Cause she kenna depressed n lonely. (No husband 4 >10yrs) Then FH & I will also quarrel. I already give in to her. All I wan is 4 her to dress well for our wedding. Is it so difficult? She nv wear heels. Always wear slippers. Wear the same black pants n tee shirt all day long wif the funny sling bag across her shoulders.
She doesn't have a decent piece of clothing to wear. She is not the least interested in GDL. She ask my FH go himself wif his buddies. She dun wan to go.

She feels tat I m dominating her. I only wan her to look n feel good for our wedding. Otherdays watever she wear I also dun care. Its her son's wedding. How can she *Bo chap*??

I treat her very nice le. Almost everyday she'll call me to disturb me as me wat time i finish work. So tat she have companionship to go shopping wif. Once/twice, nvm. Almost every other day n every saturday/sunday she'll ask me where m I, ask me go chinatown walk walk. So Damn Sianz lor. Then she dun buy anything. Juz walk until ard 8plus then go home le. Boring leh... My job was juz to follow her ard. Wat for??

When the wedding gets nearer, we seems to be arguing more cause she becomes very very naggy. Everyday when i come home, she'll ask if the reno is done, is the wedding preps done, etc... She'll tell me long story on how to do the reno due to her 30yrs ago experience.

I dun bicker wif her de. Watever she say I juz nod my head. So that she'll keep quiet soon. But she doen't stop. everyday like tape recorder, keep repeating the same thing over n over again. As if I m deaf or short memory. I used to smile n talk to her nicely, but ever since she work lesser, she has been bothering me alot!! I can't have alone time wif FH. She expect us to shop wif her after she finish work at 3pm almost every sat. Even if FH is overseas, she'll expect me to wait for her to finish work then go shopping together.
I can't even rest at home on sats. if I am at home, she'll ask me to go out wif her. I can't tell her I m busy as she'll c me when she reach home...

I dunno how much of things I can take. All I hope is to get the wedding done wif n go for long HM...
Next time I'll work till late n I hope after rejecting her for many times, she will noe how to back off.

petrina, u hav so much to vent. which is good so u wont bottle them up.. yr FH is only son & only child? if so, with her single so long with his son, she sure scare she wil lose him once he got u. my GF who goin to get married in aug also had such a MIL. she lucky tat she got her own flat, if not she proably don wanna b married le.

From yr MIL viewpoint, she is lonely. is she hainanese? usual they r more Jie2 Jian3.. she offer her concerns but to us we see it as naggings. for me, i alwys get my ex-hub to shut her mom up. i don rebuke her cos i know she is concern abt her only son.

don argue w yr FH, not healthy. let yr FH handle her. usual it work better when son ask mom to dress nicer, etc.. being DIL, we better keep away.. some time take MIL as guest/client etc, we will be able to stay cool better..

Hi mais, went to Parco today with my mother and FW. We saw this huge wedding cake outside the entrance to Intercontinental Hotel. I think it was 3.8m tall. I took some pictures. Will post on multiply tomorrow to show you all.

petrina: Your situation looks bad. Did you spoke your FH? Just lun a bit, maybe after AD will be better.

Huiz: Wah, i also want to see GDL. I never see before. I very sua ku hor? Btw, how much are u selling your pillow. Looks professionally done up.

kokolyn: Got prata better than the casuarina one. I must try. I am a prata lover. I think we can organize some food outings and everybody go makan at night. Supper!!!!

Lance, yeah the prata @ macpherson road/Lane is nice lo.. now u making me hungry.. cheese prata, paper prata, "square", kambing soup.. yummy..

Petrina, don't think too much or worry too much lah. Old folks tend to be like that...especially since they have been alone for so long. It is out of concern, but also, coz they realise that their kids are no longer going to be under their control anymore - old enough to get married, not a kid liaoz. so they need to do "something" to "maintain the balance in their favour". That's how their mind works lah. So you have to tell yourself not to allow yourself to get caught by such "traps". Just listen and in one ear, out the other...

Maybe one day, you call her and ask her out. Maybe that would break her habit of calling you...and you might find that she calls you out less?

For my wedding, my MIL also didn't come for the GDL. In fact, my hubby came by himself. She only told me to tell hubby whatever my parents want and hubby will go get it done. She said hubby will settle it all by himself. I looked at it in this way: she wanted to show others that she's not so attached to hubby, and also she wanted to "see" if hubby can do things properly without her help - like, if he makes some mistakes, she'll have the excuse to say things like, "see lah, need mummy's help then can do. next time how to survive with wife" etc...kinda comments. So, based on what I see from my cousins and friends, I just told my hubby what to do etc lorh. Ended up, it went quite smoothly in my opinion (his grandma also quite impressed with how he dressed up her baskets for the GDL - he didn't remove the deco when he returned the baskets to grandma). Now, MIL does different kind of things to get hubby's attention (think coz now she realises that hubby is able to be on his own without her help kinda thing). So off and on, we do things to show her that we need her help so she dun feel neglected. Gotta realise that they are in a different stage of life now and their minds work differently.

Your MIL sounds a bit like my FIL...heehee..also talk and talk and repeat and repeat so many times. But it's also coz he's lonely lah. My hubby is middle of 3 bros, but the parents still like that lorh. Can't be helped lah. I just orh, yah yah...nod head. laugh and try to bring conversation to other topics.

You worry abt ur MIL's dressing...I think that really shd be the least of your worries lah. It's her son's wedding, yes...but at least she's there attending it. My FIL, it's HIS son's wedding, but he didn't even turn up. He quietly went M'sia the day before. Till today, I have never served him tea - not that he minds or cares lah...coz he did give me an AP for the wedding and he still talks a lot to me now. hehs. It's just my FIL. He wun turn up for the wedding one lorh. no matter what everybody tried to do, he just wun turn up. I was afraid that pple will gossip etc, that how come my FIL not at my wedding etc...then pai seh mah...for all of us. So, shifted the focus to other things like, mingled around a lot more during the dinner, gave the kids little goodie bags to occupy them (the older folks see small kids play ard, they also tend to focus on the kids and not on other unimportant stuff), put a couple of polariod cameras on the tables with the gossipy relatives to keep them occupied and well, it's just something different (for them) to distract them from FIL's absence. So, you can also do small little different things to distract pple so they dun focus on ur MIL's dressing, shd she really decide to wear what she's most comfy in.

So, instead of focusing on what SHOULD or SHOULD NOT be done (by the traditional standards), I think we should focus on what makes others around us happy...Of course, we want to be happy ourselves also, but what is our happiness based on? Following certain traditions to a T or "rules" prescribed by society? Are we able to accept any slight variations (esp if the variations are minor)?

thks CSI... I was so worried abt the need to explain why his dad isn't here, why his mom so bo chap... I feel much better now.

no worries Petrina!
Chin up!! *Hugz* It's only one day - the wedding is only one day. Pple may wonder etc, but when they are out of the hotel or in a few days' time, they will forget about it liaoz...esp when they see how loving you and your FH are. Must show them (those gossipy pple) that your love transcends everything.

Oh, one other thing we did for our AD...usually after the banquet / reception, the hosts will line ouside the door to thank guests right? I told my parents and MIL, they can go round the tables to thanks their friends and relatives...but we dun want them to line up outside. Only hubby and I will be outside to bid guests farewell and thank them. (A) While it's meaningful and only polite to thank guests, half the guests my parents and MIL dun know. So, a bit weird also lah. (B) By making their rounds to thank their frends and relatives on their own, they can spend more time catching up - and not "oh I need to go stand by the door. Talk to you later" kinda thing. (C) Since parents are not in the "line-up", there's less attention on why my FIL was not there. (D) hey! It's OUR party...hahahahaha. Shdn't WE be thanking the guests ourselves?? hahahahaha...

It's YOUR day, dun let such things upset you...there's more to life in the future.

Petrina, I think CSI's suggestion of u asking your MIL out is a good one. I am sure your MIL will be in good shape on the AD as its afterall her son's once in a lifetime big day

Ok, I shall start doing a roll call on the number of people whom I remembered have said are able to come over on 11 Aug as well as the things they would be bringing:

1. Nellie & husband (cheesetarts)
2. Pris
3. Li Ann (Viet popiah)
4. Lance & Kelly (pork ribs)
5. Petrina (tiramisu)
6. Stacy (finger food)
7. CSI [hey mommy, come and enjoy can liao
]
8. Huiz (of course la, haha - potato salad)
9. Sherrie
10. Mosburger (baked garlic chicken??)
11. Janf
12. Ivied

Is the above list in good order? Or had I missed/wrongly included anyone? Crystalz and Loinky, are u able to join in too?

Alamak, I made a silly typo error in the Evite I had just sent out. I meant to say "start the tiles JIGGLING" but typed it as "start the tile GIGGLING".... duhh... what a fool I am.... haha ;-P

haha huiz!, i oso saw 'giggling' and i tot it was a new word to describe mahjong tiles so din tink much into it keke..

my bor-lao said he will fry yee mee.. my god..! hope its edible haha.. but come to tink of it, hes the 'househub' in the family while i cant cook for nuts so i cant complain..

petrina - ustand ur woes abt ur MIL.. kokoyln is rite.. its our upbringing tats diff frm our hub's family and its nobodys fault ya.. yday me oso got small misunderstanding wif MIL+SIL.. haiz so upset until weep.. anw, other day then say..

rem, its an ART to learn to live wif ILs.. not tat they are nasty but its juz diff lifestyles ya.. so learn to give & take.. cheer up gal! =)