Hainanese Brides, anyone???

haha, huiz... i din noe u made a mistake. I also tot u meant to say giggling. i tot it was weird but didn't think much.

thnks janf & CSI & kokolyn... I really feel much better now. Juz told my FH tat I gonna let it go. Leave everything up to fate. Watever happens, we'll juz accept it n deal wif it...

Btw, I so excited for Lance & Kelly & Pris & HB... As my wedding date approaches, i get really excited when other ppl r getting married... keke

Hi mais, i updated my multiply with the super tall wedding cake photo. You all take a look.

petrina: How come i not excited? I am scared that day screw up something lei. Haiz.

Huiz: I look through the list of food, like no carbo. Is anybody doing beehoon or something similar? Or i ditch my pork thingy and do beehoon. Heh heh.

Nellie: We have the same birthday!

Lance, don wori abt your solemnisation. don b stress. it will be fine and v wonderful.. remember watever happen, keep smiling n it will become a memorable day..

Janf, agree w u, due to diff bringup i also chose to stay ownself in the past. i wanna see them n smile not frown. learn to close 1 eye is the best way to keep oneself happy..

i'm excited to meet u all on Lance ROM.. hehe

kokolyn: do bring ur gal ya...

Lance: I bo bian... *mine is eldest son, second son is only 21 this yr* plus this current hse is under FH & Mom's name... So even if we wanna buy a nest for ourselves also cannot, FH $$ kenna wiped out plus no more house grant...

Hey Lance, janf's hubby will be making yee mee... and I think in addition to my potato salad, I may also make chicken curry (but sub standard wan hor) to go with french loaf.

Janf, wow, really must try the yee mee! I like yee mee too... prefer this to the yellow Hokkien mee... that one is more starchy.

So sian leh, its only Tues and I am already thinking of the exciting weekend.... grrrr

Talking abt MIL, just got wind that me and hubby's friend has problem with his own mother and another friend's parents has problems with their eldest DIL.

Think the 1st friend's mother is suffering depression now and wanting to end her life. Guess she couldn't take the fact that the 2 sons are going to have their own families.

The other one is ironical. Our friend's parents chose their own DILs for the 1st and 2nd sons thru matchmaking. 1st DIL is a hainan mai from Hainan Island, 2nd DIL is from Vietnam. Now they're having problems with the 1st DIL. Both hubby and I know very well that the father of our friend is a very MCP man. They're living under the same roof, facing each other everyday. Everything must work according to the father's likes. So poor thing!

Our gathering is really coming soon!!! So excited, will arrive at Huiz's house at 5pm. I can go Casurina to buy prata. Anyone want that?

Kokoyln - will pick you up at your block at 10.15am this sat for Lance's ROM, ok?

Lance - we can celebrate together next year. Use our birthdays as the next gathering.

hi hi!!! Am back to work...reluctantly! like huiz...already dreaming of the next weekend...

My lappy password is expired and so waiting for IT helpdesk to reset it...gave me ample time to catch up on the postings!

crystalz...welcome back and congrats to you!

kokoyln & mais...thanks for all the preggy tips, i actually copied them into a word document, coupled with a few pointers from my boss... should come in handy next time

Brought my mum and my PIL to Genting over the weekend...haha...if staying with PIL is an ART, managing your own mum and ILs on a trip together is an even greater challenge! hehs...i actually admired my BIL (my hubby's BIL) alot from this trip. Not only was he patient, tolerant and also attentive to the old folks. Luckily he was around to attend to my PIL so that i can focus on my mum. CSI & Kokoyln is very right. Not just your PIL, even with your own friends, as long as you stay together, sure will have different habits (and it is often over the smallest and trivial issues!) and have to learn to give and take. I'm also staying with my PIL so can understand how Petrina felt sometimes.

Lance, you don't feel excited at all? I am, just thinking about what to wear this coming sat & sun keke

mais...for the popiah... the veg is eaten raw, is that ok with you gals? Any violent objection to putting mint inside the veg? its an acquired taste, not everyone like the taste of it.

nelly... sad to hear about your friend's mum case. It should be a happy thing for her, having gained two more DILs...is she seeking professional help?

Actually old folks are afraid of loneliness. They are so used to having their children by their side, so it is difficult for them to accept it... sometimes they see it as a form of "abandonment". Try to spend more time with them so that they dun feel unwanted.

haiz... depressing topic.

oops, sorry nellIE, type too fast earlier...

kokoyln, i am very interested in your masseur contact. I so kiasu, signed up the pre & post natal massages from rustic le. Rustic is the one that got zoe tay's endorsement after she delivered. Are the massages there good? i get water retention VERY easily so i am quite sure i need the massages. Heard the pre-natal massages will also ease the stretch marks.

the 9-tier cake...it was featured on the Straits Times (Sat or Sun, I can't remember). It's for charity I think...top tier costs a few thousands and price goes up as the tier gets bigger.

Yah, with ILs, it's never easy. Different upbringing, different lifestyles, different perspectives, change in dynamics/balance...sekali next time we old liao we also become like that.

Seems like there's quite a lot of "heavy" food for the gathering...heehee...we will have a major food fest of our own! hahahaha....

wah Li Ann, you signed up pre and post natal massages already???
...hahaha...

yup, kokoyln, wanted to ask you too...can I have your masseur contact pls? I haven't decided on pre and post natal massage yet...

Our friend's bro got married bcos the girl is pregnant. Both still in U leh. So they 2 of them are staying with the parents but the mother doesn't like this DIL. The house is not big enough so my friend got his own house recently, moved out before his bro got married, so that the other room can be used as baby's room. My friend's ex-gf was very good, always spent time with his mother before the 2 of them went out to pak tor. This present gf doesn't like to stay at home, always want my friend to accompany her to movies, shopping and eating out. Thus my friend spends less time at home. My friend's mother is also the 'wanting attention' type so my friend is really sandwiched.

I brought my mum and MIL to attend my msia friend's wedding last month. Both got along very well. When take photos, both of them can put hands over each other's shoulders. ha ha ha...

I even arranged my parents and PIL to attend those 山歌 concerts at Victoria Concert Hall. We even went for dinners together some times. Not bad so far.

Hey Nellie, good idea on the prata. But would it be too mah fan? Then I will make curry to eat with the prata. Heh heh...

Ehhh, talking about preg, my husb bought a gynae medical book last week. There's this section on "the best positions to conceive".... heh heh, can show u all at my place if anyone is interested.

Li Ann, me ok with raw vege. Eat that q often.... mint is ok too

csi... ya la. i also dunno how i got convinced to sign up for the package. Must be the "Beat GST" sale getting into my head. I thought since i would need it so why not? :P paid $70 per 60 mins session. Still must go to their shop de.

ivy!! gosh, i just managed to see the video!! so so so touching! i was having goosepimples all over from the beginning till the end... we have come such a long way ya? Still remember the first gathering, we were all standing at different corners of bugis mrt station, eyeing every passing gal suspiciously... keke...
imagine when csi, loinky and crystalz juniors joined in as well... wow... can cry a river le. So touched by the friendship and bonding we have forged.

Li Ann...u'll be needing it?? when ah? hehs....kekeke (did I happen to miss ur post somewhere?
heehee...)

Yah, I remember how I missed the initial few gatherings...coz always got things crop up one. Haiz...finally only managed to meet up with you all at Nellie's wedding. One day, must go to the archives and read through the old posts manz...

Phew, I had been plotting 20 charts till my eyes see stars liao. Now come in here chat a bit for a break.

Nellie, ma2 fan2 ni le.... go all the way to buy us prata

No prob, Huiz. It's my pleasure.

Btw, I had a contact for making curtains (all types). Price is very very reasonable. If you all need to have curtains made for your houses, let me know.

SHIT SHIT.. i type finish my post then my stupid mouse go haywire again, n post is gone.. damn it.. i point left, the mouse go right..

Li_ann, i din try rustic b4, can u let me know how it went after u hav yr 1st session. mine only $65 per hr at your house..

Stretch marks are cause by stretching of skin during preg and without applying good stretch mark cream. once the skin elasticity n collagen are pulled, they r gone 4 ever. marks r irreversible. to reduce them, apply cream every now n then, after delvery, don slim down too fast and continue to apply post natal stretch mark cream for a while.. they will lighten and get almost gone after 10 yrs i guess if no delivery after tat.. tummy tuck is the option to remove them. don trust commercial models, it all about air brush..
ah mais, feel free to ask me beauty/makeup QNs if u have.. i will try my best to ans them..

so i cfm cook yee mee ya? dun hv too high expectations hor haha.. me same as huiz, prefer yee mee than the yellow hokkien mee..

1. Nellie & husband (cheesetarts)
2. Pris
3. Li Ann (Viet popiah)
4. Lance & Kelly (pork ribs)
5. Petrina (tiramisu)
6. Stacy (finger food)
7. CSI [hey mommy, come and enjoy can liao ]
8. Huiz (of course la, haha - potato salad)
9. Sherrie
10. Mosburger (baked garlic chicken??)
11. Janf & TH (yee mee)
12. Ivied

talking abt hainan.. did u all read last wk articles on hainan island and the men/women on tat island? to summarise, hainan island folks hv super traditional tinking of muz-hv-a-boy to carry the surname.. if conceive a gal is a taboo to them.. wat sorta tinking they hv in this modern world where conceiving is oredi not an easy task..

Hi mais, just reached home after a hard day's work and bringing my in-laws out for makan and touring. Ha ha. I really need to get my energy up for this Sat. Btw, anybody know how Pris is doing? I think she super busy with her AD.

kokolyn: Good advice, i will try to keep to it.

petrina: bo bian then bo bian liao. just lun a bit, earn more $$$ then can move out.

Huiz: Cannot see the pic ah? strange lei. i go double check. if not i post here.

Nellie: don't buy prata la, or later we cannot finish the food we cook. ha ha, but we can always ditch the self cook, and have a prata party. i can imagine buying 100 pratas juz for all of us. good idea on the bdae thingy too.

Li Ann: raw vege and mint ah, so healthy. heh heh.

janf: yee-mee nice nice. i read the article too. then me and my FW concluded the hainan guys do not know how to dress up, so cannot find wife. we very mean hor?

gg thru madness at work... no time to post. can only catch up on all e posts later.

huiz, i be bringing toasted garlic-curry paste chicken wings.

good idea to get parents n in-laws mingle together. they all around same age, who knows can along well? my colleague's parents n in-laws always go holiday together. so envy!

okok..I'm here!!! Sooo sorry for being MIA cos i've been really busy!

My GDL went well...and i'll be posting pics soon, must lemme resize them before posting here.

Huiz: I'll be there on 11 Aug with my hubby. Will be bring sushi over!
Will bring my childhood montage to show everyone since not all will be attending my dinner.

Lance: How are your preps? Excited? I took photos with that tall wedding cake! I was there last Sat after my GDL cos i went to my BS for my final fitting.

CSI: How is baby doing? Take care & drink tonics ok?

Petrina: I'll also be living with my ILs after the wedding. I think there'll be a lot of adjustments on both sides. Since we're the DIL, then no choice, we may have to give in more often. Don't let your folks form a bad impression of you ok? Anything can always log into the forum to rant!

I'm officially on leave starting today. Will only be heading back to work next Wednesday. It feels good to be able to concentrate solely on wedding prep & not be bothered by work.

I have 2 HUGE pimples on the left side of my face! 1 is on my forehead, the other on my cheek. YIKES!!! Anything i can do??? They're both red & ugly & huge.

Ok, Pris, good that your montage in a DVD format... then can play thru the TV. I can also play my HM pics just to create some "backgound sounds and images".... hehe

Pris, wrap 1 ice cube with cloth n dot ard the pimples area.. it will subside the redness n reduce the swelling. have pus or not, easy to pop it out? if no head, then u use purifying/deep cleansing clay mask apply on the pimples, let it dry, apply toner n blemish gel.. if got head, tear cotton pad into 2, dab toner, wrap ard yr 2 2nd fingers n gently squeeze. once the pus is out, clean w cleanser whole face, apply mask, toner, blemish gel, moisturiser. Note: don use the cotton with pus n move on to another pimple, u wont wanna infect other area.. NO MORE HEATY FOOD, DRINK Water, Cooling Tea

Li_ann, i do both actaully but focus more in makeup..

now i feel so sian can't join u all at huiz's place.. so many food to eat..

btw Lance, this sat can i bring my gal along? she don need a seat but jsut a baby chair.. thanks

Hi all, I so happy today. Had a meeting yesterday. Managed to squeeze some off time frm now till wedding date. Still have to work but if need time off, can take. *whew*

Now i can concentrate on guestlists n preps for HM booking.

OKie, here's another update of our attendance list:

1. Nellie & Husband (Cheese tarts, prata & MJ tiles)
2. Janf & Husband (Fried yee mee)
3. Pris & Husband (Sushi & montage)
4. Lance & Missus (Pork ribs??)
5. The host & Husband (Chicken curry & drinks)
6. Li Ann (Viet Popiah)
7. Mos (Toasted garlic-curry paste chicken wings)
8. Petrina (Tiramisu??)
9. Ivied
10. Sherrie
11. Stacy
12. CSI

Woo wow, there's gonna be 17 people

Lance and Pris, to answer your questions in Evite, there's gonna be MJ and yes, its a potluck

aiyo..everyone is bringing hubby..i shall bring my hubby along then..he can be ard when u gals discuss the hotels for bkk trip...food-wise: i still dunno wat to bring yet...

Pris, yah...baby's fine...thanks! Moving a lot and kicking quite a bit...hahaha. I notice the movements tend to be off and on throughout the day. But the kicks...aiyoh, lunchtime (11am - 12 plus) kick, then 2:30/3pm - 4 plus kick some more (and can be quite hard), then dinner time 9ard 7-ish kick again but not as hard...then MIDNIGHT....kick until I dunno when, coz usually I'll just sleep through it. hahaha...

yeah, I can get to see your montage! kekekke... if I remember, I'll bring mine too lah...coz I've never shown u all before right? Can play as background "noise"...hahaha...

sherrie, maybe can bring fruits or dessert? Think we got enough food le...

huiz... very excited about the gathering...

kokoyln... good la, can "steal" makeup/beauty tips from you.

csi... your bb sounds so active!

Li Ann...yah, so I keep telling myself, got move/kick better than never move/kick. Dun think so much. Be happy that I'm getting kicked! hahahahhaha...

li ann: everyone's preparing..seems a bit bad to bring fruits leh...haha

pris: don worry too much abt ur zits..i am sure they will be gone before the AD...now wondering what to wear for the dinner leh..hehe

sherrie: yes. almond jelly...

I also have 2 huge pimples... suddenly juz popped out. beside my nose on my cheek.

Nellie: I m on diet... durians I cannot resist de. Dun lah.

Huiz: i not making tiramisu le. change to brownie. I juz realised tat I only noe how to make the cup version. not e cake version. so i think it's hard to distribute...

Li_ann - no problem

CSI, agree baby active n kicking is better.. ensure baby move daily.. i like it so much when i talk to my gal when she is in me. her hand or foot will pop up n touch my hand.

Hi all....its me!
kao_love.gif

Sorry ar, MIA for a long long time. Will catch up with u all during the gathering

Petrina going to bring brownies har..then I drop my cheesecake. Hmm..then I bring along ice cream puffs, but buy one la :P

K, hb needs to use the pc to do sth. Catch up again!